paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review / Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review

Comments on GIZMO8Z's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

GIZMO8Z Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used/ tested literally every popular mask system out there.
Marker Setup: 1/1 E2 WGP Orr-acle
1/1 Bob Long Zalias
Strengths: The i3 is a vast improvement over previous invison models.
Weaknesses: The lenses are STILL very difficult to change.
Review: I recieved the the DYE i3 goggle today, and overall I am EXTREMELY pleased. The i3 system is IMO more stylish than its predicesor, lighter, more flexible (bounces), and better ventilated. In addition, the i3 is a litte larger than the previous invisions, so it offers more protection for us ballers with big heads. ;)

However, the i3 is not without its faults. DYE uses the same exact lens system on the i3 as it did with the previous invisions ... needless to say, changing lenses is very difficult, and you'll find that your fingers will be very sore afterwards. In addition, as with anything DYE, you could argue that the i3 is overpriced.
Conclusion: Overall, the i3 is a fantastic mask system. DYE did a great job imporving the mask, and dealing with nearly all of the faults from the previous invision models (other than the whole lens changing problem.)

As a comparison, the i3 has a very similar weight and feel to the proto switch masks, so if you like them, you'll love the i3.

I hope my review has helped you decide on a new mask.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 24th, 2005 at 8:51 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
the 'kast man Monday, November 28th, 2005 | 2:49 pm PST
Bad review, brought it down to 8 out of 10 for no good reason at all. Oh no, that lense is hard to come out,poor baby! From what you and everyone else said about this mask, it deserves 10out of 10 easy.
I hope my review has helped you decide on a new mask..... NOPE! You did nothing but get me mad...
   

SpYdErZ Monday, November 28th, 2005 | 3:22 pm PST
Well, you don't have to kill him for saying the mask has it's faults. Nothing is perfect in my opinion. I don't believe any product whatsoever deserves a 10. Until I find something that has absolutely zero faults and is perfect in every way I don't think it deserves a 10. However, since very few people go with this theory, anything below a 9.x looks bad on this site. Good review. Thanks
   

super_gman Monday, November 28th, 2005 | 7:13 pm PST
I agree ith SpYdErz. Good review.
   

SpYdErZ Tuesday, November 29th, 2005 | 10:21 pm PST
I need to change my name, I have a shocker now, and I just ordered an angel... you know what... I still don't think I'm too good to play with a spyder or a tippy. Some people get power hungry and say that lower level guns suck. I don't think you deserve an expensive gun if you put others down for what they have.
   

the 'kast man Saturday, December 3rd, 2005 | 5:38 am PST
Just saying, he brought it to an 8 for a hard lens change, plsu, yea, you are right, nothing is perfect. But is this mask the best out there at the time? Im pretty sure it is. You aren't really rating it on how perfect it is, just how much better it is than others... So don't worry, giving something a 10/10 won't kill you.

Yea, thanks spyderz, u the man for ur support...
Last edited on Thursday, December 8th, 2005 at 12:48 pm PST
   

SpYdErZ Saturday, December 3rd, 2005 | 10:49 pm PST
Yeah, you're right. I have a regular invision... the lenses are just ... AH! Terrible to change out. There has to be a trick to it. I just don't know it LOL. Anyways, y'all have fun 'ballin y'hear!
   

mr.spidy Thursday, December 8th, 2005 | 12:52 pm PST
you know, if dye could find a way to make the invisions lenses easy to change, it would be like the god of all masks
   

pouliot33 Thursday, December 8th, 2005 | 6:32 pm PST
ok yea i agree with the 'kast man...all the good masks have hard lens change...so he shouldn't lower it to a 8/10 for that..a 10/10 is what the mask should get...it is the best mask out there at the time.
Last edited on Wednesday, December 14th, 2005 at 12:54 pm PST
   

doomspyder Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 9:31 am PST
man, u guys need to control your tempers. you know what the strengths and weaknesses are that tihs guy found, so dont even look at the rating, jut give it your own rating based on the info he gives. thanks for stopping the arguing guys.
   

pouliot33 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 11:41 am PST
ok he put a 8 for the lens change...thats just plain stupid.
   

A2L Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 3:29 pm PST
Umm... no, you're just plain stupid.

Anyways, glad to see you didn't rate it a perfect 10 since it does have flaws. Good review.
   

UnluckyDiablo Monday, December 19th, 2005 | 2:16 pm PST
How does it compair to a proflex? I have a proflex and love it, love the bounces off the front, and how it fits. how does this compair?
   

the 'kast man Monday, December 26th, 2005 | 6:00 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by mr.spidy
you know, if dye could find a way to make the invisions lenses easy to change, it would be like the god of all masks


It is the god of all masks....
   

the 'kast man Monday, December 26th, 2005 | 6:02 am PST
I3 is way better than proflex, i have both. Proflex is good, too the the I3 is better. Its just as flexable, it has way better vision, the lense is clearer, and u get at least as many if not mroe bounces with the I3.Don't get my wrong ,the proflex is great, but if you have the money, get this.
   

the 'kast man Monday, December 26th, 2005 | 6:10 am PST
I feel this person doesn't even have the mask and is trying to bring down the rating for fun. (power hungry...)I don't believe anything should be brought down to a B- just for hard lens care. I mean, how often does this guy change his lens? Is it that big of a deal? THANKS.
TWIGG
   

Team Chokepoint Wednesday, December 28th, 2005 | 9:59 am PST
I take my lenses out after every day of play and clean them carefully, that's why I love my Profilers. Good review.
   

SpYdErZ Friday, December 30th, 2005 | 10:49 pm PST
Has anybody ever figured out an easy way to remove the lenses on a DYE goggle?
   

Dyefoo Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 2:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SpYdErZ
Has anybody ever figured out an easy way to remove the lenses on a DYE goggle?

your best bet is to disassemble the whole mask and then put in the lens. it's a pain to take it apart but well worth the long hours trying to put in the lens. and if you really are lazy just bring it into a shop and they can do it for you. i dont know about you 'kast man but i like to change my lens for every tourny game i play, so im constantly changing my lens.
   

o3aznkid Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 5:13 am PST
if only they could make the lence as easy to change as the profiler, im too lazy to take my lence off and clean em, i still have paint in my i3 =(, but i do <3 it
   

Ronin238 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 | 5:38 pm PST
So guys, what do you think? Is the i3 superior to its predecessor?
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media