paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Tom_D's Review / Comments on Tom_D's Review / Comments on Tom_D's Review / Comments on Tom_D's Review

Comments on Tom_D's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Tom_D Monday, December 5th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Revy
Marker Setup: M98 with palmers stabalizer, 16 inch night stick, 32 degrees large drop with on/off
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Poor Design / Manufacturing
Poor customer support
Review: I recieved this as a gift from my wife as an aniversary gift. I specificly asked for it so I have no one to blame but myself. I realy liked the looks of the thing and I thought that the hopper holding 220 balls would come in handy. So far I have been verry disapointed.

When I got the thing together and took it out on the porch to see how great it worked I found that it tends to turn itself off and on after you shoot. This is not all that bad beacuse when it turns on the paddles spin automaticly. This tends to keep the loader feeding.

Sooo. After this small disapointment I returned to the manual wich I had already read to see if I could find a 1-800 number to call and see if they had a simple remedy to the problem. Oooops. No 1-800 number in the book. No trouble-shooting section. Just a web site.

Sooo. I go to the web site and all they have there is a FAQ about the Halo B. So I shot them an E-mail. To this day they have never awnsered my E-mail.

Update:
I did end up sending the thing back to National Paintball Supply to have a new board put in it under waranty. But after taking it out to play agian it had the same problems. Actualy I have my doubts weather they realy put a new board in it at all, and if they did and I am still having the EXACT same problems. Than this loader must just be flawed, and they should recall them.
Conclusion: Look elsewhere for you loader needs. You would be far better off with a gravity fed hopper. So far this is the worst agitated loader I have ever seen.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 18th, 2006 at 10:37 pm PST
 

Review Comments
xx47xx Tuesday, December 6th, 2005 | 7:18 am PST
I agree with your review. You might want to look into getting a Ricochet Apache LED. They have a big sale on them on Action Village.----$49 bucks
Last edited on Tuesday, December 6th, 2005 at 8:06 am PST
   

Uziel Gal Tuesday, December 6th, 2005 | 12:01 pm PST
The TSA LCD boards have a tendency to be unreliable (my first one hardly worked at all) - fortunately, Odyssey are pretty good (if somewhat slow) about replacing the board if the loader is in warranty. However, you may prefer to take the loader back to the shop and swap it for something else.

In the meantime, make sure that the battery contacts are clean, and that the batteries you are using fit snugly in the loader - with a bit of luck it might just be that you are getting intermittent power to the board due to a problem with the batteries.
Last edited on Tuesday, December 6th, 2005 at 12:02 pm PST
   

Tom_D Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 | 3:13 am PST
I ended up calling national paintball supply and talking to some realy cockey, un-informed individual that kept trying to convince me that the loader was performing as it was supposed to. I ended up getting an RMA # and sending it in to have a new board put in it.

I recieved it back today, and apon testing it I found that it still powers off intermitently. The sheet I recieved in the box with the loader claimed that a new board had been installed, and the loader had been tested.

Thanks for the tip Uziel Gal, However before posting the review I had already checked the contacts, and installed a cardboard spacer inbetween the bateries to remove all posability of intermitant contact to no avail. (unhappy face)
Last edited on Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 at 3:15 am PST
   

Tom_D Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 2:20 am PST
Update:
I have used this loader twice now. Both times I would have been better off with a gravity fed. Then I noticed that the sensitivity was somhow changed to least sensitive. (that is not where I had it set, I had it on auto)

So I switched it to most sensitive. The problem with the board powering on and off at random persists. Actualy last time I was out, that was the only time the loader would feed without being shaken.
   

lalageb Sunday, March 19th, 2006 | 10:36 am PST
ok...well...uumm.....dude..thats why its called a sound activated hopper....so its normal.....thats the whole point of it spinning whene you shoot...
   

Uziel Gal Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 | 10:30 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by dikrezalb
hey dumb*ss, the tsa series hoppers arent agitated loaders...good call moron. maybe if you knew what you were talking about, people might actually listen...

'Agitated' just means that there is something inside the loader (in this case, an impeller) that moves the balls around to stop them jamming, so the TSA is in fact an agitated loader. It isn't an "always-on" agitating loader, like a Quantum, if that is what you were thinking of, but it is an agitated loader none the less.
   

k3r6m Tuesday, September 19th, 2006 | 11:21 am PST
Dispute:
okay, the purpose of this loader is TSA. That is Tilt Sound Activation, meaning that the paddle only spins after you shoot. Giving it a 1 is stupid if the purpose of the hopper is why you dislike it.
   

Ion Warrior Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 3:16 pm PST
Umm....it's supposed to do that. It is sound activated so that it only spins when you shoot. You'd complain that it's on all the time if it didn't. If you don't like it, get an agitated hopper.
Last edited on Monday, January 1st, 2007 at 3:16 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media