paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on spence72's Review / Comments on spence72's Review / Comments on spence72's Review / Comments on spence72's Review

Comments on spence72's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

spence72 Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Revo
Egg
Apache
Marker Setup: 2005 A-Bomb Intimidator
45/45 Air America LP Tank
Strengths: Extremely fast
Adjustable (easy on brittle paint)
Lightweight
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Long feed neck (compared to the Halo)
Lid is difficult to open (requires break-in)
Review: I purchased mine from ActionVillage for $130. I really didn't need another hopper, but how can one really resist a new toy???

Appearance:

I'm going with above average here, not better looking than a Halo, but certainly better looking than a Evolution (I'm sure this style will grow on us). The front is narrow and back much wider. I didn't care for the height of it on my marker so I cut down the feedneck (yes it is taller than a Halo in stock form).

Performance:

Very fast! I didn't have a single feed problem or break. The adjustablity is a nice feature. Using some brittle paint that would occasionally get blended in my Halo went through the Velocity without a problem. Testing on the bench (free-fall) is impressive. I filled it with a tube of paint, turned it on, then watched it empty itself back into the tube. Easily the fastest fill I've ever seen from a hopper. Most impressive.

Design:

It appears to have good solid construction and a nice fit/finish. An improvement over some of the other hoppers that have come from Viewloader.




Conclusion: If your having problems with brittle paint this may be the hopper for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 15th, 2005 at 12:40 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
imhotep29897 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 8:27 am PST
Wow, im so tired of ppl disputing every single thing they see in a review. Just leave the reviews alone, unless its a totally bs review, dont press it.
   

spence72 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 8:37 am PST
I agree...it certainly is an advantage to be able to control the height profile of one's hopper. My intentions here were to let the audience know (those who haven't cut down a feedneck, like myself ) that they may feel compelled to cut this feedneck down. Hence, only a disadvantage if you don't like to cut, grind, sand, etc.
   

paintballer279 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 12:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by imhotep29897
Wow, im so tired of ppl disputing every single thing they see in a review. Just leave the reviews alone, unless its a totally bs review, dont press it.

I agree, and jesus, you ALWAYS want a shorter feedneck. It makes a smaller profile, who would EVER want a taller feedneck?
   

AZNkangaroo Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 2:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jesus_christ
"Long feed neck"
.... some hoppers have long feed necks so you can shave them down. It's an advantage, not a weakness

dude some people might not want a high feed neck
you cant dispute and opinion
   

BigTarget04 Saturday, December 10th, 2005 | 4:41 pm PST
They made it that way to allow players who like a higher profile to keep it. It also allows plenty or room for adjustments to get the hopper where you like. And honestly there is no need to dispute this review.
   

leons Monday, December 12th, 2005 | 8:29 pm PST
did u gve it a 9 because of that of the feed neck, or is there something more. im thinking on getting one, but is it better than a halo or empire in ur opinion?
thx
   

spence72 Tuesday, December 13th, 2005 | 6:21 pm PST
Leons,

The 9 rating is for the total package, appearance, performance, and ease of use. Breaking in the lid, cutting down the feedneck, and its general appearance brought the score down.

The Halo/Empire are excellent hoppers with many people using them and plenty of upgrades. This is a prov-en system and would have no problem recommending one. The Velocity still needs some field time before one can say if it is truly the better choice. I can confidently say it feeds fast and is easy to maintain. If you've ever taken apart a Halo it is a lot more involved than taken apart a Velocity. The only other thing I didn't test was battery life, since it keeps pressure on the ball stack via the motor instead of a spring like the Halo.
   

d4m4don3 Wednesday, December 14th, 2005 | 6:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spence72
The only other thing I didn't test was battery life, since it keeps pressure on the ball stack via the motor instead of a spring like the Halo.

If I read correctly on the instruction manual, it only keeps the tension on the ball for 30 seconds. If it isn't fired before that time is over the tension is deactivated until the next ball fires and moves trough the feedneck. That'll probably save on the battery life.
   

spence72 Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 12:10 pm PST
Yes, it only keeps the tension for about 30 seconds. It probably isn't than big of a concern, I'll find out for sure after I put a few cases through it.
   

Djtoot Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 5:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by imhotep29897
Wow, im so tired of ppl disputing every single thing they see in a review. Just leave the reviews alone, unless its a totally bs review, dont press it.


Yeah i agree just make a bad comment your just being a huge jerk jesus
   

JWLyl Thursday, December 15th, 2005 | 6:23 pm PST
I don't get the free fall thing... Whats that mean like no motor just like a gravity hopper or what? I'm just a little confused.
   

spence72 Friday, December 16th, 2005 | 12:57 pm PST
JVVLyl,

Free-fall means the hopper is not attached to the gun, I'm holding it in my hand. The hopper is on and dropping paint into a tube.
Last edited on Friday, December 16th, 2005 at 1:00 pm PST
   

Azmodon Friday, December 16th, 2005 | 7:27 pm PST
I am really thinking of getting one, either this or just get the equalizer board for my halo when that comes out, but i'm not sure if the EQ board has adjustable pressure. Hopefully it does and I can just get that. Anyone have any video's other than the "The Gat" video for this thing, i'd love to see it in action by itself, maybe on warpig.
   

JWLyl Saturday, December 17th, 2005 | 3:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spence72
JVVLyl,

Free-fall means the hopper is not attached to the gun, I'm holding it in my hand. The hopper is on and dropping paint into a tube.


Thanks
   

Sheps Monday, December 19th, 2005 | 12:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jesus_christ
"Long feed neck"
.... some hoppers have long feed necks so you can shave them down. It's an advantage, not a weakness

That is no reason to dispute a post, and the reason you stated was your opinion, just as his review was his opinion, reported.
   

TeamAcaCaptain Monday, January 2nd, 2006 | 3:39 pm PST
Halo b with rip drive and or Empire reloder b is still way better, they bothe have a free fall and burts rate up to 51 bps
   

fishhead Thursday, January 12th, 2006 | 2:34 pm PST
There is another reson for having a long neck loader, (also a long feedneck) more balls under tension. The higher your hopper sits with a force-feed hopper, the more balls you will fire at the 'fastest possible' speed of the hoper, which is the ball stack under tension. Additionally, a comment was made by a pro back player once, that it also pulls the hopper out of your line-of-sight. Dynasty Shockers come stock with high-rise feednecks.
Last edited on Thursday, January 12th, 2006 at 2:38 pm PST
   

Azmodon Monday, January 23rd, 2006 | 10:52 am PST
yes, the halo series and others - most with mods, for 7 shots can hit 51 bps free fall, but the vlocity was tested ata constant 25bps on gun, the halo also stock tested can not sustain 20 bps, it speeds to 20-21, then drops to 18-19, then back to 20-21 on a pulse. Does it really matter, no, if you're shooting that fast, you're most likely bouncing, or just can't aim, either way, if for some reason you do hit the 20+ mark, I would much rather have a stock, cheaper hopper that can handle the speed, than a more expensive one that may crush my paint if i stop shooting (which happens thanks to the halo's genius design where if it senses a jam, it draws 3-6 times the power trying to ram paint down the neck... gg)
   

BunkerBoys Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 10:00 am PST
IMO i love the way this hopper works, but not how it looks.Its ugly
   

sucker_for_pain Thursday, May 25th, 2006 | 4:32 pm PST
This is my opinion and im not alone but i think this thing is ugly as sin. but thats because i like the empire look. i really dont like its appearance.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media