paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on midman112's Review / Comments on midman112's Review / Comments on midman112's Review / Comments on midman112's Review

Comments on midman112's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

midman112 Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Midevil, Xball gold silver and bronze, Marbs, Allstar, Dibalo 13 hellfire, Empire Fuel lots of others.
Marker Setup: 2005 vision shocker red
CP reg
CP rail
Halo B w/ rip drive victory board
68/4500 pure energy nitro
Dynasty Board just got it!
freak system all american

Black PM5
DMC feedneck
Function trigger
S rail
M5 board
CP on/off
STD LPR

06 Ego
Dust red CCU kit
V 2.0 Board
Recommended
Barrels:
I cant say i can recomend any since you break every other ball.
Strengths: Umm let me think........NONE!!!!!
Weaknesses: Mishappen, bad shell, breaks in barrel not on target
Review: Alright guys, i know im going to catch a lot of crap for this review but Proto paint has got to be the worst paint I have ever shot. I picked up an entire case for 20 bucks at my local pro shop because its so bad. I had been there the week before and the price of the paint was 44 bucks a case. It dropped 24 dollars in a week that should tell you something. Anyway i needed something to shoot so i bought it against what the pro shop owner advised me. I got home loaded up my shocker went out side and shot single shots for about 5 shots. Almost ball on ball accuracy. When i tried to shoot a string of paint OH MY GOD! Every other ball that came out of the barrel was broken or went straight down or curved to the left or right. I tried matching the paint with my backs on both my pepper stcikz and my friends freak kit. NOthinhg worked and you know why because paint to barrel match doesnt help when the ball isnt even close to being a circle. One ball was so mishaped it got stuck in my feedneck and caused my halo b not to feed! I advise anyone who wants to have a good day of play or just have some fun in the backyard I would rather shoot Wal Mart paint! That is how bad this paint is.
Conclusion: This paint is horrible the only thing i can commend it on is the bright fill and i think it deserves about a two for that.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 20th, 2007 at 1:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
joe"psycho" Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 | 9:53 am PST
You suck at life.
   

midman112 Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 | 10:45 am PST
joe"psycho" you suck at everything
   

papaintballer15 Wednesday, December 21st, 2005 | 1:41 pm PST
why would u buy a case of this, that was marked down in price. Plus buying old paint does happen. Ive only ever bought 1 case of paint from a proshop, and that was premiums had had the worst experience ever. And then at a field i got old paint, if i shot 1 ball at a time it shot perfectly in my pimp, as soon as i hit over 3bps it became chop city.
   

midman112 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 | 9:16 am PST
papaintballer15 it was only marked down because the people that worked in the proshop had to get rid of it before their new shipment of xball and evil. The paint was brand new cause they got it in the week before. But yes ive bought old paint before too so i know where you are coming from. This paint was just bad mishapped inconsistent bore size.
   

turfteck Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 4:54 pm PST
Dispute:
this is very good paint! this guy just got a bad box. All paint will have a bad box here or there. He is the kind of guy who likes to argue with everyone.
   

Anchor76 Thursday, January 12th, 2006 | 7:19 pm PST
This paint is very good what u talking about, im going to buy more this weekend hehe
Last edited on Thursday, January 12th, 2006 at 7:19 pm PST
   

PB Professor Saturday, January 28th, 2006 | 2:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by turfteck
this is very good paint! this guy just got a bad box. All paint will have a bad box here or there. He is the kind of guy who likes to argue with everyone.

Yeah! I agree with you. Old box, bad results. Sorry Buddy, but you had an unfortunate experience. Get used to it. Its paintball.
   

Mentalmonkey10 Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 4:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by turfteck
this is very good paint! this guy just got a bad box. All paint will have a bad box here or there. He is the kind of guy who likes to argue with everyone.

He got a bad box, so he should say what was wrong with it. What you are saying is that for everyone who gets a messed up product/product that dosn't meet his expectations to not rate it. If that happened, every product would have 10s. I don't think you should of disputed it. Your thoughts are flawed on this matter.
   

midman112 Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 5:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Mentalmonkey10


He got a bad box, so he should say what was wrong with it. What you are saying is that for everyone who gets a messed up product/product that dosn't meet his expectations to not rate it. If that happened, every product would have 10s. I don't think you should of disputed it. Your thoughts are flawed on this matter.


Mentalmonkey10 thankyou for realizing this when now one else could.
   

Mentalmonkey10 Saturday, March 25th, 2006 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by midman112


Mentalmonkey10 thankyou for realizing this when now one else could.


Just all in a days work.:P
   

toddmcm Monday, May 22nd, 2006 | 8:20 pm PST
Dispute:
This review is not only misrepresenting the product, it's misrepresenting the sport. Is there anybody at pbreview.com that reads this stuff?

If I gave Marbs a review score of 1 and said every ball broke in the gun would you delete the review because it was obviously not credible? The specific problem with a review like this is that his experience could be technically true, that every single ball "broke". What is impossible to prove is the reason why. Obviously based on lots and lots of testing, Proto is a good high quality tournament level paint. The reason every ball broke wasn't the paint itself but a problem with the gun or possibly some other strange phenomenon like global warming.

OR, maybe the $20 a case should have been a clue. I'll bet it went a little something like this.

"Hey dude, I've got these paintballs I'll sell ya for $20"

And you thought it was "Awesome"...

What you didn't know was that the guy that sold em to you took the proto box, and filled some bags with "cleaned up" seconds. It happens all the time near a so cal field in Corona. Any "higher" quality paint with no logo is usually the scenario. You got hosed, and because you were mad you wrote a bad review. That's the way I see it.

Furthermore, based on his review he claims 4 years of experience in one review, he claims 5 or more years in others that are posted months earlier. In a court of law you just got found guilty my friend. You are no longer credible.

Take a closer look at the products he says he's used, what he currently uses, and then the product he's reviewing. It's all a bunch of verbal vomit. It was certainly NOT the quality of the paint that caused his problems. The bottom line here is that this review is not credible at all and should be deleted.

Thanks...
Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 7:43 pm PST
   

midman112 Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 | 8:05 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by toddmcm
First off, you did NOT find Proto at $20/case and if you DID, then the reason is not the paint itself, but something that happend to the paint for them to reduce the price to below cost when you add in shipping.

Second, the stuff is as consistant as any paint on the market. Round, nice shell, thick paint.

PERIOD.

his guy is a bafoon.


Dude i bought this paint when it first came out and yes it was 20 dollars a case. I doubt you live anywhere near where i get my paint so there is no way you can tell me that my review is wrong. The only reason i post on this site is to give ever person that plays paintball an honest and unbiased answer that way they can avoid having the same experince as me in this case. Dont get me wrong i love proto gear (pants, masks, pm5,pm6) but the paint sucks. If you want real paint shoot evil.

PERIOD.

   

Lucifer92384 Saturday, June 17th, 2006 | 11:15 am PST
The only problem with your review is that you are rating the product on a one time use after you were already warned about the fact that it was not quality paint. I just bought a case for this weekend. The first thing I did before even leaving the store was to open the case and give it a good visual inspection. I realize that your review on your batch of paint is an accurate and honest review. But you are coming to the conclusion that because of your bad batch that all the paint that they sell is of the same poor quality. I will give my review on this paint after I use it tommorow.
   

fishhead Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
Something else to bear in mind any paint, how was it stored and/or shipped? My local paintball show, Westside Paintball, refused 2 pallets worth of paint because the delivery truck was late and he found out it had broken down and was sitting in the Vegas summer heat for 4 hours. That will cause any paint to become bricks. The pallet of paint could have been left outside. I am not disputing your results and you should post what you found and stick by your review rating.

Stacking too high, temperature, moisture (some bags of paint are not air tight), and age all can cause any paint to become footballs, cubes, jello...

The moral of the story, always examine your paint before purchasing.
   

midman112 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 | 8:30 pm PST
Alright just to clear up the paint storage crap it wasnt stored bad the boxes were not dameages and yes i opened the box and examined each bag carefully. Only problem with that you really cant tell which balls are round and which ones are more of an oval shape. And even if it was one time use it was 2000 paintballs and they were like this in every bag! If i had been playing in a game i would have been more of a danger to my teamates than my opponents. Im telling you No one at my field uses this paint because you never know if you will get a decent batch or just plain crap. Moral of my story is buy pro caps.
   

Jmannumber7 Saturday, November 4th, 2006 | 7:51 pm PST
"Dude i bought this paint when it first came out and yes it was 20 dollars a case. I doubt you live anywhere near where i get my paint so there is no way you can tell me that my review is wrong. The only reason i post on this site is to give ever person that plays paintball an honest and unbiased answer that way they can avoid having the same experince as me in this case. Dont get me wrong i love proto gear (pants, masks, pm5,pm6) but the paint sucks. If you want real paint shoot evil.

PERIOD."

three things wrong with you...

a) obviously you do not have 4 years of paintball experiance or you would know not to buy old paint for $20

b) proto itself has never sold a case for $20, nor has any company with a brain, the only paint you might find is brass eagle monster balls or a mixed box of paint from AV for that price

c) going back to point a, all brands of paint have the occasional "bad box" of paint and it seems like you got that occasional bad box

d) there are just so many things wrong with you that i do not wish to list them, plus i am tired and need to go to bed and get some sleep for a tourney tomorrow
   

midman112 Sunday, November 19th, 2006 | 6:19 pm PST
^^^ dude kill yourself and ive been playing for more than 4 years now so screw you dude.
1. i was going to a practice the next day so i didnt need amazing paint

2. i know you get a bad box every now and then but not every bag in the box should be bad because ive never had that happen.

3. You suck at life and probably lost your tourney because you shoot crappy proto paint.

SHOOT HELLFIRE!!
   

Jmannumber7 Monday, November 20th, 2006 | 4:46 am PST
2. i know you get a bad box every now and then but not every bag in the box should be bad because ive never had that happen.

that is where you are wrong, ive had cases where every single ball has been bad

3. You suck at life and probably lost your tourney because you shoot crappy proto paint.

wrong again, we got 2nd and shot the field paint (it was freakin rec sport which is terrible but we still got 2nd)
   

Sabotuk Sunday, May 6th, 2007 | 11:45 am PST
That midman must work for drazzus or another company!

ITS BRILLIANT PAINT!! GO PROTO!!!

TRY IT AND SEE!
   

midman112 Monday, May 7th, 2007 | 2:45 pm PST
Im only 16 and know i dont work for Draxxus but i do shoot thier paint. Hellfire gets me to the podium.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media