paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review

Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

TheLastBrunnenG Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months22 of 33 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel or bolt, but neither is necessary.
3. Add a drop forward if you need one.
Strengths: Unique grip and styling makes for a comfortable and lightweight marker.
Weaknesses: Plastic (composite) frame may be a turn-off to some.
Review: The Sonix Pro is only available as a prepacked retail kit in major sporting goods stores like Dick's. It is not listed on Kingman's websites and is not the same marker as the Sonix, Sonix Value, or "Sonix 05". It is only available in a black/red paint scheme, (the Sonix Value / 05 comes in silver/black as well) packed as a kit which also features goggles, 12-oz CO2 tank , and 200-round hopper.

Bought this as a present for my wife. She's just starting out and needed a smaller, lightweight marker. She also loves the Georgia Bulldogs, so a red and black marker was perfect for her. Here's the overview:

BARREL - Standard Kingman 9" ported barrel with muzzle break. Black and very glossy, but it matches the marker. Replacement barrels will help, though the stock barrel is acceptable for starters.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Shares the same foregrip as the Pilot; it's an expansion chamber, not just a gas-through foregrip. Front block is non-standard, so replacing the foregrip with a reg will require replacing the front block as well.

VOLUMIZER - Standard Kingman issue, same as the TL-R and Rodeo. Works.

TRIGGER / FRAME - It's the only mechanical marker made by Kingman which features a vertical (90-degree) trigger frame. The frame is plastic, yes, but it's a poly composite that's very tough. No instability at all. Trigger pull is surprisingly short, and a good puller can get 10+ BPS from this mechanical frame. Grips are functional. Looks like an Angel from afar.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough; there is no drop forward. I haven't tried adding a drop on the composite frame, not sure I'd want to try.

DETENT - Normal Kingman ball-bearing detent. Has never broken or failed on me.

BODY - Smooth milling, same as the Sonix Value. Only available in glossy black and red finish. Feedneck is a standard Kingman stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end. No room for a sight or other attachments. Internals are normal Kingman parts, nothing fancy. Bolt is the standard Kingman aluminum venturi bolt. Internals are shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value.

OVERALL - Fun, light gun. Feels tiny by Spyder standards but shoots very well. The 90-degree frame feels good in the hand and takes almost no getting used to for those more familiar with 45-style frames.
Conclusion: Should be an 8.5 because of the feedneck (not the feedneck, really, just the elbow), but I'll round up. A very well-designed marker, and I wish it were more widely available. I bought it as a kit and sold everything but the marker, making this an extremely cost-effective purchase. Recommended for players wanting a vertical-frame Spyder (it's the only one) or those needing a lighter, smaller marker. Remember, this is rated a 9 when compared against others in its price class (ie., a full kit retailing for $120, always on sale for $99). Compare it against others like it (low-cost mechanicals), not against electrics or electro-pneumatics, and it's a contender.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 5th, 2006 at 10:29 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
ZaylX151 Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 | 6:47 pm PST
Dispute:
Plastic frames for guns are GOOD to work with because of their versatility!
   

TheLastBrunnenG Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 10:30 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ZaylX151
Plastic frames for guns are GOOD to work with because of their versatility!

Why is this review disputed? I agree completely with the above comment, the Sonix Pro's frame is superb.
   

sonixpro47 Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 10:53 am PST
same here
   

elmnt4lfe Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 12:33 pm PST
geez, all he said was "Plastic (composite) frame may be a turn-off to some" he didnt say they were bad, he just said some people might not like it.
   

PaintFr3ak Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 3:31 pm PST
na the frame or atleast the trigger frame is really cheap me and my bro have them, and the bottom where u insert the co2 tank has snapped off on both of them and no we didnt abuse them just simply screwing on the tank to fast and SNAP!
   

PaintFr3ak Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 3:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ZaylX151
Plastic frames for guns are GOOD to work with because of their versatility!
nope they suck
   

lilpro12 Saturday, April 29th, 2006 | 2:16 pm PST
..MY FRIEND HAS ONE. I COULD USE A PUMP MARKER AND KICK HIS BUT. AND ALSO I HAVE A PLASTER FRAME ON MY HANDLE..IT DOESNT AFFECT ME RIGHT NOW IM TWELVE AND IN A NOVICE DIVISION..SO IT DON'T MATTER
   

PaintFr3ak Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 | 2:32 pm PST
BULL CRAP THIS PLASTIC TRIGGER FRAME IS NOT TOUGH I BOUGH 2 OF THESE THINGS AND , THE ONLY THING I DID WAS TWIST THE DANG C02 TANK ON AND IT SNAPPED ... AND NO I WAS NOT TWISTING VERY HARD.



PLASTIC FRAMES BLOW
   

TippyBaller Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | 6:03 pm PST
Must you abuse kingman, they try to make quality products that DON'T COST AN ARM AND A LEG! If you must have a metal trigger frame buy an xtra or get a dye 45 trigger frame!
   

paint14baller Saturday, July 15th, 2006 | 1:19 am PST
yes, they TRIED to do good, and we thank them. however, they failed. but seriously, plastic frames are simply ponderous. whos idea was this??? i have seen many a dissapointed child in the days following christmas. kid goes to feild with new gun (THIS IS WHY YOU MUST BE SPECIFIC ABOUT WHAT YOU WANT FOR CHRISTMAS), trigger frame breaks, gun goes beserk (dont know how, dont ask, it just did), kid goes home crying. if your going to invest anything in paintball, get a gun made of metal. plastic is suitable for fisher-price tricycles. not paintball guns.
   

colonelz2101 Monday, August 7th, 2006 | 1:02 pm PST
What are you talking about the plastic frames are fine if your not slamming the gun into a cinderblock wall, It just matters on how you treat the gun and how you use it. I also admit that metal guns are good but if you get a mix between the two then it keeps it cheap and yet it is still strong; besides look at it most of the parts are metal besides the trigger/guard and the part where you screw in the Co2. Look at the airsoft guns most of those are completely plastic and I have roughed those up 10X more than this paintball gun and it is just fine
   

yoyomandan Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 | 6:12 pm PST
omg they wont break unless u like...throw them or somethin... the sonix pro is incredible of you TAKE CARE OF IT!!!!! and u dont need the frame!!!!!!!
   

413sonix Saturday, December 9th, 2006 | 5:47 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lilpro12
..MY FRIEND HAS ONE. I COULD USE A PUMP MARKER AND KICK HIS BUT. AND ALSO I HAVE A PLASTER FRAME ON MY HANDLE..IT DOESNT AFFECT ME RIGHT NOW IM TWELVE AND IN A NOVICE DIVISION..SO IT DON'T MATTER

I laugh. You think the gun makes the player. It doesn't. Plus you're not even old enough to be no this site.
   

bigtimepntballr Monday, January 22nd, 2007 | 2:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by 413sonix


I laugh. You think the gun makes the player. It doesn't. Plus you're not even old enough to be no this site.


I totally agree. Besides how long has your friend played paintball
   

413sonix Saturday, January 27th, 2007 | 6:28 am PST
I guess, the plastic frame isn't that great. I mean I overtightened the screws on mine and it cracked. It still works fine though, nothing Gorilla Glue can't fix. From the way you guys say it is that you're abusing the gun.

That kid's gun wen't "beserk" because when the sear isn't there to catch the hammer, it free cycles at around a speed of 50 CPS.
   

MikeyD70 Friday, April 6th, 2007 | 7:02 pm PST
I have a spyder and it is the biggest piece of crap i have ever shot! The screw holding on the trigger frame falls out all the time and i tighten it as tight as possible! King man just plain BLOWS!
   

nocera452 Friday, April 27th, 2007 | 7:01 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by MikeyD70
I have a spyder and it is the biggest piece of crap i have ever shot! The screw holding on the trigger frame falls out all the time and i tighten it as tight as possible! King man just plain BLOWS!
lol its a low end gun but i think its a great gun you could toss it in the river and take it right out and shoot it spyders are beasts
   

Deadman007 Saturday, August 25th, 2007 | 5:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by MikeyD70
I have a spyder and it is the biggest piece of crap i have ever shot! The screw holding on the trigger frame falls out all the time and i tighten it as tight as possible! King man just plain BLOWS!
your an idiot spyder rocks look at the VS3, dont be getting mad just because you can't mantain your gun i played in the rain and blisterring cold with my victor two and it still shoots like a charm
   

el zorro Monday, December 24th, 2007 | 4:51 pm PST
My brother has a sonix pro and just this week the ASA broke off the grip. That doesn't mean Kingman makes bad guns it just means that if someone wants a tougher more durable gun this one is a poor choice. I give this one a low rating for durability.

Furthermore, just because the grip is plastic doesn't mean it couldn't have been better designed and still produced at the same cheap price.
   

ezee86 Saturday, April 5th, 2008 | 7:47 am PST
ok ive had mine since about 04 i think. ive never had major problems with it. great gun. ive been playing on and off for about 6 years or so and have used the victor 2, pilot, tl-r and and autococker all of wich i still own and the sonix is still my primary. ive sent that thing to hell and back and it hasnt broken. the only time i choped was with a gravity hopper (non-electric) cuz i was shooting to fast for the balls to feed. the stock barrel is accurate especially for a 9in. i upgrade to the acs bolt, rocker trigger, 16 cp and raven barrel depending on my mood, cheap vl electric hopper, and compressed air cuz the trigger. the only problem i have now is the new bolt the cocking pin pops out sometimes so i carry an extra in my pocket. i still switch back to stock sometimes. but in the past 4 years i havnt had any problems past that. great gun and cheap to buy. if you break it you suck not the gun. stop going to the gym so damn much.
Last edited on Saturday, April 5th, 2008 at 7:51 am PST
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media