paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review

Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PandaTruenoGTS Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month226 of 238 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Original
Marker Setup: 2006 MR2 Spyder E-Marker Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel and hopper capable of 20+bps.
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to utilize max bps, Limits barrels due to odd attatchment
Review: This gun is awesome. It was everything I was looking for. I have always thought highly of the Spyder but I wanted a side feed gun that I could mount a site/scope and see straight down the barrel of the gun. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it on the spyder website. There wasn't very much info available so I stepped out on a limb and bought one.

This is my first e-marker and for the price it surpassed my expectations. I ordered it off ebay for $275 shipped w/24 hour shipping. I received the gun today and ran about 500 rounds through it. At first I thought I could use a regular hopper for a while until I get a better one. I thought wrong. Using a standard hopper shooting low grade diablo paint it chopped about 3 balls out of 100. After reading the manual it said to use an e-hopper capable of at least 13bps or even the ACS wouldnt stop it from chopping paint. So later today my friend let me borrow his VL Revolution. It quit chopping paint, but the hopper still cant keep up with the gun. On full auto even with the VL Rev. it dry fired every 8 balls or so. So I would recomend a Halo B for this gun to meet the full potential. One thing that suprised me is full auto mode, most guns shoot thier max bps in semi, but this one is capable of the full 25bps in full auto as well as semi.

My friend shoots an angel lcd, comparing them side by side we both agreed that the way this gun fires and handles itself is just a step down from the angel performance wise. We took out his back-up gun, an 05 Pirrana (the one right below the evo) with a lightened bot and all and dry fired them and the pirrana couldnt hold a stick to the MR2 in full auto mode.

At a range of about 15 yards using 3 round burst mode, it was shooting a pattern about the size of the bottom of a coke can which isnt bad at all. It fires the 3 round so fast you might could say its effective as a shotgun.

Its also alot more efficiant than I expected, using a 14oz co2 i still managed to get a lil over 600 shots off.

I'd also like to make a special note of the ACS. It really is as sensative as they say. Just to test it, i stuck my finger in the feed and put on full auto, everytime the bolt went foward the spring sensed my finger was there and pulled back before smashing it. (dont try this at home, just take my word for it)

Some of the key features on this gun that i really like are the on the fly switchable rate of fire built into the back of the grip. No dipswitches inside the grip like other spyders i have seen. The stock comes with the gun, no need to pay 50 plus dollars for a good stock for scenario players, and the stock can be removed by unscrewing one scew allowing the gun to be used for speeedball as well. Then theres the raised sight rail which is also removeable allowing you to add a scope or anything else you want to mount to it. Suprisingly enough even with a 20oz Co2 tank it still doesnt get in the way while using the stock either. The last and one of my favorite is the M-16 style cocking mechanisim. You pull the T-bar behind the sight rail to cock the gun and it never moves during fire. So there are no moving parts outside of the gun leaving it sealed from debris, dust, and gun hits.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker for anyone begginer or pro. Its designed for the tactical shooter but is VERY versitil dont let the looks fool you it is capable of holding its own on the speedball field. I think its under priced at $275 and is easily compareable with $500+ guns. Most of all though, if your looking for the best tactical shooter on the market with the potential to be the ultimate back position sniper gun, this is the gun for you. I hope this review answers some of your questions. I'm giving it a 10 for being the ultimate underdog and doing what I have never seen done for its price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ryankm Thursday, January 5th, 2006 | 12:58 pm PST
I was thinking of getting a Tippman A5. Have you ever heard of a scepter 4000. Its a underbarrle grenade launcher you can get it for tippman a5 or spyder but since this dosn't look like a traditional spyder. Do you think it could go on it and I might not even get Scepter and get this gun could you tell me how its better than Tippman A5
   

CORSAIR29BD Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 12:06 pm PST
I was wondering if u had experience with the Tippman A-5.....

If you have which would rather buy A-5 or MR2

i have alot of experience with spyders but little with tippmans and im in the market for a new marker so any help would be aperciated
   

TheSpy11 Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 4:04 pm PST
Although I have have zero experience with the MR-2, this gun doesn't have any significant advantages over a $64 refurbished Imagine. The only plus for the MR-2 is the speed, but that will be forever hampered by the side feed. Also, the ACS bolt isn't anything special. This review is totally wrong in saying that this gun is underpriced. It doesn't even come close to comparing to a $500 gun. This gun will perform the same as guns costing hundreds less. So, the MR-2 is a complete rip-off because what you're paying for is expensive mil-sim looks that might or might not be easily changeable.

As for A-5 vs. MR-2: The A-5 w/ e-grip is about $40 more than the MR-2, but the A-5 already includes a $60 Cyclone. Neither gun will perform markedly better than the other, but the A-5 can be more easily tuned to one's liking. The MR-2 might have some huge limitations as to which barrel, regulator, stock, mil-sim kits, etc, can be used, and the MR-2 will never shooter faster than the side feed allows.

In reality though. The Ion is a much better choice (and cheaper) for most players than the A-5 and MR-2.
   

CORSAIR29BD Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 2:55 pm PST
how is Ion cheaper ion starts at 299

plus ion is a tourney gun that requies N2 for real performance Ion and MR2 cannot be compared
   

TheSpy11 Saturday, January 7th, 2006 | 9:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CORSAIR29BD
how is Ion cheaper ion starts at 299

plus ion is a tourney gun that requies N2 for real performance Ion and MR2 cannot be compared


The Ion can easily be found for $230 or less--including rcxpaintball who is here on PBR. The Ion doesn't need HPA (I don't have it for mine). Your right, the MR-2 doesn't compare with the Ion--the Ion is much, much better and for a lower price.
   

crazy_hoodlum Tuesday, January 10th, 2006 | 10:12 am PST
A spyder is a spyder is a spyder. They all operate on the open bolt blowback system. The reason is can't compare to other higher end guns is because it's still just a spyder. The ion IS way better with consistency and accuracy, and is in about the same price range. What you are paying for here is the mil-slim looks.Nothing else. It is still a spyder.
   

ZeroGeo Sunday, January 15th, 2006 | 7:33 am PST
First off, IONS suck, Yes I wanted one when they first came out, but lets see, inorder for it to work properly yes in fact you do need HPA. Also the Ion looks like one of my son's toy guns. My Pilot ACS will out shoot and out preform any Ion I have seen. I have been playing for a while, and it gets really annoying to here people rip on Spyder. We will take yesterday as an example, Not one break or chop the whole day (1 and 1/2 case of paint) my buddy's 2500 Cocker atleast 8 or more. My buddy's Ion well lets see after spending 3+ hours in the shop he played one game then it was chop, chop, chop----back to the shop. So if thats what you call high end, you can keep it.
   

GH05T Monday, January 16th, 2006 | 5:34 pm PST
hey for the MR2 is it possible to put a different barrel from another spyder on it im preety sure u can not sure
   

ryankm Tuesday, January 17th, 2006 | 4:52 pm PST
You can put fatter barrel you just Take off the shroud and it any arrel with spyder threads fit i will eventuall post a picture.
   

Camo Snipe Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 | 6:16 pm PST
I had a problem with my barrel, but it was a three piece, so it went from 22' to 18'
   

TheSpy11 Wednesday, January 18th, 2006 | 10:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ZeroGeo
First off, IONS suck, Yes I wanted one when they first came out, but lets see, inorder for it to work properly yes in fact you do need HPA. Also the Ion looks like one of my son's toy guns. My Pilot ACS will out shoot and out preform any Ion I have seen. I have been playing for a while, and it gets really annoying to here people rip on Spyder. We will take yesterday as an example, Not one break or chop the whole day (1 and 1/2 case of paint) my buddy's 2500 Cocker atleast 8 or more. My buddy's Ion well lets see after spending 3+ hours in the shop he played one game then it was chop, chop, chop----back to the shop. So if thats what you call high end, you can keep it.

I'll reply to this JUST so others aren't mislead by your lies. "IONS suck" - wow what a true statement there. Guess what, my Ion works properly. Does it run on HPA? No, it doesn't. Scratch that one off the list. I'd say the MR-2 looks like the toy gun. I'm sure that 90+% would agree. Your Pilot will get spanked at every turn by an Ion. Facts are facts. Ion's with working eyes will never chop--your example is very weak at best. You know what? Quit working for Kingman and leave the review section of this site.
   

ZeroGeo Thursday, January 19th, 2006 | 9:24 am PST
Wow from someone who thinks that his star wars blaster pistol will own me, I will just consider the source. Ions are over rated over priced, toys, can you say 17bps to 20bps. Ok, then I was mearly making a comparision to my experiences. I am sorry to have ruffled your feathers. BEEEUU BEEEUU, have a nice day..
   

shot-on-sight Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 12:16 pm PST
Ions, do not suck they are great for the price and the SP8 is a better milsim gun. However i have a hard time beleiving an ion will run off anything other than HPA, theres a reason theres a bright yellow sticker on the ASA that says "HPA ONLY". All the ions ive ever test shot with co2 either had theyre noids blown or the internals would freeze if you went over 4bps, ion do not like co2. Ions are good so long as you know what youre doing, theres an airsmith at our field who is officialy licensed through smart parts as a shocker/ sp gun tech, now granted youre probably not going to have one of these guys handy but just read the instructions, being literate helps alot too :p
Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 6:48 am PST
   

mrspyder Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 8:03 pm PST
for those of you who think the ion is better,go drown yourselves.all the ion is,is a toy from star trek in disguise, for the MR2 on the other hand it has unbelievable accuracy and its very fast ,and ive been playing tourney paintball so I know what im talking about
   

mrspyder Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 8:08 pm PST
and for the people who keep comparing the ion to everyother gun on the market,quit working for smartparts and tell the truth,my friend and i went with three other guys to a woodsball tournament and in the first round it blew up and it cost a lot for him to get it fixed my mr2 smoked the competition i recomend this gun for anyone of anyage plus the sp-8 all it is,is a ion in comouflage from the future, even though i have nothing against smartparts
Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 8:12 pm PST
   

scenariohotshot Monday, January 23rd, 2006 | 7:48 am PST
Shot-on-sight, if you look at the ion or sp-8 manual, you will see that it says that you can use co2 if you install a siphon filter on it, but that they work best with hpa. ZeroGeo, what a marker looks like and how it preforms are two very different things. And mrspyder...well I just plain don't like you, insulting my sp-8 and all. I'd just like to point out that on pbreview the ion is under high-end electric markers while the MR2 is under low-end.
   

ZeroGeo Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 | 12:42 pm PST
Well scenariohotshot, if you had read my full comment not just the star wars blaster part then you would have read about an Ion's performance. It was for lack of a better term crappy. Also, the only reason that Kingman/Spyder gets put over to low end is that they have traditionally been on the lower end, I don't feel that that is true anymore, its a matter of opinion. As for Ion being on the high end, well that is how it was put out to the public. If your Ion is anything like my buddies Ion, and that is high end, well then you can keep it. BEEEUU BEEEUU....Have a nice day
   

bullet sheild Saturday, January 28th, 2006 | 9:10 am PST
Jeeeeeeezzzz You guys sure to get pissy when people insult you're guns. (go cockers) I have heard so much crap about my gun from people who were ignorant of its greatness (go cockers) Being unbias since I don't really care which one is better I will tell the facts tha I know. The Ion does look like a toy. It does shoot fast. You can change the plastic bodies for it. They are slightly complicated (at least for me) to work on.
As for the MR2 It can at leastcycle at 25BPS which is impressive. It does have the crappy box grips. Now I would say that neither suck that bad so you guys should just kiss and make up and maybe get someone on here who knows what theyre talking about with both guns and set the record straight.

Now I have question or two. Is the 25bps cycling speed or firing speed?
Are there a lot of unique parts because of its tactical design?
Why don't senario players use cockers instead of other loud and inaccurate guns?
And finally Why can't you guys just get along and shoot eachother like grownup instead of trying to feel dominate by comparing guns? Its not the equipment that make the player
   

ZeroGeo Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 6:30 am PST
Alright bullet sheild you win, I don't normally let myself get petty. All I was trying to say is that I had exdperinced major problems with the Ion (My buddy) and then I went a little over board. I agree it is the player and not the gun. Thanks for being the voice of reason... Have a nice day..


   

thefireinme Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 | 10:43 am PST
Going with the review that was intended, I own an MR2. First I love the package it came in, very well packed. I enjoyed how the stock is an option, and how it comes with it. The way it functions is pretty neat. Yes it is a spyder, and it acts like a spyder. I have a Ric AK hopper for it, and it works fine. I'm not sure for the 25 BPS that they claim, but for the cost, I'm very impressed.

I read on here about children who have A5's and Ions and which is better, save it for a different topic. I own 2 A5's and an Ion and simply love the A5s. The Ion could have waited, it didn't work with my style of play. I'mn not saying it's completely bad, but the plastic feel, and the cost turned me off about it. I bought the MR2 for something that's different and for now (until everyone has one) will turn peoples heads and ask about it. I'm impressed with it and will continue to promote it.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media