paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review

Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PandaTruenoGTS Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month226 of 238 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Original
Marker Setup: 2006 MR2 Spyder E-Marker Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel and hopper capable of 20+bps.
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to utilize max bps, Limits barrels due to odd attatchment
Review: This gun is awesome. It was everything I was looking for. I have always thought highly of the Spyder but I wanted a side feed gun that I could mount a site/scope and see straight down the barrel of the gun. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it on the spyder website. There wasn't very much info available so I stepped out on a limb and bought one.

This is my first e-marker and for the price it surpassed my expectations. I ordered it off ebay for $275 shipped w/24 hour shipping. I received the gun today and ran about 500 rounds through it. At first I thought I could use a regular hopper for a while until I get a better one. I thought wrong. Using a standard hopper shooting low grade diablo paint it chopped about 3 balls out of 100. After reading the manual it said to use an e-hopper capable of at least 13bps or even the ACS wouldnt stop it from chopping paint. So later today my friend let me borrow his VL Revolution. It quit chopping paint, but the hopper still cant keep up with the gun. On full auto even with the VL Rev. it dry fired every 8 balls or so. So I would recomend a Halo B for this gun to meet the full potential. One thing that suprised me is full auto mode, most guns shoot thier max bps in semi, but this one is capable of the full 25bps in full auto as well as semi.

My friend shoots an angel lcd, comparing them side by side we both agreed that the way this gun fires and handles itself is just a step down from the angel performance wise. We took out his back-up gun, an 05 Pirrana (the one right below the evo) with a lightened bot and all and dry fired them and the pirrana couldnt hold a stick to the MR2 in full auto mode.

At a range of about 15 yards using 3 round burst mode, it was shooting a pattern about the size of the bottom of a coke can which isnt bad at all. It fires the 3 round so fast you might could say its effective as a shotgun.

Its also alot more efficiant than I expected, using a 14oz co2 i still managed to get a lil over 600 shots off.

I'd also like to make a special note of the ACS. It really is as sensative as they say. Just to test it, i stuck my finger in the feed and put on full auto, everytime the bolt went foward the spring sensed my finger was there and pulled back before smashing it. (dont try this at home, just take my word for it)

Some of the key features on this gun that i really like are the on the fly switchable rate of fire built into the back of the grip. No dipswitches inside the grip like other spyders i have seen. The stock comes with the gun, no need to pay 50 plus dollars for a good stock for scenario players, and the stock can be removed by unscrewing one scew allowing the gun to be used for speeedball as well. Then theres the raised sight rail which is also removeable allowing you to add a scope or anything else you want to mount to it. Suprisingly enough even with a 20oz Co2 tank it still doesnt get in the way while using the stock either. The last and one of my favorite is the M-16 style cocking mechanisim. You pull the T-bar behind the sight rail to cock the gun and it never moves during fire. So there are no moving parts outside of the gun leaving it sealed from debris, dust, and gun hits.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker for anyone begginer or pro. Its designed for the tactical shooter but is VERY versitil dont let the looks fool you it is capable of holding its own on the speedball field. I think its under priced at $275 and is easily compareable with $500+ guns. Most of all though, if your looking for the best tactical shooter on the market with the potential to be the ultimate back position sniper gun, this is the gun for you. I hope this review answers some of your questions. I'm giving it a 10 for being the ultimate underdog and doing what I have never seen done for its price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
alpha20 Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 | 12:34 pm PST
Ok lets just say this:

Ions are completely different guns than the MR2. They're in different classes. One's a mil-sim, one's a speedball gun.

The Ion is a very upgradeable gun, indeed. I've heard good and bad things about it.

The MR2 is Kingman's first scenario-oriented gun. I honestly haven't heard much about it, so don't flak me when I say this:

I can only imagine that from my experience with Spyders, the ACS bolt will not compare very well to the eyes of any gun. Electronic eyes > ACS bolts, etc. I've worked in a paintball shop and I can truly say this with my experience.

The fact of the matter is that eyes are simply better. I can't see how someone wanting a scenario gun would go and spend $275 for essentially an Imagine or Pilot with an ACS bolt and a stock. Honestly.

Sorry, just had to say something about all this back and forth about A5's, Ions, and MR2s.

Ion (sorry to say...) > Spyders

   

Droideka Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 | 6:10 am PST
Why on earth would you stick your finger in the feed to see if the ACS bolt works!?!?!?!
   

NextoN Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 | 6:44 am PST
There is no danger to stick your finger inn the feedneck to test if the spring on the ACS is "OK".
   

cradle_of_filth Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 12:41 am PST
all spiders are the same on the inside.your just payin for looks with this gun
   

breakxeggs Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 10:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by TheSpy11


The Ion can easily be found for $230 or less--including rcxpaintball who is here on PBR. The Ion doesn't need HPA (I don't have it for mine). Your right, the MR-2 doesn't compare with the Ion--the Ion is much, much better and for a lower price.


YOU LIE! I can find a brand new MR2 for cheaper. I found a MR2 for 190 something and the Ion for 199 right off of Action Village

As for the ACS bolt... its fine and dandy if your spring isn't to stiff thats why my MR-2 chops about 1 ball a day. But once the bolt gets worn in it should be awesome. As for comparing to a Ion... it can be compared, because I'm about to do it right here in this comment.

My friends Ion with its nest of hoses its a fine and great gun for speedball, but you take it off of the speedball course and into a field/wooded area it can't keep up its highly inaccurate with a stock barrel. With the MR-2 its more accurate with the stock barrel true it is louder, heavier. Its easier to look down the barrel and see where you're paint is going so you adjust for that. Simply put the Ion is for Speedball the MR2 is for field/woods play.
   

wombizle Sunday, June 4th, 2006 | 10:14 pm PST
AHHHHHH all of this fighting. I have an ion, and my frind has a MR2. we always debate ofer which is better, so we decided to test it in several aspects.

Accuracy- the ion won this one (both stock barrels) the ion is a closed bolt EP gun with no kick because it is EP. the MR2 is a blowback which has kick. ask anyone and they will tell you that a closed bolt EP is more accurate than a blowback, because of the kick factor

Speed (semi only, stock triggers) - The ion won this one too. the trigger on the ion is easier to walk, especially if you have a trigger mod. it was close, but the ion won this, it also feds faster, because it is not a angled feed it is straight up.

Looks. the MR2 won this. the ion is ugly it looks like a bug. but a new body can make it look down right sexy. the mr2 is very clean, and loos cool

Weight- ion no question, it is like 1/3 the weight of a mr2

no chops- goes to the ion. my frined put his MR2 on full auto, and mine on ramping, both with halo's. and we started to rip. his acs bold was broken in, but he still chopped 2 balls out of the 500 we used. the ion chopped none, even when i used a gravity hopper.

duribility and maintence - EQUAL. we went into the woods with mud, and all sorts of other stufff, and got our guns filthey playing ( i usually play speedball) bothe worked perfectly. time to clean, the ion is more complicated, but if you read the manuel, it will take you only a couple of minutes. we finished cleaning at the same time. I finished 15 seconds later, because I had to undo a couple of screwes, but that is still close enough, that we called it even.

we decided that both were good guns for the same price, but hte ion was better. we are both 14, and acted more mature than all of you are acting right now. you are arguing, refusing to look at facts, and acting like retarded 5 year olds. that being said, fing a guy with the opposite gun as you, and test it out. that way, you can have your facts straight, and act civilized when you post on this sight. thank you and good day
Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 11:19 pm PST
   

iridianwolfDant Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 12:15 pm PST
The MR2's offer something that the Ion's don't: The scenario look. Sure, the electronic modes may be different and the MR2 might way more, but this how I look at it. If you wanted to add a stock for an ION, you'd have to buy a completely new body kit, which can cost between 30-70 dollars. Not only that, but the scenario kits for the ION do not do it any justice what so ever.

If you want a scenario marker that's versital, and that works, just get an MR2. I own one, and I love it. Besides, paying 250 for an Mr2 instead of 350 for an Ion leaves you 100 extra bucks to buy on paint.
   

Ravenwulfe Friday, July 14th, 2006 | 7:48 am PST
What's the point of bashing another person's gun? Everyone has their preferences. As mentioned before, the MR series is Spyder's trip into woodsball and the Ion is Smart Parts' ingenious idea for a low cost alternative in the high-end speedball market. They're pretty uncomparable. Tournament players won't like milsim looks based on preference alone, and woodsball players won't like tournament guns for looks alone.

Personally, I think the MR2 is a pretty fine marker. It feels more solid than my A-5 (just because it's put together differently, the A-5 is pretty damn solid and I've never had a problem with durability or reliability). It shoots very well, even with it's stock barrel, and one thing I did like about it is you don't need any after market accessories to make sights fit properly ( the A-5 needs a Taccap, offset hopper, or offset sight rail to have working sights). It's a pretty nifty gun. I have yet to try an Ion (I always want to try something before I make judgement calls), but something VERY cool I found out just yesterday is you can buy Milsim parts and make it look half-decent too. I'm not really a fan of electronic markers because I hate buying batteries and ramping annoys the hell out of me (am I the only person who thinks theres something wrong that some paintball guns seem like they have more computer parts to them than what you're sitting infront of right now? =P), and vertical feeds just aren't my thing, and I like to put stocks, sights, and all sorts of other fun things on them.

Wombizle's got it right on the ball though, your arguement is ridiculous. "This is better!" "No, mine is!" Seriously, if a 14 year old kid has a more open and mature mind than people I assume are probably high-school graduates or close to it, than you know something's seeeeeeeeeeeriously wrong. This is just as bad as the speedballers who knock woodsball and the woodsballers who knock speedball. How many people tried the other one, and everyone has a different preference. Just be glad there's a choice now adays.

Anyways, this was a very well thought out review Panda and keep it up!
   

alex343 Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 | 3:38 pm PST
the mr2 cant go to 25 bps in full auto or burst modes of fire
it stays at a constant 13 bps
but you could go that fast in semi you can go as fast as you can- 25 bps
   

}CGF{Chosen Saturday, August 5th, 2006 | 10:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ryankm
I was thinking of getting a Tippman A5. Have you ever heard of a scepter 4000. Its a underbarrle grenade launcher you can get it for tippman a5 or spyder but since this dosn't look like a traditional spyder. Do you think it could go on it and I might not even get Scepter and get this gun could you tell me how its better than Tippman A5

i have used all sorts of tippmans....a5 whith all stock....ill just say it bluntly...its sucks, the acuracy is horrible its butt heavy. not much distance to it. (8in stock barrel sucks geting a new one is a must...moreso not getting a tippman:*(. oh yea dont let the ACT fool you into geting a tippy. nuff said a can say alot about tippmans in the con side, so i wont get started ill just warn you, stay away from tippys!
(lol my bro had a vl orion and owned a friend that had a 98 custom whith a fl barrel, it was hillarous, the kid using the tippy put over 300 bucks into it and got pwned by a 40 doller walmart gun :P
   

Ravenwulfe Sunday, August 6th, 2006 | 12:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by }CGF{Chosen


i have used all sorts of tippmans....a5 whith all stock....ill just say it bluntly...its sucks, the acuracy is horrible its butt heavy. not much distance to it. (8in stock barrel sucks geting a new one is a must...moreso not getting a tippman:*(. oh yea dont let the ACT fool you into geting a tippy. nuff said a can say alot about tippmans in the con side, so i wont get started ill just warn you, stay away from tippys!
(lol my bro had a vl orion and owned a friend that had a 98 custom whith a fl barrel, it was hillarous, the kid using the tippy put over 300 bucks into it and got pwned by a 40 doller walmart gun :P


Seeing as most people out in recreational and scenario paintball are using Tippmann markers, I think that your findings are rather inaccurate and the mass numbers of people using them speak for themselves. I think your brother with bad accuracy must have had worse aim than the one with the worse gun, because today, I was with a guy who was picking people off with a 98 custom rental with a stock barrel, and we're talking at 300 yards where the balls are at a great curve. As for the weight; it's not that heavy. Mine has a lot of crap on it, and it only weighed slightly more than a Spyder Electra. I imagine most tournament markers are of a similar weight.

So if you can't hit anything with a decent marker, than I think it's you, but don't blame the gun. It's not it's fault you don't pratice and have a bias for no reason. Obviously seeing as the products have several hundred reviews each and are all above 8, the owners are very happy with it. Or ask any Tippy owner in the field and they'll say they love it and will probably rave about how well it's shooting. Personally, I love all guns I see in the field. I don't have this rediculous bias because that's just childish, really. 'it sux because i want 2 be teh rebel11!'. No. Please don't.
   

matts Tuesday, September 19th, 2006 | 6:35 pm PST
would a razzor barrel fit this
   

toefur001 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 | 2:32 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by breakxeggs


YOU LIE! I can find a brand new MR2 for cheaper. I found a MR2 for 190 something and the Ion for 199 right off of Action Village

As for the ACS bolt... its fine and dandy if your spring isn't to stiff thats why my MR-2 chops about 1 ball a day. But once the bolt gets worn in it should be awesome. As for comparing to a Ion... it can be compared, because I'm about to do it right here in this comment.

My friends Ion with its nest of hoses its a fine and great gun for speedball, but you take it off of the speedball course and into a field/wooded area it can't keep up its highly inaccurate with a stock barrel. With the MR-2 its more accurate with the stock barrel true it is louder, heavier. Its easier to look down the barrel and see where you're paint is going so you adjust for that. Simply put the Ion is for Speedball the MR2 is for field/woods play.


That's not what he said, he was saying u can buy an ion for less than 300.
   

toefur001 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 | 2:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ZeroGeo
First off, IONS suck, Yes I wanted one when they first came out, but lets see, inorder for it to work properly yes in fact you do need HPA. Also the Ion looks like one of my son's toy guns. My Pilot ACS will out shoot and out preform any Ion I have seen. I have been playing for a while, and it gets really annoying to here people rip on Spyder. We will take yesterday as an example, Not one break or chop the whole day (1 and 1/2 case of paint) my buddy's 2500 Cocker atleast 8 or more. My buddy's Ion well lets see after spending 3+ hours in the shop he played one game then it was chop, chop, chop----back to the shop. So if thats what you call high end, you can keep it.

You can go suck it because everything u said is crap.
Last edited on Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 at 2:35 pm PST
   

Boater Wednesday, October 25th, 2006 | 12:20 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ravenwulfe


Seeing as most people out in recreational and scenario paintball are using Tippmann markers, I think that your findings are rather inaccurate and the mass numbers of people using them speak for themselves. I think your brother with bad accuracy must have had worse aim than the one with the worse gun, because today, I was with a guy who was picking people off with a 98 custom rental with a stock barrel, and we're talking at 300 yards where the balls are at a great curve. As for the weight; it's not that heavy. Mine has a lot of crap on it, and it only weighed slightly more than a Spyder Electra. I imagine most tournament markers are of a similar weight.

So if you can't hit anything with a decent marker, than I think it's you, but don't blame the gun. It's not it's fault you don't pratice and have a bias for no reason. Obviously seeing as the products have several hundred reviews each and are all above 8, the owners are very happy with it. Or ask any Tippy owner in the field and they'll say they love it and will probably rave about how well it's shooting. Personally, I love all guns I see in the field. I don't have this rediculous bias because that's just childish, really. 'it sux because i want 2 be teh rebel11!'. No. Please don't.


First....no gun shoots 300 yards. That's the size of 3 football fields. I think a gun with flatline has trouble shooting 100 yards, and definitely most guns cannot hit the 100 yard mark without the backspin produced on the flatline.

Second...the MR2 probably does NOT shoot at 25 bps. This number is a LOT higher than most people think. Even if guns outshoot their hopper, and hoppers are rated at "x bps", you really have to ask yourself whether or not the hopper is actually feeding at "x" rather than 2/3 X. The pilot, which is similar to the MR2, shoots at 13 in full auto. My promaster on full auto shoots at 18 bps - and trust me that is pretty damn fast and I NEVER shoot that fast on any field (nor do i use the full auto feature).

Third...I've never used an ion, but judging from reviews and peoples setups, it seems like this gun is only decent until you spend a huge chunk of money getting all of these "necessary" parts because some of the stock parts are pretty bad (ie reg, QEV, trigger and even board...seems like tons of people buy an ion only to spend another $100+ for a new board). I also question it being a 'closed bolt system', because i'm under the impression that autocockers and cocker clones are the only closed bolt guns, since the EP guns push the bolt back upon connecting the gun to its air.

Fourth...Eyes do NOT always prevent chops. In theory it does, but i've experienced them as well as many others who have eyes on their guns. They work really well, and I'd definitely rate them as better than the ACS bolt, but they aren't foolproof and do not work at 100%.

Fifth...The ACS bolt isn't garbage. My friend's pilot and another's rodeo rarely bust balls. You can hear it working because it dry fires loudly, but it does work and sometimes its pulled through on some days better than my eyes. So don't go trash talking the bolt, because frankly if ACS was combined with eyes, we'd all be in a better world.
   

autocockerkid99 Saturday, October 28th, 2006 | 9:54 pm PST
so you say this gun can shoot 25 bps??? hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha
   

paintballer9876 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 9:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CORSAIR29BD
I was wondering if u had experience with the Tippman A-5.....

If you have which would rather buy A-5 or MR2

i have alot of experience with spyders but little with tippmans and im in the market for a new marker so any help would be aperciated


It depends if you want electric and cheaper price with spyders known quality go with the MR2 but you have to buy an expensive hopper and can you stand the weight of the gun. An A-5 has cyclone feeder system and weighs a little less and your not restricted to barrels, but you lose the electronics the slim design double trigger and stock. it depends on what your going to play if your a sniper the A-5 if your a front man who needs the speed of electronics and a double trigger the MR2 is the way to go, both guns can be swithed into each position with some extra money so the choose is yours. I have an MR2 and i think its awsome but thats me.
   

paintballer9876 Tuesday, November 21st, 2006 | 9:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ZeroGeo
First off, IONS suck, Yes I wanted one when they first came out, but lets see, inorder for it to work properly yes in fact you do need HPA. Also the Ion looks like one of my son's toy guns. My Pilot ACS will out shoot and out preform any Ion I have seen. I have been playing for a while, and it gets really annoying to here people rip on Spyder. We will take yesterday as an example, Not one break or chop the whole day (1 and 1/2 case of paint) my buddy's 2500 Cocker atleast 8 or more. My buddy's Ion well lets see after spending 3+ hours in the shop he played one game then it was chop, chop, chop----back to the shop. So if thats what you call high end, you can keep it.

dont be saying ions suck i have almost 5 freinds that have ions and they have never chopped when ive played with them. No gun is perfect and with almost every gun that comes out there will be small problems, and did your friend have the eye on that could make a difference the only whay that ur spyder could have not chopped a single ball is if you either have eyes on it or you have a hopper that out preformes most if not all guns on the market, or if your shooting a maximum of 5 BPS the whole day while the other people were maxing out there guns, and it doesn't take 3 hours to take an ion apart fix it then put it back together that would take mabye an hour depending on the repair.
   

mr2man24 Thursday, November 30th, 2006 | 8:13 am PST
the mr2 is better than the ion completely the mr2 and the mr3 are both better in accuracy and range and unlike the ion they can sun on unsiphoned c02 so screw ion lovers cause evryone whiney rich 11 year old on the field has one..... and mr2 is better
   

Boater Friday, December 1st, 2006 | 1:21 am PST
lol calm down. i wouldn't say MR2/3's are better...i'm no fan of the ion, but spyders are spyders..and they've got their own problems. Range is rarely a property of the gun btw...that's generally determined by the velocity and barrel/paint match (or barrel itself if it's like a flatline)
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media