paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review / Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review

Comments on PandaTruenoGTS's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

PandaTruenoGTS Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month226 of 238 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Spyder Original
Marker Setup: 2006 MR2 Spyder E-Marker Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel and hopper capable of 20+bps.
Strengths: Very Durable, Affordable, Versitile, Efficient. Side Feed, ACS
Weaknesses: Requires expensive hopper to utilize max bps, Limits barrels due to odd attatchment
Review: This gun is awesome. It was everything I was looking for. I have always thought highly of the Spyder but I wanted a side feed gun that I could mount a site/scope and see straight down the barrel of the gun. I fell in love with it the first time I saw it on the spyder website. There wasn't very much info available so I stepped out on a limb and bought one.

This is my first e-marker and for the price it surpassed my expectations. I ordered it off ebay for $275 shipped w/24 hour shipping. I received the gun today and ran about 500 rounds through it. At first I thought I could use a regular hopper for a while until I get a better one. I thought wrong. Using a standard hopper shooting low grade diablo paint it chopped about 3 balls out of 100. After reading the manual it said to use an e-hopper capable of at least 13bps or even the ACS wouldnt stop it from chopping paint. So later today my friend let me borrow his VL Revolution. It quit chopping paint, but the hopper still cant keep up with the gun. On full auto even with the VL Rev. it dry fired every 8 balls or so. So I would recomend a Halo B for this gun to meet the full potential. One thing that suprised me is full auto mode, most guns shoot thier max bps in semi, but this one is capable of the full 25bps in full auto as well as semi.

My friend shoots an angel lcd, comparing them side by side we both agreed that the way this gun fires and handles itself is just a step down from the angel performance wise. We took out his back-up gun, an 05 Pirrana (the one right below the evo) with a lightened bot and all and dry fired them and the pirrana couldnt hold a stick to the MR2 in full auto mode.

At a range of about 15 yards using 3 round burst mode, it was shooting a pattern about the size of the bottom of a coke can which isnt bad at all. It fires the 3 round so fast you might could say its effective as a shotgun.

Its also alot more efficiant than I expected, using a 14oz co2 i still managed to get a lil over 600 shots off.

I'd also like to make a special note of the ACS. It really is as sensative as they say. Just to test it, i stuck my finger in the feed and put on full auto, everytime the bolt went foward the spring sensed my finger was there and pulled back before smashing it. (dont try this at home, just take my word for it)

Some of the key features on this gun that i really like are the on the fly switchable rate of fire built into the back of the grip. No dipswitches inside the grip like other spyders i have seen. The stock comes with the gun, no need to pay 50 plus dollars for a good stock for scenario players, and the stock can be removed by unscrewing one scew allowing the gun to be used for speeedball as well. Then theres the raised sight rail which is also removeable allowing you to add a scope or anything else you want to mount to it. Suprisingly enough even with a 20oz Co2 tank it still doesnt get in the way while using the stock either. The last and one of my favorite is the M-16 style cocking mechanisim. You pull the T-bar behind the sight rail to cock the gun and it never moves during fire. So there are no moving parts outside of the gun leaving it sealed from debris, dust, and gun hits.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker for anyone begginer or pro. Its designed for the tactical shooter but is VERY versitil dont let the looks fool you it is capable of holding its own on the speedball field. I think its under priced at $275 and is easily compareable with $500+ guns. Most of all though, if your looking for the best tactical shooter on the market with the potential to be the ultimate back position sniper gun, this is the gun for you. I hope this review answers some of your questions. I'm giving it a 10 for being the ultimate underdog and doing what I have never seen done for its price range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
mr2man24 Friday, December 1st, 2006 | 5:54 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Boater
lol calm down. i wouldn't say MR2/3's are better...i'm no fan of the ion, but spyders are spyders..and they've got their own problems. Range is rarely a property of the gun btw...that's generally determined by the velocity and barrel/paint match (or barrel itself if it's like a flatline)
your one of the only people tht would say tht this isnt a good spyder look at the electra or the vs3 then tell me spyders are spyders
   

Boater Saturday, December 2nd, 2006 | 12:55 am PST
electra is the same as the other spyders with a rocking trigger (which i genuinely do not like. it just feels weird, not to mention that the dual contact points doesn't bode well with some fields and many tourneys..). My friend has a pilot, and he thinks it's great. I didn't say that the MR2 is NOT bad, I'm just saying it's got its own host of problems. Clearly, youre a big spyder fan...can see it in the name. Nothin wrong with that, but fans of one specific company fail to see benefits of other companies or the downsides of the one that they support. I try to take a neutral stance and judge it by my own observations..and from what I saw, the pilot held up pretty well after a few upgrades (and yes I played with it. It worked pretty well though it was insanely loud. I almost wished I had earplugs while using his gun...and YES there is kick. Don't try to deny it just cuz you love spyder so much. But it's not the end of the world, my promaster has some kick, but i still love it).

Though the pilot worked pretty well, I just don't dig the whole MR2 mil-sim thing. Not my type of game...the gun is pretty much the same as the pilot, but with added weight and larger dimensions. I like my guns light and small...just personal preference. I won't go into the VS3 since I haven't shot it, though I'd hafta say the gun looks pretty damn hot, though I wish they'd make a black from for the VS2, since the infiniti trigger would feel better for me than that rocking trigger. No matters though, won't be in the market for a new gun for a loooong time.

Anyways, you should think more in neutral terms. Just because I made a somewhat negative comment about spyders doesn't mean that i hate them. I just state what I observe, and that's how reviews should be. If you haven't fired other guns...then well, you should give it a shot before putting spyder at the top of the pedestal.
   

mr2man24 Sunday, December 3rd, 2006 | 2:21 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Boater
electra is the same as the other spyders with a rocking trigger (which i genuinely do not like. it just feels weird, not to mention that the dual contact points doesn't bode well with some fields and many tourneys..). My friend has a pilot, and he thinks it's great. I didn't say that the MR2 is NOT bad, I'm just saying it's got its own host of problems. Clearly, youre a big spyder fan...can see it in the name. Nothin wrong with that, but fans of one specific company fail to see benefits of other companies or the downsides of the one that they support. I try to take a neutral stance and judge it by my own observations..and from what I saw, the pilot held up pretty well after a few upgrades (and yes I played with it. It worked pretty well though it was insanely loud. I almost wished I had earplugs while using his gun...and YES there is kick. Don't try to deny it just cuz you love spyder so much. But it's not the end of the world, my promaster has some kick, but i still love it).

Though the pilot worked pretty well, I just don't dig the whole MR2 mil-sim thing. Not my type of game...the gun is pretty much the same as the pilot, but with added weight and larger dimensions. I like my guns light and small...just personal preference. I won't go into the VS3 since I haven't shot it, though I'd hafta say the gun looks pretty damn hot, though I wish they'd make a black from for the VS2, since the infiniti trigger would feel better for me than that rocking trigger. No matters though, won't be in the market for a new gun for a loooong time.

Anyways, you should think more in neutral terms. Just because I made a somewhat negative comment about spyders doesn't mean that i hate them. I just state what I observe, and that's how reviews should be. If you haven't fired other guns...then well, you should give it a shot before putting spyder at the top of the pedestal.

i like how u think of tthings to say without just bashing the other person to pieces... but i like ions actually i just don't like the maintenace involved sure once you get a bunch of upgrades the ion is better but stock i gotta go with the mr2..... and yes the vs3 is dead sexy....... im not sayin tht spyders are the best in fact the mr2 is the only spyder i like i dont even like the mr3 my friend has one and it chops like crazy even with eyes... but the mr2 i got with the halo b just rips all over the ion... and the stock really helps with the kick i mean tht is wat its there for.... and the sound .... well it is loud ya got me there but who cares if your playin woods ball which is the main use of a MIL SIM gun( even thogh it does hold its own in the speed ball course) wat it all comes down to is the preference of the plyer here... there just is no better mil sim gun for 175 dollars...... and remember this isn't my fav gun i just have one thus my name.... id much prefer a spec ops longbow to an mr2 anyday... also i think maybe you shouldn say all spyders arent good because i think the vs3says it all
   

Glasher Wednesday, January 10th, 2007 | 3:06 pm PST
Theirs Spyder haters on here hehe, I will just ahd that I took my gun to some competition so far(one recently in the big winter cold with snow and all) worked flawlessly if you do the right upgrades to fix some annoying stuff. Buy a new detent(Timmy detent can be found on ebay for liek 3$) an Alamo City Bolt with O-Rings. A good barrel(their as quite a few at the momment compare to when it came out) I use JJ and Apex(AWESOME). Optional but a valve cuz at first it was good but my friend A5 was signficly stronger but for some reason after buying a high quality vavle my MR2 was as strong as my friend upped A5. And theirs alot of stuff to update the look also to make it look liek a AK or M4.
   

mjr_paranoid Wednesday, March 21st, 2007 | 10:13 am PST
What pointless nooby arguments.

Who cares what marker is better than another. This is not the place for that garbage.
And to top it off, 80 percent of the reasons stated have been inacurate or just downright false.

Go to the chat or the boards noobs, and stop polluting the reviews sections with your pointless whining.

And just to add a comment that is actually related to this review (which also pretty lame), I have seen and tested this marker. I disagree on the rating of a ten given by an obvious fanboy who feels he needs to compare his marker to an angel to show how great it is. It is maybe a 6 on the grand scale of things.
   

aaronhre Monday, April 16th, 2007 | 4:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by thefireinme
Going with the review that was intended, I own an MR2. First I love the package it came in, very well packed. I enjoyed how the stock is an option, and how it comes with it. The way it functions is pretty neat. Yes it is a spyder, and it acts like a spyder. I have a Ric AK hopper for it, and it works fine. I'm not sure for the 25 BPS that they claim, but for the cost, I'm very impressed.

I read on here about children who have A5's and Ions and which is better, save it for a different topic. I own 2 A5's and an Ion and simply love the A5s. The Ion could have waited, it didn't work with my style of play. I'mn not saying it's completely bad, but the plastic feel, and the cost turned me off about it. I bought the MR2 for something that's different and for now (until everyone has one) will turn peoples heads and ask about it. I'm impressed with it and will continue to promote it.



A STOCK MR 2 WILL NOT CYCLE AT 25 BPS STOCK only 13
on the other hand with a custom board i had created and programed from scratch the solenoid will trigger to a max of 37 bps
   

divebomber93 Sunday, May 6th, 2007 | 4:19 pm PST
How do you know that?
   

angry farmer Friday, June 8th, 2007 | 7:38 am PST
hey i bought a mr2 and i put it on auto. i shot about 10 shots off on full auto and than i had to kock it agen. this problem keept on happing. do u know what is rong????

thanks
   

headshot 007 Tuesday, August 28th, 2007 | 3:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by GH05T
hey for the MR2 is it possible to put a different barrel from another spyder on it im preety sure u can not sure

Actually you can put other barrels on their but you are very, very limited. Also you would think that the mr2 being made from spyder would be able to fit their barrels.. right?
   

headshot 007 Wednesday, August 29th, 2007 | 1:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by angry farmer
hey i bought a mr2 and i put it on auto. i shot about 10 shots off on full auto and than i had to kock it agen. this problem keept on happing. do u know what is rong????

thanks


Yes... but you should know if you buy such a high end gun. Your chopping paint. You need a faster hopper. That's all.
   

headshot 007 Wednesday, August 29th, 2007 | 1:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by aaronhre



A STOCK MR 2 WILL NOT CYCLE AT 25 BPS STOCK only 13
on the other hand with a custom board i had created and programed from scratch the solenoid will trigger to a max of 37 bps


No... It will cycle up to 25 balls per second on semi auto. On full auto it's around 13
   

mussaazhar Wednesday, January 16th, 2008 | 10:02 pm PST
Would you rather have a Spyder MR2 Electric or a BT-16 Tactial? Which one and why?
   
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media