paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review / Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review

Comments on TheLastBrunnenG's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

TheLastBrunnenG Friday, January 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested101 of 145 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, TL-R, and Rodeo, JT Excellerator 3.5e and TAC-5, Tippmann 98 and A5, more...
Marker Setup: * Spyder TL-R with a new Phat feedneck and PMI Razzor 14" barrel.
* Spyder Sonix Pro with a new ACPball feedneck and a 12" J&J Precision barrel
* Game Face Vexor Eye with a custom ACPball delrin bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. Feedneck / elbow.
2. Barrel, but not necessary.
3. Red dot dight and other decorative junk.
Strengths: Slick styling, simple yet effective design
Weaknesses: Cheap plastic feedneck elbow. Lack of volumizer or expansion chamber may hurt CO2 users.
Review: 11 FEB 2006 - Added a comment under the Detent section, changed rating from 8 to 7.

The MR1 is the electronic MR2's little brother, but it's an odd design. It's not as scenario-heavy as the JT TAC-5 but it's not as easy to use or as well-equipped as lower-cost mechanical markers like the Xtra or TLX. The rundown:

BARREL - 12" ported barrel with no muzzle break. Matte black so there's no glare to give away your position. Not very quietest, but that's normal for Spyders. Good internal finish, and better accuracy than average for a stock barrel. There is no volumizer shroud like on the MR2, so replacement barrels will be easy to add. Looks like a 2-piece but isn't.

FOREGRIP / EXPANSION CHAMBER - Foregrip is metal and vertical, shaped off the old AMG molds. It's just a gas-through foregrip, so there's no expansion chamber. No way to add a regulator since there's no front block to replace - the foregrip bolts directly into the body of the gun. Grip is a hair loose even with the bolts tightened.

VOLUMIZER - None. The body is capped where a volumizer would go.

TRIGGER / FRAME - Standard mechanical metal Kingman trigger frame. Trigger pull is 3/4" and not adjustable. Frame is all metal with very nice rubber grips. Safety is standard crossbolt for mechanical markers. Trigger has a little side play and is squeaky.

DROP / ASA - ASA works well enough and has an internal filter. Drop is short but angled. BIG HOORAY: The MR series uses IN-LINE SCREWS ON THE DROP FORWARD!!! No more offset Kingman-only holes! The line is black-coated stainless braided line.

DETENT - Integrated under the angled feed port's braces. Not a standard Kingman left-side ball-bearing. *** EDIT 11 FEB 2006 - This will cost the MR-1 a rating point. I played with the MR1 today, and through 4 games it successfully fired maybe 20 balls out of 500. The problem was the detent - the bolt sheared it clean off! The MRs use a tiny rubber finger as a detent and the MR1's aluminum bolt cut it right in half. It began double and triple feeding, which any marker with no detent could be expected to do. I didn't discover this until much later, when I got home to disassemble the marker (the detent is installed underneath the feedport plate). Why, oh why, did Kingman stop using their standard left-side ball-bearing detent??? ***

BODY - Minimal milling. Feedneck is an angled 45-degree stub with a cheap plastic adapter/elbow. Field stripping is a standard Kingman pull pin (held by a ball bearing, not a cotter pin). Body is all metal, but the marker is no heavier than a TL-R. The top of the marker comes with built-in 7/8" Weaver rails, interrupted by the feedneck and cocking knob. There are no bottom or side rails. Body is uniformly matte black with a tough finish; the cocking knob is also black.

STOCK - Shared with the MR2. Stock is open-frame skeletal design but is very stable and tough. Makes the already heavy MR1 even heavier, but it's worth it. The stock insertion is o-ringed so the marker may perform even better with it than without.

INTERNALS - Top-cocking marker (stacked-tube blowback) with an open rear end (unless the stock is attached). Internals may be shared with the TLX, TL-R, and Sonix Value / Sonix Pro, but I'm not 100% certain yet. Bolt is a standard Kingman aluminum venturi bolt. Interior finish is excellent. Velocity is adjusted via a rear set screw, not by the old Kingman thumbwheel.
Conclusion: Marker feels good but it's not as well-equipped as lower-end markers - it's basically a dressed-up Victor or a stripped Sonix Value. The finish is good but the short rail (the main attraction for scenario / milsim buffs) is barely useful. CO2 users may be hurt by the lack of expansion chamber and volumizer. It's a good, solid marker, but only if you're dead-set on a mechanical or really need a blasted-black paint job. Maybe if someone added the e-frame from a $60 refurb Imagine then this would be a contender. Otherwise it's an 8 out of 10, and I'm generous because I'm a Kingman geek.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 11th, 2006 at 8:50 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
di$TOrTed Friday, January 6th, 2006 | 10:33 pm PST
nice review, this is how reviews should be done
you should talk about how it shoots more
   

ICARUS_XIII Monday, February 6th, 2006 | 6:21 pm PST
your not just A Kingman geek you are THE Kingman geek!......thanx for the info,i think i willl get the mr2
   

QuiGonKen Friday, February 10th, 2006 | 11:33 pm PST
compared to the tippmann 98 how does the MR1 stack up?
   

paintball_chick Thursday, March 9th, 2006 | 4:42 pm PST
the c98 is beder
   

HobHayward Tuesday, March 14th, 2006 | 8:03 pm PST
Ok paintball chick, you've made one review, and that was for a brass eagle talon...

No one listen to him/her.
   

ppppoway Saturday, March 25th, 2006 | 6:35 pm PST
man,,, edit your review. you said you would give it a 8 but you gave it a seven. whats up with that?. edit yuor review dude. do it. yur makin the gun seem bad ur sumthin.
Last edited on Saturday, March 25th, 2006 at 6:36 pm PST
   

sirnster Saturday, March 25th, 2006 | 9:35 pm PST
look under his review section.. it says he changed his rating from 8 to 7 and tells why
   

hippieman08 Friday, March 31st, 2006 | 7:32 pm PST
If anyone has a problem with their ball detent, check out my review, I tell how to fix it real quick
   

guinnessboy Tuesday, April 18th, 2006 | 11:30 am PST
Have you attempted to add a EGrip to this marker along with an ACS Bolt? I'm in a woodsball team going to the SPPL and I can't use my pilot, so I'm looking to consolidate.
   

cyph34r Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 | 2:00 pm PST
Dispute:
there's a notch in the bolt that makes it impossible for it to cut off the detent.
   

JIMJIM_TIPPMANN Tuesday, June 20th, 2006 | 7:12 pm PST
I think i will just stick to my Tippmann Custom Pro.
   

PB4Christ Saturday, June 24th, 2006 | 7:21 pm PST
It's a good gun but I've used heavier markers (of course I've played with a VM-68 which is just a monster!) I gave it a ten in my review but I agree with an 8, it's more about personal feel than anything.
   

hudson4269 Monday, July 3rd, 2006 | 3:56 pm PST
Good review, but wish it didn't have such a negative tone, even though the rating was good.
   

likmypaintballs Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 8:00 pm PST
can i put a real gun scope on this thing? y does the cocking knob look like it covers up the sites
   

Greg-Suchy Thursday, July 13th, 2006 | 12:52 pm PST
I have checked this marker today!!!
Nice surprise
   

goldeagle Thursday, July 27th, 2006 | 10:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by cyph34r
there's a notch in the bolt that makes it impossible for it to cut off the detent.
You're an idiot. That's no reason to dispute a review!!!
   

DokWatson Monday, July 31st, 2006 | 5:05 pm PST
Dispute:
The detent in this marker is fine, the bolt has a slot that allows the bolt to slide past it harmlessly. If you install the bolt upside down, this slot is on the opposite side, therefore shearing off the little rubber 'finger' detent. I dont think it would re-cock considering the gas port is on the wrong side...but it would definately shear off a detent
Last edited on Friday, August 4th, 2006 at 1:30 pm PST
   

Lustgarten Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 | 3:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by HobHayward
Ok paintball chick, you've made one review, and that was for a brass eagle talon...

No one listen to him/her.

any tippmann will kill the terrable crappy kingman mr1 mr2 mr3
   

matts Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 | 4:04 pm PST
hey i am thinking of getting either this or a pilot acs, but i am mainly a woodsball player and i really need a stock and a right handed sight wat is ur suggestion be thnx alot
   

matts Wednesday, September 13th, 2006 | 6:44 pm PST
what x chamber do you suggest for this that is under 50 bucks
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media