paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on wise690's Review / Comments on wise690's Review / Comments on wise690's Review / Comments on wise690's Review / Comments on wise690's Review

Comments on wise690's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

wise690 Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
Opsgear m82a1 shroud (black)
Opsgear m82a1 mag kit
Opsgear 18" interceptor barrel
Tapco T6 Six position stock
3-9x32 variable scope
20 oz co2 & 9 oz co2
Strengths: Tons of mounting space,
looks good,
very durable,
weaver mounts.
Weaknesses: Heavy (my whole gun weighs 10.5 pounds loaded).
Digs into the 98 sight rail.
Review: I got this because I am into milsim paintball and this shroud looks awesome on the 98c. The weaver rails allow you to mount a lot of stuff compared to the single dovetail rail on the stock 98c. A barrel needs to be at least 9 inches long to touch the end of the shroud. The shroud is very durable and will stay still on the gun if mounted correctly.

Weaknesses: This is a very cool shroud but it does have a few weaknesses.
The shroud can be tough to install. It only has four screws that hold it in place. These screws mount on the dovetail rail but they grind up the rail. Once installed though, the shroud is very rigid and does'nt move at all. It can be very heavy sometimes. My gun weighs 10.5 pounds loaded. It is not a big deal to me though.

The shroud does'nt really cost $150. Go to the Opsgear website and you can get in black or OD for $100.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this shroud for milsim players or players who want a lot of weaver mounting rails. If you buy this shroud, buy some kind of mag kit and a stock. I am only giving this shroud a 9 because it tears up the 98c dovetail rail.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
dieselbreath360 Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 7:56 pm PST
can you tell me how much you got the m82a1 that plas shiping
   

wise690 Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 | 5:22 pm PST
Well, I got a 15% discount and paid for two-day shipping. It should'nt cost you more than $115 with shipping, and I promise you it's worth it. I love mine, but the first time, it is a little tricky to put on. After that, you can take it on and off with few problems
   

dieselbreath360 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 12:43 pm PST
o thanks my bro sed that i dont nead it but i thank im giting it cus i wunt to put sights bipod handels and all that jazz on it o ya how did you git a 15% discount o ya and will that mag kit fit the tippmann 98 ixphashin camber
Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 12:58 pm PST
   

wise690 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 1:45 pm PST
I bought mine in December. They give a 15%discount off of your total purchase around Christmas. I am not sure if it will fit an expansion chamber. If it is any wider than the part the grip screws into, then no. The mag kit I have is the older style with the flat bottom. They don't sale them anymore. I am not sure if the slanted one they are currently saling will though.
   

wise690 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 1:47 pm PST
Heres a link to pictures of mine. Some are pretty old and are very basic. The newest ones are the ones with the bipod pictured. I have added tons of stuff since the time I wrote this review.

http://www.freewebs.com/balls_out/wisesgear.htm

   

dieselbreath360 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 1:54 pm PST
hey it will not let me go to your web is thar a way you can put pics on this sight like the ether pic you have
Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 2:01 pm PST
   

dieselbreath360 Thursday, April 6th, 2006 | 2:10 pm PST
nm i got it dude that is sweat!!!!! i have tippmann 98 custum dubbel trigger car stock opsgear interceptor barrel opsgear m4 hand gaurd and tippmann 98 ixphashin camber
and what gun do you like the most
Last edited on Thursday, April 6th, 2006 at 2:16 pm PST
   

wise690 Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 3:09 pm PST
You mean like out of the guns I have? If so, my upped WGP Nightkast.
   

dieselbreath360 Saturday, April 8th, 2006 | 2:14 pm PST
ya thats what i mint
   

wise690 Wednesday, April 12th, 2006 | 5:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by dieselbreath360
nm i got it dude that is sweat!!!!! i have tippmann 98 custum dubbel trigger car stock opsgear interceptor barrel opsgear m4 hand gaurd and tippmann 98 ixphashin camber
and what gun do you like the most


Nice setup!
   

wildchild7912 Sunday, April 16th, 2006 | 5:11 am PST
Hey dude are the OpsGear Interceptor barrels worth it?
   

wise690 Monday, April 17th, 2006 | 7:34 pm PST
IMO, they are. If you have the money to buy it, I would say its worth it. Honestly, the video is just a little far-fetched. I am not exactly sure the barrel can perform that well. I think the OPSGear gun featured in the video was tuned just right or something to that extent. Results will vary, but in my experience, it has been a very exceptional barrel.

If your not comfortable paying that much, I would reccomend a 16" J&J. It might just be better.

Just a note, the fluted one is for looks only.
   

jalex199 Monday, July 28th, 2008 | 9:49 pm PST
hello do the items above make the gun that is at the top of the page and what style of 98c?
   

jalex199 Monday, July 28th, 2008 | 9:51 pm PST
and the gun that is above ur post can i buy it with all that together or do the items u typede the things i need to make it and what style of 98c and soz if i sent this twice my comp had shutdown acidentaly so i wasnt sure.
   

jalex199 Monday, July 28th, 2008 | 9:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wise690


Nice setup!

hey man whats the gun that above ur post if u know what items make it plz tell me exactly what i need or i u sell them id pay a pretty good bit for 1
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media