paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on intelligent1's Review / Comments on intelligent1's Review / Comments on intelligent1's Review / Comments on intelligent1's Review / Comments on intelligent1's Review

Comments on intelligent1's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

intelligent1 Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock Tippmann A-5 E-grip board
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 (Flatline, Starfire bolt, Ergo reg, Co2, E-grip/w rampage board, Qev.)
Strengths: Seven modes of operation , 2 reprogramable , 25 balls per second,1 button setup with led.
Weaknesses: You need a qev for the cyclone if you want to get over 17bps.
Review: I bought the 50 dollar board which you have to take off the stock solenoid and solder it on the Rampage board. Overall everything went fine and I couldn't wait to get my A-5 on the field. As soon as I got on it, the rampage worked great. I haven't had any problems and support is great. I didn't want to spend a lot of money so I got the 50 dollar board. There is the 80 dollar board and comes with everything. All you do is swap out everything inside the e-grip. The only major problem was getting the trigger to actually fire. I had to bend the metal trigger switch to get it to fire. I looked at the stock e-grip board and it was bent also. I tried it and it worked. I would give it a 10 but the trigger switch was hassle to fix, but I finally got it after about 4 tries.
Conclusion: If you want to spend alot of money on paint get this. It is amaising. I got it for the firing modes. 1 button setup is way better then having to pull out a philips screwdriver.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 19th, 2006 at 10:36 pm PST
 

Review Comments
pbking1000 Thursday, January 26th, 2006 | 4:10 pm PST
How difficult is it to install the QEV and what do the two extra firing modes do? Does it make a noticable difference from the stock E-grip?
   

paranoid Friday, March 10th, 2006 | 12:37 pm PST
Ok, I have never heard of any way to install a QEV anywhere on a tippmann, so I would ask you to enlighten me.

Also, why did you bother with a regulator if if you don't have an lpr kit and a nitro tank.
   

A5_Tippmann Wednesday, March 15th, 2006 | 3:05 pm PST
what does the QED do
   

BMFer Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 | 3:35 pm PST
Regulating CO2 is a very effective way to get better shot to shot consistency, for those that haven't upgraded to HPA it is the way to go.
QEVs for the A5 attach to the cyclone piston. They allow the excess gas to escape quickly (hence the name) so that the cylone can cycle quick enough to keep up with the newer E-Grip boards.
Most people have gotten 18 bps without problems in the cylcone, anything over that turnus it into a blender or causes 'skipping' in the cyclone.
Some QEVs are difficult to install, but some are available to install w/o tools.
Search for A5 QEV
   

no_pain_no fun Monday, April 17th, 2006 | 9:05 am PST
QEV goees on the cyclone smar tpeople
   

pbking1000 Monday, June 5th, 2006 | 1:30 pm PST
you could also get the vortex mod to speed up the hopper instead of the QEV.
   

a5ghilleman Saturday, July 1st, 2006 | 11:03 am PST
what qev would you recommend
   

a5ghilleman Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 11:50 am PST
can you do max bps at full auto or dose that requier ramping
   

8.ball Sunday, October 15th, 2006 | 6:19 pm PST
oh the rampage is one sweet sweet board and iv'e seen a video of it doing 25 bps ..(mine is in the mail now) yes they are very fast and awsome...oh and u should have gave it a 10 if you would have looked on their site in the forums for questions and help they made an anouncement that they need minor bending and from what i hear they also say it when you get it :P
   

8.ball Sunday, October 15th, 2006 | 6:20 pm PST
oh the rampage is one sweet sweet board and iv'e seen a video of it doing 25 bps ..(mine is in the mail now) yes they are very fast and awsome...oh and u should have gave it a 10 if you would have looked on their site in the forums for questions and help they made an anouncement that they need minor bending and from what i hear they also say it when you get it :P
   

Kreth Monday, December 18th, 2006 | 3:55 am PST
Not sure if it changed in the last 10 months, but the instructions with my APE board shows where and how to bend the trigger switch
   

-Viper- Sunday, January 14th, 2007 | 7:40 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by a5ghilleman
what qev would you recommend

I have the Palmer's Pursuit Shop QEV and you install this one w/o tools. I love it and I have the Vortex mod to go along with it. But I have the w.a.s. board which came stock in my e-grip. I am hoping to upgrade to a rampage when I get some more money and my team and I start playing more.
   

fishery09 Wednesday, March 14th, 2007 | 6:40 pm PST
I agree with you that the metal piece was a pain. I also had 2 bend that little sucker. Took me forver
   

Honor_Necris Sunday, May 6th, 2007 | 11:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by a5ghilleman
what qev would you recommend


I recommend saving your money, and buy the new QEPH. The x7 uses venting ports directly on the Piston Housing to exhaust the gas directly from the cylinder (the fastest route possible), and TechT Paintball is selling a PH mod for the A5. I bought a PPS QEV, and I am not impressed. TechT currently sold out all of their "BETA" QEPHs, so more should be available around May 20th.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media