paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Sgt.Bart's Review / Comments on Sgt.Bart's Review / Comments on Sgt.Bart's Review / Comments on Sgt.Bart's Review / Comments on Sgt.Bart's Review

Comments on Sgt.Bart's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Sgt.Bart Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month29 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, it's...eh. See below.
Tippmann 98 Custom, but that's completely different, IMO.
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra ACS '05
Halo B Loader
Nitro tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, if you really want to, although it's unneccesary.
Halo B, or Egg. Definately not a Revvy.
Nitro, but CO2 works just fine.
Strengths: Fast
Reliable
Good construction
Beautiful to look at
Trigger
Delrin bolt
Easy strippage
Weaknesses: Blow-back (not too bad though)
Review: Okay, so recently I went paintballing with my Electra (I rented a Nitro tank) and a friend, who rented an Ion at my insistance. I really wanted to test out both so I could compare and contrast. These are my conclusions.

THE GOODS

The gun is undeniably fast. Although it differs from person to person, it can be extremely fast in the right hands. I personally adore the rocking trigger, although that too differs from person to person.

Spyder/Kingman is known for its reliability in its markers, and this one is no exception. It is built to excellent standards, and it really shows. It's durable, and the anodizing is damn good.

Although I'm not a huge fan of the blow-backs, i'm pretty happy with the delrin bolt. It works, simple enough.

The only time I chopped with it was when I tried my friends revvy on it, and there was only one chop there. With the Halo B, there were none, and I went through a few cases with paint.

THE BADS

It's a blow-back, which isn't that bad, but I prefer electro-pneumatics.

Two safeties, and although its pretty secure, it only really needs one.

Trigger is extremely reactive. I accidentally shot a few off a few times.

COMPARE

Since the Ion and Electra are competitors, which I personally don't agree that they should be, as they are completely different guns, I figured I'd put my two cents here about them.

The Ion was a pretty good marker, I'll admit, but it did have its problems too. I didn't really like the trigger, it was a pain to change the velocity, and a few times, more than the Electra, it chopped. It was weird because it had its eyes on, but it might be that it was overshooting its revvy loader.


Now. I'm not an Ion hater, so please don't bash that, but I personally find the Electra better. I respect both markers, and have a personal preference to the Electra, which you may disagree with, which is fine.

EDIT: I just wanted to note that the marker is indeed tourney legal. Besides having a tournament lock switch to only allow semi-auto, it has been certified by the NPPL and PSP as perfectly legal. The rocking trigger has two contact points, unlike all other triggers which just have one. But it's still every time a contact point is hit, it fires one paintball, making it legal.
Conclusion: I'm going to give the Electra a 10, as I can't give it the 9.5 I feel it deserves. I recommend purchasing this gun. It's definately worth it. Please, when you write comments, don't bash the Electra or Ion like in many other reviews. And please, try and stay on topic. Don't go off onto talking about the Diablo Wrath or whatever. If you have any questions, I'll check this a'plenty, so feel free to ask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 21st, 2006 at 11:54 am PST
 

Review Comments
Spear_Chucker Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 5:08 pm PST
"Please, when you write comments, please don't bash the Electra or Ion like in many other reviews. And please, try and stay on topic. Don't go off onto talking about the Diablo Wrath or whatever. If you have any questions, I'll check this a'plenty, so feel free to ask."

I agree with ya there dude. This is a forum ppl, not a playground for immature kids who bash whatever gun they don't have when there is even a slight chance that it is better than theirs. Good review btw.
   

iliveforthis99 Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 5:10 pm PST
Wow finally an electra owner who doesn't bash the ion, props to you. Now let address some things u said about the ion. I agree about the trigger too i hated mine. And i didn't find it at all hard to change the velocity. Now for chopping either the battery was low, the eyes where dirty, or like you said out shooting the revi.
   

JD9940 Friday, January 20th, 2006 | 9:25 pm PST
ok, you don;t like the Ion trigger fine, a lot of ppl don't

But why are you comparing a Electra with a Halo B to an Ion with a Revy?
Try making the loaders the same (swith them?)
Also did you use CO2 with the Ion, for God's sake don't compare that to the Electra either.
   

JJVLTRIAD Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 9:46 am PST
Did you make sure the eyes were turned on on the ion?
   

Sgt.Bart Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 11:34 am PST
It's possible the eyes were dirty, or they weren't on properly. I mean, it was a rental after all. I'm not positive they were on to begin with, as I just randomly switched it with my friend after a few rounds, but I'm pretty sure that he turned them on. I was thinking about switching the hoppers, but I didn't want to put the revvy on my Electra. It was brand new, and I didn't feel like chopping tons of balls. Most of the reviews here I read said that with a revvy, you'll chop like crazy.

Thanks.
   

Sgt.Bart Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 11:38 am PST
Oh yeah, for the velocity adjustment, I had to take a wrench to the gasline, which was a pain to do each time I needed to make an adjustment on the Ion. The Electra was much easier, since it had a knob on the back. The one problem with that was that its too reactive. They should make it so you can't make the velocity more than 300, but less than 220 or so. I'm excited for the Electra ACS '06, which supposedly has eyes built in. Oh, and I love the price on the Electra. Originally it was more expensive than the Ion, but now its about $50.00 less.

Thanks.
   

iliveforthis99 Saturday, January 21st, 2006 | 8:06 pm PST
$230 NIB ions from rcxpaintball.
   

Tippy674 Sunday, May 14th, 2006 | 11:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sgt.Bart
Oh yeah, for the velocity adjustment, I had to take a wrench to the gasline, which was a pain to do each time I needed to make an adjustment on the Ion. The Electra was much easier, since it had a knob on the back. The one problem with that was that its too reactive. They should make it so you can't make the velocity more than 300, but less than 220 or so. I'm excited for the Electra ACS '06, which supposedly has eyes built in. Oh, and I love the price on the Electra. Originally it was more expensive than the Ion, but now its about $50.00 less.

Thanks.

me too, but they may not be break beam
   

Sgt.Bart Monday, May 15th, 2006 | 12:44 pm PST
Better than nothing though.
   

William8578 Thursday, July 5th, 2007 | 3:50 pm PST
Just a quick comment oaky guys DONT USE CO2 IT RUINS YOUR GUN IN THE LONG RUN use compressed air see when you shoot your gun co2 just shoots thourgh the regulator and dosent pressurize soo you do not get consistent shots every time they go every where and yoi the shots get weaker and weaker but......with compressed air it goes into the reegulator and is pressurized all in the space of about 1 5th of a second and then fires with the same consistent shots every single time (until you run out of air). soooo thats why co2 stinks and C/A rocks
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media