paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mr Peakin's Review / Comments on Mr Peakin's Review / Comments on Mr Peakin's Review / Comments on Mr Peakin's Review

Comments on Mr Peakin's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mr Peakin Tuesday, January 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts AA, Dye Ultralites, CP 2 Piece
Marker Setup: Eclipse Ego, Tadau board, Dart Bolt, Halo b w/ victory, Crossfire 45/68
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not really any they all seem to break in the barrel
Strengths: Great customer service only
Weaknesses: Loud, not as accurate as stock barrels, breaks paint
Review: Long story short I shopped around and decided on this barrel but was very disappointed. Like I said it is loud, inaccurate, and breaks paint. The inserts are not all as polished on the inside as they should be. For example, one day I shot my Dye ultralite with a .688 bore all day without a break. At the end of the day i tested the Scepter .688, .690, and .692 inserts with the exact same paint, and every one of them broke paint. I don't know if it is just the way that the inserts sit in the back or what all I know is that it breaks paint.
Conclusion: I wish I wouldn't have bought the Scepter because now I just have a Dye .688, .692, and CP two piece .696 in my kit. By the way they work great and cover all ball sizes that the Scepter covers except the really really small ones. Powerlyte does have excellent customer service so I will give it a 4.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 at 7:14 pm PST
 

Review Comments
DireWolf Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 | 8:06 pm PST
Odd...Ive got 2 kits and never broke paint in em. Is it breaking in the inserts or tip?
   

Mr Peakin Tuesday, January 24th, 2006 | 11:54 pm PST
I think that the balls are breaking right as the they are entering the inserts because there is no paint in my chamber but paint all in the barrel. I'm going to call Powerlyte as soon as I have time. By the way I am using X Ball gold and silver if that helps. When I shoot the ultralite with either the .688 or the .692 it shoots great no chops. Also like I said I just got the CP .696 to cover the really large bore paint and it shoots just as nice as the Dye. Anyway if you want a third Scepter Kit just let me know I'll be glad to sell or trade it.
   

oneshotkiller Wednesday, January 25th, 2006 | 3:55 pm PST
ill take it....its not the kit breaking paint, its either ur not matching it correctly or maybe ur dwell is to low...i've shot over 6 of them never seen a ball break in them...were u playing in the rain or canada?..you ever think why there are 50 positive reviews...then u..
Last edited on Wednesday, January 25th, 2006 at 4:08 pm PST
   

EvilCreature Thursday, January 26th, 2006 | 10:03 pm PST
Yeah, I would buy some of the inserts... maybe the whole thing... PM me and let me know.

It really isnt the barrel's fault...
   

Mr Peakin Friday, January 27th, 2006 | 9:36 am PST
Right, I read all the reviews, but it isn't just the ball breaks, it is also the inaccuracy and loudness. I guess I was just use to the Ultralite. When I get some air I will test it again, but I will sell it for sure it has barely been used and I have 6 inserts and two 14'' tips one of which is red and the other is black. Also I play in TN so it's not too cold. I have also tried it indoor. OneShotKiller this may sound dumb but I'm not sure how to PM you so just tell me how and I will.
   

oneshotkiller Friday, January 27th, 2006 | 8:27 pm PST
just find me on aim : dudeseriously03, as far as the inaccuracy i'm thinking something you might have just gotten a "lemon" or you dont have your air settings right....there probably one of the most accurate barrels i've ever used because the way the inserts lock oh well
   

bobthemonkey Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 5:22 pm PST
are you sure you are putting it in right? you know that the sleve doesnt go into the threaded end right? you put it in the part where the front screws into the back.
   

Mr Peakin Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 6:21 pm PST
yep
   

RepairedPants Thursday, April 13th, 2006 | 7:14 pm PST
Ur probably not using a big enough bore. No offense or anything but Ego's are louder than the average marker. This barrel silenced my old noisy impulse. Makes my Pm6 whisper. Maybe u just got a lemon. I'm sure if it is, powerlyte will help u out.
   

mooniniteman Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 | 3:45 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by RepairedPants
Ur probably not using a big enough bore. No offense or anything but Ego's are louder than the average marker. This barrel silenced my old noisy impulse. Makes my Pm6 whisper. Maybe u just got a lemon. I'm sure if it is, powerlyte will help u out.

does it work pretty good on ur PM6? or shoyuld I get a Matchstik?
Last edited on Wednesday, August 9th, 2006 at 3:45 pm PST
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media