paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on 2lucky's Review / Comments on 2lucky's Review / Comments on 2lucky's Review / Comments on 2lucky's Review / Comments on 2lucky's Review

Comments on 2lucky's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

2lucky Saturday, January 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
DM4-5-C I had very few problems with any of these markers. All issues were easily remedied.
Marker Setup: Halo B, 72-4500 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perhaps a new board from Dye, an aftermarket board, or a hopper w/loader delay.
Strengths: Small, light, very accurate, beautiful look, great feel, reeks of quality.
Weaknesses: Last ball bounce (LBB). You couldn't empty a single hopper without a chop.
Review: I loved this marker the moment I saw it. The first DM6 my shop put on the shelf, I bought. Wanted to make sure it was ready for play Saturday so I aired it up when I got home - chop - chop. Thought the paint must be bad. Saturday - chop -chop. After several trips to my shop, I called a Dye tech. I was initially told that it's my Halo. After further discussion the tech confided that his DM6 was doing the same thing and I should fill the hopper before getting down to the last 12-20 balls. When I asked the tech why LBB is not a problem with the DM4-5-C, he said he didn't know. I've tried each and every fix suggested on all the major message boards, other than replacing the board, or hopper. Nothing helped. I traded my DM6 yesterday. I'm 47 and am not going to pack this gun away until Dye decides what to do - if anything.
I've rated this gun based on MY experience. I know most of you Dye enthusiast won't be pleased. Sometimes the truth hurts.
Conclusion: I can only surmise that the many people experiencing the eyes/board/chopping problems have chosen not to post here. I personally know 2 players that purchased DM6's. Both have have had these problems. One has traded his DM6. The other is hoping Dye will figure it out and do the right thing. Anybody that buys this marker before Dye resolves this issue is taking a big risk. You've been warned.
I still love my DM5 and will keep it as a back up.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Paintballshurt Saturday, January 28th, 2006 | 8:18 pm PST
Like most paintball guns, the first batch that is released usually have a few problems. I know a few kids with Dm6s that happen to have the same thing happening to their guns, and I hope Dye works it out soon.
Last edited on Saturday, January 28th, 2006 at 8:22 pm PST
   

call_me_jum Saturday, January 28th, 2006 | 9:23 pm PST
I'm curious to see what the fix is for this.

Good, honest review. I hope the Dye fanboys see it the same way.
   

DynastyShockViz Sunday, January 29th, 2006 | 4:14 pm PST
yea i shot one today it didnt chop although the guy did say his gun has eye problems and my dm5 does chop on the last ball because of the ball bounce issue, but i never really let it get that low anyway, but thank you for being honest in your review because im going to get a dm6, but by the time i get the money dye will have fixed this problem (hopefully) i know them as a good company so im confident they will.
Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 8:38 pm PST
   

Neonlazer Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 6:00 pm PST
Hes 47?! Damn, hardcore. And yeah, I agree, first batch is always the one with problems. Mass demand=Mass Production=Problems due to rush. An honest review, I like it. Sucks your first experience with it was so bad.
EDIT: I've had my DM6 for a couple months, and I only chop MAYBE once every time I play (8 hour average)
Last edited on Saturday, May 13th, 2006 at 5:36 pm PST
   

Snowman282 Sunday, February 19th, 2006 | 7:55 pm PST
I got a chance to use a friend's dm6 for a day because of a bet (long story) but he warned me about the lbb problem. Well becuase a. I'm not used to shooting that fast and b. I don't pay attenchen I had gone through my full halo... not one break. It's wierd for his gun becuase some it does it and some times it doesn't... I got lucky and didn't break one all day.
   

dyepunk13 Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 10:14 am PST
i fully understand that you are writing this review on ur opinion, but i've never seen a problem like yours...obviously it's not just one, but a few if the tech had the same problem. i work at my local field (Pevs) and have seen quite a few DM6's and my friend owns one...i saw my friends chop, but that WAS the paint. he just bought a different brand and it was fixed. I understand y u gave it a low rating, but it shouldn't have been that low, because most DM6's are fine. if your writing this based on just the first bach, then give us updates if you buy a new one, and tell us wut u think
Last edited on Monday, February 20th, 2006 at 10:16 am PST
   

doody Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 6:49 pm PST
just 1 ?. Y would u reccomend a new board if the stock board is awsome and has psp and millenium???
   

2lucky Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 11:01 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by doody
just 1 ?. Y would u reccomend a new board if the stock board is awsome and has psp and millenium???

The stock board doesn't have a loader delay setting. It's been suggested that by using a loader delay setting, on a board or hopper (Vlocity), the LBB could be eliminated. This would seem a likely fix.
   

Tbone0423 Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 3:37 pm PST
does the proto m6 have LBB?
   

DynastyShockViz Monday, March 6th, 2006 | 12:52 pm PST
havent heard of it having it but i dunno
   

fishhead Sunday, April 30th, 2006 | 9:05 pm PST
Several players at my local field have had eye problems and one had a solenoid problem on his NIB DM6.
   

toddmcm Friday, May 19th, 2006 | 1:25 pm PST
Dispute:
This guy is off his rocker.

Ball breaks in a dm6?
The reality is I have a ten man team, all with 6's and all with 5's for backups.

I've got about 60 cases of paint though a 6 with not a single break. All of us have the same amount of paint through them, some guys have had a "few" breaks. Less than 20 total between all of us.

Shoot down simply does NOT exist if the marker is set up properly. This guys review is bs.
   

I_Am_The_Walrus Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 9:13 pm PST
Toddmcm dening that a flaw in your favorite marker, then claiming someone else's experiance with the marker is a lie. real nice. i own a Dm6 and havent encountered this problem, but he is entitiled to his opinions, however the score he gives the gun does effect the whole score a good bit, i think he just got the odd lemon. I've never heard of this but it sounds like a flaw in just his, not all Dm6's, which i have chopped with its not impossible. decent review, was more of bashing Dye then a review but since you never really got to shoot the gun cant blame ya.
   

GoNexus1991 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 | 3:42 pm PST
There is a reason that the eyes were not working, i read it in pgi's why i quit dynasty for the ironmen. The problem is that the eyes were not insereted into the breech far enough, so the eyes weren't working. All you ahve to do is take a slim oring, and put it behind the eye covers. There, voila, you have working eyes. Also, i believe dye has made new eye covers, so now you can get them under the dm6's warranty.
   

ca_skater2000 Monday, July 17th, 2006 | 11:21 am PST
yeah i have to say i agree with the eye problems. i sent mine back to dye because the eyes wold fire when there wasnt even a paintball in the breech but only when you start to rip on it. i think that the eyes are working so fast that they malfunction the relay single back to the board.
   

justinjfrancis Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 | 3:26 pm PST
Hey,

I had the exact same problem. But I managed to solve it by realising a few things. Now this is just my experience and is definately not a general fix for all.

1. New Battery Helps
2. Don't over lube or lube at all the front o-ring on the bolt. This dirtys the eyes, yes i know there self cleaning but for paint not lube. It interferes with the "ray" coming from the sending eye to the receiver eye causeing the pb to be detected early. aka chop
3. Try to adjust your lpr as low as you can without shootdown, be as nice as you can to your pb's.

   

pber13 Saturday, August 12th, 2006 | 9:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by toddmcm
This guy is off his rocker.

Ball breaks in a dm6?
The reality is I have a ten man team, all with 6's and all with 5's for backups.

I've got about 60 cases of paint though a 6 with not a single break. All of us have the same amount of paint through them, some guys have had a "few" breaks. Less than 20 total between all of us.

Shoot down simply does NOT exist if the marker is set up properly. This guys review is bs.

okay, first of all that was his expereience with the gun he got. Just because yours works great does not mean that everyone else's will. Just he gives an honest review that you don't like is no reason to dispute
Last edited on Saturday, August 12th, 2006 at 9:32 pm PST
   

speedyg Monday, September 18th, 2006 | 8:01 pm PST
My friend sent his DM6 in twice and finally got a new replacement. But its a sick gun.
   

Dom'pops'Wolf Thursday, December 21st, 2006 | 8:18 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by toddmcm
This guy is off his rocker.

Ball breaks in a dm6?
The reality is I have a ten man team, all with 6's and all with 5's for backups.

I've got about 60 cases of paint though a 6 with not a single break. All of us have the same amount of paint through them, some guys have had a "few" breaks. Less than 20 total between all of us.

Shoot down simply does NOT exist if the marker is set up properly. This guys review is bs.


It's almost 2007 and I just got my DM6. I used it at practice and the thing chopped a few times out of every hopper. Now, sometimes I would say that this could be do to the gun being set up incorrectly. SO I took it down to my shop and had the tech look at it. The guy himself owns a DM6 and couldn't find any problems, he told me to shoot diferent paint and to let it air out. So I did. I played a tournament on Saturday and the thing was still a soup factory. There's no problem with the eyes, it's been cleaned thorughly and I've adjusted everything from trigger sensitivity and dwell to hopper. Sometimes I know a hopper doesn't load fast enough, so I changed my Vlocity to a Reloader B and then to a Halo. I've chopped on all of them. My local tech has no idea what to do about it since he can't find a problem, and if you're not ramping or firing fast in semi you won't chop. When I get home I'm calling DYE to see if there's a fix, but 11000 for something that chops this much? Ridiculous, I should have bought the Timmy. The Timmy is heavier and bulkier, which is why I got the DYE but I haven't heard of this problem with the Timmy. Anyone who freaks out like that guy did that I quoted is being stupid. Every gun is diferent, I know tons of people who use DM6s and LOVE them. I just happened to get a bad one, like the reviewer did.
   

dyebpoy Thursday, February 8th, 2007 | 3:15 pm PST
you cant empty a hopper with out a choping sure what kind of paint where you using willed streaks?? or where you using a gravity feed hopper and turning of you eyes
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media