paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

LandonBlake Monday, January 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested17 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I currently wield, proudly, a WGP E2-blade autococker and overall is a much better product that is much easier to customize to your own needs and style.
Marker Setup: One (1) DYE Ultralight barrel, One (1) 1.10 model E2-blade, One (1) KAPP front block (excluding the three-way ofcourse), One (1) custom body, One (1) HALO-B Loader, One (1) Gen-X Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
On the Ion, everything. Its a cheap gun. Go ahead and invest a little more in something worthwhile. Go to the Smart Parts website and they even provide a list of upgrades it needs.
Strengths: Its cheap? Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Weaknesses: Its cheap. Shoddy quality. Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Review: Strengths: I realize that this is a major selling point for the marker, but after all the repairs and upgrade parts you're going to have to pay for, its going to be as much as just buying a decent marker.

Weaknesses: The parts are of shoddy quality, that need replacing, and if not, will need repairs often. Yes it is electronic, but the marker itself just isn't equipped for those rates of fire (17 balls a second? Not today) and trying to fire it that fast just may make the marker explode. Also it's a very loud marker with notable kick. I realize in tournament play decibel level isn't too much of a downfall, but after playing with an Autococker for so long, it tends to stand out in a bad way, and the kick just makes it hard to walk-the-trigger effectively.



What can I say that already hasn't been said dozens of times by obviously more knowing patrons to the sport? Go to the show dropdown list and select "Lowest Rating First," and read unbiased opinions of the marker. I'm also very aware that many of you will argue that these opinions, are indeed, biased, but first consider this: why should/would they be? If I was feeling malicious, and wanted to ruin someone's day, I could think of a lot better things to do than giving a random marker a bad review. There's a VERY good reason that this marker was only priced at $300. You get what you pay for gentlemen.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. Its a cheap gun that's going to cost at least twice what it's worth to fix. Go ahead and invest a little more into something good. You can do it. I believe in you. Normally I would rate this marker at least a 3, but because it is being paraded/masqueraded as a tournament marker capable of 17 balls a second, I'm forced to give it a 1. Sorry guys.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 9:48 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Vordoen Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 10:18 pm PST
May I comment on how rediculus you sound. Not even a single reason as to why it isn't working properly...There's an entire realm of people that use IONs, and each of them will tell you, They're not shoddily made guns, and they're not low quality, and NO they do not require as much service as you claim. I bought my ION and only had one hose ever break on me, which was my fault, because i forgot to turn down the reg before airing it up. NO OTHER PROBLEMS other than that. Sure I lost an O-Ring from the feedneck, but other than that? It's fine. If you're upgrading? Barrel, feedneck, and trigger, the REGULAR THINGS YOU WOULD UPGRADE ON ANY GUN! Possibly a regulator. Maybe drop, all to taste though. As for the entire "Gun might explode if you fire this fast". There's restrictions and limits your board puts on the gun to allow it, or not allow it to fire that fast. It's called the dwell...I'm sure you've used a high end gun before? You know all about adjusting these things...Or at least I thought you would. Your gun when you get it comes equipped with everything you need. The efficiency as well as the price are well worth the value. Taking care of your marker no matter what gun it is, is important. Maybe it was the user's fault for the failure of the marker, as for the rest of the world and those who own IONS? Don't even account this as a lower rating for this gun, no reason stated, no true weakness. No detail. At least have the decency to do things the right way and explain your reason. Otherwise just fill up the text boxes with the required amount and put a 1. Nobody needs to hear an unintelligent review. (As for the upgrading parts? Why is it that everyone upgrades their marker anyway? Oh wait, it comes out to be the same price, think before you say.) Good day sir.
   

wolfwood3996 Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 10:23 pm PST
the only reason im not going to disagree with you, is that you are not being a complete B**** about it. You do get what you pay for, but it really isnt as bad as you say. You do have to upgrade and fix it every once in a while, but you wont end up spending twice what you payed. If you are actually smart and know how to take care of your gun, then you wouldn't have to repair it every 10 days. If you actually maintain it like instructed in every manual you will ever read, except maybe a spyder manual or something like that, then you should be fine. this is a decent priced gun that could get you started on your way to winning a few amateur tournaments. I truely do thank you for not being a a-hole.
   

Vordoen Monday, January 30th, 2006 | 10:33 pm PST
Agreed wolf...The Ion's not as bad as everyone claims it to be, It's a step up from your tippman, yes, but tippmans are chunks of metal that shoot paint at excessive velocities. They don't break. Ion's are more along the line's of needing maintenence and service, without an LCD screen goin off telling you to. Just keep up with the gun, and all is well, I say give it another chance buddy. You'll see...maybe you'll like it. If I could show you mine I'm sure you'd be impressed, that's because I bought it when it first came out, and have only invested about...150, which is still a reasonably swell price.
Last edited on Monday, January 30th, 2006 at 10:36 pm PST
   

yoodleduck3 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 5:03 am PST
This gun shoots great out of the box with nitro and a fast hopper. All you said in this review is how bad it was, never gave a reason. The Ion can keep up with any tourney player.
   

LandonBlake Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 10:27 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Vordoen
May I comment on how rediculus you sound. Not even a single reason as to why it isn't working properly...There's an entire realm of people that use IONs, and each of them will tell you, They're not shoddily made guns, and they're not low quality, and NO they do not require as much service as you claim. I bought my ION and only had one hose ever break on me, which was my fault, because i forgot to turn down the reg before airing it up. NO OTHER PROBLEMS other than that. Sure I lost an O-Ring from the feedneck, but other than that? It's fine. If you're upgrading? Barrel, feedneck, and trigger, the REGULAR THINGS YOU WOULD UPGRADE ON ANY GUN! Possibly a regulator. Maybe drop, all to taste though. As for the entire "Gun might explode if you fire this fast". There's restrictions and limits your board puts on the gun to allow it, or not allow it to fire that fast. It's called the dwell...I'm sure you've used a high end gun before? You know all about adjusting these things...Or at least I thought you would. Your gun when you get it comes equipped with everything you need. The efficiency as well as the price are well worth the value. Taking care of your marker no matter what gun it is, is important. Maybe it was the user's fault for the failure of the marker, as for the rest of the world and those who own IONS? Don't even account this as a lower rating for this gun, no reason stated, no true weakness. No detail. At least have the decency to do things the right way and explain your reason. Otherwise just fill up the text boxes with the required amount and put a 1. Nobody needs to hear an unintelligent review. (As for the upgrading parts? Why is it that everyone upgrades their marker anyway? Oh wait, it comes out to be the same price, think before you say.) Good day sir.

Firstly, if you look towards the top of my review, my experience with the gun is exclusively through test-firing and watching others play with it. I thought that, maybe, I wouldn't have to go into personal detail and give personal experiences and other nonsense, which is not a good way of critiquing a marker, much less anything else. An arguement uses facts, not opinions and personal experiences. I pointed out its downfalls and its strengths and gave proof of why I thought that, which is exactly what pbreview.com explicitly requests.

Secondly, before you criticize me on my intelligence, learn to spell. pbreview.com OFFERS a spell check to use before you post your comments, but overall its up to you to get the spelling, and more importantly, your grammar correct.
Last edited on Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 at 10:35 am PST
   

kevo1022 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 3:16 pm PST
Dispute:
That was one of the most biased reviews ive ever heard.....

seriously, its not that bad, never had a problem with mine, sure the feedneck might not be great, but thats a 20 dollar upgrade. everyone else with one i know loves it
   

seanrquinn Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 4:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
That was one of the most biased reviews ive ever heard.....

seriously, its not that bad, never had a problem with mine, sure the feedneck might not be great, but thats a 20 dollar upgrade. everyone else with one i know loves it

30 actually...
   

kevo1022 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 6:01 pm PST
ummm you can definately get one for 20 my friend
   

LandonBlake Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 8:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
That was one of the most biased reviews ive ever heard.....

seriously, its not that bad, never had a problem with mine, sure the feedneck might not be great, but that's a 20 dollar upgrade. everyone else with one i know loves it

Please, PLEASE, tell my how my review could possible be biased? As I so clearly stated, if I were feeling malicious, I can think of a LOT better things to do to make people mad. Your dispute is biased. I also like how the moment someone sees their gun being rated objectionably, they throw a hissy fit and decide that the article is automatically "untrue."
Last edited on Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 at 8:28 pm PST
   

dormlifesucks Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 | 9:31 pm PST
Dude you don't want good technology in the hands of people with less money than you. i have an ion and it shoots great, it isn't that loud, and it has almost no kick.
   

HoLLo Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 7:19 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake

Secondly, before you criticize me on my intelligence, learn to spell. pbreview.com OFFERS a spell check to use before you post your comments, but overall its up to you to get the spelling, and more importantly, your grammar correct.


Now you're just trying to start crap. That is a lame argument. Why are you trying to just look smart and tough and tell him his spelling is crap. I find few, if any, spelling errors in his post. You, my friend, are just a pissed off noob who wants to start crap, and you have no idea what you are even talking, or thinking, about. That post was just for you to look better and have a comeback because you do not have a debatable argument on your side of the story.

State your argument and get on with yourself.

The Ion is NOT one of these "you get what you pay for". This gun is a "you get a hell of a deal for what you pay for".. When you buy a Dragon intimidator, for example, you have to pay for all that special milling, all that custom painting it takes all the employees at Bob Long to take their own time and paint and mill. You have to pay more for the gun, to pay their bills for all their machines they have to use for that. You are also paying the employee wages that paint and run those machines. What if a guy wants to have a gun that performs great, but does not care too much about all that fancy crap? An ion has all metal quality internals, but with a thick hard polymer shell. This polymer shell is cheap to make and mass produce because of the ease and the material used. They can mass produce these a lot cheaper, because they do not have to pay their employees to mill and paint these things. So, someone can get a great performing gun, and if they want to change the looks, bodies are readily available for them. The option to have those bodies purchased seperately, rather than available on the gun, also makes the gun cheaper, each gun is shipped black, and then they can buy whatever color they want later.

This gun is FAR from cheaply made. If the polymer shell is convincing you it is cheap. Sure, go buy a ~$100 aluminum body for the Ion. It is all up to you. Then the gun will be the same as a metal frame gun, if you will. But it has the option to be bought cheap, due to the ease of production..

Thank you.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 7:28 am PST
   

LandonBlake Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 9:52 am PST
There's four different colors they produce for your "thick hard polymer shell", which is still plastic, and you say there are "bodies [that] are readily available for [customers wanting to customize their marker]?" Also, I NEVER mentioned another marker that should be purchased, I just suggested, Heaven forbid, looking into investing in something better, much less a "Dragon intimidator." I never solicited another product. Here's another fascinating object for us to observe: How do we know you arn't some PR agent for Smart Parts, using a shill account to post favorable comments for your product, a widespread phenomena, used by mostly video game developers, and get this, paintball product marketers. Feel free to boggle on that for a while. Here's a link to a PR agency's website so you can check it out, http://www.hypecouncil.com. Their motto is "Integrating advertising and publicity online." I also like how you attacked the most mundane part of my argument, my defensive stance on my intelligence.

P.S. Chill out. I gave no reasons for you to become so angry, and I thought I was very polite about the entire matter. We don't need another postal employee, we have enough of those.

P.P.S. There are spelling errors in that post, and his grammar is atrocious...

P.P.P.S. Oh, and the internals, do indeed, suck.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 8:43 pm PST
   

kvrvc Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 11:42 am PST
you do know that it is

P.P.S, not P.S.S aswell as P.P.P.S

just making sure before u critisize others about grammer. Spelling and grammer shouldnt matter too much in something like this i wasnt aware that it was a research paper due for class.
   

HoLLo Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 12:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
There's four different colors they produce for your "thick hard polymer shell", and you say there are "bodies [that] are readily available for [customers wanting to customize their marker]?" Also, I NEVER mentioned another marker that should be purchased, I just suggested, Heaven forbid, looking into investing in something better, much less a "Dragon intimidator." I never solicited another product. Here's another fascinating object for us to observe: How do we know you arn't some PR agent for Smart Parts, using a shill account to post favorable comments for your product, a widespread phenomena, used by mostly video game developers, and get this, paintball product marketers. Feel free to boggle on that for a while. Here's a link to a PR agency's website so you can check it out, http://www.hypecouncil.com. Their motto is "Integrating advertising and publicity online." I also like how you attacked the most mundane part of my argument, my defensive stance on my intelligence.

P.S. Chill out. I gave no reasons for you to become so angry, and I thought I was very polite about the entire matter. We don't need another postal employee, we have enough of those.

P.S.S. There are spelling errors in that post, and his grammar is atrocious...

P.S.S.S. Oh, and the internals, do indeed, suck.



The words "for example" are used on purpose. Can you read? No, i am not with Smart Parts, I just know a lot about the Ion. And if you offending me on your defense. Who the f*** do you think you are to come on here and bias everything.

Now that you have posted lots of opinions, let's hear your facts. Prove to me the internals suck. Prove to me the body sucks. Prove to me this gun is not worth $300. Prove to me the gun will break down on you. Prove to me the marker will explode. Prove to me the marker is not capable of 17bps.

How the hell would you know it would explode. You know nothing. Opinions mean NOTHING. I have learned this, (teachers) unless you have provable evidence to back it up.
   

LandonBlake Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 1:35 pm PST
As a PR representative of Smart Parts, prove to me that the marker is worth-a-damn. You have yet to prove anything yourself, much less that the gun is worthwhile. Secondly, just go to their website, they tell you what the gun is made of: plastic, and cheap metal. As for the exploding gun, I watched it happen in a ten-year-old's hands, and at first thought he was seriously hurt, thankfully not. Oh, and just what teachers are you rambling about again? Grade school?
Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 1:41 pm PST
   

HoLLo Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 2:45 pm PST
It's your review, you're the one needing to show worthy facts.


— Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

A first for paintball, the Ion uses an outer body kit or shell. While the inner core that protects all the functioning parts is made from aluminum, the outer shell is a high quality composite available in four colors. Not only that, but the body shell is tough, scratch resistant and does not fade or gouge. Our body kits allow you to instantly change the look of your Ion without physically changing the marker. Just replace your old shell with a new one.

yeah their site REALLY does say its made from cheap plastic and crappy metal. I HIGHLY doubt you really saw a gun "explode" maybe a hose bust.. thats about it.. you're just BSing.. You must also note you said "ten-year old".. It probably was the first time he gassed it and had the reg set way up..

I have already made a review that you poorly reviewed it, if you want my proof of high quality.
   

cort422001 Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 2:53 pm PST
Landon is on the right tract here. The Ion is not what it was advertised, (a 300 dollar tournament marker) instead it is a 300 dollar [I]intro[/I] marker. This gun hardly deserves a 1(terrible), perhaps a 43 or 4( below average). However, by placing it in the "high end Electronic marker" category pbreview pitted it against such guns as intimidators, angels, shockers, and egos. When rated against the supreme performance of these truly "high end" guns, the rating must, indeed, be lowered. On the other side, if this gun was in the "low end" category, it would deserve a perfect 10 after comparing it to e-spyders and piranhas. With the increasing demand for low priced quality guns, perhaps a new category, "mid-range markers", would place the Ion in a more fair arena. Then it could be compared to other guns for approximately the same price, i.e. Evil Omen, Wrath, stock Impulse, and stock autococker. People with about $300 then could compare intro markers with a lesser degree of bias and make a decision based on their personal needs.

*steps off soapbox*
Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 2:53 pm PST
   

seanrquinn Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 7:22 pm PST
Just stop whining and support your review, which you already have done. Paintball markers are only supposed to legally be sold to 18 year olds, and operated with an adult around (if the user is a minor, like me). Like the others, i highly doubt that the 10 yr old actually had his marker assembled correctly and had it explode. SP's QC is generally very good, and if there is a leak that you cant fix, you should send it in. I am 13, and am not a representative of SP.
   

LandonBlake Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 | 7:36 pm PST
The child was that indeed, a child. He was not very old, and ten is the best age I can guess. Also, let me clarify "explode,": the child disappeared in a cloud of gas, AFTER (watch out boys, keyword coming through) he had been playing with the marker for quite some time. When I say explode, I don't literally mean the marker blew up into shrapnel, instantly vaporizing all nearby pedestrians, I mean the marker seem to break in all its critical places at the EXACT same time. If physical properties would have allowed it, the marker would have been a pile of mush. If the marker had not been a $300 piece of equipment, it would have truly been amazing, which is my point. While $300 is a FANTASTIC price for a tournament grade marker, it's still a $300 marker, a size-able chunk of change, that should function properly.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 1st, 2006 at 7:40 pm PST
   

HoLLo Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 5:32 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by cort422001
With the increasing demand for low priced quality guns, perhaps a new category, "mid-range markers", would place the Ion in a more fair arena. Then it could be compared to other guns for approximately the same price, i.e. Evil Omen, Wrath, stock Impulse, and stock autococker.


That's a good idea, I don't understand why they would not have that. Most people would say a stock autococker is high end though? It costs about the same price.. Are you gonna say it's in the wrong spot? No. But, the fact is. If you are weighing its features and abilities, the high-end is going to outweight low-end way more. Hence, the category.

And Landon, that may be just one gun out of thousands. I'm sure there have been similar problems with angels, timmy's, whatever. 1/100,000 guns is not going to affect the fame of this gun.

Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 5:34 am PST
   
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media