paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

LandonBlake Monday, January 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested17 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I currently wield, proudly, a WGP E2-blade autococker and overall is a much better product that is much easier to customize to your own needs and style.
Marker Setup: One (1) DYE Ultralight barrel, One (1) 1.10 model E2-blade, One (1) KAPP front block (excluding the three-way ofcourse), One (1) custom body, One (1) HALO-B Loader, One (1) Gen-X Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
On the Ion, everything. Its a cheap gun. Go ahead and invest a little more in something worthwhile. Go to the Smart Parts website and they even provide a list of upgrades it needs.
Strengths: Its cheap? Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Weaknesses: Its cheap. Shoddy quality. Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Review: Strengths: I realize that this is a major selling point for the marker, but after all the repairs and upgrade parts you're going to have to pay for, its going to be as much as just buying a decent marker.

Weaknesses: The parts are of shoddy quality, that need replacing, and if not, will need repairs often. Yes it is electronic, but the marker itself just isn't equipped for those rates of fire (17 balls a second? Not today) and trying to fire it that fast just may make the marker explode. Also it's a very loud marker with notable kick. I realize in tournament play decibel level isn't too much of a downfall, but after playing with an Autococker for so long, it tends to stand out in a bad way, and the kick just makes it hard to walk-the-trigger effectively.



What can I say that already hasn't been said dozens of times by obviously more knowing patrons to the sport? Go to the show dropdown list and select "Lowest Rating First," and read unbiased opinions of the marker. I'm also very aware that many of you will argue that these opinions, are indeed, biased, but first consider this: why should/would they be? If I was feeling malicious, and wanted to ruin someone's day, I could think of a lot better things to do than giving a random marker a bad review. There's a VERY good reason that this marker was only priced at $300. You get what you pay for gentlemen.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. Its a cheap gun that's going to cost at least twice what it's worth to fix. Go ahead and invest a little more into something good. You can do it. I believe in you. Normally I would rate this marker at least a 3, but because it is being paraded/masqueraded as a tournament marker capable of 17 balls a second, I'm forced to give it a 1. Sorry guys.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 9:48 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
seanrquinn Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 7:25 am PST
Ok the stupid (notice i said stupid, not all kids are) kid probably didnt have his banjos on all the way... jeez i hate noobs that give ions bad raps, because with a QEV, a freak, and a Tboad, this marker can actuallly play well in turneys.
   

LandonBlake Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 10:37 am PST
How much would your Freak barrel system and a "Tboad," I'll assume you meant board, cost you? Strictly from a curiosity standpoint.
Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 10:38 am PST
   

kevo1022 Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 1:28 pm PST
im pretty sure he meant tboard, and its less expensive than your cocker, and probably blows it out of the water....
   

JDCocker Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 2:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by HoLLo

You know nothing. Opinions mean NOTHING. I have learned this, (teachers) unless you have provable evidence to back it up.


Given your point of view... wouldn't that also mean, that your opinion means nothing?

Oh, and btw... isn't the purpose of pbreview, for people to give their OPINIONS?

He stated why he doesn't like the Ion. He offered his experience with the Ion. He doesn't like the Ion. Get over it.
   

JDCocker Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 2:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
im pretty sure he meant tboard, and its less expensive than your cocker, and probably blows it out of the water....

Funny... but I kept shooting out the kid with the Ion, last week... with my lowly mech cocker. Oh and the guy, playing with the pump... pretty much owned everyone.
   

kevo1022 Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 3:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by JDCocker


Funny... but I kept shooting out the kid with the Ion, last week... with my lowly mech cocker. Oh and the guy, playing with the pump... pretty much owned everyone.


hmmm well couldnt it also have to do something with the guy with the ion possibly sucking?
   

LandonBlake Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 5:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
im pretty sure he meant tboard, and its less expensive than your cocker, and probably blows it out of the water....

Your comment is so mind-boggling, that I can ONLY assume that you havn't read my Autococker's setup. I use an E2 frame. That's an E with a 2. Possibly the best electronic frame on the market, and not only that, the Autococker's workmanship is better than the Ion's can ever be.
Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 5:17 pm PST
   

HoLLo Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 5:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
How much would your Freak barrel system and a "Tboad," I'll assume you meant board, cost you? Strictly from a curiosity standpoint.

All that would be about the same price anyway.. it's like taking a Firebird and a Trans-Am.. The firebird is cheaper, and not as good.. But with a bit of money, about as much as you would pay for the Trans-Am.. you could make it just as good
   

kevo1022 Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 6:27 pm PST
wow an e2....used it before, its fast, but heavy. a tboard has unlimeted cycling rate now doesnt it?
   

LandonBlake Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 | 10:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by HoLLo


All that would be about the same price anyway.. it's like taking a Firebird and a Trans-Am.. The firebird is cheaper, and not as good.. But with a bit of money, about as much as you would pay for the Trans-Am.. you could make it just as good


That car comparison is the most ludicrous thing, meant to be taken seriously, that I have EVER read. The E2 weighs significantly less than a pound, I can give you actual statistics if you like, but I figure you would rather look at the technical aspects yourself. It also has a maximum fire rate of fire of 18 bps, way more than the Ion is capable of, and a much better trigger setup. When you get your facts straight, and stop making stupid comparisons, then I'll let you come back to the big boy's table.

P.S. So how about it? How much would that board and barrel system cost, all together? What the Hell, throw in the QEV's too.
Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 9:26 am PST
   

kevo1022 Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 4:42 am PST
with the t board the ion can go 24..........go to their website, they have a movie of it
Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 4:42 am PST
   

LandonBlake Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 7:26 am PST
24 ramping...
   

seanrquinn Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 7:42 am PST
It has 28 full auto... jeez. With proper internals (upped ones of course) the tboard can make the ion a real ego. (shocker right...)
   

cort422001 Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 8:00 am PST
These prices are from www.actionvillage.com

---shocktech feed neck (i've heard ion stock feed necks are bad) $34.99
---QEV $17.99
---Blackhart board (I know its not the t-board, but I couldn't find that one) $99.95
---freak ~ $190
---Ion ~$300

total ~ $642.93

   

LandonBlake Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 9:27 am PST
Having a good marker: Priceless.
Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 9:28 am PST
   

LandonBlake Friday, February 3rd, 2006 | 12:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
with the t board the ion can go 24..........go to their website, they have a movie of it

Can I have a link of your video? I couldn't find a single video, much less of an Ion shooting 24 bps, at the Smart Parts website, and I searched that website completely over.
   

seanrquinn Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 8:44 am PST
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3959423259326350198&
amp;q=ion Ion going Full Auto at 28 bps... WOOT lol. i know its kinda nubbish, but nice to have.
   

rawkfist Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 10:36 am PST
Hmmmm....must not of looked very hard.


http://www.scenariodreams.com/productpages/iontboard.htm
   

kevo1022 Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 4:32 pm PST
umm yeah if you search for tboard in google, it takes you to its home page and they have a video of it going 23....
Last edited on Saturday, February 4th, 2006 at 4:43 pm PST
   

omenballer Saturday, February 4th, 2006 | 10:09 pm PST
this guy speeks the truth good job bein honest
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media