paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

LandonBlake Monday, January 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested17 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I currently wield, proudly, a WGP E2-blade autococker and overall is a much better product that is much easier to customize to your own needs and style.
Marker Setup: One (1) DYE Ultralight barrel, One (1) 1.10 model E2-blade, One (1) KAPP front block (excluding the three-way ofcourse), One (1) custom body, One (1) HALO-B Loader, One (1) Gen-X Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
On the Ion, everything. Its a cheap gun. Go ahead and invest a little more in something worthwhile. Go to the Smart Parts website and they even provide a list of upgrades it needs.
Strengths: Its cheap? Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Weaknesses: Its cheap. Shoddy quality. Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Review: Strengths: I realize that this is a major selling point for the marker, but after all the repairs and upgrade parts you're going to have to pay for, its going to be as much as just buying a decent marker.

Weaknesses: The parts are of shoddy quality, that need replacing, and if not, will need repairs often. Yes it is electronic, but the marker itself just isn't equipped for those rates of fire (17 balls a second? Not today) and trying to fire it that fast just may make the marker explode. Also it's a very loud marker with notable kick. I realize in tournament play decibel level isn't too much of a downfall, but after playing with an Autococker for so long, it tends to stand out in a bad way, and the kick just makes it hard to walk-the-trigger effectively.



What can I say that already hasn't been said dozens of times by obviously more knowing patrons to the sport? Go to the show dropdown list and select "Lowest Rating First," and read unbiased opinions of the marker. I'm also very aware that many of you will argue that these opinions, are indeed, biased, but first consider this: why should/would they be? If I was feeling malicious, and wanted to ruin someone's day, I could think of a lot better things to do than giving a random marker a bad review. There's a VERY good reason that this marker was only priced at $300. You get what you pay for gentlemen.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. Its a cheap gun that's going to cost at least twice what it's worth to fix. Go ahead and invest a little more into something good. You can do it. I believe in you. Normally I would rate this marker at least a 3, but because it is being paraded/masqueraded as a tournament marker capable of 17 balls a second, I'm forced to give it a 1. Sorry guys.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 9:48 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
seanrquinn Monday, February 6th, 2006 | 6:10 pm PST
Yah, but the one in that video is going full at 28...
   

LandonBlake Monday, February 6th, 2006 | 8:44 pm PST
Sorry, I've been away for the weekend fella's. I went to play in the Rookie tournament in Houston this weekend. I saw, seriously, three of three Ions breakdown throughout the day. The first Ion, something broke on the ram where the QEV's attach, and the gun was unplayable all day. The second, I assume the regulator broke, due to the fact that the player was unable to turn down his velocity, no matter how much he cranked down on the screw. The third broke in game while we played against the team. I don't know what exactly broke, but I know he was unable to shoot, and I overheard him whining about his broken gun.
Last edited on Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 at 11:40 am PST
   

LandonBlake Monday, February 6th, 2006 | 9:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
im pretty sure he meant tboard, and its less expensive than your cocker, and probably blows it out of the water....

“It has always been the prerogative of children and half-wits to point out that the emperor has no cloths. But the half-wit remains a half-wit, and the emperor remains an emperor.”
~Neil Gaiman
   

seanrquinn Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 | 7:34 am PST
Hehehe, The tboard might get pretty close to that cocker when put up to its full abilities (new internals [bolt, qev, reg]) it might have a chance. What i never got is how they get cockers to go that fast when they have a big hunk of metal moving around the back of the marker...?
   

chikin pickle Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 | 7:59 pm PST
I have shot about three ions and have absolutely no recoil (At least none that I could notice.) I have shot autocockers too and they have more kick then my tippmann 98 custom (blowback FYI) I don't think this review is worth anything.
   

LandonBlake Tuesday, February 7th, 2006 | 8:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by chikin pickle
I have shot about three ions and have absolutely no recoil (At least none that I could notice.) I have shot autocockers too and they have more kick then my tippmann 98 custom (blowback FYI) I don't think this review is worth anything.

What blowback are you babbling about? Autocockers are famous for their low kick, and you don't have to believe me on it, check it out yourself.
   

seanrquinn Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 | 10:03 pm PST
Well, cockers have a different kind of kick. They dont really have blowback type kick (slap the gun out of your hand), they have cocker kick, which i can't really explain. The kick is there, it just feels different, aah, thought of a way. It doesnt push the marker up, like a blowback, it pushes it back. If that makes sense...
   

chikin pickle Friday, February 10th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
Cockers don't kick like a blowback but there is definetly recoil. I don't think that a giant hunk of metal moving back and forth at high speed (IE: back-block) will generate no force. The laws of physics do not change for autocockers my friend. "For every option there is an equal and oppsite reaction. The 'cocker I shot last staurday had recoil, it pushed back against my hand when I fired it. That push is know as recoil.
Last edited on Monday, February 13th, 2006 at 9:36 pm PST
   

jjohnson Thursday, February 16th, 2006 | 10:58 am PST
Clearly a spoiled adolescent newbie. He doesn't even own it!
When giving it a score, you aren't comparing it with other markers. You are rating it on the marker's performance alone, not on how poorly it compares to a much more expensive marker.
Last edited on Thursday, February 16th, 2006 at 11:00 am PST
   

PbAllWiZZ Thursday, February 16th, 2006 | 12:24 pm PST
He shoots an E1 cocker. That says enough.
   

LandonBlake Thursday, February 16th, 2006 | 9:42 pm PST
I'm sorry, an E2 'cocker. The "1.10" refers to the software version loaded onto the frame. As for the "spoiled adolescent newbie" charge, I'm an 18 years of age, and a poor college kid. I've paid for every piece of equipment on that marker, and it has taken me some time. Also, by placing the marker in the high-end category of markers, it will inevitably be compared to other markers in the category. For the uninformed argument about the Autococker's kick, if I've said it once, I've said it a million times: Autocockers are FAMOUS for their low kick. Don't believe me for it, research it yourself. I can provide links to credible websites if you want. Oh, and you don't have to own something to rate it, just enough experience with it to know what it is and how it works, and if you read my comments (you clearly havn't), you'll see, I have experience.

Heh, I really like the "giant hunk of metal" analogy. I thought of a cinderblock attached to the marker where the backblock should be. Seriously though, its a small piece that weighs less than the bolt. It isn't heavy.
Last edited on Thursday, February 16th, 2006 at 9:43 pm PST
   

kevo1022 Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 2:00 pm PST
well lets go over your "weaknesses" for this review:

1. "needs repairs often, or new parts"- umm yeah if you dont take care of it, and also, i havent had one problem with mine, please specify the parts that are "shoddy" quality that need to be fixed.
2. "when you shoot it, it explodes"- well maybe, and this is a big maybe, the guy who had didnt tighten the banjos down.......and im definately NOT being sarcastic or anything.
3. "Large amount of kick"- yeah....no, there is virtually no kick, its a frontman's gun.

those are the things wrong with your review
   

LandonBlake Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 9:45 pm PST
And I thought people might have finally gotten tired of commenting on my reviews...silly me. Do you come back to this review to harass me whenever you get bored? Seriously though, I've pointed out its flaws SEVERAL times throughout my comments and my review, and I'm in no rush to do it again to satisfy you.
   

seanrquinn Thursday, February 23rd, 2006 | 4:29 pm PST
we comment on this because we are sick and freakign tired of people giving the ion a 1 for no reason, because they THINK it is made of plastic, and THINK it will explode. The ion isn't a guessing game, You get a 9/10 chance of getting a great marker that can be even better with a couple dollars of upgrades. Which isnt alot (maybe 130 or so).
   

LandonBlake Thursday, February 23rd, 2006 | 9:14 pm PST
I'm getting really tired of shooting your stupid arguments to pieces, but here we go again:

Point one: What the Hell are you talking about kid? Whats this nonsense about "guessing game[s]," and 130 dollars being just "a couple dollars of upgrades?" No one ever claimed that they "guess[ed]" the ION was a 1, they reviewed it so. Also, for players that like to call me a "spoiled brat," you guys sure like to refer to significant amounts of money as chump change. If $130 isn't much to you, let me give you my address so you can send it to me whenever you feel like throwing it away.

Point two: The marker is MADE OF PLASTIC. How many times do I have to tell you that. Polymer=plastic. Secondly, I even saw a marker explode, and didn't write that I heard it by word-of-mouth.

Point three: Reviews are defined as the opinion (i.e. what they THINK) a reviewer (the people you're so tired of) holds for a particular subject or object. Basically, it states that reviews are (watch out, I don't want your head to explode) OPINIONS.

Overview: 1. Go take a logic course. 2. Quit being stupid. 3. Learn proper grammar.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 at 9:13 pm PST
   

seanrquinn Friday, February 24th, 2006 | 11:09 am PST
When i say 130 not being alot, I'm saying that a 280 dollar gun with 130 dollars of upgrades can perform almost as well as a shocker (700). It's a math game, and my logic is quite sound. And if you think people's opinion on how the gun looks alone is enough for them to write a review, then there's something wrong with your logic, because these people are writing bubkis and saying that it's legit. take the ever popular "dont buy this it's plastic now ii must write 50 words bla bla bla bla..." that is not legit in my book, and just further brings down the rating of t he ion which at least deserves a 7 or 8.
   

LandonBlake Sunday, February 26th, 2006 | 8:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cort422001
These prices are from www.actionvillage.com

---shocktech feed neck (i've heard ion stock feed necks are bad) $34.99
---QEV $17.99
---Blackhart board (I know its not the t-board, but I couldn't find that one) $99.95
---freak ~ $190
---Ion ~$300

total ~ $642.93




$130, huh? Minus the marker, the total comes out to $342.93, and thats not including internals or other upgrades of that nature.
Last edited on Monday, February 27th, 2006 at 7:03 pm PST
   

seanrquinn Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 8:37 pm PST
190?! Thats way over..... crimany. No need for a neck, just sand your halo... blackheart = overpriced and not as good as tboard, big diff from 100 to 80. The Freak is overpriced there, you should just get a .689 a .691 and a .687 inserts, should come out to (about) 40+40+12+12+12, and thats about.... 116 for the freak if you aren't stupid. The ion is 285... lol cort must be a tard...
   

LandonBlake Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 10:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by seanrquinn
lol cort must be a tard...

At least he could spell. Actionvillage prices it's items very competitively, and sanding the neck of you HALO-B is just plain stupid. What do you do when you want to put it on another marker? De-sand it? Also, his Freak system listed it the COMPLETE set, not just three inserts, and the Blackhart board is the best board for the ION on the market, seeing how it was designed especially for Smart Parts markers.
   

seanrquinn Tuesday, February 28th, 2006 | 2:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake


At least he could spell. Actionvillage prices it's items very competitively, and sanding the neck of you HALO-B is just plain stupid. What do you do when you want to put it on another marker? De-sand it? Also, his Freak system listed it the COMPLETE set, not just three inserts, and the Blackhart board is the best board for the ION on the market, seeing how it was designed especially for Smart Parts markers.


By saying tard i am using a figure of speech, by saying "retard" it makes one sound more serious, but by saying "tard" it makes one think of it as more of a joke, as I was joking, if he really was retarded, I would have said that. And by putting the freak kit as only the 3 parts and the front+back, I was putting the nescessary components, you only NEED those, if your paint is smaller than .687, ur paint sucks balls, and if ur paint is bigger than .691, ur paint is just plain huge. And the Tboard is designed for the Ion, it is quite obvious how awesome it is when it has something called shot Q'ing... lol And i actually know what that means... And a question for you landon, how come most of your reviews have 3-4 pages of comments on them?
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media