paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review / Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Comments on LandonBlake's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

LandonBlake Monday, January 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested17 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I currently wield, proudly, a WGP E2-blade autococker and overall is a much better product that is much easier to customize to your own needs and style.
Marker Setup: One (1) DYE Ultralight barrel, One (1) 1.10 model E2-blade, One (1) KAPP front block (excluding the three-way ofcourse), One (1) custom body, One (1) HALO-B Loader, One (1) Gen-X Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
On the Ion, everything. Its a cheap gun. Go ahead and invest a little more in something worthwhile. Go to the Smart Parts website and they even provide a list of upgrades it needs.
Strengths: Its cheap? Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Weaknesses: Its cheap. Shoddy quality. Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Review: Strengths: I realize that this is a major selling point for the marker, but after all the repairs and upgrade parts you're going to have to pay for, its going to be as much as just buying a decent marker.

Weaknesses: The parts are of shoddy quality, that need replacing, and if not, will need repairs often. Yes it is electronic, but the marker itself just isn't equipped for those rates of fire (17 balls a second? Not today) and trying to fire it that fast just may make the marker explode. Also it's a very loud marker with notable kick. I realize in tournament play decibel level isn't too much of a downfall, but after playing with an Autococker for so long, it tends to stand out in a bad way, and the kick just makes it hard to walk-the-trigger effectively.



What can I say that already hasn't been said dozens of times by obviously more knowing patrons to the sport? Go to the show dropdown list and select "Lowest Rating First," and read unbiased opinions of the marker. I'm also very aware that many of you will argue that these opinions, are indeed, biased, but first consider this: why should/would they be? If I was feeling malicious, and wanted to ruin someone's day, I could think of a lot better things to do than giving a random marker a bad review. There's a VERY good reason that this marker was only priced at $300. You get what you pay for gentlemen.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. Its a cheap gun that's going to cost at least twice what it's worth to fix. Go ahead and invest a little more into something good. You can do it. I believe in you. Normally I would rate this marker at least a 3, but because it is being paraded/masqueraded as a tournament marker capable of 17 balls a second, I'm forced to give it a 1. Sorry guys.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 9:48 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
LandonBlake Tuesday, February 28th, 2006 | 10:48 pm PST
As far as I can tell, this is the only one with 3-4 pages of comments, lol. I guess people like to let others know what they think, and here's a good place to come together with others of the same mindset and butt heads with someone else.
   

Sheps Monday, March 6th, 2006 | 2:15 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
Firstly, if you look towards the top of my review, my experience with the gun is exclusively through test-firing and watching others play with it.
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
The parts are of shoddy quality, that need replacing, and if not, will need repairs often. Yes it is electronic, but the marker itself just isn't equipped for those rates of fire (17 balls a second? Not today) and trying to fire it that fast just may make the marker explode.
The first quote invalidates the second, how can you know exactly how durable the parts are, or how much repairing and maintaining an ION will cost if you don't own one? Additionally, the last comment about "exploding" is just plain stupid, you have no rationale for stating this.
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
but because it is being paraded/masqueraded as a tournament marker capable of 17 balls a second, I'm forced to give it a 1.
That is not a valid arguement, you are supposed to review the marker based on it's merits rather than it's hype.
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
Also it's a very loud marker with notable kick.
Every credible source I've heard or seen to this point when commenting about the ION contradicts that statement.
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
How do we know you arn't some PR agent for Smart Parts
How do we know you aren't Bud Orr, here to extoll the virtues of an E2'ed Autococker?
quote:
---shocktech feed neck (i've heard ion stock feed necks are bad) $34.99
---QEV $17.99
---Blackhart board (I know its not the t-board, but I couldn't find that one) $99.95
---freak ~ $190
---Ion ~$300

total ~ $642.93

$240 - ION from rcxpaintball
$21 - ION O-ring kits (x3)
$80 - T-Board
$5 - ION hose kit
$65 - Custom Products Long 300 PSI Regulator (dust black)
$99 - Empire barrel kit (I think I've seen them that low)
$35 - ST feed neck
$32 - CP ION trigger (dust black)
$25 - Dye sticky grips
$18 - NDZ ION QEV
$17 - Kila reaction detents (black)
$59 - Lucky Bolt + Fire Chamber
$25 - un1tec On/Off bottom line

$721 for an awesome ION
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
The first Ion, something broke on the ram where the QEV's attach
The ION doesn't have a Ram, and it only takes one QEV.
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
The marker is MADE OF PLASTIC.
Correction: non-essential parts such as the shell and trigger are plastic, but how is this a drawback? Your hopper is also plastic, why does your marker need to be stronger than your hopper when your hopper is more likely to get shot at or dropped on the ground?

On Exploding Guns:
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
As for the exploding gun, I watched it happen in a ten-year-old's hands, and at first thought he was seriously hurt, thankfully not.
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
The child was that indeed, a child. He was not very old, and ten is the best age I can guess. Also, let me clarify "explode,": the child disappeared in a cloud of gas, AFTER (watch out boys, keyword coming through) he had been playing with the marker for quite some time. When I say explode, I don't literally mean the marker blew up into shrapnel, instantly vaporizing all nearby pedestrians, I mean the marker seem to break in all its critical places at the EXACT same time. If physical properties would have allowed it, the marker would have been a pile of mush.
What you describe is impossible, when the reg on an ION overpressurized the barbs and hoses are designed to fail, causing a loud bang but saving the internal parts (except perhaps the solenoid), for the marker to fail at all "critical places" it had to have gone off like a bomb, therefore you are dead and didn't write this review.
Last edited on Monday, March 6th, 2006 at 2:29 am PST
   

jack220 Monday, March 20th, 2006 | 12:24 pm PST
you all suck
   

seanrquinn Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 | 10:32 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Sheps


The first quote invalidates the second, how can you know exactly how durable the parts are, or how much repairing and maintaining an ION will cost if you don't own one? Additionally, the last comment about "exploding" is just plain stupid, you have no rationale for stating this.

That is not a valid arguement, you are supposed to review the marker based on it's merits rather than it's hype.

Every credible source I've heard or seen to this point when commenting about the ION contradicts that statement.

How do we know you aren't Bud Orr, here to extoll the virtues of an E2'ed Autococker?

$240 - ION from rcxpaintball
$21 - ION O-ring kits (x3)
$80 - T-Board
$5 - ION hose kit
$65 - Custom Products Long 300 PSI Regulator (dust black)
$99 - Empire barrel kit (I think I've seen them that low)
$35 - ST feed neck
$32 - CP ION trigger (dust black)
$25 - Dye sticky grips
$18 - NDZ ION QEV
$17 - Kila reaction detents (black)
$59 - Lucky Bolt + Fire Chamber
$25 - un1tec On/Off bottom line

$721 for an awesome ION

The ION doesn't have a Ram, and it only takes one QEV.

Correction: non-essential parts such as the shell and trigger are plastic, but how is this a drawback? Your hopper is also plastic, why does your marker need to be stronger than your hopper when your hopper is more likely to get shot at or dropped on the ground?

On Exploding Guns:


What you describe is impossible, when the reg on an ION overpressurized the barbs and hoses are designed to fail, causing a loud bang but saving the internal parts (except perhaps the solenoid), for the marker to fail at all "critical places" it had to have gone off like a bomb, therefore you are dead and didn't write this review.


Except him. --AMEN BROTHER!--
   

CanadianPBFreek Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 | 12:34 pm PST
Dispute:
Seriously this doesn't deserve a 1/10 sure it has its flaws here and there but what gun doesn't?
   

el gato Tuesday, April 4th, 2006 | 2:33 pm PST
Landon is just trying to bring the rating down he even says so himself im surprised this post hasn't been deleted for trying to bring down the guns rating. He even has a forum where he tries to bash the ion even more. (which by the way was closed) People also presented you with points of why the ion is not as bad as you claim but you still refuse to believe them and believe that this gun is horrible.
   

seanrquinn Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 | 3:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by el gato
Landon is just trying to bring the rating down he even says so himself im surprised this post hasn't been deleted for trying to bring down the guns rating. He even has a forum where he tries to bash the ion even more. (which by the way was closed) People also presented you with points of why the ion is not as bad as you claim but you still refuse to believe them and believe that this gun is horrible.

AMEN AGAIN!
   

LandonBlake Sunday, May 7th, 2006 | 11:58 am PST
Searnrquinn, how many times are you going to agree with everyone else? Quit playing the yes-man and introduce your own ideas.
   

seanrquinn Monday, May 8th, 2006 | 3:16 pm PST
Is it against the rules to agree with people? I'm sorry mr landon owns the state of kentucky (no offense to kentucky, my cousin's fiance is from kentucky) but some of us already exploited that the kid's exploding gun was user error, and that half of the "facts" in ur review were BS, so stop agreeing with yourself and delete this stinking review. The ion deserves a better rating, and you know it.
   

FDS Tuesday, May 9th, 2006 | 5:03 pm PST
First of all you didn't even thoroughly test the ion and you even said it yourself that you randomly wrote about the ion your an idiot.

"I could think of a lot better things to do than giving a random marker a bad review."
   

qscwbt Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 | 5:17 am PST
i WOULD LIKE TO know. Why has your high end marker got upgrades. If it is such a great marker why are you upgrading it? When you upgrade your marker its to "your personal style" .If i upgrade a IOn its to my personal style. How can you by looking at a marker that another player is using and say its bad. When you "tested" the marker did the noid blow up? Or are you making it up. (i think so) How long where you using the marker 30 seconds and you came up with this bad review. Or did you do a proper test?

I know why. I think you are upset that every second person has a ION. Suddenly every person can afford a marker that can play with any marker out there and be competitive.
This is new school brother new technology. Smart parts came with a brilliant marker at a incredible price. They leveled the playing field. Its a high end marker face it.
I do not need to try and proof anything. Just look at how many markers they have sold all over the world. This is one of the most popular markers in its class. Would you like me to send you some movie clips of Ions ripping at 28 bp/s. and nothing blows. Even stock that rips 20 bp/s. Wake up and smell the roses. Do not be scared of the competition. Get a Ion and join the revelotion. Ion is here to stay. Chance are the next time you go play its a paintball out of a ION taking you out.
   

LandonBlake Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 | 8:55 pm PST
NO marker will ever level the playing field. Skill comes from your ability to think on your feet and be able to outplay the opposition, encompassing field position, rate of fire able to be sustained, physical conditioning, etc. I could refute and argue every point Sheps fields, but I find no reasons to. Really, his points are all baseless attacks on the semantics I employ. Without any incentive (i.e. personal contact), there is no reason for you (the opposing party) to ever admit you're wrong. I can't win, so I refuse to participate. I can literally do NOTHING to convince you of my point, no matter what reason I use. A useless expenditure for myself. Besides, real professionals and anyone who is any good have no reason to come to an Internet review site; they know whats good, and if not, they know others who do. Real people with real, reliable experience they can count on. Who REALLY trusts these review websites for reliability anyhow? I've obviously wasted my time here, and I refuse to further participate in this idiocy of throwing insults and dumb rants.

P.S. I played with or against an Ion for an entire day, so I would consider myself to be at least knowledgeable.

P.P.S. I'm REALLY tired of stupid analogies and cliched phrases. "Wake up and smell the roses"? Come on fella's, they're seriously retarded. Also, its hard to take the word of someone who doesn't take any pride in writing their critics and reviews. You don't ask the village idiot for advice, so why should I take it from the Internet?

P.P.P.S. What the Hell is up with saying I'm the king of Kentucky?! What the crap man? Seriously, what does that mean anyways?
Last edited on Sunday, June 18th, 2006 at 11:52 am PST
   

seanrquinn Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 | 9:07 pm PST
I think i know why everybody hates landon... he sounds like a lawyer... :dodgy:. By saying that you are the owner (i never said king, check my post) of kentucky, i was refering to the fact that in your posts your ego seems to be bursting at the seams... that is all for now.
   

LandonBlake Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 | 9:16 pm PST
Why Kentucky? Oh, and kings tend to own stuff, so, you know, vica-vi.
Last edited on Tuesday, September 12th, 2006 at 6:44 am PST
   

seanrquinn Thursday, May 11th, 2006 | 5:08 pm PST
I dunno, random place
   

IDPBackman Sunday, June 11th, 2006 | 10:29 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
That was one of the most biased reviews ive ever heard.....

seriously, its not that bad, never had a problem with mine, sure the feedneck might not be great, but thats a 20 dollar upgrade. everyone else with one i know loves it



everyine else you know is a noob. spend the extra money on a decent gu.n if your gonna try to play tournies with this thing you'll get stomped..... with about $600 worth of upgrades ions can be alright (new frame trigger board reg feedneck barrel and asa) Ok for a rec player....but NOT a tourny marker!
   

ion2dm Saturday, July 22nd, 2006 | 7:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by IDPBackman



everyine else you know is a noob. spend the extra money on a decent gu.n if your gonna try to play tournies with this thing you'll get stomped..... with about $600 worth of upgrades ions can be alright (new frame trigger board reg feedneck barrel and asa) Ok for a rec player....but NOT a tourny marker!

You are wrong. There are many successful tourney players that use Ions. If you knew what you are talking about, you would know that rate of fire isn't everything.
   

DaBonusballa Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 | 6:52 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by LandonBlake
As a PR representative of Smart Parts, prove to me that the marker is worth-a-damn. You have yet to prove anything yourself, much less that the gun is worthwhile. Secondly, just go to their website, they tell you what the gun is made of: plastic, and cheap metal. As for the exploding gun, I watched it happen in a ten-year-old's hands, and at first thought he was seriously hurt, thankfully not. Oh, and just what teachers are you rambling about again? Grade school?

guess what buddy? he doesn't have to prove ANYTHING because guess what? he didn't right the crappy bs review... you did... you gave this good marker a 1 based on nothing that i found intelligent in your review... in my opinion you are just another ion hater who wants to bash smartparts because they have a great affordable gun that almost EVERYONE can use... including all the noobs that shoot you into the deadbox...

Chew on that for a while!
-DaBonusballa
   

ion2dm Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 1:16 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by DaBonusballa
you are just another ion hater who wants to bash smartparts because they have a great affordable gun that almost EVERYONE can use... including all the noobs that shoot you into the deadbox...
-DaBonusballa

Exactly my thoughts. Nicely put.
   

runningw235 Saturday, December 9th, 2006 | 7:55 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by kevo1022
That was one of the most biased reviews ive ever heard.....

seriously, its not that bad, never had a problem with mine, sure the feedneck might not be great, but thats a 20 dollar upgrade. everyone else with one i know loves it


reviews are always biased( obviously). Revews are like editorials; nobody is denying their biasness.
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media