paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Mahlachi's Review / Comments on Mahlachi's Review / Comments on Mahlachi's Review / Comments on Mahlachi's Review / Comments on Mahlachi's Review

Comments on Mahlachi's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Mahlachi Monday, February 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electric, Spyder Mech(no electric), Piranha GSX Eforce, Smart Parts Ion, Tippman 98custom, Tippman custom pro (with ramp)
Marker Setup: Currently I use A Piranha GsX with E-Force Frame Upgrades- Hpa 72ci 3k psi, Emipre Reloader II, 32 degree Barrel, and a Shocktech Delrin Bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
For the spyder MR2: J&J ceramic barrel (fits perfect even with the marker have about 2 in of the barrel in the frame of the marker) HPA tank (but that is for any marker) Electric Hopper with feed rate of atleast 20 bps (halo with victory board would work) if using hpa change springs to higher tightness and last but not least maybe a remote line leading to a 4+1 pod pack.
Strengths: trigger , bolt, High ROF, apperance, off-set feed, lazer sight and scope mounts, accurate
Weaknesses: Confusing to strip and clean, bolt cock has fragile springs, not field stripable,.
Review: I used this gun after my brother bought it and it is accuare upto about 40 feet with a sight when sighted in. My brother has been having problems with this marker since his first use on the field, Breaking balls, bolt jamming, possible double feeding. The only way i got the gun to shoot straight and w'o choppin balls is to fire at about 1bps "LOL" but hey it is only the first issue of the marker and must have bugs to work out or since its gettin good reviews maybe this one has a factory error.It does look cool and is comfortable to shoot.
Conclusion: I would go with a higher quality marker like the Smart Parts SP-8. But if you don't have the Cash to blow try the MR2 yourself, borrow one from a friend or See if your local pb store will allow you to try one out if you supply the paint or something.
Rating:
5 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
opticproteus Thursday, February 9th, 2006 | 11:46 am PST
I don't know if your brother is great player , but If it use this with a simple VL or a loader under 15 balls/sec. it's normal it will break ball. Before I have a ION (same thing that SP8) and when I compare I more love the Spyder MR2 because you don't need compress air or anti syphon in your thank and the accurancy is same .
   

STINGER556 Monday, February 20th, 2006 | 3:02 pm PST
Dispute:
Of course its not field strippable, what do you expect from a spyder?
   

opticproteus Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 | 7:10 pm PST
Stinger556 your aren't in the good way in a spyder you have a lot of thing to check : bolt grease , hammer , oring etc. If you don't know that please stop to play paintball .

For my parts I received my MR2 and for me is a very good gun sure is not fields strippable but the Ion is not fields strippable with is lot of tube and small parts .

I test my new MR2 with my new upgrade in one week and I will say to you what's is good and not good for this gun in a next review
   

HobHayward Saturday, February 25th, 2006 | 12:32 pm PST
Spyders are one of the easiest guns to strip. I could strip my spyder in two minutes blindfolded...
   

STINGER556 Sunday, February 26th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
Well, i guess opticproteus doesnt no how to strip a gun
   

blonz Monday, February 27th, 2006 | 4:00 am PST
I dont' know what you guys have problems to fieldstrip a Spyder. I started with a Classic and even this gun was easy to fieldstrip despite the use of an extra tool but the new models are more easy to fieldstrip.
   

seanrquinn Wednesday, March 1st, 2006 | 8:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by opticproteus
I don't know if your brother is great player , but If it use this with a simple VL or a loader under 15 balls/sec. it's normal it will break ball. Before I have a ION (same thing that SP8) and when I compare I more love the Spyder MR2 because you don't need compress air or anti syphon in your thank and the accurancy is same .

three words. You Are evil. I hate you. Your grammar sucks. Ion > MR2 bcuz of eyes and many other things. Kick for one, compressed air is needed in the MR2 or it will freeze at the speeds the ion will blow (not good...). I know i am a ion owner, but i started with a spyder and could strip mine in under a minute if it had the stock strip pin holder (the think that holds the pin in, the thing u pull out to strip it). I may become a spyder hater if you don't research before you ask questions... some of you make us paintballers loook really stupid...
   

HobHayward Friday, March 3rd, 2006 | 1:04 pm PST
Yar, not blindfolded, I can have my gun apart and back toghether in under 30 seconds.

And guess what? I have had my spyder for 4 months now. My first gun too. (course I am super into it now, setting my imagine up for LP, just got my stab :P)

And the ion is greater than the spyder, its insanel good, just not the best gun for a begginer, because begginers know nothing, as in, I dunno if I'd have been able to fix an ion 4 months ago. Now I'm confident and could go onto a new gun, but I'm not gonna do that till I've modded my spyder up to the ownage point where it'll have almost no kick with either a nightstiker xl or dh titanium hammer plus the delrin bolt which already makes a HUGE difference in the kick)
   

seanrquinn Saturday, March 4th, 2006 | 4:11 pm PST
Yeah, that's why im saying it's not better than an ion... I don't like people that are ion haters insulting the ion's ownage...
   

bullet sheild Sunday, March 19th, 2006 | 8:39 am PST
AUTOCOCKER!!!!!! best milsim gun out there...... quietest thing ive ever heard most accurate lowest pressure and cheap. except for electrics.
All I do is play woodsball and I would rather have my cocker stock running half assed than you ion or MR2. and for all you people who say its all about bps ill give you an example. I was playin at my local field the other day and was being shot at by none other than the almighty ion. the guy had a AA on it and an egg (i think) well anyways he got the jump on me from about maybe a hundred ft. He unloads walkin his trigger and everything. shootin i would say 14bps give or take and he was behind a tree. I haul balls behind a tree 2 shots hit him in the hand. BPS can suck it a stock can suck it its all about accuracy and stealth in woodsball. Go with a COCKER!!!!! $199 that you wont regret.
   

seanrquinn Monday, March 20th, 2006 | 7:46 pm PST
o_O some of us play speed ball buddy... stealth is nothing there.
   

Chapman88 Friday, March 31st, 2006 | 6:34 pm PST
Dos a gun really need to be Field strip able, just walk off and fix it, its not that hard...
   

planet Thursday, May 4th, 2006 | 4:02 pm PST
seems like if anybody questions this markers performance, their review is disputed. I have alot of chops...even with a new dent and a quality hopper.
   

seanrquinn Friday, May 5th, 2006 | 7:32 am PST
Good, thats what you get for buying a spyder.
   

demon llama Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 8:43 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by seanrquinn
o_O some of us play speed ball buddy... stealth is nothing there.

It seems to me that a lot of people out there are speed ball players who hate woods ball. Its paintball no matter how you look at it. People should'nt hate something because it isn't suited to their exact style....except maybe brass eagle but every family needs one mentally challenged person
   

breakxeggs Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 9:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by seanrquinn

three words. You Are evil. I hate you. Your grammar sucks. Ion > MR2 bcuz of eyes and many other things. Kick for one, compressed air is needed in the MR2 or it will freeze at the speeds the ion will blow (not good...). I know i am a ion owner, but i started with a spyder and could strip mine in under a minute if it had the stock strip pin holder (the think that holds the pin in, the thing u pull out to strip it). I may become a spyder hater if you don't research before you ask questions... some of you make us paintballers loook really stupid...


OMG its an effin Ion... its almost equal to the MR2 infact I acutally like my MR2 better then an Ion.. atleast with a MR2 you don't have worry about freezing little plastic hoses and circuts. Only thing the Ion has on the MR2 is the eye THATS IT... I can find a MR2 cheaper then a Ion aswell and its really funny seeing ppl say they are more expensive then Ions... sure its about a ten dollar diverence but thats 10 bucks. Go to actionvillage.com and shop there.
   

seanrquinn Thursday, May 18th, 2006 | 2:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by breakxeggs


OMG its an effin Ion... its almost equal to the MR2 infact I acutally like my MR2 better then an Ion.. atleast with a MR2 you don't have worry about freezing little plastic hoses and circuts. Only thing the Ion has on the MR2 is the eye THATS IT... I can find a MR2 cheaper then a Ion aswell and its really funny seeing ppl say they are more expensive then Ions... sure its about a ten dollar diverence but thats 10 bucks. Go to actionvillage.com and shop there.


Ok, here are things why ions are better than the MR2 even in woodsball:
--Lighter, i mean common, who wants to carry around a 10 pound barbel during a 36 hr scenario game? not me...
--Faster: Ions are capable of 30 cps with a QEV and new board (uncapped) mr2s are limited to the spyder design and weight, 20 cps tops...
--Eyes: huge advantage, if u have an egg on an mr2 and can walk it 20bps, imagine the possible chopping! Or even worse, a gravity feed.
--Customizability: You can buy aftermarket parts and remake an ion, only thing that can't be replaced is the front (regulator) banjo fitting. Wow.

That should be enough for you... and it's a friggin spyder! don't spend the same amount of money one a completely suped up gun that is ok when u can buy about the same level for about the same price, and be able to upgrade it! Common sense!
   

breakxeggs Thursday, May 25th, 2006 | 7:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by seanrquinn


Ok, here are things why ions are better than the MR2 even in woodsball:
--Lighter, i mean common, who wants to carry around a 10 pound barbel during a 36 hr scenario game? not me...
--Faster: Ions are capable of 30 cps with a QEV and new board (uncapped) mr2s are limited to the spyder design and weight, 20 cps tops...
--Eyes: huge advantage, if u have an egg on an mr2 and can walk it 20bps, imagine the possible chopping! Or even worse, a gravity feed.
--Customizability: You can buy aftermarket parts and remake an ion, only thing that can't be replaced is the front (regulator) banjo fitting. Wow.

That should be enough for you... and it's a friggin spyder! don't spend the same amount of money one a completely suped up gun that is ok when u can buy about the same level for about the same price, and be able to upgrade it! Common sense!


Acutally there is a CRAP loud of ppl that enjoy the weight of this gun, I would be one of them. With a VLocity hopper there is no chopping, you can't really customize it becuase its something that Spyder had to build from the ground up, you can't even get a trigger for it because thats completly different, can no one can shoot 30cps, let alone 20 so speed of it doesn't matter. if its woodsball you kinda take the care to place your shots, I don't know how you are playing, must be emptying your hopper like crazy. ITS WOODSBALL and I like this better then an Ion I've used my friends Ion several times I can honestly say I like this gun ALOT more.
   

seanrquinn Friday, May 26th, 2006 | 2:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by breakxeggs


can no one can shoot 30cps, let alone 20 so speed of it doesn't matter.
Umm, ramping?! Yeah, duh! There's another thing the MR2 doesnt have. And I'm saying that most people who buy spyders don't want to pay the money for an egg/halo/reloaderB/vlocity, understandably.
   

runningw235 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 | 12:24 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by HobHayward
Yar, not blindfolded, I can have my gun apart and back toghether in under 30 seconds.

And guess what? I have had my spyder for 4 months now. My first gun too. (course I am super into it now, setting my imagine up for LP, just got my stab :P)

And the ion is greater than the spyder, its insanel good, just not the best gun for a begginer, because begginers know nothing, as in, I dunno if I'd have been able to fix an ion 4 months ago. Now I'm confident and could go onto a new gun, but I'm not gonna do that till I've modded my spyder up to the ownage point where it'll have almost no kick with either a nightstiker xl or dh titanium hammer plus the delrin bolt which already makes a HUGE difference in the kick)



it will still have a lot of kick do to the fact that spyders do not have regulators.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media