paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on prd2bhmn's Review / Comments on prd2bhmn's Review / Comments on prd2bhmn's Review / Comments on prd2bhmn's Review

Comments on prd2bhmn's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

prd2bhmn Monday, February 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years31 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralight: Not as light, or quiet, but just as accurate
Dye Boomstick: Same as the UL, but heavier
Dye Excel: Not as light, quiet, or accurate (paint match may have been off)
Lapco Bigshot: LOUD, but pretty accurate
Marker Setup: Cobalt to Black DM5:
- Dye Ultralight Frame
- 12" SLY Dual Carbon Stealth/14" Stock Ultralight
- Orange Bolt
- Hybrid Clamping Feedneck
- CP ASA
- Halo B
- Nitro Duck 68/3000

Tippmann 98 Custom:
- Polished internals
- R/T
- Full Boar Shadow Bolt
- 14" Dye Boomstick
- Halo TSA Backman
- Adco Sureshot
- Dead On Drop Forward
- PMI 48/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
I played with Empire Engage and Empire Fuel all day with great results. No breaks and ball-on-ball accuracy.
Edit (4/26/06): I've now shot Draxxus Rec, Jt Premium, Worr Domination, and Evil through the barrel in different temps ranging from 40 to 80 degrees, and the barrel performed well in all conditions. It did break paint in the colder weather, but much less than my teammates' guns. Just run a larger bore size than you normally would, and you should be fine.
Edit (11/22/08): I've shot all types of Karnage paint through it with no breaks, even with three month old paint.
Strengths: Light, decent quality, quiet, interchangeable backs, great customer service
Weaknesses: Price, looks (some little things), fit and finish
Review: I bought the whole set, which includes four backs ($90) and a front (I went for the 12 inch, which is another $90). You can buy the barrel directly from the SLY website. It came with a clever little barrel organizer that has little pockets for each back and larger ones for holding the front; it even has room for three other barrels.

I was a little uneasy about the fit and finish when I looked at it for the first time. There seemed to be a layer of carbon dust on the inside of the barrel, so I washed it down before going any further. The carbon fiber section is matte...really matte, making the finish very dull and almost unattractive. I'm guessing they went for a less flashy, but more performance oriented design (I bought the stealth version). I was hoping it would be as shiny as it looks in the pictures they have on their site, but it's just slightly less reflective. The inside of the barrel doesn't have the mirror finish of the Ultralight, but it feels almost as smooth. You can actually see the fibers running down the length of the barrel on the inside...pretty cool. Anyway, the pieces fit together extremely well, seamless in fact. The backs have holes drilled into them, which negates the purpose of having that o-ring between the front and back, which SLY claims will "ensure efficient gas use"...whatever....a bit of a design oversight there. Also, the "tatooed" SLY logo on the barrel looks like one of those cheap model car decals...not very good looking because it has spaces of opaque film around the letters that make the barrel look a tad cheap. I also had a problem screwing the barrel into the gun the first couple times. For some reason, there is a good amount of friction between the threads, or possibly the gun's body and the side of the barrel.

The performance makes you forget about all those little (albeit anal) things...I mean, when it comes down to it, performance is really what matters. Having it look great is a plus. Trust me, It looks sweet....it just took me a couple minutes to get used to it, I mean come on, the Ultralight is a tough act to follow. Anyway, the barrel is really quiet...I can realistically say that it is quieter than my Ultralight (UL). My teammates (nor the team we were playing against) couldn't hear me shooting my DM5 at all. To be honest, they already had a difficult time hearing the report out of the Ultralight, but now it's ridiculous how quiet it has become. It kept them guessing as to when and where I was shooting from. The accuracy is awesome too. It's just as, if not more accurate than my stock UL, especially because of the interchangeable backs. I used a fresh box of Empire Engage and Fuel paint to test it, and it worked wonders. I didn't have any barrel breaks all day like I'd occasionally get at the front of the UL. As far as weight is concerned, it's lighter than the UL too.

Update (2/14/06): I emailed Tyson (the owner of SLY Equipment) and he was willing to replace the backs that didn't fit right.
Update (2/15/06): Apparently, the holes drilled into the backs are intended to allow the user to remove the back if it is stuck in the gun by using an allen wrench. Nice to know.
Update (3/5/06): I returned one of the barrel backs for replacement a couple weeks ago, and received it two days ago. Tyson test fit it to make sure It fits perfectly. He said that Dye changed the threads on the DM series slightly, which made the barrels fit poorly. I shot it in 40-50 degree weather yesterday with brittle paint (JT Premium), and it shot perfectly. I had two breaks out of the 1500 rounds I fired, and I was able to shoot through one of them.
Update (11/22/08): This barrel is still shooting strong. It's been through all types of torture, including miscalculate superman dives on gravel, falling off tables onto concrete, you name it. The tip is slightly worn, the sides have some gashes, and the logo is almost gone, but it still puts ball-on-ball. The holes in the barrel backs came in handy on several occasions when the barrel threaded too tightly. I'm buying a new one when I get my DM9 in a few days. Great product Tyson!
Conclusion: Overall I can say that this is probably the best barrel I've used since I started playing paintball five years ago...regardless of its little faults. I would recommend it to anyone willing to fork over the cash. SLY's customer service is awesome too. A problem with their server postponed my order, and Tyson (the owner of the company) emailed me directly. He gave me free next-day shipping to compensate for the delay. I give it a 9/10 because of all of the little things that added up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 22nd, 2008 at 1:21 pm PST
 

Review Comments
seanrquinn Monday, February 13th, 2006 | 9:28 pm PST
Propably matte because of the stealth variation, Being that if you're in the woods, if somebody sees something shiny, theyre gonna shoot it. But if they see something dull, they dont expect it to be violent (couldnt think of the right word lol...)
   

prd2bhmn Tuesday, February 14th, 2006 | 12:07 pm PST
I know what you mean....it doesn't look threatening if it doesn't catch your attention. I was just commenting on how the barrel doesn't look quite as good as it does in their pictures so that people who think that's important aren't surprized when they get theirs. Like I said, looks aren't everything. :)
   

Permiwood Wednesday, February 15th, 2006 | 10:56 am PST
Great review I just ordered mine should be here tomorrow! I'm pumped!!!!
   

crazyballer54 Friday, February 17th, 2006 | 3:20 pm PST
would u recommed this over the stiffi?
   

prd2bhmn Saturday, February 18th, 2006 | 10:51 pm PST
I've never tried a stiffi, but from what people are saying on PBNation, the Dual Carbon barrel is as good, if not better.
   

goodnsmall Sunday, March 5th, 2006 | 9:50 pm PST
will this fit an ion? oh off topic but do ions impulses and shockers have the same threads?
   

prd2bhmn Monday, March 6th, 2006 | 12:27 am PST
Yes it will fit the Ion. When buying the barrel, select the Impulse threads for your Ion. Shockers and Ions don't have the same threads, which is a really inconvenient move for Smart Parts customers.
   

icdbko32 Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 | 8:33 am PST
great review man, yes im saying this is the same as a stiffi as both same material and both great manufacturers so im saying there about the same other then the sly looks a hell of alot better then the stiffi. good job man great review.
   

crazyballr Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007 | 5:48 pm PST
what bore size is this barrel? or does it have inserts?
   

prd2bhmn Monday, March 19th, 2007 | 7:57 pm PST
The barrel comes with 4 different barrel backs: .683", .686", .689", and .692" if you buy the set.
   

prd2bhmn Monday, March 19th, 2007 | 8:07 pm PST
The barrel comes with 4 different barrel backs: .683", .686", .689", and .692" if you buy the set.
   

mjr_paranoid Wednesday, July 4th, 2007 | 5:31 pm PST
Wow, that is a really great review.
   

NickMoore04 Thursday, May 22nd, 2008 | 9:01 pm PST
They fixed the looks of the barrel.... it is still a tad dirty on the inside when you get it and it will need cleaned before usage but a quick clean will make it shiny easy... The actual carbon fiber front will never look "clean" though because it almost appears to have texture to it... I don't know if it does or if it just looks that way... it feels perfectly smooth so I am guessing it just looks like it has a texture to it... amazing barrel though... I love it and have gotten so many comments on it already...
   

prd2bhmn Saturday, November 22nd, 2008 | 1:22 pm PST
Yes, the new ones look gorgeous.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media