paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on stuckinstuff's Review / Comments on stuckinstuff's Review / Comments on stuckinstuff's Review / Comments on stuckinstuff's Review

Comments on stuckinstuff's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

stuckinstuff Wednesday, February 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, nothing like it.
Marker Setup: Angel A4
Smart Parts S/S Freak Kit
Halo B w/rip drive and Victory Board
Kapp Drop
Crossfire 68/4500
--------------------------------------------------
Smart Parts Ion
Green Body Kit
NDZ Roller Trigger
NDZ QEV
Smart Parts S/S Freak Kit
Smart Parts Dove Rail and ASA
Q-Lock
Lucky Stage 1, 2, 3
Recommended
Paintballs:
Cannot shoot paint through this barrel.
Strengths: Accurate, durable, great for practice, no paint needed
Weaknesses: Price
Review: We recently picked up a dealership with Predator games, hoping to stock their products. In Michigan we have a problem with practicing speedball in the winter due to the snow. Our team was looking at these, so I decided to purchase one and test it to see if it would suit our needs. Last week I opened the box which was well padded, and inside contained my 'manual', the receiver, and the barrel. The receiver and barrel already come with batteries.

I ordered my barrel in Spyder threads because you can purchase adaptors to fit nearly any marker. I threw on my Angel adaptor eager to start using it. It only requires a source of air. It's just like dry firing your marker. The barrel uses the vibrations from the gun to shoot the IR beam. You can use CO2, N2, or Air on your marker, it doesn't matter.

I set the receiver up, about 20 feet from me on top of the couch. When you shoot this thing is pretty darn accurate. You can usually get within 2 or 3 inches of the receiver and it will hit, this is pretty good at that distance. This barrel works great for improving your snap shooting skills. I recommend it to any tournament player who wants to hone their skills, or anyone who just wants to play a 'high tech laser tag'.

I talked to my team about it, and I think we will all end up ordering them, then setting up bunkers indoors and run practices with them. The great part about it is no mess. No paint is being used, this cuts down on practice costs.

Although the IR beam does not convey the actual trajectory of a paintball (the curve and velocity loss at certain distances) it works great for just practicing.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to anyone who can afford it. If you have the extra amount of money and want to run off season pracitce, go for it. It is a great investment and will in the end help you develop your skills as a better player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
spartan 19 Thursday, March 23rd, 2006 | 7:05 pm PST
Dispute:
how can you have a pb barrel that will not shoot paintballs i don't believ it
   

stuckinstuff Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 4:45 am PST
It's infared. Just like a television remote. No paintballs come out of it. When your gun fires, the vibrations make the barrel shoot an infared beam (much like a remote control) to a reciever. Thats how it works.
   

spartan 19 Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 2:53 pm PST
who in their right mind would buy a 100 dollar barrel that doesn't shoot paintballs
   

longbow719 Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 4:13 pm PST
^^^ that guy lol
   

longbow719 Friday, March 24th, 2006 | 4:19 pm PST
^^^ that guy lol
   

stuckinstuff Saturday, March 25th, 2006 | 7:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by spartan 19
who in their right mind would buy a 100 dollar barrel that doesn't shoot paintballs

haha, its used for practicing indoors when you cant shoot paintballs. like in a garage, or if its winter and you cant play airball. you practice with it, and practices become cheaper, because you arnt shooting paint.
   

xsv Monday, March 27th, 2006 | 8:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by spartan 19
how can you have a pb barrel that will not shoot paintballs i don't believ it

omg how can u dispute this? o well
   

Jon Crane Wednesday, April 19th, 2006 | 1:54 pm PST
so its basically all the fun of paintballing without the paintballs.
   

stuckinstuff Thursday, April 20th, 2006 | 2:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jon Crane
so its basically all the fun of paintballing without the paintballs.

yes, basically
   

English Timmy Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 | 12:14 pm PST
isnt it just laser tag then?
   

Djtoot Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 | 4:57 pm PST
omg you guys just don't get it. It is paintball but without shooting paint, getting everything covered in paint, and without having to buy paint. Same strategy and concept except that lasers don't arc.
   

NcicHit Wednesday, May 24th, 2006 | 10:25 pm PST
Does anyone know the maximum distance this barrel with set off the receiver?
   

badboy15963 Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 | 1:03 pm PST
280 ft inside 300 ft out doors
   

blazer_NS Tuesday, June 6th, 2006 | 2:35 am PST
Jeez this product should come with an o-ring kit for you marker! so when you do fire real paint, your gun isn't all worn out form all that dry firing. or a shocker on the receiver that bites just as hard as a good hit to the love handles! spartan 19 cracked me up!
   

FadetoBlack Monday, June 12th, 2006 | 1:43 pm PST
personally, i think the idea of an infrared system to practice paintball is retarded because what do all paintballs do after coming out of the barrel? ... thats right, they drop. a laser doesnt, it goes straight out. and i'd like to see a real paintball barrel shoot a ball out 300 feet without dropping, and without curving. so after practicing with this system, wont you be shooting low all the time?? system looks good on paper, but probably is worthless when it comes down to it
   

snowman3963 Saturday, June 24th, 2006 | 12:19 pm PST
ok seriously

i think the predator barrel is one of the greatest ideas ever made into reality.

your basically saving your money buying one barrel, instead o9f buying like 4 or 5 cases of practice paint and at the same time not wasting your money on batteries on your hopper
the only down fall is the fact that you have to keep filling your air system but other than that nothing
   

BigMike#1 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 5:47 am PST
um..... have u guys ever heard of re balls?
   

OrangeBatman Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 8:44 am PST
no, what are they, reusable balls?! anyway, ive heard they scratch your marker and if someone wants to practice without balls, what else are they going to use besides reballs, which you still have to buy or make a targer to catch them, and then you have to drop your marker, go to the target, put them in a pod or holder, walk over to your gun, and reload, which after a while gets boring. and if you think this is a dumb idea, why are you reading the reviews?!
   

drunkinmonkey Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 7:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by OrangeBatman
no, what are they, reusable balls?! anyway, ive heard they scratch your marker and if someone wants to practice without balls, what else are they going to use besides reballs, which you still have to buy or make a targer to catch them, and then you have to drop your marker, go to the target, put them in a pod or holder, walk over to your gun, and reload, which after a while gets boring. and if you think this is a dumb idea, why are you reading the reviews?!

your right.... i hate all that hard work! the barrel is worth every penny!
   

iamscaringyou Monday, July 24th, 2006 | 11:28 am PST
no its not this is just an excuse for people who are affraid of getting shot by a paintball
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media