paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on yoyobobo's Review / Comments on yoyobobo's Review / Comments on yoyobobo's Review / Comments on yoyobobo's Review / Comments on yoyobobo's Review

Comments on yoyobobo's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

yoyobobo Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder - Better than A5
AutoCocker - Better than A5
Tippmann Procarbine - Better than A5 and above guns
Tippmann Prolite - Better than A5 and above guns
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Flatline, Egrip, Remote, M4 Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A good return policy or a recycling center
Strengths: Tippmanns brand name
Weaknesses: Ball chopping
Cheap/poor construction
Ball chopping
Ball chopping
Review: Lets start out with the fact that I used to be a Tippmann fan boy ever since renting a Pro-lite. The gun was wonderful, it shot great in the Detroit winter while running on CO2. It didn't chop balls, it was solidly made, in the USA ( this matters to me and should matter to you). It was great for a beginner who just wanted to have fun, not to airsmith his gun everyday and blow tons of money on upgrades.
I played with Cockers and Spyders after playing for a few years and always missed my Pro-lite; I bought a Cocker and then a Spyder because my friends had them (peer pressure). The cocker was expensive and sucked in stock form, the Spyder was cheap and sucked in stock form. I took a hiatus from the sport for a few years and then decided I need a hobby and picked up a Tippmann Pro-carbine, a great gun in the tradition of a Pro-lite. I have it and still love its performance, price, and solid construction.
My love for Tippmann was so great I read a few reviews and decided to buy a factory upgraded A5. And let me tell you Tippmann products have taken a straight nose dive. What piece of garbage. I shoot the gun in my backyard and three rounds into it, it chops so I am forced to disassemble it to clean it. The convenient field stripping? I don't think so! The bolt wouldn't slide out like the manual said so I had to take it COMPLETELY apart. And that's when the shoddy construction began to shine. The gun has shoddy clam-shell construction, meaning it splits down the middle. Then I see why the bolt wouldn't come out, some idiot at the factory painted the rear part of the bolt channel. And the spring guide was bent. This gun is nothing more than cheap metal and cheap plastic. I am still haggling with the online 'merchant' to return it. I am very very disappointed in Tippmann.
Conclusion: Find a gun with good, simple construction and performance. This no longer applies to Tippmann's line of PB guns sadly. If you can still find a Pro-carbine then great, this is the last good gun Tippmann made, do not waste money on any clam-shell type or any other shoddy construction method that companies use to save themselves money and screw their customers. I'm buying a well made pump gun, either a Phantom or Sterling for woods ball and to replace this junk marker. If I want to play indoor /speed ball then I'll just use my Carbine until I feel I can afford a Mag or Cocker.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
skymiles Monday, March 13th, 2006 | 10:21 am PST
So far as ball chopping, it's B.S, unless he got a bad gun or a bad barrel. It sounds like he got a bad gun. I've had my A5- for about 6mon. and it's only chopped twice and that was my fault, I used CHEAP sports authority paint. When I use med to high grade paint it's the best gun in the world for me. The only really important upgrade I recommend is if you are using CO2 get an expansion chamber.
   

Jai Friday, March 17th, 2006 | 12:32 pm PST
what the hell do u mean it chops, theres no way u dam liar
   

benvan36 Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 12:36 pm PST
Dispute:
this is the only review that give this gun setup an awful rating. Its not the guns falt that he is using bad paintballs
   

Sgt Quackers Friday, April 14th, 2006 | 4:07 pm PST
Dispute:
This review is far from the truth. I have a A-5 and it runs perfectly. I have never chopped a ball. Everything works great. You may have got a defective marker but that happens with any brand not just tippmann. And just call up tippmann they will rush replacement parts out to you quick. Tippmann guns have always been quality guns so just cause you got a bad one doesn't mean that the design is bad.
   

ycfan456 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 | 5:10 pm PST
lies lies lies lies lies. i have had my A-5 for a little under a year and have not chopped a single ball yet. i have had some barrel breaks in my hammerhead b/c i was using too small of a fin. the cyclone feed is ingenius and works superfantasticaly awesome! also, the flatline is picky about paint. you need smaller paint (i.e. evil, big ball(cheap) etc.) and good paint. dont go giving this system a 1 when it deserves at least a 7 or 8, maybe higher.
   

dadof11 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 | 8:11 pm PST
Dispute:
sounds like a guy from another marker company, or he got a lemon. It's a shame anyone could write crap like that.
   

Zach1219 Sunday, April 30th, 2006 | 11:35 am PST
This guy is a damn idiot, the a-5 dose not chop balls, maby his balls cuz that is the only thing that will touch them
   

karchomatic Thursday, May 4th, 2006 | 10:31 pm PST
Well, it is good to hear your perspective, however, this is the only horror story I've heard about the A-5. I'm a recent 98 Custom buyer, and being a recreational pistol/rifle/shotgun shooter, I felt the marker (yes, by Tippmann) was put together with about the same craftsmanship as most handguns under $500. I have been painted by many A-5 owners, and painted many with my 98. It's too bad you had an awful experience, but it's good that you shared it with other prospective buyers. It makes a good case for not buying scenario upgrades online.
Last edited on Thursday, May 4th, 2006 at 10:32 pm PST
   

lastvideogamer Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 10:05 am PST
Dispute:
I've gone through 6+ cases of different paintballs including scorch from walmart and I have NEVER chopped a ball. Maybe if the gun was not cleaned they would break but I have not chopped a single ball. In regardes to the paintballs you are supposed to use nicer paint in the flatline anyways.
   

matt_conti Tuesday, May 23rd, 2006 | 1:16 pm PST
yeahh ok this was really hard to read, was it for the pro lite or the a5 lmao? cause i saw like half of it for a pro lite
   

sirdrinkalot Monday, June 5th, 2006 | 6:56 pm PST
I used to own an A5, and it chopped balls like you would not believe it. I tried changing out the flatty with an Apex, but I still had problems with ball chopping. It wasn`t until I threw on a Stiffi barrel I got rid of the chopping problem. I tried out a number of paint, but the only one I found to work with the flatty / Apex without chopping was Zap-spank, but the trajectory on the Spanks was far to erratic to be of any use. A word of advice to YOYOBOBO. Try tuning the fps down to 240, and see if that will improve your problem. I never tried it (sold the A5 before I got the chance), but I`ve heard that several other A5 owners have good experience doing so. I think the A5 is an excellent marker, and deserves way more than the 1out of 10 YOYOBOBO gave it. It`s up there, but it`s not a 10`er.
   

Evil Durza Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 | 5:23 pm PST
some people just make up fake reviews like this to discourage people from buying it like dadof 11 said
Last edited on Wednesday, July 5th, 2006 at 5:23 pm PST
   

tippmannboy1504 Friday, August 11th, 2006 | 8:57 am PST
Dispute:
Your gun must of had something seriousley wrong with it because my tippmann A-5 hasnt chopped a ball in over a year of playing with no upgrades except the cyclone feeder. And you must not have read the instructions right because my tippmann comes apart real easy on/off the field.
   

celorwin Saturday, April 5th, 2008 | 7:48 pm PST
Dispute:
must have been a lemon, if it is true at all.
   

camo14 Friday, July 25th, 2008 | 12:30 pm PST
I have shot 10+ cases of paint with my A-5 (several beeing monsterballs with a Flatline) and never choped so he must have done something tinkering with it...
   

drakkarman69 Saturday, August 16th, 2008 | 3:19 pm PST
I have had my A-5 stealth marker for about a year an shot several cases through it an not one chop in the marker.
   

drakkarman69 Saturday, August 16th, 2008 | 3:34 pm PST
I have had my A-5 stealth marker for about a year an shot several cases through it an not one chop in the marker.
   

Logandasniper Monday, April 20th, 2009 | 12:52 pm PST
ur are a idoit its one of the best i mean BEST woodsball gun out there dip$hit it dont chop idiot
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media