paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on i_love_my_A5's Review / Comments on i_love_my_A5's Review / Comments on i_love_my_A5's Review / Comments on i_love_my_A5's Review

Comments on i_love_my_A5's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

i_love_my_A5 Wednesday, March 1st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month53 of 58 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock A-5 barrel: no comparison, this one is 5x more accurate
-Flatline: not quite as accurate, shoots much further though
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts Tactical 20"
Pure Energy 12oz
Recommended
Paintballs:
Medium Bore, but small still works.
From what I have observed; any kind will work
I have used the worst (wild streak) and great (tork) paint in it. Both work fine, tork is a bit more accurate but not by much.
Strengths: *ACCURATE!
*Medium loudness
*Looks
*Did i mention accurate?
*INTIMIDATION
Weaknesses: *Maybe a bit too long
nothing else so far
Review: ******Keep in mind I actually OWN this barrel, I can't say so for the other reviews about it




**Story time**: So I am cruising the net's paintball sites, and I run into this awesome looking barrel. So i look into it. No reviews about it on pbreview.com yet, so i was a little doubtful. So I thought why not go out on a limb and try something, it was made by Smart Parts so it couldn't be bad. I got it 5 days later. I raced home from school and I took it out into the abnormally cold, canadian day. I shoot 15 shots, very impressed. Until, a ball broke, after that it was all downhill. Be warned if one ball breaks you cannot, i repeat cannot, shoot it clean. They will 80% all break afterwards and all accuracy is gone. So i was a little disappointed. The next day (below freezing also) I went to my local field to play with some buddies. Second game a ball broke and I was screwed, so i came off cleaned it and played again, same story, ball breaks i go off. I then was a little pissed so I put on my stock barrel and it kept breaking balls. It turns out everyone there on CO2 was breaking balls so it is NOT the barrels fault.

The reason I didn't write this a week ago was becuase i didn't want to give my opinion when i was angry about it. So I went out today in comfortable temperatures and used it again.

A song comes to mind at this point " I can see clearly now the rain is gone".

The barrel blew me away it was amazingly accurate!!
I was able to hit a 2 foot wide board 100% from 35 meters away.
That was also with the cheapest paint money can buy. I once regretted my purchase but realized it was my CO2 the whole time, I love this barrel. (details below)




---***Accuracy***---
This barrel is very very accurate, I am not saying it is as accurate as a real gun, but as close as it gets for paintball anyways. It is a HUGE improvement over the stock one. I highly recommend it.

---***Workmanship***---
This barrel is extremely well built, the inside finish is litterally mirror like, the porting lines up when you screw in the barrel, and it has a nice solid feel to it. It also has a perfect woodsball paint finish, exact same as the A-5.

---***Maneuverabilty***---
This barrel however is quite long. It took a while for me to get used to it. All personal preference however.

---***Weight***---
This barrel isn't too much of a weight diffrence from the stock one, not meaning to brag or anything but I'd say im above average strength so it doesn't bother me at all, I'm sure it won't for you either unless your a 12 year old girl.

---***Made For***---
This barrel is 98% woodsball, it is the exact opposite of a desired speedball barrel. I use it in both though, so it can be both if needed. But its soul is woodsball, if you are a speedsball player do not buy this.

---***Pickiness***---
This barrel is not picky at all on paint, just a tiny bit on velocity however.


Conclusion: This is the perfect barrel for woodsballers, amateurs and pros alike. It is extremely accurate, but with that comes the akward length. Anyways I conclude by saying this: If you are a woodsballer, buy this barrel. I would give it a 9.8 so that rounds up to 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 2nd, 2006 at 7:50 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
imbadatpaintbal Saturday, March 25th, 2006 | 1:32 pm PST
C02 freezes and therefore it sucks and chops like a biotch. Spend 60$ on a steel nitrogen tank and play in the cold and get better efficiency. Also tippmanns chop alot.
   

Tim B Friday, March 31st, 2006 | 12:21 pm PST
I aggre 100% on Co2 Freezing. one thing i disagree on is tippmanns choping i own a tippman 98 custom with the RT kit stock barrerl with the RT kit you have to have a ELc hopper or it will chop like crazy. but with my hopper i have shoot over 4 cases and only choped 2 balls! tippmans do not chop!
   

pampire Saturday, April 1st, 2006 | 2:36 pm PST
"Also tippmanns chop alot."......dude thats just stupid,i agree with the whole co2 crap,but tippmanns chopping a lot, that just doesnt go together tippmanns dont chop a lot,at least the a-5 doesnt.I've shot around 7,000 paintballs out of mine and guess how many chopped?thats right, none.
   

Elfasto Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 8:47 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by imbadatpaintbal
C02 freezes and therefore it sucks and chops like a biotch.

Then get a chamber, shoot a few rounds less,or wear gloves. Your choice.

quote:
Originally posted by imbadatpaintbal
Spend 60$ on a steel nitrogen tank and play in the cold and get better efficiency.

True, but even most CO2 tanks are steel, so they can be loaded with N2 or Compressed Air (I know you aren't supposed to, but I have done it).

quote:
Originally posted by imbadatpaintbal
Also tippmanns chop alot.

COUGHCOUGHBULL****COUGHCOUGH. Tipmans are known to NOT chop balls. That's why I'm saving up for a A5.
Last edited on Monday, February 12th, 2007 at 8:43 pm PST
   

a-5 loverforevr Wednesday, April 26th, 2006 | 6:27 pm PST
ya ive shot over 8,000 rounds thorught my A-5 with ,shocktech superfly bolt, e grip and compressed air tank and i have chopped 0. and i probbably used my stock olt for about 7,500 of those rounds.
   

crazy_hoodlum Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 | 12:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Elfasto

True, but even CO2 tanks are steel, so they can be loaded with N2 or Compressed Air.
b>

No way, dude. You CAN NOT fill a co2 tank with compressed air. Co2 pressure peaks at about 1200 psi. and that is what the tank is made for. Besides, if you try to fill it up with compressed air, the burst disk will rupture at 3k psi.

Hey, i_love_my_A5 , is the barrel a standard one-piece, or does it have a stepped bore, like two-piece barrels?
   

i_love_my_A5 Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 | 7:50 pm PST
Crazy__hoodlum
it's a one piece, i was just paintballing the other day and me and my botehr were just screwing around after a few games and we set up a monster energy drink can and i was fairly far away and using his custom pro he shot 15 couldnt hit it, i used 3 and the 3rd i hit it
   

forestballer Friday, May 12th, 2006 | 9:12 pm PST
Excuse me, I believe I own this barrel as well for my Model 98 (one of the last evermade before it became all customs) It is very amazing and of course amazingly long. You said its picky on velocity, like what velocity? I would love to know even though I'm selling my first *sniff* marker and until or if I get a thread adapter I can't use it. But my friend who seems to find everything on the internet but pbreview (and adult sites) and I would love to give him more info on it than "its um long and um accurate as mess and um yah" if he wants to buy it too. He otherwise gets that Chihuahua of a barrel both in size and noise! Info would benice thx! refering to the thing about Tippmanns chopping. no my MODEL 98 chopped 5 balls out of literally thousands of paintballs. And that was because the paint I origionally used was bigball and I switched to Scorch which I recomend and haven't had a breack for at least 10,000-18,000 balls.
Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 9:21 pm PST
   

forestballer Friday, May 12th, 2006 | 9:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by i_love_my_A5
Crazy__hoodlum
it's a one piece, i was just paintballing the other day and me and my botehr were just screwing around after a few games and we set up a monster energy drink can and i was fairly far away and using his custom pro he shot 15 couldnt hit it, i used 3 and the 3rd i hit it



well, well, well. What you probably have here (not to be mean) is what I call
accuracy malfunction better known as you can't aim well. No offense its just after all those mask shots from anywhere from 30-100 feet away over dozens of hours in play and the fact I can't wear my glasses when I play but still get great hits, it aint the barrel.
   

Lyxtwing Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 | 6:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Elfasto


Then get a chamber, shoot a few rounds less,or wear gloves. Your choice..

Expansion chambers are obsolete. Anti-siphoned tanks have little to no use for them. Throw on a reg and it is almost as good as air.


quote:
Originally posted by Elfasto
True, but even CO2 tanks are steel, so they can be loaded with N2 or Compressed Air. ..

You my friend are going to kill someone. Not only would the tank explode, but CO2 tanks have a valve, not a reg. Your marker would have 3000-4500 PSI of pressure forcing its way in.

quote:
Originally posted by Elfasto
COUGHCOUGHBULL****COUGHCOUGH. Tipmans are known to NOT chop balls. That's why I'm saving up for a A5.

Any marker will chop.
   

AngryInsurgent Saturday, May 27th, 2006 | 1:58 pm PST
You do all know that having a 20" barrel does not help accuracy at all, right? The optimal barrel length is 10-14", and maybe 16" for pushing air bunkers. Having this 20" monstrosity is probably hurting your accuracy and efficiency alot compared to other shorter smart parts barrels, like a 12" teardrop.
   

i_love_my_A5 Thursday, June 1st, 2006 | 7:52 am PST
this guy above me is an idiot
true, ive heard that story, but this barrel is long but it is the most accurate barrel i have ever used
even the guys at my paintball place can back me up because they used my gun and they thought that barrel was incredibly accurate
   

newj5 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 9:23 am PST
Actually only half an idiot. He does have the efficiency part right, but when you play at a field and get all day air, air efficiency isn't a problem. The length just takes all day to get from one side of the tree to the opposite.... Aim, point marker up, turn right, point marker back down, aim... and vice versa. I admit that it is extremely funny to watch guys do that. Don't ask me why, maybe I am just a little strange.
Last edited on Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 at 9:24 am PST
   

a5ghilleman Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 12:56 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Lyxtwing

Expansion chambers are obsolete. Anti-siphoned tanks have little to no use for them. Throw on a reg and it is almost as good as air.




You my friend are going to kill someone. Not only would the tank explode, but CO2 tanks have a valve, not a reg. Your marker would have 3000-4500 PSI of pressure forcing its way in.



Any marker will chop.


dude a-5s chop very little however 98s chop more often.just get a cyclone and a barrel kit
   

a5ghilleman Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 12:58 pm PST
what is the best bore size spesify med bore please
   

johnathan820 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 | 8:37 pm PST
Also tippmanns chop alot.

no they dont, my freind just recently got a 98 custom, and he's put over 3000 rounds through it and hasnt chopped one yet
   

pb_4_life Friday, August 4th, 2006 | 7:59 pm PST
Is the interior actually rifled?
   

4x4le Monday, September 4th, 2006 | 1:17 am PST

True, but even CO2 tanks are steel, so they can be loaded with N2 or Compressed Air.



What a noob! What an idiot! What a retard!

There is no way you can put hpa in a co2 tank. It does not have a fill nipple for it or a reg.
Your the kinda person that causes paintball deaths doing this stupid crap and making other people think they can do stupid crap! Kill your self!!!
   

cbean Wednesday, May 16th, 2007 | 6:26 am PST
Dispute:
One minor disagreement: The inside of the barrel is not "mirror like" as you have stated. If you look straight down the tube, into a lightbulb, you will get the appearance of a highly polished surface. It's just the angle of reflection becoming so shallow, that your eyes pick up lots of reflected light., and detail starts to get lost. It's easy to overlook if you don't know exactly what you're looking for.

To really check, you need to angle the barrel so that you aren't looking all the way through it, but focusing on the very back of the barrel. If so, you'll notice that the barrel actually has a very grainy texture. (I polish barrels on my own, and I do achieve a mirror like finish).

Of course, it seems that the barrel is teflon coated, so the lack of a true mirror-polished surface is negligible, for a time. The teflon means your barrel will work great for several thousand rounds, before the teflon will wear down. Then you will want to re-polish the iside of the barrel.

The only link I've been able to scrounge up lately is this one:
http://www.tippmannparts.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=catalog.pr
odInfo&productID=1327&categoryID=27

Aside from that, your review is an honest appraisal. I commend your efforts.

================Edit================
Oh, and just as an aside, there is nothing wrong with putting HPA into your CO2 tank, provided you do it correctly.

The CO2 tanks are rated for a constant 1200 psi. This means you would have to crank down your HPA supply down to that pressure. Aside from that, there is no difference.

If you pump 3000 psi into your CO2 tank, as is normal for a Hi-Pressure Air setup, you run a very serious risk of your tank going "hydro", a fun way to say "explode".

However, as long as you keep an eye on pressure, as a biomedical technician who works with pressurized gas systems, it presents no real danger so long as you never surpass the pressure rating of your supply tank it's perfectly safe.

Although, filling with only 1200 PSI of compressed air is going to be a very small fill and you won't be getting many shots out of it, I'd have to imagine.
Last edited on Wednesday, May 16th, 2007 at 6:38 am PST
   

Andrei_Shubin Monday, June 4th, 2007 | 4:07 pm PST
ok i have a tippmann 98 and so far after over 5,000+ rounds it has still not chopped a ball so tippmanns dont chop balls.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media