paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Interceptor88's Review / Comments on Interceptor88's Review / Comments on Interceptor88's Review / Comments on Interceptor88's Review / Comments on Interceptor88's Review

Comments on Interceptor88's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Interceptor88 Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month39 of 44 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Others Spyders, Piranhas, Mags, Cockers, assorted pump guns.
Marker Setup: SS-25, autococker, Super Stocker, Piranha LB, MR-2 with Armson 8" Pro Series barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, HP tank, motorized loader
Strengths: Great looking gun, 3 fire modes, nice stock barrel, nice flat black finish.
Weaknesses: Weak stock ball detent, it was chopping every third ball out of the box
Review: I've owned Spyders on and off since they first came out. I had one of the first Compact As. I have always loved the reliabilty of them and the ease of maintenance. I bought the MR-2 because I loved the looks of it, and I wanted a fun gun for scenario play besides my custom autococker.

Looks
The MR-2 has very similar styling to the H&K UMP, very blocky in a M41 pulse rifle sort of way.

Design
Same basic internals as every other Spyder, stacked tube design

Weight
i don't think its to heavy at all, it actually is well balanced with a 45 4500 tank.

Function
Here is were I had a problem. First thing mine started to do was chop balls, and shoot paint up the feed neck and into the hopper. After cleaning everything out a couple times, I took it back to the shop were I bought it and had them look at it. It did the same for them. Keep in mind, I was firing slowly on semi auto, using a Revy. After some research online, I found out that many other people were having the same problem. I replaced the detent with one from a timmy. The stock one is too weak. Don't use a force feed hopper with the stock detent, it will force it to double feed and chop even worse. The shop guy also put a stiffer spring in the anti-chop bolt. They fired 400 rds in the shop with no breaks, I shot 200 through it at the shop when I picked it up, and put 300 more through it at home. Only thing I had was a barrel break. Thats not the same as chopping, so I don't hold it against the gun. I wasn't having to take apart my hopper the clean it, so I'm happy. I shot half of those rounds on 3 shot burst with no problems. I think Kingman will correct this slight flaw on the next batches. I will play with it this weekend and report my findings here on the review. For now, I love the gun.

Update 3/18/06
Used the gun for the first time in a game day. The MR2 functioned flawlessly since I replaced the stock detent. I have shot over 2000 rds both in the back yard and over the course of the day. No more chops. I was using Draxxus Recball paint fed from a 12 volt Revy, and shot with my Armson 8" barrel. Alot of the paint was shot on 3 shot burst with no problems at all. I am very satisfied with the performance of the gun, and I was starting to get used to it toward the end of the day (I could never just pick up a gun and hit anything until I had used it for a while). Also, a friend of mine who also has one said that he got a notice from Kingman stating that they were aware of the problem and that they would be sending him a replacement. I imagine that the next batch of MR2 will have the new detent, and anyone with the old one can get it replaced if they haven't already done so. Good for them for taking care of the problem and attempting to make it right.

Update 5/2/06
Used the gun several times now and had zero problems with it. Functions perfectly!

Update 6/11/06
I am now upping the rating to a 9. I've used the gun almost exclusively for the last couple months and its worked flawlessly. I've tried several different hoppers to feed it, first my old Revy, the a Richochet AK, then a Q-Loader, and now a Halo B. The Halo works the best feeding the gun fast and smoothly. The Q-Loader system was interesting, but caused the gun to jam alot. I only run compressed air through the gun, and keep it cleaned and oiled after every game. I've added a Sure Shot red dot sight and the 8" Armson barrel shoots arrow straight. I absolutely love this little gun.
Conclusion: Slight problems at first, but those seem to be corrected easy enough. I have always like Spyders, and this one is no different. In a sport full of candy colored markers, its nice to see a flat black, all business looking marker that doesn't look like a M4 rip off. Its a scenario gun for those who don't want any rediculous crap like fake magazines hanging off of it. I am very pleased with the way this gun performs with the upgraded detent.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 12th, 2006 at 6:37 am PST
 

Review Comments
Gordocordon Thursday, March 9th, 2006 | 3:56 pm PST
Hey interceptor, very help full review, today i had the same problem and now i know how to fix it because of u. But i want to know which others ball detent can be used for replacement.
Thanks a lot
Federico
   

Interceptor88 Thursday, March 9th, 2006 | 7:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Gordocordon
Hey interceptor, very help full review, today i had the same problem and now i know how to fix it because of u. But i want to know which others ball detent can be used for replacement.
Thanks a lot
Federico


Use intimidator Ball detents. There is also a thread on the Kingman board here: http://www.spyder.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=1332

I just test fired 500 more rounds through the gun non-stop, with most of it on 3 round burst, 0 chops, though I had about 4 barrel breaks. The stock barrel has got to go. On full auto, even with the stiffer bolt spring, the bolt would stop on a ball, I would have to recock it, and it would rock and roll. ZERO CHOPS. I'm happy :-)
   

Gordocordon Friday, March 10th, 2006 | 5:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Interceptor88


Use intimidator Ball detents. There is also a thread on the Kingman board here: http://www.spyder.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=1332

I just test fired 500 more rounds through the gun non-stop, with most of it on 3 round burst, 0 chops, though I had about 4 barrel breaks. The stock barrel has got to go. On full auto, even with the stiffer bolt spring, the bolt would stop on a ball, I would have to recock it, and it would rock and roll. ZERO CHOPS. I'm happy :-)


ok, will try to find those ball detents, but is very difficoult here in argentina, if u know any other BD wich fits, please post it.
Thanks again and if u want to chat aboaut recball or woodsball be my gest on MSN gordocordon7@hotmail.com wwwpatagoniateam.com.ar

   

Interceptor88 Saturday, March 11th, 2006 | 7:24 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Gordocordon


ok, will try to find those ball detents, but is very difficoult here in argentina, if u know any other BD wich fits, please post it.
Thanks again and if u want to chat aboaut recball or woodsball be my gest on MSN gordocordon7@hotmail.com wwwpatagoniateam.com.ar



No problem my friend. Good luck with it, I also added you to my MSN chat.
   

toonwar Sunday, November 19th, 2006 | 12:38 pm PST
Hey man. I am thinking about getting this gun and because of this review i am completely going to get it. Just one question. What kind of hopper would you recomend for it like just as a starting hopper. I am not going to use full auto on it that much so i dont think i will need a fast loader. I am somewhat new to the game but i am good and know what i am doing.

Thanks
   

Interceptor88 Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007 | 8:20 pm PST
I had the best results with the halo. I don't trust the ATS bolt to completely keep from cutting a ball, and the Halo fed smoothly and reliably every time.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media