paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review

Comments on DDunf's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DDunf Thursday, March 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 156 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom... um... 98 Custom > BT-4.
Marker Setup: *My Tippmann 98 Custom*
-Black 98 Custom-
-Ben Tippmann BT-16 Barrel Kit -
-Tippmann Double Trigger Kit-
-Polished Internals-
-Pen Spring Mod-
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel... theres not really any upgrades for this gun that ive seen.
Pen spring mod to make it shoot from 3bps to like 8.
Strengths: Um.. good newb gun i guess.
Durable
Pretty good price...
Weaknesses: Weights allot
Slow
Chops allot
Crappy on air
Review: This gun is pretty crappy overall.... id say its good for someone new to this sport. this gun has like no upgrades for it other then barrels i think.. BT only makes upgrades for 98 custom and A5 lol. and its heavier then my 98 custom by far.

The Bad---

-Heavy... wow this gun is so heavy... people think customs are heavy... wait till u pick this gun up.

-Slow... this gun can only shoot about 5 bps if your lucky, id recommend the pen spring mod though... it will make it about 8.

-Chops allot.. if you do the pen spring mod your going to chop even more... could just be the barrel on this though... i only have stock

-Crappy on air... paintball day: i used my 98 custom with a 14" BT-16 barrel.. and a full 12oz. My bro with the BT-4 combat.. 8.5" stock barrel.. also a full 12oz. his 12oz ran out about 2 hours before mine did.

The Good--

-Durable... Well id feel safe running this gun over with a truck, that's all i can say.

-Good newb gun... Yeah its easy to strip.. like stripping an A-5. this gun is mechanical and is newb friendly.. its a very plane and basic gun.

- Price... I guess the price is OK, and Id say you get what you pay for...but for a little more money you can get a 98 custom. so i suggest investing in that instead.
Conclusion: If your newb and u cant afford a 98 custom or custom pro then get this i guess. but i would recommend a custom or custom pro by far... and they are only a little more expensive, and perform much better.

Im giving this gun a 3/10 because its durable, the price is ok and its good for a new paintballer.
Rating:
3 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Skinless Friday, March 17th, 2006 | 9:34 pm PST
Dispute:
umm first of all the bt-4 can use almost any 98c and and a-5 upgrade
   

DDunf Tuesday, March 21st, 2006 | 5:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Skinless
umm first of all the bt-4 can use almost any 98c and and a-5 upgrade

Oh sorry, it can have AK47 barrel and combat barel oo oooo and Apex barrel.
   

Skinless Wednesday, March 22nd, 2006 | 3:24 pm PST
well the internals are 98c compatible and the sight mounts are military standard so put what u like on it.....plus u can have a stock from the 98c...possibility the a-5 so whatever dude
   

Self Medicated Tuesday, March 28th, 2006 | 9:48 pm PST
Ok, it is his opinion after all. But a 3 out of 10? C'mon. Ok, let's take a look at the cons you listed.

Heavy- alright, i'll give you that (especially after I added my A-5 Flatline)

Slow- umm... I really don't understand that because it shoots just as fast as any 98 custom out there. That's not opinion, it's fact.

Chops alot- Not from my experience, even with the stock barrel and crappy paint. After I put my flatline on it chopped like crazy until I got some better paint.

Crappy on air- How many shots do you expect to get out of a 12 oz? Honestly.

And as for not having many upgrades, what about their bottle adapters, sealed bolt system, spring kit. Oh, and the fact that it will accept any A-5 barrel, any 98 stock, and most 98 internals (including the bolt). BT is also releasing some more upgrades soon. E-grip, double trigger, and mag kit should be out this spring.

   

silentbob831 Friday, March 31st, 2006 | 5:28 pm PST
Thanks for telling me this gun has A-5 barrel threads...I'm thinking of buying this as a backup for my 98C w/ 14" J&J Ceramic and TearDrop barrels and remote line and red dot scope. Not to mention internals being interchangeable with 98C is a big plus for 98C owners like myself :D. If I buy this I'll put a 14" J&J Ceramic and as for the "crappy on air" problem, nothing a remote line can't fix :).
   

Bushhunter Sunday, April 2nd, 2006 | 3:32 am PST
I also don't agree with DDunf's review. I bought a BT-4 combat a few months ago and have considered it money well spent. I've never chopped paint in the barrel yet. I installed a 98-custom Response trigger and can out-shoot stock A-5's with an RT. Although the 98-custom RT wasn't designed for my gun it took very little work to install. I had to lengthen the hose from the power tube to the rate adjuster on the grip. As for crappy on air... No more-so than an A-5 or SP-8, besides air is free. Also I like the weight of the gun, it's a good weight for a bush ball gun, lighter than an SP-8 but heavier than an Autococker. I'd give the gun a 7 out of 10 with the price making up for any weaknesses.
   

Elfasto Friday, April 7th, 2006 | 7:41 pm PST
If it's so bad, then why is the average vote on this marker 7.0 out of 10?

I respect anybody's opinion on any marker, but I would have to agree with Self Medicated: 3 out of 10?

As for the "heavy" issue, all I can say is get into weightlifting. Should help with that problem in a month or so.
Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 7:42 pm PST
   

=M4= Thursday, April 13th, 2006 | 12:34 pm PST
Heavy on air!!! Well I renting HPA last and out of 2hours play it seemed pretty good on air.... no refills

Now on the other end it can eat up CO2 w 12Oz tank.... many refills once every round.(As expected)

Conculsion HPA Good CO2 Not as good get bigger tank (as others said)

I never chopped paint yet (since barrel UPGRADE) even cheap paint.
I noticed that with HPA the marker is very very quite, using new barrel (just adding)

"Heavy" well it weighs at a stagering 3 pound without hopper w paint and tank. It will just give you some muscle (like others said), but compared to something like a R6 it is heavy.

"Slow" owners manuel say 13 BPS that 3 more than the R6 I use to own.... I donno sounds good to me.

"Good newb gun" I upgrades from Piranhna R6 to BT4 Combat, but HEY!!! I'm a newb!!!! lol

Everything else is fine thank you!!!! lol
   

Verbious Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 4:38 am PST
Funny thing about recommending a Tippmann....it IS a Tippmann.

A5 threads and with a changeable thread adapter allows it to accept any type of barrel.

Slow firing? Come on....this thing is rated at 13 BPS.

98 Custom internals. how much more like a Tippmann can you get?

There is a Response Trigger for the BT-4 and a few other ups.

The BT guns are just as good as any 98C or A5 out there when it comes to the same durability and reliability.

Research before you write such an uneducated review.
   

DDunf Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 | 8:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Verbious
Funny thing about recommending a Tippmann....it IS a Tippmann.

A5 threads and with a changeable thread adapter allows it to accept any type of barrel.

Slow firing? Come on....this thing is rated at 13 BPS.

98 Custom internals. how much more like a Tippmann can you get?

There is a Response Trigger for the BT-4 and a few other ups.

The BT guns are just as good as any 98C or A5 out there when it comes to the same durability and reliability.

Research before you write such an uneducated review.


LoL I own the gun... as well as a 98 custom.
   

Reaper17 Saturday, May 20th, 2006 | 6:39 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by DDunf


Lmao... I'm not 100% BT-4 Hate though.. i gave it a 3/10 thats pritty good.. It is a good beginner gun but I think anyone is better off with a tippmann instead.

How is a 3/10 pretty good? 5 is average, and last time I checked 3 was below 5, so a 3 would be pretty bad, not pretty good.
   

hotdog-mahony Tuesday, June 6th, 2006 | 2:49 pm PST
I think DDnuf is just a wanna be paintballer who owns a brass eagle
   

Lmneozoo Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 | 6:05 pm PST
Dispute:
This gun is light and has a higher feed rate than the 98
   

williamkablitz Saturday, September 2nd, 2006 | 5:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by silentbob831
Thanks for telling me this gun has A-5 barrel threads...I'm thinking of buying this as a backup for my 98C w/ 14" J&J Ceramic and TearDrop barrels and remote line and red dot scope. Not to mention internals being interchangeable with 98C is a big plus for 98C owners like myself :D. If I buy this I'll put a 14" J&J Ceramic and as for the "crappy on air" problem, nothing a remote line can't fix :).

That last line is wrong!! I have a remote, and it didn't help enough to even notice.
   

flec Thursday, December 14th, 2006 | 2:01 pm PST
New barrel... theres not really any upgrades for this gun that ive seen.

any 98c stock, any a5 barrel, 98c upgraded internals. I have a 98 car stock, a5 freak and a 98c blew tube and delrin bolt, had to make 1 hole. not bad for no upgrades. Fact

-Slow... this gun can only shoot about 5 bps if your lucky, id recommend the pen spring mod though... it will make it about 8.

Pen spring mod to make it shoot from 3bps to like 8.

first, I presume you cant count, that or cant remember, you have contradicted yourself on bps (3 and 5). if you have a slow finger I guess so, the marker can do 13 bps though. Fact(needs hopper capable of same, gravity fed wont do it)

-Chops allot.. if you do the pen spring mod your going to chop even more... could just be the barrel on this though... i only have stock

bad paint or messed with your pressure, all i can think of, almost never chop myself

-Crappy on air... paintball day: i used my 98 custom with a 14" BT-16 barrel.. and a full 12oz. My bro with the BT-4 combat.. 8.5" stock barrel.. also a full 12oz. his 12oz ran out about 2 hours before mine did.

shouldnt use 12oz, hardly get any shots out of them, especially if your trigger happy like your bro. 12oz, so that would be co2, not hpa, so not crappy on air as tested on co2? Both being VERY different.

Conclusion...

Fan boy, unfounded badly constructed arguments based on a bad day of paintball.
Last edited on Friday, December 15th, 2006 at 9:42 am PST
   

DeltaOne Thursday, December 21st, 2006 | 9:13 am PST
I've read that if you cut the drive spring down about a half inch then the marker will be as efficient as any gun.
   

sturmgeschutz33 Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 7:12 pm PST
Weight a lot only if you are weak
   

pbman0001 Sunday, January 21st, 2007 | 9:10 am PST
dude...this gun is basically at tippmann custom..you can even get the same internals
   

irobotnic Thursday, February 15th, 2007 | 5:45 pm PST
This review is 100% true.
   

Evil_Wayz Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 12:34 pm PST
Dispute:
I have a ricochet hopper on mine and it gets at least 13 bps.

If you think this is heavy, please don't ever join the military. An m16 weighs 8.5 pounds unloaded.

   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media