paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review / Comments on DDunf's Review

Comments on DDunf's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

DDunf Thursday, March 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 156 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom... um... 98 Custom > BT-4.
Marker Setup: *My Tippmann 98 Custom*
-Black 98 Custom-
-Ben Tippmann BT-16 Barrel Kit -
-Tippmann Double Trigger Kit-
-Polished Internals-
-Pen Spring Mod-
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel... theres not really any upgrades for this gun that ive seen.
Pen spring mod to make it shoot from 3bps to like 8.
Strengths: Um.. good newb gun i guess.
Durable
Pretty good price...
Weaknesses: Weights allot
Slow
Chops allot
Crappy on air
Review: This gun is pretty crappy overall.... id say its good for someone new to this sport. this gun has like no upgrades for it other then barrels i think.. BT only makes upgrades for 98 custom and A5 lol. and its heavier then my 98 custom by far.

The Bad---

-Heavy... wow this gun is so heavy... people think customs are heavy... wait till u pick this gun up.

-Slow... this gun can only shoot about 5 bps if your lucky, id recommend the pen spring mod though... it will make it about 8.

-Chops allot.. if you do the pen spring mod your going to chop even more... could just be the barrel on this though... i only have stock

-Crappy on air... paintball day: i used my 98 custom with a 14" BT-16 barrel.. and a full 12oz. My bro with the BT-4 combat.. 8.5" stock barrel.. also a full 12oz. his 12oz ran out about 2 hours before mine did.

The Good--

-Durable... Well id feel safe running this gun over with a truck, that's all i can say.

-Good newb gun... Yeah its easy to strip.. like stripping an A-5. this gun is mechanical and is newb friendly.. its a very plane and basic gun.

- Price... I guess the price is OK, and Id say you get what you pay for...but for a little more money you can get a 98 custom. so i suggest investing in that instead.
Conclusion: If your newb and u cant afford a 98 custom or custom pro then get this i guess. but i would recommend a custom or custom pro by far... and they are only a little more expensive, and perform much better.

Im giving this gun a 3/10 because its durable, the price is ok and its good for a new paintballer.
Rating:
3 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
goftoid93 Sunday, March 25th, 2007 | 6:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Verbious
Funny thing about recommending a Tippmann....it IS a Tippmann.

A5 threads and with a changeable thread adapter allows it to accept any type of barrel.

Slow firing? Come on....this thing is rated at 13 BPS.

98 Custom internals. how much more like a Tippmann can you get?

There is a Response Trigger for the BT-4 and a few other ups.

The BT guns are just as good as any 98C or A5 out there when it comes to the same durability and reliability.

Research before you write such an uneducated review.


lol nice oppening sentence X.X lol
   

Dempster Friday, June 8th, 2007 | 6:39 am PST
Dispute:
I've had mine for about 2 months now, not a single chop... and the air lasts forever, you are on crack buddy. If yours really is that bad, return it
   

SplatZoneBorneo Thursday, June 21st, 2007 | 10:45 am PST
i wanna know is this the same marker with the BT-4 rental? wanna buy soon for our field use
   

Shadow Nugz Thursday, June 21st, 2007 | 5:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by irobotnic
This review is 100% true.
Any particular reason you believe so? Or is this just a way to get attention? This review is one of the weakest based reviews I have ever seen.
   

goftoid93 Tuesday, July 3rd, 2007 | 8:24 am PST
Dispute:
1.First off the gun is at an awesome price
2. very accurate (except wen low on CO2
3. Extremely upgradable
   

Jap197 Friday, August 10th, 2007 | 1:45 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by DDunf


Lmao... I'm not 100% BT-4 Hate though.. i gave it a 3/10 thats pritty good.. It is a good beginner gun but I think anyone is better off with a tippmann instead.


There better off with a tippman if they want there paintballs hitting the ground
   

Squizz Thursday, January 3rd, 2008 | 9:47 am PST
Dispute:
This is not true about the gun at all. I have had it for a year now and I've put it through alot and it hardly ever chops, it's very accurate and personally I like it better than a Tippmann 98 Custom. And oh yeah there are tons of upgrades for it you can use any A5 barrel and any 98 custom stoc for it.
   

SUICIDAL TJT Sunday, April 13th, 2008 | 10:44 am PST
Dispute:
the gun is not that heavy it is for people that want something that is actully more than a pound in their hands also maybe his brother needs another c02 tank this gun is great on air mine last about 3-5 hours with a 20 oz sometimes and i use alot of air the gun is not slow either this gun is actully pretty speedy it can compete with some electronic markers it at least goes 15bps i dont know what this guy is talking about
   

Nephrak Thursday, April 17th, 2008 | 5:57 pm PST
I use a bt-4 but i'm planning on getting a 98 as a back-up. I totally prefer my bt-4 in almost every way. Heavy?..i would say it might even be a tad lighter than a 98, accurate, no chops yet. 98 i have had bad chop experiences with.
   

Nephrak Thursday, April 17th, 2008 | 6:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Jap197


There better off with a tippman if they want there paintballs hitting the ground

Nice XD

"buying a tippmann is like buying a pair of designer jeans, you pay more money for the same thing except there might be a rip in it. "
Quote by a bt-4 owner
   

Nephrak Thursday, April 17th, 2008 | 6:07 pm PST
bt-4s are more expensive than 98s in all the stores i've ever seen. unless you get a ACT 98 which is useless unless you really have problem with chopping which has never even happened once with my bt-4
   

Potty391 Monday, June 16th, 2008 | 6:25 am PST
those who think this gun is not upgradeable here is a list (not all but most):

Bt adjustable sight rail (m4 style)
BT e-grip (normal and digi camo)
APE board for the bt e-grip
BT offset sight rail
Tiberius Mods (sight riser, etc.)
Bt Rip Clip
Bipod and bipod adapters
BT expansion chamber (normal and m16 mag version)
Bt Horizontal Adapter
All 98 custom stocks
All A5 threaded barrels
BT folding foregrip
BT Double Trigger kit.
Most 98 custom shrouds, even some mods for the X7
As well as 98 custom response trigger kits
this list can go on....

It is a small bit heavier than a 98 custom, but only those that are weak cant handle it.
Accuracy (depends on barrel) but in my experience a BT4 with a J&J Ceramic shoots just as accurate and a bit further than a 98 custom with the same barrel. (i own a BT4 and my brother owns a 98 custom)
BT's are easier to do maintanance on due to modular grip frames and extremely easy to take off foregrips and feednecks

I dont like these tippmann fanboys that think Tippmann is like the god of paintball... believe it or not but the guy that designed the 98 custom and the A5 is the owner of BT paintball (Ben Tippmann designed it, and now he has the new bt TM-7 and his very succesful BT4)

I've had this marker for about 8 months and i have only chopped one (YES, only 1) ball that was a left over from 2 months before the time i used it.

Crappy on air?? i dont think so... the 20oz CO2 canister i have lasts 997 shots with the BT compared to the 98 custom with 823 shots. you can polish the internals of both markers for better results

Slow? nope, dont think so either... can shoot 13 bps (if you walk the trigger in a certain way) and with the pen spring mod it can go up to about 15 - 17bps

so do extensive, and really proper research before you post this nonsence! if you need a good source... goto www.bt.warrior-online.com

Last edited on Monday, June 16th, 2008 at 6:28 am PST
   

Paintballr4life Saturday, August 30th, 2008 | 10:37 pm PST
A newb gun? Ha Ha Ha.........You've only been playing for 3 years.
   

Akallabeth Saturday, November 29th, 2008 | 11:02 pm PST
Dispute:
The first line of the description is false- MANY upgrades are available specifically for BT-4s, many Tippman 98 and A-5 upgrades also work with the BT-4, and the built-in rails allow for many other upgrades.

Primarily, the author either ignored or failed to realize just how closely related the Ben Tippman and Tippman markers are.
   

Alexei Dmitri Saturday, January 24th, 2009 | 11:23 am PST
Dispute:
Fact #1a: Metal = Heavy. BT = Metal. Metal = Good. Therefore, BT = Good. If you cant handle it, go play airsoft or speedball. You're not wanted here.
Fact #1b: Nobody complains Custom's are heavy. When 8 year old Girl Guides go to play paintball, none of them complain that the rental guns are heavy. You should try to be more like Scout Sally.
Fact #2: This gun, suprisingly, doesn't come with an E-Grip. Thusly, the ROF is as fast as you pull the trigger. AMAZING! The trigger pull is long and strenuous for those with girly hands so don't blame the gun for your unablility to pull the trigger fast enough. Buy an E-Grip.
Fact #3: Stock Guns tend to not come with a force-fed loader. If you are able to pull the trigger fast that fast, then invest in a force-fed loader so that you won't chop. If you are expexting miracles from a stock marker of any kind, then you sir/ma'am, are a fool.
Fact #4a: Air tanks do not come in ounces. Therefore, you are using a CO2 Tank. These are not as reliable or consistent as air. The issue could have been a diffence between the tanks, how old they were, how much you were shooting, and possibly the fact that a 12oz will only last a few hundred shots. Stop using stock equipment and purchase better parts. Get a job, so you are not overspending your parents hardearned money.
Fact #4b: Barrels play a huge role in the CO2 distribution of a marker. BT-4 barrels have lots of porting. This leads to a quieter, more stealthy game of paintball. For those without stealth, they see this as only wasting CO2. Buy a short, unported barrel for the loudest, most efficient marker possible.
Fact #5a: You shouldn't mention the price difference (Especially since they are no more than $10 apart). The only people that say that play airsoft, or spend their parents money on Wal-Mart guns. Price shouldn't be an issue when buying a marker unless you don't have a job. Get one.
Fact #5b: A gun currently exists in the world, that by definition of your review, would suck. It's heavy, it has a slow rate of fire, and it's terribly innaccurate. It's also durable, reliable, newbie friendly, and cheap. Sounds like a BT-4, right? Wrong! I'm talking about an AK-47. Simply because is doesn't break down when you drop it, and you require no experience to operate it, it is the most poular gun in the world. So, therefore, your review should be more like an 8/10 because it seems like the AK-47 of paintball.

Your point is moot. You have been unsuccessful in effectively reviewing this marker.

FAIL.
Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2009 at 11:28 am PST
   

PBadict1241 Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 | 7:06 pm PST
This Review is totaly unture every single gun takes the same amout of Co2 every PB marker puts out the same amount of air in every shot
   

TiPpY a5 Sunday, July 19th, 2009 | 10:27 am PST
Im going to have to agree with everyone on this. My freind bought this gun and it works good sure it is a novice gun but it is a novice gun that can keep up with the pack. You r stupid and need to do a little more research on a gun before you do a review. BTW BT is Tippmann u retard
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media