paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Richie B's Review / Comments on Richie B's Review / Comments on Richie B's Review / Comments on Richie B's Review / Comments on Richie B's Review

Comments on Richie B's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Richie B Friday, March 17th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmenn 98c (much better)
bt-16 tactical (more accurate)
piranha (just as bad)
smart parts ion (excellent)
Marker Setup: black ion yellow trim
14" freak back aa front
egg2 y board
sp Q lock
sp qev 360
sp max-flo reg
pure energy 47/3000
vp scythe trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better marker
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: the bt-16 was my first marker, and my god was it a wast of money, really this marker is the worst marker i have ever used. if your reading this review its because you were thinking of buying one, please.......please don't. if your going to buy a marker for $150 just buy a 98c trust me, or save up another $150 and buy an A5 or an ion. the only reason i bought this marker was because it was cheap and in my nooby brain i thought it looked cool, how wrong i was. the thing i hated the most about this peace of sh*t was the accuracy, i tried many different kinds of balls but no, i could not hit a 2 foot target at 15 yards, no chance in hell. well maybe you are thinking you can upgrade the barrel no no no, the only barrel that will fit is the apex and that will cost the same as the marker so whats the point, no trigger upgrades, no e-grip upgrades, no nothing. ive heard people say that the barrel thread is the same as the 98c this is not true, maybe with some modification........maybe?. what a load of sh*t that marker was, thank god i sold it and bought an ion. the bt-16 is dead, long live the ion.
Conclusion: Don't buy this marker, you will be very sad if you do, and if you still have one or just bought one, my sympathies.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 7th, 2006 at 5:38 am PST
 

Review Comments
papaintballer15 Friday, March 17th, 2006 | 1:12 pm PST
Dispute:
Inaccurate information if u can call it that. Gun can work with any barrel thats threaded for it. Which BT makes tippmann parts, therefore using a according tippmann threaded barrel (do believe 98c threading). No real information regarding gun, just another ion-noob owner who feels like bashing a gun thats not even in the same catagory.

Better luck next time :)
   

papaintballer15 Monday, April 24th, 2006 | 4:14 am PST
actually accuracy is based off paint to bore match, good quality honeing in a barrel, good to great quality paint, and conistancy. Things you'd never know. just another ion noob that gives other things a low rateing... which is one of the reasons so many ppl tend to hate the ion and its users. 95% of them are d!cks.

Plus there are tons of upgrades for the bt markers.. open your eyes wang chung.
As far as no information it was basically just a long rant about you hateing it. I could rant on for 2 pages worth of words just on your pos ion. How about u get over it and hopefully your review just gets deleted for being a waste of space.
   

Richie B Tuesday, April 25th, 2006 | 12:29 am PST
ok, don't cry about it, its ok little boy come on don't cry. i am sure you will not waste your pocket money on your next marker.

i owned one off these things so I have a right to my opinion noob.
   

jdacruz7291 Thursday, April 27th, 2006 | 5:58 pm PST
Dispute:
You realy are a noob learn paintball before you start talking about guns because i own a sp ion, bt 16 elite, and a dye dm5 and each one of those guns has a different purpose on the field... think before you talk.. the only thinng you realy need on a bt is a new barrel but the problem is bt makes so many barrels for other guns and not for the bt 16 elite.
   

Richie B Friday, April 28th, 2006 | 6:09 am PST
so i was right about the threads on the bt-16, its not the same as the 98c i new they weren't. hay look at my experience 6 months, i make no secret about how long ive been playing unlike some people. all i am saying is this marker sucks which it does. i don't understand why im being flamed, i have not lied, i have not misled anyone i told the truth and gave my honest opinion on this marker so deal with it.
   

Slinky17 Saturday, July 1st, 2006 | 7:01 pm PST
This kid probably never owned this gun in the first place.
   

Richie B Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 | 12:42 pm PST
I wish i never did own that peace of sh*t marker slinky17, as for kid im 24 son.
   

pbdawg105 Friday, July 21st, 2006 | 12:31 pm PST
Sorry dude but ur wrong about the barrel threads, it just has to have a tippmann thread to fit on this gun. My friend has one and I lent him my spare tippmann barrel and it fit fine. Also, what kind of barrel did you put on this? stock barrels almost always suck. Sorry if yours was bad, but this is a nice gun.
   

Richie B Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 | 11:56 am PST
I tried to put a stock tippmenn barrel on a bt-16, it went half way on and that was it i.e. its not the same thread, close but not the same.

and yes I did have the stock barrel on it, i was not paying $100 for an apex, the only after market barrel available at the time.
   

eseekford Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 | 11:37 am PST
I love reading these reviews just to see people get angry when they know they are wrong and the only thing they can do is call someone names. As for being 24, I doubt that since you don't even know how to use the SPELL CHECK. Wow was at least 3 miss-spelled words in that review. I have a 98c and a BT16 which I just picked up on sale at PEVS for 55$. I used the same barrels on both markers. As for the Ion being so great? Check eBay... look at all the IONS used for sale with tons of upgrades. Yeah I agree Ions are more accurate then a BT, but spraying a case of paint to shout YAY when you hit a target is not really considered accurate now is it? How many ION owners have you ever seen try to get someone out with 3 or 4 shots? Its usually a pod of paint. Accuracy is in the paint to bore match, and in the player. The trigger pull on an Ion is much less since its electro. The Tippmanns are mechanical so of course if you try to pull the trigger instead on squeezing it you will not hit your target. If you want to compare apples to apples, go buy a VS3 or something similar to your OH MIGHTY Ion. Don't even think about comparing electros to mechanical unless you know how to fire the marker without jerking the trigger all over the place. So Ill end this post now so that you can continue calling each other names instead of talking about the BT-16.
   

eseekford Wednesday, March 28th, 2007 | 11:44 am PST
I love reading these reviews just to see people get angry when they know they are wrong and the only thing they can do is call someone names. As for being 24, I doubt that since you don't even know how to use the SPELL CHECK. Wow was at least 3 miss-spelled words in that review. I have a 98c and a BT16 which I just picked up on sale at PEVS for 55$. I used the same barrels on both markers. As for the Ion being so great? Check eBay... look at all the IONS used for sale with tons of upgrades. Yeah I agree Ions are more accurate then a BT, but spraying a case of paint to shout YAY when you hit a target is not really considered accurate now is it? How many ION owners have you ever seen try to get someone out with 3 or 4 shots? Its usually a pod of paint. Accuracy is in the paint to bore match, and in the player. The trigger pull on an Ion is much less since its electro. The Tippmanns are mechanical so of course if you try to pull the trigger instead on squeezing it you will not hit your target. If you want to compare apples to apples, go buy a VS3 or something similar to your OH MIGHTY Ion. Don't even think about comparing electros to mechanical unless you know how to fire the marker without jerking the trigger all over the place. So Ill end this post now so that you can continue calling each other names instead of talking about the BT-16.
   

JBelowPar18 Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 | 10:14 am PST
Dispute:
First off... this guy doesn't know what he's talking about at all...the BT-16 uses the same barrel threads as the Tippmann 98C making it one of the easiest guns on the entire market to upgrade barrels on....it's adjustable feedneck will take almost every hopper available....and there are numerous other upgardes available including stocks and all kinds of accesories to mount on the picatinny rails....

the only upgrade not readily available is an E-Grip......

Second....this guy uses profanity and exagerrates everything in this entire review, yet has little facts to back it up....the only negetive fact he correctly gives is the guns innaccuracy out of the box....which last time I checked is he case with most guns on the market....considering that you can buy this gun and a better barrel for less than the cost of most other guns out there....its a no brainer to me....

someone please take down this review as it is a false representation of the actual product.....its not consistent at all with other BT-16 reviews...
Last edited on Tuesday, February 19th, 2008 at 10:32 am PST
   

slog63 Wednesday, August 6th, 2008 | 7:47 pm PST
Richie, I'm afraid you are wrong about this marker... I own one so I can talk... yes, it is limited as to the upgrades available... and you are wrong about the threads, the barrel threads ARE 98C... I replaced the barrel with a carbon fibre Stryker barrel that I bought online for $24.95 and it fit perfect. And it allowed me to get better accuracy and shed some weight off the front. I believe that when the o-ring of any new barrel gets to the edge of the gun thread, you need to give it an extra-push and lubrication, and you're not doing that. New o-rings need a little workout. I believe you are frustrated because you want something different, probably had unreasonable expectations with this marker. If you use this marker within its limitations, it performs quite well. I have used BT customer care a couple of times over the phone and they are quite helpful and patient. Try using their advice to get you over the technical hump, and you'll grow to love this well machined device. Don't expect it to shoot 15 bps, don't expect it to hit an aluminum can at 80 feet and you'll be happy.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media