paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Msabercr's Review / Comments on Msabercr's Review / Comments on Msabercr's Review / Comments on Msabercr's Review

Comments on Msabercr's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Msabercr Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye ultra light
stiffi
redz pepper stick
javelin
wgp two piece
Marker Setup: Angel Speed 04, Evolve Kit, Sly 14" barrel kit with .689 barrel back, CCM Clamping lowrise feedneck, sidewinder regulator, tadao musashi 7 board, 05 tpr grip cheaks, system x push button on off, system x centerflag tank with nxe cover, redz neoprene barrel condom, anti chop bolt, halo with victory board
Recommended
Paintballs:
not sure
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I only shot one type of paint through it and that was proto. let me tell you it did not like proto at all my gun hasn't had a barrel break in a while and thats mainly because i shot proto through the stock infinity barrel so i figure hey i just got this new barrel why not try it out and see how well it shoots. well i screw it in and air up first thing that happens is a barrel break with a .689 back. know i dont really like barrel break and it hasn't happened in a while so i thought maybe i chopped. I open up the breach clean as a whistle only thing left to do know is try to get the other backs for the barrel. so i go on the website and see that they have the 5 piece back set but geuss what. no angel threading they have everything else but no angel threading i wonder why that is. i havn't persued it any farther yet i will as soon as i reck my infinity which wont be any time soon
in the mean time i'll try other "recommended" paint and see how it shoots
Conclusion: After testing further after my first impression i have concluded that the sly is very tempermental as to what the ball is made of. i found that almost all of the diablo and draxxus paint shoots extremely well through it. it didn't like anything in the rps spectrum besides bigball and marbalizer. chronic shot well, xball shot awesome, and gap is what im about to test next. revised review is a 7 because good barrels should be able to shoot any kind of paint you throw at it
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 2:32 pm PST
 

Review Comments
fishhead Monday, April 24th, 2006 | 11:48 am PST
here is an ebay auction for your backs:
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-SLY-Dual-Carbon-Barrel-Back-Set-Meta
l-Grey-Angel_W0QQitemZ7208183764QQcategoryZ16046QQssPageName
ZWD1VQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
   

pntballguy877 Saturday, May 6th, 2006 | 9:20 am PST
Dispute:
You just have crappy paint.
   

SEAL6 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006 | 5:51 pm PST
don't post a review without good research (like testing multiple paints)
   

Msabercr Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 | 2:23 pm PST
proto isn't crappy paint and this is a first impression. after a few tests with other paint i have concluded that the carbon barrels only like the gelatin balls and that the paper machet balls break very easily in the barrel i tried premium and proto and both of them shot crappy
Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 2:42 pm PST
   

JHG102238 Thursday, July 27th, 2006 | 8:07 am PST
why would the material the barrel is made out of make a difference in the material the ball is made out of xplain this to me and if u cant reevaluate your review
   

jonotwist Friday, November 17th, 2006 | 5:04 pm PST
well it really shouldn't make a difference on what the barrel is made of.
but a lot of times its the finnish that a barrel can have on paint. but because of a diferent type of ball makeup there can be some drag. even enoughto break the paint but there shouldnt be enough to do even that.
   

Msabercr Thursday, November 30th, 2006 | 11:14 pm PST
wait what? can't anyone on here create a cohesive sentance. just because i didn't give it a ten you have to flame me. there are good barrels and bad barrels and all the ones in between. i still to this day have shot allot of procaps paint through it and that is all that the barrel likes. especially inferno. but what barrel doesn't like inferno. ps just recently shot some origin through it and liked that prietty good( again procaps).
Last edited on Thursday, November 30th, 2006 at 11:41 pm PST
   

keith harmon Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 5:32 pm PST
did you contact sly barrels about this problem I mean if i spent this much on a barrel I would complain if it could not shoot the paint i use ps I have the sly system while i have not tried proto paint i have had nothing but great results but that is mainly with a procap paint now that i think about it
   

keith harmon Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 5:33 pm PST
did you contact sly barrels about this problem I mean if i spent this much on a barrel I would complain if it could not shoot the paint i use ps I have the sly system while i have not tried proto paint i have had nothing but great results but that is mainly with a procap paint now that i think about it
   

Lamborghinievog Friday, January 19th, 2007 | 3:59 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Msabercr
wait what? can't anyone on here create a cohesive sentance. just because i didn't give it a ten you have to flame me. there are good barrels and bad barrels and all the ones in between. i still to this day have shot allot of procaps paint through it and that is all that the barrel likes. especially inferno. but what barrel doesn't like inferno. ps just recently shot some origin through it and liked that prietty good( again procaps).
PMI paint goes through this barrel really good. As does Zap, even though I don't prefer it. When you get you barrel kit make sure that the back you use fits with the paintball tightly. I had the same problem with mine and with the Procaps paint I used .684; Zap(Chronic), Diablo, PMI, Evil(can work with .689 too, only in semi-auto mode) = .686. Just remember that the paintball must fit the barrel back tightly and you'll be ok.
   

The Thnickaman Thursday, June 21st, 2007 | 7:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Msabercr
wait what? can't anyone on here create a cohesive sentance. just because i didn't give it a ten you have to flame me.

dude, their sentences are fine, they can be understood. And if you couldn't understand their sentences, why do you get the impression that they are flaming you (which they are not). All that they, and myself, want to know, is how you came the the conclusion that the makeup of the paintballs determines how your barrel preforms.(is that cohierent enough for you!)
   

SLANT I Wednesday, October 17th, 2007 | 12:10 am PST
i personally own a SLY kit and other verious barrels like UL's, freak, and the SL kit that came with my 74. since i've had to change teams a few times and have played a lot of event paint only tournaments and i get deals on random stuff from friends and shops i've literally shot pretty much everything there is. now with my SLY kit i've mostly shot dxs rec sport/bronze/silver/gold, proto darts, pwi players choice/smoking dragon, sterling game, origin signature series, chronic pro, cryptic, and i'm sure there are others i forget. nothing has given me any problems whatsoever with my SLY. even when i did happen to break a ball it shot thru in a few shots. now i don't mean it shot clean, i said it shot thru. there's still all sorts of paint in there but for some reason it goes back to near clean accuracy. i hav a pretty nasty mark/scratch down the last half of the barrel from when i shot a detend out and it still shoots straight as hell. so all in all i guess what i'm getting at is that perhaps you have a defective barrel front. working with carbon there's bound to be a few problems in production here and there. nothing is perfect and i've never heard of anyone having problems with their SLY despite what kind of paint they're shooting. so id' have to go on the number with this one and say that your barrel is a fluke and get in touch with SLY about it.
   

fallenAngel13 Friday, June 6th, 2008 | 5:37 pm PST
i dont think i have seen proto paint ever sold in a store at a field or anywhere realy so mabey the paint is bad dye doesnt make paint i was sort of suprised that proto made it since they were low end of dye products[[[> the sly seems nice alot of like a stiffi and i know stiffis shoot most paint i was looking for a good barrel for a ego 8 that wasnt an boom stick or ultra light or titainium most are just using this barrel on older guns no egos
   

rockstar32 Tuesday, December 23rd, 2008 | 6:02 pm PST
you probly had to small of back on
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media