paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on <Cobra>'s Review / Comments on <Cobra>'s Review / Comments on <Cobra>'s Review / Comments on <Cobra>'s Review / Comments on <Cobra>'s Review

Comments on <Cobra>'s Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

<Cobra> Thursday, April 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months125 of 129 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used: 98c, BT-16 Assault The BT-16 is the only one that compares to the BT-4

Tried: A-5 The BT-4 is kinda like an A-5 without the cyclone feed system
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat
14" CP barrel
~in the near future~
Apex or Flatline
Shroud from Opsgear
Tapco folding stock
Raised sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend a barrel upgrade, not that the stock barrel is bad (8 inch)
Stock of some sort, I like the way the Tapcos look and mount
Raised sight rail (to fix the rear sight problem)
Strengths: Runs on Co2 or compressed air
Well balanced
Very accurate
Durable
Mil standard mounting rails
Weaknesses: Five different sized allen keys
Rear sight rail
Time consuming field strip
Review: I purchased my BT-4 from my local paintball shop, MI Paintball, for $150.00. I had seen this marker cheaper online, so I tried to talk the price down to something a bit more reasonable. However, the owner didnít careÖoh well, he threw in some coupons and a lifetime warranty.

I was deciding between the Tippmann A-5 and the BT-4, and I went with the BT-4 due to price and the fact that I really didnít need a full auto marker. After playing six months of woodsball with this marker I donít have any regrets about buying it, and I am very happy with my choice of marker.

Two things that really stood out about this marker during play was that it had a well-balanced and durable feel while I was running, firing, and changing positions in a confined area. The BT-4 does have some heft to it, which could be a drawback to players used to a lightweight tourney-style marker, but I feel this is a definite asset to my style of playing (I like to be assured that my marker is still in my hands, not back in the bunker I just left). Not only does the weight balance nicely with the heavier tanks, but it results in a snappy feeling marker that I can quickly change directions with during a firefight.

As for reliability and durability, all the moving parts are sealed and protected from intrusive materials, which results in a clean, solid firing marker even after six months of abusive woodsball (doesnít everyone run into trees?). Even after six months I still havenít noticed any damage to the finish of the marker, whether through fading or scratches. I have not had any mechanical problems whatsoever with my BT-4; it has a responsive trigger and bolt system, and it is efficient with Co2 (I use 20 oz cylinders, I have not run HPA through marker yet). As for accuracy tests, I canít give statistics, but my grouping is consistent enough for me to feel comfortable hitting someone 150+ ft away (I use big ball paint most of the time, but the marker doesnít seem to have a problem with low grade paint). I am looking at upgrading to either the Flatline system or the Apex barrel though; I just havenít decided which yet.

One of my main reasons for buying the BT-4 was for the scenario mod option. The BT-4 has military standard mounting rails for sights/optics/grenade launchers/or whatever else you want on there, with mods not limited to the paintball world (the standardized rails accept any military or law enforcement mounts). The marker also features an adjustable fore-grip (different positions drastically change the markerís balance) and an adjustable rear sight, which I feel is useless. Since the barrel is about 1-Ĺ inches below the front sight, the rear sight never aligns in a position that is useful for aiming. I adapted by sighting through a gap created by the hopper feed neck, which I have found to be better anyway (Note: I do not use any sort of aftermarket sights as of right now).

The only weaknesses that I could think of are the rear sight, the allen keys, and the field strip. The BT-4 comes with five different allen keys, but only two are used to break down the marker. One size disassembles the marker, one tightens/loosens the feed neck, and the rest are used to remove the grips and stuff. As for the breakdown, you have to remove the trigger/grip assembly, and then remove one side of the marker, not something you will be doing in the middle of a gameÖ However, during the one time I broke a ball in the marker I was able to continue playing with any complications after a simple field swipe of the barrel.

If you have any questions about BT-4 feel free to post them! <Cobra>
Conclusion: The BT-4 is a well made and designed marker that is well worth looking into. Since it is made from aluminum, my guess is that it will be around for a long time as long as proper care is practiced. I am completely happy with my BT-4, and I have not had any issues the marker, the one question that I had was met with an email from Ben Tippman so Iím sure the service is good. I will make sure to post updates in the event of a modification or newly discovered feature. Hope that this helps those considering buying a BT-4 Combat.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 23rd, 2006 at 5:15 am PST
 

Review Comments
=M4= Thursday, May 11th, 2006 | 2:40 pm PST
Yeah What a great review!!!! good stuff, you nailed it!!!!! And adding sending an email the Ben Tippman was great too, I had a question to ask too, and I received an answer back in seconds it was amazing service!!!!
   

<Cobra> Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by =M4=
Yeah What a great review!!!! good stuff, you nailed it!!!!! And adding sending an email the Ben Tippman was great too, I had a question to ask too, and I received an answer back in seconds it was amazing service!!!!

Hey thanks =M4=! Glad that you have had the same great experience with the BT company that I had! And yeah, I couldn't believe the fact that a customer had direct access to Ben Tippmann for questions, great service right there...
   

Lethal Kangaroo Sunday, June 4th, 2006 | 12:17 pm PST
I hate it when I leave my gun at the last bunker I was in..........?
   

graham802 Sunday, June 18th, 2006 | 10:08 am PST
I thought it was funny when u said "doesnt eveyone run into trees"
   

Dyegunsrock Friday, October 6th, 2006 | 1:14 pm PST
Ok, so I just wanna know, do you need to buy a special adapter for the flatline or does it just go on???
   

<Cobra> Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 7:24 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Dyegunsrock
Ok, so I just wanna know, do you need to buy a special adapter for the flatline or does it just go on???

The only experience I have had with the Flatline system on the BT-4 is through a friend, but I don't remember him saying that he had to change out the adapter. However, the BT Apex barrel might be better than the Flatline if you are considering buying the Flatline. Apparently the Apex has the same functionality as the Flatline, but for a cheaper price.
   

Kirk_Nelson Wednesday, December 27th, 2006 | 5:40 pm PST
Uhhh, you said you did not want the A-5 because you did not want a full auto gun. Yea but the A-5 does not come full auto out of the box. Its semi just like every other mechanical marker out there, until you buy the e-grip which has many firing modes or the r/t which you have already. But true, the BT is cheaper and more gas efficient.
   

smartpartionpro Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 9:32 pm PST
I used the bt as a rental gun. It is durable and fast enough for me. Makes an excellent woodsball gun. ; )
   

<Cobra> Thursday, February 1st, 2007 | 11:36 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Kirk_Nelson
Uhhh, you said you did not want the A-5 because you did not want a full auto gun. Yea but the A-5 does not come full auto out of the box. Its semi just like every other mechanical marker out there, until you buy the e-grip which has many firing modes or the r/t which you have already. But true, the BT is cheaper and more gas efficient.

Huh, thats interesting, I was thinking that the A-5 was F/A out of the box. I assumed that because it was equipped with the Cyclone Feed, it was an automatic marker.

*Thanks Kirk_Nelson*
   

jonesey604 Tuesday, February 13th, 2007 | 10:01 am PST
yea but you can buy it right out of the box with the response trigger for more money that makes it F/A
   

DeltaOne Wednesday, April 11th, 2007 | 9:36 am PST
Great Reveiw! I have a BT4 Assualt and it works flawlessly! I would recommend getting an Apex Barrel, they will give you a little more range than the Flatline and they are supposed to be more accurate.
   

Argelmcgee Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 | 4:51 pm PST
Dispute:
Although your review was well written, and you give reasons for your rating, and everything, there were a few fairly obvious mistakes that made me more than skeptical about your review.

I'm sorry to say, but unless your definition of "woods" means a wide open plain, or over water, you will NOT be able to fire 150 feet, much less accurately. With any gun. With any paint. It just doesn't matter, trees WILL get in the way.

As for the trigger, it seemed fairly obvious to me that the trigger was horrible with mine. I won it at a raffle, and I'll be using it as a backup for my A-5. When I tested it out, the trigger was amazingly stiff, and had a very weird pull. It was very stiff, then the shot sorta popped out. An easy fix for this is to cut a clicky pen spring down to the same size as the stock trigger spring, and put in the pen spring instead of the stock spring.

Blowback-semi = NOT EFFICIENT. I have yet to find one that is. Ok, it gets 800 shots out of a 68/4500 fill, thats great. It's not efficient though, efficient is 1300-2000 shots off of a 68/4500.

I think I forgot something, but it really sounds like you took the specs right out of the manual.

"Caliber - .68
Range - 150 feet
Operation - Semi-Automatic"

Anyways, thats my dispute. I hope nobody takes offense, but thats my opinion.
   

Mr.T.Baggins Monday, May 7th, 2007 | 4:11 pm PST
Just so you know it makes sense to call it efficient. Your looking at reviews for low end mechanicals not high end electronics. This gun is infact effiencient when compare it to other guns in its catergory. Not trying to argue just point out
   

jakeman7676 Monday, June 4th, 2007 | 7:06 am PST
Can you install air thru foregrips and expansion chambers on this gun?
   

SplatZoneBorneo Thursday, June 21st, 2007 | 10:47 am PST
i wanna know is this the same marker with the BT-4 rental? wanna buy soon for our field use
   

Shadow Nugz Thursday, June 21st, 2007 | 5:27 pm PST
This was a very nice review and it is helping me decided whether or not to get it. Argel:
1.) It is possible to shoot it 150 ft. In my woods there is a ravine where you can have at sometimes an unobstructed 200 ft view. You need no wind, a good compressed air tank, a stable platform (a tree will do for this)and some good paint (Marbalizer or other high end stuff) . Your dispute wasn't very disputing, it was rather weak.
   

FISTFULLOFRODEO Saturday, July 21st, 2007 | 7:35 pm PST
Nice review
   

Spyderpaint852 Thursday, August 9th, 2007 | 7:29 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jakeman7676
Can you install air thru foregrips and expansion chambers on this gun?

Yes. BT sells a magazine X-chamber and a regular X-chamber which can both be added on fairly easily.
   

pojoe Thursday, February 5th, 2009 | 5:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Argelmcgee
Although your review was well written, and you give reasons for your rating, and everything, there were a few fairly obvious mistakes that made me more than skeptical about your review.

I'm sorry to say, but unless your definition of "woods" means a wide open plain, or over water, you will NOT be able to fire 150 feet, much less accurately. With any gun. With any paint. It just doesn't matter, trees WILL get in the way.

As for the trigger, it seemed fairly obvious to me that the trigger was horrible with mine. I won it at a raffle, and I'll be using it as a backup for my A-5. When I tested it out, the trigger was amazingly stiff, and had a very weird pull. It was very stiff, then the shot sorta popped out. An easy fix for this is to cut a clicky pen spring down to the same size as the stock trigger spring, and put in the pen spring instead of the stock spring.

Blowback-semi = NOT EFFICIENT. I have yet to find one that is. Ok, it gets 800 shots out of a 68/4500 fill, thats great. It's not efficient though, efficient is 1300-2000 shots off of a 68/4500.

I think I forgot something, but it really sounds like you took the specs right out of the manual.

"Caliber - .68
Range - 150 feet
Operation - Semi-Automatic"

Anyways, thats my dispute. I hope nobody takes offense, but thats my opinion.


I can we play in an old Christmas tree farm. lots of straight rows
   

jsigovich Friday, March 20th, 2009 | 1:41 pm PST
Actually the rear bolt/cocking handle is exposed. This of course isn't a problem in my opinion, and I love my BT-4 to death. Just want to get the facts straight for everyone reading these reviews in order to decide if they want to buy it. (The A-5, for example, has no exposed moving parts.)

Great review otherwise, I agree.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media