paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Somm-1's Review / Comments on Somm-1's Review / Comments on Somm-1's Review / Comments on Somm-1's Review

Comments on Somm-1's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Somm-1 Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP Progressive 16", Stock Barrels
Marker Setup: -Spyder Sonix 06'
-SP Linear 14"
-CO2
-Egg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Scorch, Big Ball
Strengths: -Quiet
-Accurate
-Doesn't break balls very often
Weaknesses: -Doesn't shoot through breaks very well
Review: I love this barrel, it's accurate (I shot a guy that was 100 feet away twice in the mask), quiet (with my sonix) and looks good besides. It takes about 7 shots to clean a break, although it only breaks 1 of like 2000. I have put over 5k through it and only 2 broke. This barrel looks good too, especially on my sonix. From fifty feet away the only sound you will hear is a little popping sound, you can't tell where it's coming from at all.
Conclusion: This barrel is a good barrel for little $$$, the good far outways the bad, this barrel and the Ceramic are probably the only two this good for under $50. Try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 9:21 am PST
 

Review Comments
paintballmannn Thursday, August 17th, 2006 | 11:14 am PST
i highly doubt you hit a guy 100 ft. away with a 14' and a sonix. maybe if you had a 16-20'.
   

Somm-1 Friday, August 18th, 2006 | 1:03 pm PST
I hit him on a day when there was no wind, and my velocity was around 280 FPS. I know that I hit him because we were playing on my friends speedball field (it is huge) and there was only one friend person playing against me (we ran out of CO2 and one gun, a JT tac-5 Recon was chopping so much paint we could not use it).
   

Tippmannkilla2 Saturday, February 24th, 2007 | 8:32 pm PST
do you know that a barrel does not chop paint. It's your bolt.
   

pope120 Sunday, March 18th, 2007 | 7:37 pm PST
i'm gonan buy a linear barrell ive got a spyder X-tra and i was wondering if you like ur 14" or would you get a 16" inch ... like how accurate is the 14. I can't decide what length i should get.
   

mr-paintball Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 5:11 pm PST
it depends on wat u play more speedball or woods'. i personly play wooodsball more, so im gunn get the 16". the balls dont scratch the barrrel do they? these guys said that they were...
   

Somm-1 Tuesday, May 29th, 2007 | 2:00 pm PST
Yeah, mr-paintball is right, a longer barrel is better in the woods, if you play speedball you should probably go for the 14". I haven't had any scratches, in many games using it.
   

ckblum Wednesday, August 22nd, 2007 | 12:54 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by paintballmannn
i highly doubt you hit a guy 100 ft. away with a 14' and a sonix. maybe if you had a 16-20'.

Your a total n00b. Anything over 16" is just not practical and wastes gas. 12-16" is ideal and then its just a matter of what position you play and style.

quote:
Originally posted by Tippmannkilla2
do you know that a barrel does not chop paint. It's your bolt.
Barrels can chop paint if not screwed in all the way, and some barrels done screw in far enough. Also porting can actually chop paint sometimes on a low quality barrel. And uh flatlines are notorious for chopping paint, I think those are barrels, right?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media