paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on shatteredhalo's Review / Comments on shatteredhalo's Review / Comments on shatteredhalo's Review / Comments on shatteredhalo's Review / Comments on shatteredhalo's Review

Comments on shatteredhalo's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

shatteredhalo Tuesday, May 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
pro lite, black maxx, zero point
Marker Setup: Custom Pro ACT w/e-trigger
Empire Reloader II
14" CP
Remote or drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Trigger (anything that will lighten the trigger pull)
Strengths: Reliability
Doesn't chop*
Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is a joke (for my purposes anyways)
Few upgrades, those available are expensive
Review: I haven't had this gun very long, only put about 1000 paintballs through it, but I will update the review after I've had it for a bit.

PROS

Reliability:
I've fallen on this gun and dropped it multiple times, crawled through the dirt, bumped into trees with it... and it's still going strong. You'd just about have to pour sand in the bolt to make it stop working... and yet.. I'm almost tempted to test that out. : )

Doesn't Chop:
Out of the 1000 or so paintballs I've put through it, I haven't chopped once, and my e-trigger can EASILY outshoot my hopper, so I'll assume the ACT is doing it's job. I starred it because I haven't used it a whole lot, but I'll update later.

Easy Maintenance:
I've never OWNED my own paintball gun before so this is the first gun I've really gotten the chance to learn about markers on. I took it out of the box and immediately dissassembled it and then put it back together without even looking at the directions. I haven't really seen the internals of many other markers but to me it seemed really natural and easy to open, clean, and put back together. I would also guess that it's fairly simple design has a lot to do with it's reliability.

CONS

Stock barrel:
This barrel may be more than enough for you if you're an aggresive, up-front type of player who doesn't need a lot of accuracy, but as I like to have a mix of aggression and caution, I'm usually not in your face when I tag you. I shot a full hopper and watched in disgust as after about 30 feet the balls would veer off in random directions at 45 degree angles. I'd say 1 out of 6 balls might have hit in the general vicinity of the target I was aiming at some 50 feet away. It's also quite loud, if thats an issue for you. I upgraded it to a Custom Products 14" one piece barrel bored for .689 and immediately noticed an increase in not only range but accuracy. The balls no longer curved off after 40 feet but 5 of 6 balls hit what I was aiming at.

Few upgrades:
There don't seem too many upgrades when compared to other markers, and the ones available are pretty expensive.
Conclusion: My first impression of the gun was that I loved it out of the box, except I almost cried when I realized how horrible the stock barrel was. Its not too heavy and with a remote its just right in my opinion, well balanced and not once have I been hindered by the weight. The foregrip is very ergonomic and provides good support especially when crawling (I play woodsball by the way). As far as reliability I have yet to ever chop any paint, either in the barrel or the gun.

All in all I'd say it's a great marker out of the box that anyone can pick up and easily play with. It's intuitive and very durable. It's probably more ideal for the woodsball player than anything else, because many of the upgrades seem to be focused more on the tactical/scenario player. A good beginner's gun.

I give it an 8 because it's a good deal for the money, but I'm not completely blown away by it either.
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
cooody Thursday, July 20th, 2006 | 7:14 am PST
im just wondering, my best friend is finally getting into paintball and he wants a tippman act and well how does that work? is it like the eyse i have in my gun?
   

tippyman7 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 | 7:31 am PST
Dispute:
The reason you buy a tippmann is because there are a million after market upgrades that can easily be put on, and a lot of them are cheap. Also the stock barrel on this marker is one of the better stock barrels, but then again it is not very good at all when compared to most aftermarket barrels. But there are more upgrades available for the tippmann act than you'll know what to do with!
Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 7:33 am PST
   

im lovin it Monday, July 31st, 2006 | 3:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by tippyman7
The reason you buy a tippmann is because there are a million after market upgrades that can easily be put on, and a lot of them are cheap. Also the stock barrel on this marker is one of the better stock barrels, but then again it is not very good at all when compared to most aftermarket barrels. But there are more upgrades available for the tippmann act than you'll know what to do with!

by upgrades I'm assuming you mean milsim weights?

the DOP bolt, a JCS golden power tube, a RVA, polished internals, a good barrel kit, and a good hopper are all you can do to increase the performance of a 98 or any tippmann for that matter.

unless you come accost an Ebolt you have very little you can actually do to your tippmann.

millions of "add ons" for a tippmann but very few performance upgrades.
   

Mr.Blah Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 3:48 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by im lovin it


by upgrades I'm assuming you mean milsim weights?

the DOP bolt, a JCS golden power tube, a RVA, polished internals, a good barrel kit, and a good hopper are all you can do to increase the performance of a 98 or any tippmann for that matter.

unless you come accost an Ebolt you have very little you can actually do to your tippmann.

millions of "add ons" for a tippmann but very few performance upgrades.


- the bolt, no aftermarket bolt will help.
+ a Low Preasure kit.
+ a regulater
+ HPA
+ a sight (if you want)
Now, some people like stocks others don't, so I'll leave that as a maybe


but why would you buy a tippmann over a spyder if you were looking for none mil-sim upgrades?

@cooody: It is very far from eyes, but the end result is mostly the same

BTW the new 98's will take e-grips and responce triggers
   

ACH91332 Saturday, August 12th, 2006 | 4:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by im lovin it


by upgrades I'm assuming you mean milsim weights?

the DOP bolt, a JCS golden power tube, a RVA, polished internals, a good barrel kit, and a good hopper are all you can do to increase the performance of a 98 or any tippmann for that matter.

unless you come accost an Ebolt you have very little you can actually do to your tippmann.

millions of "add ons" for a tippmann but very few performance upgrades.


I beg to differ. I have a 98 Custom Pro w/ ACT. I got it stock and since then I got a JJ Ceramic 14" barrel, delrin bolt, E-Grip, converted it to HPA, got a SHOCK reg, and I threw a HALO on it. With some slight mods w/ the trigger pull, I can legally do about 17bps at a consistent 280fps. And thanks to the delrin bolt and JJ barrel I my accuracy is on the spot and is the most accurate gun on my pb team.

I'm a backman for a 7-man team with people who all have Ions. They can't touch my 98's accuracy and cant rip as fast as me unless they ramp.

You can make an excellent gun out of a 98 Custom.
   

moose70 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 3:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by cooody
im just wondering, my best friend is finally getting into paintball and he wants a tippman act and well how does that work? is it like the eyse i have in my gun?

http://tippmann.com/product_guide/actTechnology.aspx
   

tippyman7 Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 7:53 pm PST
cooody, the 98c is a great first gun and the act ystem is better than spyder's acs anti-chop system. Would recomend spending a little bit more money and getting the e trigger right of the bat, as it would be hard for a new player to install.
   

dukedude4evr Saturday, November 25th, 2006 | 10:14 am PST
dude revise this. That BARREL IS THE MOST ACCURATE STOCK BARREL OF ANY LOW END GUN OR HIGH END LOW ENDERS (like Ions and Promasters.)
   

mpfootball Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 | 11:55 am PST
Upgrades are plenty for this gun, some are just more expensive than others
   

MidnightSpecial Friday, July 20th, 2007 | 7:44 am PST
Also, this gun isn't made to target the same crowd as the Ion or the Sypder (except maybe the MR1, 2, and 3 people). Sure, some of the MilSim addons might not improve the performance, but if MilSim is what does it for you, then it's not really even an option to use anything besides Tippmann or BT.
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media