paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on tipp-see-mann's Review / Comments on tipp-see-mann's Review / Comments on tipp-see-mann's Review / Comments on tipp-see-mann's Review / Comments on tipp-see-mann's Review

Comments on tipp-see-mann's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

tipp-see-mann Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months20 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Many Tippmanns, an Ion, Spyder Rodeo.
Marker Setup: stock custom pro ( A.C.T. version), Quick Thread Flatline or 16" Tippmann Sniper Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
X-chamber
hopper
Strengths: Upgradeability
Anti-chop technology
Very sturdy design
Weaknesses: It is mostly a right-handed gun, because the hopper sits on the right side
Review: I've had this gun for about 3 years now and it still works like the day I got it. I haven't really done much to the actual workings of the gun but to be honest, as a woodsballer I really don't see many things that need changing.

For my style of play, not a whole lot matters more than accuracy and range, which both my barrels are excellent for. Once you have a good barrel and are using HPA instead of C02 you might run out of things to buy for your gun, which isn't a bad thing.

The only problem I had with this gun was the firing speed. At first the trigger is quite unresponsive and you can maybe only get to 8bps if you work at it. After getting the crap beaten out of me in close range battles (16" barrel not helping there :P ) I decided to do the infamous Pen Spring Mod, which i HIGHLY recommend. With this mod, I'm able to get up to 12bps consistently with all stock internals, which tends to amaze the fellow players :)

So what more could you want? I have only chopped a ball or two out of probably 8 cases of cheap rec paint, I've gotten many many many headshots with my barrels, and while it does tend to use a LOT of air, I get free refills so it doesn't matter.

For the stock gun, The barrel is quite adequate, improving drastically with higher quality paint and the powder coat finish is a better finish than any other I've seen for a tippmann.

When I first wrote my review, It was at a time when the Pro had just been released, and there were no stocks made for it yet. Anymore you can get any kind of upgrade you can imagine for the 98 Pro ACT. so PLEASE DISREGARD THE DISPUTE!!!
Conclusion: If you're just getting into paintball and want something that's gonna last for years, or if you've already been playing for a while and want a project gun I'd advise you to buy this.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 19th, 2009 at 5:14 pm PST
 

Review Comments
W.C.D Monday, June 12th, 2006 | 8:03 pm PST
What do you mean you cant use a stock? Why?
   

tipp-see-mann Thursday, July 20th, 2006 | 11:12 pm PST
you cant use a stock because the front and rear bolts work independantly, for this to work a few extra springs have to be installed as well as a newer bolt design, the stocks made for regular 98's will not support the new bolt/springs. Stocks will probably be updated in the near future to allow A.C.T., not that you need a stock anyway.
   

pork wiz Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 | 1:57 pm PST
I have a stock for my act. You can get one off of www.orderpaintball.com. Its an app hitman stock.
   

jassyass910 Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 | 6:33 pm PST
but you were testing it with wildfire, and wildfire are rocks, they don't break when you hit your target, so you can't rate an anti-chop system after testing it with those, try something softer but affordable like diablo heat
   

Tazz_Burp Sunday, January 28th, 2007 | 12:06 pm PST
What Scope Do You Have, How Good Is It, & How Much Did It Cost?
   

Loner222 Monday, March 19th, 2007 | 8:44 pm PST
sorry just have to say i have a rodeo and it is very acurrate just no distance
   

Loner222 Monday, March 19th, 2007 | 8:46 pm PST
sorry just have to say i have a rodeo and it is very acurrate just no distance
   

DrSpartan Sunday, April 1st, 2007 | 9:47 am PST
I'm entirely new to paintball and am thinking about purchasing a Custom Pro ACT and upgrading to a Smart Parts Progressive '14 barrel. Any thoughts?

And I'm left-handed. What's the issue with lefties using this marker?
   

mpfootball Wednesday, May 2nd, 2007 | 11:52 am PST
You can use a stock with a custom pro ACT. It just has to be a ACT specific stock that can have both springs attach to it. And don't get a scope, no use in seeing something far if you can't hit it from that distance.
   

zdawg Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 | 8:33 pm PST
i have a custom pro with act but the trigger pull is heavy. i want to shoot faster what should i do?
   

phantom-banshee Friday, August 24th, 2007 | 8:53 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by zdawg
i have a custom pro with act but the trigger pull is heavy. i want to shoot faster what should i do?

Buy a faster gun. Duh
   

vanlangen Friday, June 6th, 2008 | 8:07 pm PST
Dispute:
there are stocks for the gun
   

Tasty_Soup Saturday, August 16th, 2008 | 1:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by zdawg
i have a custom pro with act but the trigger pull is heavy. i want to shoot faster what should i do?
well like phantom-banshee said you should buy a faster gun if you want to go faster (probably an ion coz its cheap) but if you want to keep with the ole' 98, get an e-grip or firestorm crank...
   

Pballer95 Saturday, October 30th, 2010 | 11:11 pm PST
I have a couple years of paintball experience through rentals at my local field and A LOT of videos. I'm finally able to get my own gear and was considering getting a custom pro act, would this be a good choice for me?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media