paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on wombizle's Review / Comments on wombizle's Review / Comments on wombizle's Review / Comments on wombizle's Review / Comments on wombizle's Review

Comments on wombizle's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

wombizle Sunday, June 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested70 of 76 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The original electra acs
Smart Parts ion
Marker Setup: autococker prostock 04 with cp dropfoward, oricle bolt, and an all american barrel, viewloader egg 2, 68/4500 dye throttle

Smart parts ion egg 2, and 68/4500 dye throttle
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't love the drop/asa, so a new one might be a good idea
Possibly a better barrel
Feed neck if you don't like the stock one
All of these are personal prefrences, but stock it is pretty good
Strengths: Speed
Eye (not acs)
Looks
Rocking trigger
standard bottomline screw set up
reliability
Regulator
Weight
Weaknesses: It is a blowback.
Eye logic isn't as good as others.
Angled drop
Review: My friend has some strange connections, and we were able to test this marker out before it came out. I have used the other Electra, the acs, and was pretty impresse with it. the new electra fixes most of the things that sucked on the old eletra.

Pros

Speed - this is a fast gun, it is a blowback, but it is very fast. you can't reach the 30 bps, but it is plenty fast for most people. Even if you cant reach 30 bps, it is nice to know, that you won't ever shoiot faster than your board.

The Eye- ok the eye is a billion times better than the acs bolt. out of 3,000 rounds it only chopped once. the eye logic is not as good as smartparts, or timmys, but it is better than the piranah evo, and is quite good.

Looks - the one we tried was greenish, but I have alwasy liked the electra milling, and this is no diferent. it has nice flowing lines, and the green ano looked very nice. also, the eye cover goes with the simple lines. overall, it is simple, but very nice and good looking.

Rocking Trigger - you either love it, or hate it. personally, I like normal triggers, but if you ae one of the people that like s rocking triggers, then you will love this gun. I don't like the rocking trigger, but it was easy to walk, so i think it is a strength.

Reliability - it is a spyder. all spyders are good, durable, and will last a long time. this is no exception. you get the simpleness of a spyder, with many of the features enjoied by timmies and other high end guns.

Regulator - THe reg isn't the best, but is is ok. it will work with co2 or n2, so I have no complaints. a cp reg is much nicer, but is better than a gas-thru likeon most other spyders. you will get better air effency with it, so it is a nice little fearure to have with it.

Weight - it is not the lightest, but it is cirtenly not heavy. it weighs about the same as the other electra, which is on the middle-light side.

Cons

blowback - it is a blowback, so it will have kick, and not be as accurate. it is a really nice blowback, so this isn' really a weakness, but i the electra was an Ep gun, then it would be better.

Eye logic - it is good, but it is not the best, and will not stop all chops. Like i said erlier, it only chopped 1 out of 3,000, and we were using a cheap diablo hopper. it couild be better, but it serves its purpose.

angled drop - I hate this. I would much rather have a normal drop, or none at all. it puts the tank down, but at an odd angel, which really anoys me.

<EDIT> I forgot to mention that this spyde,r and only this one, comes with standard bottomline configuration screws. there isn't that odd diangle pattern like on the other spyders. it is the in line 2 holes. this means you can use your favorite drop foward, rail, direnct mount, or asa without that strange adaptor thing
Conclusion: Hey it is a great gun. it is not my favorite, but it does its job, looks damn good, and will always work. it has all the goodies that the electra acs didn;t have, and it comes out of the box ready to use and own with it. it is not perrfect, so it doesn't get a 10, but i think it should get a mid - high 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 at 11:59 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
IronCorps Sunday, June 11th, 2006 | 6:26 am PST
The fact that this marker is a blowback isnt a drawback. If you knew anything about pneumatics you would realize the benifits of such a system. www.freewebs.com/blowbacksunited/ feel free to learn.

The way a gun works doesnt affect it's accuracy. You said its a blowback, so its got bad accuracy. Wrong. Accuracy is completely dependant on paint-to-bore match, shooting good paint, and having a good barrel.
Last edited on Sunday, June 11th, 2006 at 6:28 am PST
   

smartpart'er Sunday, June 11th, 2006 | 8:41 am PST
i think he means when your walking it, the gun will kick more and affect your accuracy
   

IronCorps Monday, June 12th, 2006 | 6:48 am PST
If that's the case he just needs a spring kit and some more skill in tuning the gun.
   

Sally_Paintball Tuesday, June 13th, 2006 | 11:34 pm PST
IronCorps... why the hell do you want to flame him so much, who cares about their skills in tuning a spyder, i'm guessing he doesn't care anyway.
   

IronCorps Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 4:57 am PST
Excuse me? "Flame him so much?" Where did i flame him? I said what needed to be said.
   

Sally_Paintball Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 | 10:37 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by IronCorps
The fact that this marker is a blowback isnt a drawback. If you knew anything about pneumatics you would realize the benifits of such a system. www.freewebs.com/blowbacksunited/ feel free to learn.

ok that was a little harsh and any way he said it was a nice blowback in the review as well... if you kept reading.
   

wombizle Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 11:04 pm PST
The whole selling point of the acs w/ eye is speed. When you rock the trigger, to any point past 10 bps, you get some kick (because it is a blow back) causing the gun to shake a bit, resaulting in a minor loss of accuracy. Thank you to people like smartpart'er and sally paintball for understanding what i ment, and not, and not taking things too literally unlike some people.....caugh* ironcorps...caugh*
   

wombizle Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 11:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by IronCorps
If that's the case he just needs a spring kit and some more skill in tuning the gun.

If you read the review. it says I was TESTING IT. this means that it would not have a spring kit, and would not be tuned to a perfect point. it was stock with a few minor adjustments
   

Kung_fu_hippe Saturday, June 17th, 2006 | 10:18 am PST
How was the kick on the gun? Is it as bad as the imagine/pilot? Or does the derlin bolt make a huge difference?
   

wombizle Saturday, June 17th, 2006 | 12:02 pm PST
it was similer to the imagine and pilot. the bolt makes a little difference, so it is not as bad as an imagine, but it has noticable kick (not enoughto really screw you up)
   

RavenSPe Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | 12:34 am PST
What PSI were u running at? just curious because the kick at least to me is minimal at 500PSI. I will likely be updating my review very soon however, I recently decided to reconfigure the gun for LP and opened it up to replace the springs, to my surprise it already had a heavy gold spring on the bolt and a light valve spring. So I just simply dropped it to 300PSI and started firing, it worked great but then I ran out of air :( Soooo I'm playing at my local field this Saturday and will get to test it more there, I didn't shoot anywhere near 30bps when I was testing it at home but it did recock everytime and shot great, I simply tightened the velocity adjustment in the back so the balls would keep their FPS. I will chrono this sat and everything and see if it will work at 200.
   

paintguzzla Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | 9:24 am PST
im abot to buy this gun nigga this gun sounds great. I LIKE THE FACT THAT ITS GOT AN EYE.
   

Lyxtwing Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 | 6:27 pm PST
How bad's the drop off on the reg?

And nice review. A 9 may be pushing it, but I have not personaly used it so it may deserve it considering its stock features are the best that kingman has had to date.

You are right about the fact that it is a blowback will add more kick compared to a "high end" marker. It's a fact, and even the most dedicated blowback user (I love my spyder), has to admit it. Kick does effect accuracy regardless, though the rest is all barrel.
   

wombizle Friday, June 23rd, 2006 | 11:34 pm PST
When I gave it a 9, I was comparing it to other blowbacks, and ions. if i were comparing it to DM6's or anything it would be like a 2-3, but it is like 1/6 the price of a DM6. I am not sure what the pressure was. wer were using a preset crossfire, but my friend set the reg, so I wouldn't know the pressure.
As for the drop off with the reg, it isn't the best reg, so you will get some drop off, but it is tolerable.
This is honestly the best blowback I have ever used (the primal is ok, but is a bit heavy). My friend got this gun, so if you guys have any questions, feel free to PM me, and I will ask him, if I don't already know the answer.
   

Lyxtwing Saturday, June 24th, 2006 | 12:30 am PST
Thanks for the info. Just so you know though, the primal isn't a blowback. It's along the lines of a wrath.
   

wombizle Monday, June 26th, 2006 | 11:13 pm PST
The Primal has a spring return, but you are right it isn't really a blowback, but with a MRSP of $600, and a actual sell price of $350 it should be a fully EP gun.

My friend is starting to up his electra, and it can become an amazing gun with under $150 in ups. He put an assult block, a cp reg, on off, trinity feedncek, and some cool custom pull pin on it, and I used it this weekend. it was alot better with the new reg, but if you are tight on cash a stock electra will work fine.
   

Lyxtwing Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 | 4:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by wombizle
The Primal has a spring return, but you are right it isn't really a blowback, but with a MRSP of $600, and a actual sell price of $350 it should be a fully EP gun.

My friend is starting to up his electra, and it can become an amazing gun with under $150 in ups. He put an assult block, a cp reg, on off, trinity feedncek, and some cool custom pull pin on it, and I used it this weekend. it was alot better with the new reg, but if you are tight on cash a stock electra will work fine.


Wraths are also a spring return, as are many of the knew EP markers in this price range. It's cheaper to make and better on gas with no real draw back. Springs aren't always a bad thing.
   

pummeler Friday, June 30th, 2006 | 2:10 am PST
Hey man this is good stuff to read, cause i just ordered my gun and it should be here soon. Hows was the CO2 on it? i was gunna buy HPA but didn't like (from what i heard) how many LESS shots i could get with it, althought i heard the consistancy was great. Is it still alright to use a CO2 tank with this gun?
   

wombizle Friday, June 30th, 2006 | 10:57 pm PST
I don't like springs in general, because they wear out over time, and put stress on the marker, so I prefer fully EP guns, but springs are fine for most guns. I have a personal bias about springs, because I have had some bad experiences with some getting bent, or streached out, which is why I got an ion over a wrath (no springs).

Co2 is ok, but becasue this thing is so fast, you will get some freeze up with out anti siphoned. Get air!!!!!!!! like a 68ci 4500psi yeah you get less shots, but if you play rec or tourneys you get all day air, and you can use as many tanks full as you want. If you are a woodsballer, and there is no air fill station, then get a large tank like a 98ci 4500psi or larger, which will give you a good amount of shots. and consistancy is much better with air. I think that air would be the best up grade for this gun, just get a good size tank.
   

Lyxtwing Saturday, July 1st, 2006 | 9:02 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by wombizle
I don't like springs in general, because they wear out over time, and put stress on the marker, so I prefer fully EP guns, but springs are fine for most guns. I have a personal bias about springs, because I have had some bad experiences with some getting bent, or streached out, which is why I got an ion over a wrath (no springs).


How many shots did it take for the spring to wear out? I have heard of some breaking in a little, but a good quality spring should last years.
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media