paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on scpb's Review / Comments on scpb's Review / Comments on scpb's Review / Comments on scpb's Review / Comments on scpb's Review

Comments on scpb's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

scpb Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder,vl -orion ,blade and that is a complement
Marker Setup: EMPIRE INTIMIDATOR ,virtue board,empire barrel kit,halo with rip drive ,68/4500
WGP KARNIVOR,MINI-E ORRACLE
Recommended
Upgrades:
trash can or send it back to Hong Kong
Strengths: looks durable, can be used as a hammer .30bps cap sounds good.Good door stopper.
Weaknesses: ummm,........EVERYTHING.
Review: Ok,as soon as I gas it up with air the gauge on the regulator broke,maybe because the regulator hooks up strait into the air tank and then goes thru the grip(really smart who ever thought of this).Ok , so no big deal ,just chrono it and watch the fps.Well went to chrono an could not get it above 265fps.Ok ,so no big deal just play front .Well went to firing range and chop ,chop . Ok it just needs some fine tuning.WRONG,ITS JUNK .You can not upgrade anthing except maybe the reggulator .Also there has been problems with the noid.You can throw paintballs and be more accurate.The eye looks like it will break if you swab it with a Q-tip.Also on the 30bps GIMMICK, think about it if it really hit 30bps alot of players running with dms,timmys,angel ect..would trade in their markers for it.You will be lucky if it his 8 bps.ALSO IF YOU LIKE THE LOOKS OF THIS MARKER JUST GO WITH A WRATH OR ION .THE BODY IS VERY SIMILAR TO A WRATH BUT EVERTHING ON IT IS JUNK.
Conclusion: Don t even waste you time looking at it.A local shop had it listed as the ion killer,so my step son sold his ion to buy this junk.Ions are 100 times better than the REX.If i could give it a -10 i would.So I guess it will get a 1 and that is generous.
Rating:
1 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Sheps Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 2:44 am PST
Ok,as soon as I gas it up with air the gauge on the regulator broke,maybe because the regulator hooks up strait into the air tank and then goes thru the grip(really smart who ever thought of this).

I would make absolutely no difference where the regulator is place. Generally regulation problems are user error, or due to an oversight at the factory, most likely it was incorrectly adjusted or not lubed when you gassed the marker up and so failed to regulate; or it could have just been a faulty guage, I have heard of one instance of a faulty guage on a Wrath, so it wouldn't be the first time.

Ok , so no big deal ,just chrono it and watch the fps.Well went to chrono an could not get it above 265fps.

What did you adjust? Dwell, input pressure, and LPR pressure all contribute to velocity, so I'm thinking you may have missed one.

Ok ,so no big deal just play front .Well went to firing range and chop ,chop.

I was half expecting this, I'm pretty sure the board is under-powered for the instructions they've programmed into it, and so it has problems with delays, the early Wrath boards were the same. Chances are this marker uses a modified Wrath or Odysee O3 board to operate, and like I said, Wrath weren't known for good boards, and Odysee's markers were disasters at times.

You can not upgrade anthing except maybe the reggulator.

Chances are you can use parts from an Odysee O3.

Also there has been problems with the noid.

What exactly, I might be able to help if you still have it.

You can throw paintballs and be more accurate.

Stock barrels always suck, there are a few exceptions, but it's best not to get your hopes up when buying a new marker.

Also on the 30bps GIMMICK, think about it if it really hit 30bps alot of players running with dms,timmys,angel ect..would trade in their markers for it.You will be lucky if it his 8 bps.

This marker is incapable of cycling that fast anyways, the cycle speed for this type of marker is around 21-22, which I heard from the owner of an ICD BKO, which is very similar internally. As far as the trigger goes, I didn't expect much of it either.

ALSO IF YOU LIKE THE LOOKS OF THIS MARKER JUST GO WITH A WRATH OR ION .THE BODY IS VERY SIMILAR TO A WRATH BUT EVERTHING ON IT IS JUNK.

Ironically enough, this marker and the Wrath are manufactured by the same company, Dragun Empire out of Taiwan; although the Wrath is obviously distributed by NPS.
Last edited on Thursday, June 15th, 2006 at 2:57 am PST
   

therron258 Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 3:05 am PST
Seriously, you obviously have no idea how to handle a paintball gun, if you can read, id suggest reading product manuals from now on okay?
   

i-fling-poo Thursday, June 15th, 2006 | 8:29 pm PST

i want to know if you ever tried to get these peoblems fixed with rex and was the custumer service any good. i have one coming in the mail and this review scares me. so if rex has good custumer service that could make things better. i got this gun because of the good 03x reviews. this is supposed to be a durable gun. i hope it is because i hate guns that go down. i have been playing with a gx-4 for 4 years and it has never givin me a single prob. so i hope this gun can do the same.
   

PaintBull Friday, June 16th, 2006 | 3:27 am PST
Dispute:
Wow, this is a guy who probably can't work a microwave oven. Don't be scared of this review, because it's a giant joke. Just because you can't or even know how to work the gun, doesn't mean you can bad mouth it like this.
   

Cyan!de Friday, June 16th, 2006 | 12:52 pm PST
Dispute:
I would like to point out a few flaws with your review. First off, this gun was made in Taiwan, not Hong Kong. Also, you said that one would be much better off with Diablo Wrath over an r3. This is probably one of the stupidest things I have ever heard, because REX guns and Diablo guns are made in the same factory and share many of the same parts. The wrath and the R3 use the same FASOR design and share the same, valve, ram, and spring. The wrath also uses the same board as an RX. You also stated that one would be lucky to fire 8 bps from an R3, well I must be pretty lucky then because w/ an evo II I have gotten my R3 to fire 18 bps and 24 with no hopper on and eyes off. You said there are no upgrades for this gun, well I suppose that barrels, boards, lprs, bottomlines, inline regs, and rams don't count as upgrades anyway. I would like to say that you are a nobody who doesn't know anything about paintball, but insults aren't allowed. By the way, you should stop playing with blades, I hear they don't work to well.
   

Cyan!de Friday, June 16th, 2006 | 1:03 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by i-fling-poo

i want to know if you ever tried to get these peoblems fixed with rex and was the custumer service any good. i have one coming in the mail and this review scares me. so if rex has good custumer service that could make things better. i got this gun because of the good 03x reviews. this is supposed to be a durable gun. i hope it is because i hate guns that go down. i have been playing with a gx-4 for 4 years and it has never givin me a single prob. so i hope this gun can do the same.


Rex is just a new company and there customer service seems swamped. They were very helpful with me when I needed help with the eye on my o2, but that was before they relesed their guns for sale. I had a problem with the eye harness on my r3, and there dealer, No Limit Paintball, who they seemed to be very close with was very helpful to fix it. To avoid having any problems with your r3 i would recommend taking it apart and lubing the entire gun once you get it, including the regulators. Also, loosen the eye cover or grind some of the bottom off so the eye is not pinched, this is what happened to me. NEVER, NEVER reset to factory settings, this will reset the dwell time and your gun will need to be sent in to repair it.
   

jrhummel Sunday, June 18th, 2006 | 10:41 am PST
Dispute:
The guy writing this review is not specific at all. He points out that the gas hooks up to the asa and goes through the grip. The gas does not go through the main grip, there is a front expansion chamber that acts as a front grip, but again this guy is not specific enough for anyone to understand this. He says he could not get the fps above 265, this might be a problem if you cant read the operating pressure since he broke his guage. He does not state what his OPR is set to either. From reading this guys review, i have a feeling the gun was fine but his son might have been too eager to use it and had the pressure set too high when he gassed it up, causing his opr guage to break, and his solenoid to act up. He mentions that this is his sons gun and not his gun, who knows what his son did to the gun before he got to it. Also, when you have problems with a gun you usually call customer service, and there is a warranty (unless he did something to the gun to void the warranty).
   

PB_Matty Friday, June 30th, 2006 | 3:30 am PST
please feel free to discount this review...my R3 works great right out of the box. just make sure as with any new gun you READ the manual before you start messing with anything.

yes the 30 bps thing is a gimmick unless you had it highly ugraded to shoot that fast with paint....QEV's, hpr, lpr, lighter ram, are all easily available upgrades.

and I can easily walk 13 without air even, so maybe their is some user error involved.
   

hynes39 Saturday, July 8th, 2006 | 6:26 pm PST
Dispute:
You need to do some work man.

you can't just take a marker out of the box and expect it to perform perfect, you need to tune, test and re-tune then do it all over again.

I dispute this friend because the lack of intelligence and time put into this review gives no reasoning behind such a low review.
   

smabca Monday, July 10th, 2006 | 8:04 pm PST
Dispute:
There was a person at the paintball field the other day and he said that he liked his gun and it could get up to 20bps and it had good accuracy. I just think that you didnt oil or completely charge it. Or maybe you didnt read the manuel. The regulator issue is true though.
   

ska8ter450 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 | 8:54 pm PST
Hey, yall I'M NOT JOKING THIS IS TRUE! MY FRIENDS REX 3 DID THE EXACT SAME THING. I HAVE AN ODYSSEY O3X FOR SALE RIGHT NOW ON THE NATION BUT IT DIDN'T HAVE PROBLEMS I BOUGHT THE O3X NEW AND SINCE HE LIKED IT BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE BUT THE CHEAPER VERSION REX 3. THE REG WAS MESSED UP 1. WHEN IT DID WORK BEFORE 1 TIME 1 TIME OF PLAYING WITH IT ON A 47/3000 YOU COULDN'T SHOOT A WHOLE HOPPER DEAD SERIOUS. WE THOUGHT THAT WAS THE DWELL THOUGH! AND SOME MORE **** SO WE SENT IT TO REX THEY SAID TO HIM WE'VE HAD MULTIBLE CASES OF THIS AND GAVE HIM A NEW ONE WHICH HAS WORKED FINE EXCEPT ITS A GASS HOGG MY O3X IS NOT. I RECCOMEND GETTING ORIGINAL VERSION CONSIDERING THIS IS JUST A CHEAP VERSION OF AN O3X SWARE TO YOU.

I HATE WHEN PEOPLE DO THIS ON REVIEWS LIKE PUT 1'S AND **** WHEN THEY ACTUALLY IT'S JUST A FAKE AND MAKE UP BUT THIS IS ACTUALLY TRUE ONE.

I DON'T THINK IT DESERVES A 1 BUT SOMETHING CLOSE LIKE A 5 I WOULD SAY MAX. I LOVE THE O3X LOVE IT BUT SOMETHING THEY DID THE THE REX 3 IS DIFFERENT AND STUFF

PEACE OUT
   

jrhummel Thursday, July 20th, 2006 | 6:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by ska8ter450
Hey, yall I'M NOT JOKING THIS IS TRUE! MY FRIENDS REX 3 DID THE EXACT SAME THING. I HAVE AN ODYSSEY O3X FOR SALE RIGHT NOW ON THE NATION BUT IT DIDN'T HAVE PROBLEMS I BOUGHT THE O3X NEW AND SINCE HE LIKED IT BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE BUT THE CHEAPER VERSION REX 3. THE REG WAS MESSED UP 1. WHEN IT DID WORK BEFORE 1 TIME 1 TIME OF PLAYING WITH IT ON A 47/3000 YOU COULDN'T SHOOT A WHOLE HOPPER DEAD SERIOUS. WE THOUGHT THAT WAS THE DWELL THOUGH! AND SOME MORE **** SO WE SENT IT TO REX THEY SAID TO HIM WE'VE HAD MULTIBLE CASES OF THIS AND GAVE HIM A NEW ONE WHICH HAS WORKED FINE EXCEPT ITS A GASS HOGG MY O3X IS NOT. I RECCOMEND GETTING ORIGINAL VERSION CONSIDERING THIS IS JUST A CHEAP VERSION OF AN O3X SWARE TO YOU.

I HATE WHEN PEOPLE DO THIS ON REVIEWS LIKE PUT 1'S AND **** WHEN THEY ACTUALLY IT'S JUST A FAKE AND MAKE UP BUT THIS IS ACTUALLY TRUE ONE.

I DON'T THINK IT DESERVES A 1 BUT SOMETHING CLOSE LIKE A 5 I WOULD SAY MAX. I LOVE THE O3X LOVE IT BUT SOMETHING THEY DID THE THE REX 3 IS DIFFERENT AND STUFF

PEACE OUT

the odyssey 03x and the rex r3 are exactly the same gun. The only problem you might encounter with the r3 that your friend might not have with his o3 is bad orings. Pretty sure the guns have been sittings for quite a while and it would be a good idea to replace them all, lube can only do so much. Why dont you take apart your 03x and your frinds r3 and compare, youll find that everything on both guns are identical, because they are the same gun, with a different name. Don't be bitter that you paid $500 for a gun you can get for $180 now.
Last edited on Sunday, July 23rd, 2006 at 10:25 am PST
   

Cyan!de Monday, August 7th, 2006 | 10:54 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by ska8ter450
Hey, yall I'M NOT JOKING THIS IS TRUE! MY FRIENDS REX 3 DID THE EXACT SAME THING. I HAVE AN ODYSSEY O3X FOR SALE RIGHT NOW ON THE NATION BUT IT DIDN'T HAVE PROBLEMS I BOUGHT THE O3X NEW AND SINCE HE LIKED IT BOUGHT ANOTHER ONE BUT THE CHEAPER VERSION REX 3. THE REG WAS MESSED UP 1. WHEN IT DID WORK BEFORE 1 TIME 1 TIME OF PLAYING WITH IT ON A 47/3000 YOU COULDN'T SHOOT A WHOLE HOPPER DEAD SERIOUS. WE THOUGHT THAT WAS THE DWELL THOUGH! AND SOME MORE **** SO WE SENT IT TO REX THEY SAID TO HIM WE'VE HAD MULTIBLE CASES OF THIS AND GAVE HIM A NEW ONE WHICH HAS WORKED FINE EXCEPT ITS A GASS HOGG MY O3X IS NOT. I RECCOMEND GETTING ORIGINAL VERSION CONSIDERING THIS IS JUST A CHEAP VERSION OF AN O3X SWARE TO YOU.

I HATE WHEN PEOPLE DO THIS ON REVIEWS LIKE PUT 1'S AND **** WHEN THEY ACTUALLY IT'S JUST A FAKE AND MAKE UP BUT THIS IS ACTUALLY TRUE ONE.

I DON'T THINK IT DESERVES A 1 BUT SOMETHING CLOSE LIKE A 5 I WOULD SAY MAX. I LOVE THE O3X LOVE IT BUT SOMETHING THEY DID THE THE REX 3 IS DIFFERENT AND STUFF

PEACE OUT


Oh really? Could you possibly name any differences between the r3 and the o3x. They are the exact same guns, same reg setup, same firing design, same board, same everything.
   

wagnus8907 Sunday, August 20th, 2006 | 6:52 pm PST
2 words. Dumb Ass. dont write reviews if they are nowhere near accurate.
   

black7 Tuesday, August 29th, 2006 | 1:35 pm PST
Dispute:
Could have been a dud, I've had no such problems with my R3.
   

Obi-Wan-Kenobi Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 | 7:54 am PST
Dispute:
Completely not true
   

challes2000 Friday, October 27th, 2006 | 6:56 pm PST
Please don't be too quick to knock this review, maybe he got a lemon. He should send it back in and have Rex send him a new marker and then redo his review. I received my Rex R2 marker and no matter what I do it double fires on semiauto. I'm sending mine back in and hope they send me a good one. I won't write a review until I get it back because the R2 if it works will be an awesome marker.
   

challes2000 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 3:43 pm PST
I finally got my marker to work. I put 10 drops of oil(out of desperation-I don't normally use so much oil) in the ASA and fired it to work the oil in. Then I loaded some paint and it was shooting way better. I put another 10 drops in and did some more shooting and now my marker shoots great. One of the first things any one who purchases a Rex marker should do is to fire alot of oil through it.
Last edited on Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 at 3:45 pm PST
   

bemarauderpwnz Thursday, November 23rd, 2006 | 12:16 am PST
oil+noid=good!
   

litehwk356 Monday, February 19th, 2007 | 7:51 pm PST
Dispute:
completely wrong
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media