paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Darrel001's Review / Comments on Darrel001's Review / Comments on Darrel001's Review / Comments on Darrel001's Review / Comments on Darrel001's Review

Comments on Darrel001's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Darrel001 Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested31 of 94 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker, wdp markers, AKA markers, Matrix, DM's, shockers, a whole lot of other markers
Marker Setup: 2004 Featherlite Viking
DM4 w/ EVOLVE BOLT, AKA 2-LITER,
SPEED05 W/ CP ASA ADAPTOR, AKA2-LITER
Recommended
Upgrades:
Change the mini-reg. I thought that HP would work well but ended up using LP for testing. With HP I experienced high velocity and inconsistancy.
Strengths: Nice balance, Better trigger adjustability,nice OLED display
Weaknesses: Some bugs/defects experienced - see below.
Review: To say the least, I was really excited about trying this marker. Since I knew the owner of the shop, I said that if he allowed me to test the marker for a day and I liked it I would buy it before the end of the day. I made sure to take care of it.

Out of the box I was surprised to see the size and weight reduction from the past WDP markers. It felt quite solid in my hands. .

I purchase 2 boxes of paint (1 for play and 1 for testing). After shooting about 2 pods I noticed that the roto-breach was a bit loose. I could wiggle the thing. My past WDP markers never had this problem before. After shooting about 3 more pods I noticed that the eye covers was a bit loose. I could actually some light on the body because the eye cover slightly seperated from the body. The store owner adjusted the dwell and the tried to repair the loose roto-breach and eye cover. We also adjusted the trigger. The marker shot like a dream. BUT after shooting another 4-5 pods the eye cover started to come out and the marker stopped shooting. I had to constantly push the eye & eye cover back every 3-5 pods so that the marker would shoot again. The rest of the paint on the first case was shot by the store owner and a couple more friends. The eye cover still crept out of the socket slowly. This was very annoying. One more thing to note was that I put in my crossfire HP tank to test first. We could not get the velocity down to 285fps (field's limit). After using my friends LP tank velocity limits could be reached and adjusted without problems.

Anyways got to play 4 games with this marker. The balance was decent. I prefer the balance of the older WDP marker (speed05 & a4fly). I experienced this marker going to "safe mode" twice during the day. A very annoying problem. I was also constantly pushing the eyecover back during the games. The issue that night arise is the eye cover coming out if your brush it against a bunker or take a dive.

Later, we shot the other angel 1 he had and we experienced the same problem with the roto-breach and eye cover.

Anyways I declined on purchasing it due to the many problems we experienced. The store owner understood and said that he will be returning the markers to WDP to get the problems fixed.

Conclusion: BOTTOMLINE....This marker has a lot of potential. I would wait a couple months before buying this marker. There are way too many bugs or defects. Wait for WDP to iron all the problems with it first.

I gave it a 7 because of all the bugs & defects. If the problems are solved/fixed, I will redo my review.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 4th, 2006 at 1:39 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
LI_AngelG7 Thursday, July 6th, 2006 | 1:13 pm PST
This gun will be the best for a while....They are taking it to a whole other level.....
   

jhorgan Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 6:28 am PST
Good review. Good advice on waiting a few months for WDP to work out the bugs. I cannot wait to test one of these out in person. Hopefuly by then the problems will be fixed.
   

d0cwh0 Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 7:41 am PST
Hey if anyone is having problems go to angel-owners.com and contact Ken Crane, He can get you new eye covers and fix the roto-breach for free. The eye covers where a small part of the first shippment where the plastic when soft during the cooling process...something easily fixed...not sure about the roto-breach haven't heard anything about it.

Good review btw
   

Darrel001 Saturday, July 8th, 2006 | 12:59 pm PST
Like I said, the marker has potential. But since I had the luxury of trying the "Angel 1" before buying it, I decided to wait and purchase one later once the kinks are all straightened out.

I found no point in purchasing a marker knowing that there are problems with it and immediately sending it off to do repairs on a brand new marker. I am not the type that purchases a new marker knowing that it is need of repairs or replacement parts.
   

JHG102238 Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 | 9:36 pm PST
u know wdp has fixed all problems supposedly xpt the 1 about the safe mode unless they have fixed it through that new board update but as far as the eyes and stuff if u send the gun back theyll fix it and all shipments comming out now supposedly work

not complainin good review and idea just throwin that out there that i believe bugs r fixed
Last edited on Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 at 9:37 pm PST
   

LI_AngelG7 Friday, July 28th, 2006 | 6:28 am PST
The software upgrade fixes the "safe Mode" issue, goto fix my angel dot com and you can download. I spoke to a rep from Virtue Board, and they allready are saying that angel making this gun so user programmable, that other companies will follow, which in turn will hurt business for them. Angel gets an A++ for Innovation!!!
   

baconbits_66 Sunday, July 30th, 2006 | 4:11 pm PST
all the same stuff happened to my friends angel one except that the reg leaked his barrel would fall off constantly and the breech wiggles insanely bad... and ummmmm ya.. it sucks
   

Jivefuzzy Friday, August 4th, 2006 | 6:31 pm PST
I agree with waiting a while first before buying it. its the rule of thumb on all new things, this Angel is a totally new setup, so its best to see what bugs do pop up and then get fixed later on down the line. I got a Speed right now and it does me just fine. I heard alot about the trigger on the 1 being a problem as well. I think ill wait like 6 months and see if the bugs are gone. But I do see the same potential Darrel001 was mentioning. it just needs to be fine tuned.
great review man!
   

madcatmk3 Monday, September 25th, 2006 | 3:25 pm PST
Personally I prefer the dm6.But I love how WDP has the USB port. Thats the best thing ever in paintball.
   

Mcgver Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 11:27 am PST
The issues you addressed have been taken care of now. The breach you just need ti tighten the two hex screws, The eye covers need replaced by the newer stronger ones, just call WDP and they will send you soome, The safe mode peoblem has been fixed in the latest software update.
   

Jack Bauer Sunday, November 12th, 2006 | 3:20 pm PST
I think it's time for you to redo your review like you promised!!! All the problems have been addressed, as said before, and I don't have any of the problems you mentioned in your review. I bought mine not too long ago and it's brilliant. It even shipped pre loaded with the current software version (1.8 at time of writing) installed. I would try it again if I were you cause I think you might actually decide to buy it! Just look at the success Joy have had with it already!

The 'wait a few months before buying an angel' comment goes without saying these days. It's common knowledge that there's always a few bugs with the Angel markers when they're first released so it's always wise to wait for WDP to iron any problems out. Still, it always gets me how impatient some people are, who'll always buy the marker the day it's released!!

P.S. I haven't disputed your review yet cause I thought I'd give you time to try the marker again and update it cause it's definitly worth more than a 7/10 now!
   

Jack Bauer Sunday, November 26th, 2006 | 3:49 pm PST
Dispute:
Ok, I think I've given ample time for a rewrite of this review. Unfortunately I have to dispute because the review is now out of date and inaccurate. All problems mentioned have been addressed and this review is now unrepresentative of the product!
   

Calon929 Monday, December 18th, 2006 | 3:03 pm PST
Mine screams and nothings shaking loose. I had a timmy that did that, but put a little tape on it ya lazy bum!
   

dieromantic2 Monday, January 1st, 2007 | 6:33 pm PST
the angel one is sick but does have problems most have been fixed i have practiced on several acuusions with a team sponserd by angel and when they first got there angels they had simmler problems including 2 cases of the bolt craking but all of these problems have now been fixed as far as i know
   

fishhead Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 | 9:34 am PST
i have heard nothing but good things about the angel one (after the fixes). however, a review like is still important to someone buying one, knowing what to expect if there are problems. the only reason a review should be changed is if the REVIEWER actually has experienced the the changes.

btw, when the angel one first came out, i saw several joy players with tape on their eye covers.
Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 9:36 am PST
   

sp62 Thursday, February 22nd, 2007 | 7:12 pm PST
is the angel 1 Ego 07 or a dm6 a better buy?
   

EgoslayerTWO Wednesday, February 28th, 2007 | 9:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sp62
is the angel 1 Ego 07 or a dm6 a better buy?

ego 7, but im biased
   

Jenou Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 8:05 pm PST
Dispute:
all the bugs he has mentioned have been fixed and eliminated. he needs to edit his review
   

Jenou Thursday, March 15th, 2007 | 8:06 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sp62
is the angel 1 Ego 07 or a dm6 a better buy?

angel 1. my brother has an ego 7 and the A1 performs better
   

Fjaquez Thursday, March 22nd, 2007 | 11:57 am PST
these review is out of time. all the bugs have been fixes. and if you have he ferst version of Angel1, they fix it for free. What more do you want. This is the best gun out there.

   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media