paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on samurai2828's Review / Comments on samurai2828's Review / Comments on samurai2828's Review / Comments on samurai2828's Review / Comments on samurai2828's Review

Comments on samurai2828's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

samurai2828 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
An old remote??
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
16" OPSGEAR Tactical Barrel
6' OPSGEAR SR6 Shroud
OPSGEAR G36 Folding Stock
SIG MAG Kit
OPSGEAR Remote Coil with Slide Check Valve
Tippmann A5 Double Trigger
Universal Bipod with Quick Release
ACI Sub-Zero 4 Stage Expansion Chamber
Red-Dot Scope
Strengths: Not long.
Strong!
Check Valve.
Weaknesses: A little tight at first! But works in nicely!
Review: I love this remote! So far its awesome! The only thing I would reccomend, is to take off the connectors and teflon the threads. This will help seal it with perfect efficientcy, as there is no reason to ever take a chance with leaking air in the field! The look of this remote is shiny, and smooth, and the colour on the check valve is unique. Regardless of the looks, which arnt that important anyway, is the performance. I pluged it in, and it ran perfect, no problems what so ever. Another thing that I like about it, is the length. Its actually pretty short, but when you hook it up, it raps snugly around the side of your body, and under your arm. Doesnt get in the way, or get caught on branches, just sits there nice and snug! If it seems like it feels a little tight, just let it get worked in, and you will be laughing!

I'd reccomend this to anyone as it is top of the line, considering all the other remotes out there! Just go to www.opsgear.com! They have soooo much other A5 and 98 upgrades like you wouldnt believe! Buy it if your looking for a reliable and efficient remote.
Conclusion: Looks great, feels snug, not loose at all, nice check valve, and simply the best out there!

www.opsgear.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
 

Review Comments
tfortner Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 | 2:49 pm PST
Dispute:
I just bought this exact same remote for my new A-5. This was my second time out with the new gun and the first time out with the remote line. I loved that I never noticed the hose getting in the way, but after a couple of hours, I started running into a problem where I thought I was running out of air in my tank a bit premature. I would be in the middle of a fire fight and suddenly the gun makes a sound like I've run out of air and I've got no juice. This problem got progressively worse (running out after fewer and fewer shots) until I finally realized the tank still had plenty of air in it.

I put the tank directly onto the gun (much to my dismay as it now weighed substantially more and was back heavy. I had certainly enjoyed my brief remote experience in terms of gun weight) and returned to the store the very next day.

The store owners were very helpful, tested the hose, the tank and the gun for leaks. But their solution was that the piece screwed into the handle (the quick release) had to be unscrewed partially as it was plugging the air hole in the handle. I have not yet gotten to test this theory in the field, but am not a fan of loose parts of any kind on my equipment. In addition, the ring does not appear to be sized to where it would block that hole (if it did, that would certainly be a design flaw on the part of this manufacturer anyway) So if anyone has any further suggestions on what I can do to remedy this problem, I would certainly appreciate it.

My apologies in advance if I'm posting this in an inappropriate part of the website, but I'm new to the sport and this site as well.

much thanks.
T
   

WeedWacker Monday, November 13th, 2006 | 9:20 am PST
This dispute is based off of one experience. Your experience does not make this review invalid. Others may have good experiences while others may not. You can write your own review and tell ppl what you think instead of writing comments.
   

samurai2828 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006 | 9:27 am PST
tfortner :: Hey man, thats too bad! IMO, you need to grab yourself some teflon tape, un-screw the ends of the remote, and wrap teflon tape all around the fittings.

When I first got the remote, it worked awesome untill a few hours later when I heard it start to leak. I simply un-screwed the end that attaches to the tank, and TEFLONed up a lot. NEVER have had an issue since! And I mean, I get the thing cought on branches and so on. LOVE IT.

It could also be that you just got a defective one. Did you contact OPSGEAR? Im sure they would warrant it! Or fix it.

TRUST ME:::: Dont give up on it, or at least remote lines!! Once you really get into paintball, you might discover tactical upgrades for the A5, thus the remote line will be absolutely neccessary, as the weight of the gun will increase dramatically.

Last edited on Tuesday, November 14th, 2006 at 9:28 am PST
   

tfortner Wednesday, November 15th, 2006 | 7:13 am PST
Hey Samurai,

great idea, I'll give that a try. and no, I did not contact Special Ops directly. I only had it for a day and went back to the store. In fact, I couldn't find a logo on the device anywhere and wasnt' sure who made it until coming to this website.

Also, my apologies to you and Weedwacker if this was the wrong place to say something. when I did a search, this was one of the only places that came up that seemed to relate to my problem. I've since found a forum on this website as well.

Unfortunately, I'm injured and may be out for the winter. So I won't even be able to test this until next Spring. UGH! I love this sport!!!! :-)
   

samurai2828 Sunday, November 19th, 2006 | 8:54 am PST
No prob, and no big deal man. Thats what the review section is for. :)

Disputes help other people who are looking for pro's and con's regarding products. Personally, I always look for the bad first, so dont worry, its all good.

Too bad your hurt, but winter is the downseason anyway! Good luck, and dont worry, if you cant seal it yourself, the company hadc better! :)
   

ulairi Tuesday, June 12th, 2007 | 7:16 pm PST
tfortner: Another possibility is this: you're using an A5 with CO2 and a remote. You're probably just freezing your line.

Easy way to check: when your marker exhibits the symptoms you're describing - when it runs out of air entirely too soon, either wait about 5 minutes or get the remote out of the loop.

I had a friend of mine with an A5 using CO2 and a remote experience this very same problem, though far faster than you. We were at a field in New York during fairly humid conditions so the water vapor in his remote froze as he tried to chrono. Got the remote out of the loop, plugged the CO2 tank straight into the marker, and it cycled like a champ. (Right until he broke off his M4 collapsable stock, but...)
   

napalm42 Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 | 6:12 pm PST
actually the shop was correct, if you look at a tippmann A-5 and check the ASA on the bottom of the grip u will notice it is an offset hole and not right in the middle of the ASA, which means when you screw the remote part all the way in it blocks the hole partially and doesnt allow enough air to pass

just screw it all the way in and then turn it out about half a turn and it will be fine

TRUST ME ITS THE TRUTH

thats the problem u ran into i can garauntee it
Last edited on Tuesday, June 19th, 2007 at 6:14 pm PST
   

AndyEllas Thursday, August 23rd, 2007 | 12:43 pm PST
I had the same problem with air pressure drops i.e. "shootdown" i believe. I havent tried rotating the connection out a half a turn. Hopefully that will work. Other than that the coil has been amazing, but the "shootdown" is a problem I wont tolerate for long. If I can't fix it that way, ill have to try and sell the hose and get a different one. any ideas on a solution to the drop in air pressure if unscrewing a half turn doesnt work?
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media