paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review

Comments on Tom37's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Tom37 Friday, July 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested23 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers, angels egos etcetc
Marker Setup: Angel ir3 fly (spitfired)
hammerhead
68/45 a.i.r tank with adjustable reg
Halo B
Cobra Trigger
Softface bolt
Strengths: Nice trigger
No bounce
Light
Easy to use
looks great
Weaknesses: No major weaknesses, but i only tested it... had no problems
Review: Before i start, ill explain that i only used the gun for a short perion of time, about an hour or so, so take what you will from the review.

I was shooting my ir3 most of the day, so compared to that the e-tek was fetherweight. had matts g7 to compare it with weightwise. i really liked the trigger, but obviously didnt get time to fiddle with it, very light, nice return etc, helped me shoot nice and fast.

Consistance was good also, put it over the chrono and the shots were within +/-5fps (most within +/-2fps).

I used an egg with it, as i couldnt be bothered gettin the allen keys out to put my halo on, but it was fine. no chopping, no breaks, no problems.

Accuracy wise i had a dye barrel on it, can't really remember what it was, was more interested in the gun at the time, think it was the ul. shot really well, put the balls just where i wanted them.

Ive never taken the gun apart, so i can't judge the internals, or internal build quality, but from the outside, the milling is smooth and it liiks pretty damn sexy.

Finally the grip and board interface: the problem, which someone pointed out , was that you could change firing modes from the grip without the tourney lock on... this would be useful when having a game with mates, but in a tourney its just asking for trouble...
Conclusion: im giving the gun an 8, not because i had any problems with it, but just because its not the full blown ego, no screen, not quite as light etc. there is a link to the stats here:
http://www.planeteclipse.com/Folders/Downloads/Files/SpecShe
et.pdf

if anyone thinks my scoring of it is unfair, please feel free to leave comments, and we'll discuss it.

but for the time bieng, im saving my pennies : )
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Spydercon Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 6:05 pm PST
hey im interested in this gun and i was wonderin what do u mean by being able 2 change the modes w/out the tourny lock on?






ty
Spydercon
   

C3 boy Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 6:10 pm PST
whats unfair it isn't as great as the Regular EGO
   

Quency Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 6:33 pm PST
actually it is lighter than every other EGO except for the SL66.
   

Garp Friday, July 7th, 2006 | 6:50 pm PST
I think the rating is unfair because while you say it is not an actual ego, it is also about 500 dollars cheaper for pretty much a very similar performance.
   

Tom37 Saturday, July 8th, 2006 | 3:55 am PST
regarding the firing modes, you can change from ramping to semi etcetc using the external buttons on the back of the grip, when the tourney lock is not on.

garp, you definitly have a point that its not comparable to the sl66; as the price range is completley different, ill take that into consideration and may (if more people feel the way you do) change the rating
   

Chrisfire69 Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 9:24 am PST
The money you save for the same performance and ust astonishing. I think it deserves a 9 considering you like the lcd better, most guns use led's such as dm6's and dm5's so ya no difference there.
   

jrbacon Sunday, July 9th, 2006 | 10:07 pm PST
He gave it a high score, and I think he wrote a good review. He stated his problems and justified his score. As I have said before, people misuse the rating system. If you look at the rating scale when you write one, it lists a "5" as average. So that would mean that:

1-2: complete garbage, better off with a slingshot and a hand full of paint
3-4: flawed, needs minor/major improvement before being useable
5: Average, works as advertised
6-7: Above average, works better than expected
8-9: Outstanding performance, works better than could have dreamed
10: Perfect! Flights of angels guide the paint to your opponets' mask, while strippers dance around your bunker.

The 8 is a good rating, don't change it because of the "9 and 10 only crowd"
   

devilnevel Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 | 8:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Quency
actually it is lighter than every other EGO except for the SL66.

Actually the '06 and the E-tek both weigh in at 2 lbs. I weighed them both today.
   

Tom37 Thursday, July 13th, 2006 | 4:40 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by devilnevel


Actually the '06 and the E-tek both weigh in at 2 lbs. I weighed them both today.


you dont know how the internals of the etek work do you? and if there well designed etc?
   

invisible_shade Monday, July 17th, 2006 | 3:13 pm PST
Well, the accuracy of your review seems like you know what your talking about. Thanks for the good descriptions. The only thing that I can dispute is that you said its not quite as light, in reality its actually lighter than the 06, its on a side by side comparison chart somewhere on the pe website.
   

Tom37 Wednesday, July 19th, 2006 | 4:31 am PST
fair enough, i was comparing it to the 06 xsv one... but they both had tanks and hoppers etc on, so it was kinda hard to tell
   

Matt_Lind Thursday, July 20th, 2006 | 12:30 am PST
Honestly if your calling it heavy and comparing it to an 06 XSV ego that makes no sence, especially if you where shooting an IR3, or Angel, and saying its not as high end or fancy because it has an LED display that DOESNT make any sense what so ever look at DM's, there top of the line guns and they use a LCD display also lots of people put Virtue and other after market boards in there guns that have LCD screens like Egos, Timmy's etc and that makes them LED, so LED, personally I think an 8 is not fair at all if those where the ONLY 2 problems you had with the gun, i think it deserves a higher score.
   

Tom37 Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 | 7:25 am PST
*sigh* i said i was comparing the weight to markies 06xsv ego, which looks sweet by the way.... saying angels are heavy is a bit silly now that the angel one is around, dont you think?
the ir3 does weigh like a brick (or two), but im sure i said somewhere that the e-tek was lighter.
in short, this gun rips, shoots ropes, whatever, but it will never be as good as a true ego, and since i havent seen inside one, i can hardly give the gun a better mark.

im not going to give the gun a 10/10, because until someone makes something absolutly perfect, it'll never deserve a 10, or do you disagree?
   

PaulWest Wednesday, August 2nd, 2006 | 9:16 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Matt_Lind
Honestly if your calling it heavy and comparing it to an 06 XSV ego that makes no sence, especially if you where shooting an IR3, or Angel, and saying its not as high end or fancy because it has an LED display that DOESNT make any sense what so ever look at DM's, there top of the line guns and they use a LCD display also lots of people put Virtue and other after market boards in there guns that have LCD screens like Egos, Timmy's etc and that makes them LED, so LED, personally I think an 8 is not fair at all if those where the ONLY 2 problems you had with the gun, i think it deserves a higher score.

americans for gods sake a 8 is a excellent score its not a competion do you own shares in our fine English guns no
good review good score
   

Tom37 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006 | 10:05 am PST
cheers paul, you on pgi? whats your screen name?
   

shaasta Tuesday, August 8th, 2006 | 12:06 pm PST
yeah, the english excel at paintball. thats why the tigers can hardly put a ball on any american player
   

alex343 Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 1:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jrbacon

10: Perfect! Flights of angels guide the paint to your opponets' mask, while strippers dance around your bunker.


thats funny
   

ranger1987 Friday, August 11th, 2006 | 11:53 am PST
hey i agree with everything you said except all my friends that have tested the etek said that with the lcd screen takin out an the exhausts taken out the gun is a lighter than the ego
   

neheatwave Monday, August 14th, 2006 | 3:40 pm PST
i went to the nppl super 7 at the eclipse stand grabbed the etek and asked its weight the lady said 5 ounces more than the 06 because less milling ok u pay 500$ dollors less u get 5 ounces heavier so it is heavier (unless your a effin wimp 5 ounces is un-notice-able) the gun is great and when i shoot the etek i dont c strippers dance around my bunker so it aint a ten
   

Matt_Lind Monday, August 14th, 2006 | 6:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by PaulWest


americans for gods sake a 8 is a excellent score its not a competion do you own shares in our fine English guns no
good review good score

Im Canadian, and I think he did a good review but the score is a little low.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media