paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review / Comments on Tom37's Review

Comments on Tom37's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Tom37 Friday, July 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested23 of 36 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers, angels egos etcetc
Marker Setup: Angel ir3 fly (spitfired)
hammerhead
68/45 a.i.r tank with adjustable reg
Halo B
Cobra Trigger
Softface bolt
Strengths: Nice trigger
No bounce
Light
Easy to use
looks great
Weaknesses: No major weaknesses, but i only tested it... had no problems
Review: Before i start, ill explain that i only used the gun for a short perion of time, about an hour or so, so take what you will from the review.

I was shooting my ir3 most of the day, so compared to that the e-tek was fetherweight. had matts g7 to compare it with weightwise. i really liked the trigger, but obviously didnt get time to fiddle with it, very light, nice return etc, helped me shoot nice and fast.

Consistance was good also, put it over the chrono and the shots were within +/-5fps (most within +/-2fps).

I used an egg with it, as i couldnt be bothered gettin the allen keys out to put my halo on, but it was fine. no chopping, no breaks, no problems.

Accuracy wise i had a dye barrel on it, can't really remember what it was, was more interested in the gun at the time, think it was the ul. shot really well, put the balls just where i wanted them.

Ive never taken the gun apart, so i can't judge the internals, or internal build quality, but from the outside, the milling is smooth and it liiks pretty damn sexy.

Finally the grip and board interface: the problem, which someone pointed out , was that you could change firing modes from the grip without the tourney lock on... this would be useful when having a game with mates, but in a tourney its just asking for trouble...
Conclusion: im giving the gun an 8, not because i had any problems with it, but just because its not the full blown ego, no screen, not quite as light etc. there is a link to the stats here:
http://www.planeteclipse.com/Folders/Downloads/Files/SpecShe
et.pdf

if anyone thinks my scoring of it is unfair, please feel free to leave comments, and we'll discuss it.

but for the time bieng, im saving my pennies : )
Rating:
8 out of 10
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Matt_Lind Monday, August 14th, 2006 | 6:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by neheatwave
i went to the nppl super 7 at the eclipse stand grabbed the etek and asked its weight the lady said 5 ounces more than the 06 because less milling ok u pay 500$ dollors less u get 5 ounces heavier so it is heavier (unless your a effin wimp 5 ounces is un-notice-able) the gun is great and when i shoot the etek i dont c strippers dance around my bunker so it aint a ten
Its LIGHTER than an 06 Ego.
   

csmith1199 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 | 1:13 am PST
Not to say that your number rating is bad, that's personal. What I don't like is your reasoning for deducting the points. You're comparing this to 06 xsv ego? That's almost twice as expensive as this gun! It's like saying "the ion is a piece of crap because the dynasty shocker is better because it does blah blah blah." Well, if you want to spend another 800 dollars on a Dynasty Shocker, I would hope it was better, but if you can only afford 200 dollars, the Ion isn't too shabby of a gun. So, back to the etek, I don't like you taking of points because it offers almost the same performance, for half the price. Common sense guys.
   

EMPIR3balla4747 Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 | 2:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jrbacon
1-2: complete garbage, better off with a slingshot and a hand full of paint
3-4: flawed, needs minor/major improvement before being useable
5: Average, works as advertised
6-7: Above average, works better than expected
8-9: Outstanding performance, works better than could have dreamed
10: Perfect! Flights of angels guide the paint to your opponets' mask, while strippers dance around your bunker.

^LMFAO
BTW I thought he gave a very good review. I also think that an 8 is a perfectly fine score for the E-Tek, as its not the exact same as a normal Ego, which would probably earn about a 9. So I think his score was fair. Great Review!
Last edited on Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 at 2:10 pm PST
   

paintballer306 Saturday, August 19th, 2006 | 6:09 am PST
not as good as tom38s review..............
   

shawnhu Thursday, September 14th, 2006 | 11:13 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by neheatwave
i went to the nppl super 7 at the eclipse stand grabbed the etek and asked its weight the lady said 5 ounces more than the 06 because less milling ok u pay 500$ dollors less u get 5 ounces heavier so it is heavier (unless your a effin wimp 5 ounces is un-notice-able) the gun is great and when i shoot the etek i dont c strippers dance around my bunker so it aint a ten

The E-tek is lighter than the 06 Ego, but heavier than the SL66. The lady was probably referring to the SL66, in which you'll be paying over $1000 less for 5 ounces in weight. But there are tons of other stuff on the SL that makes it worth it's price tag.
   

dragonzpb13 Thursday, September 14th, 2006 | 2:19 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jrbacon
He gave it a high score, and I think he wrote a good review. He stated his problems and justified his score. As I have said before, people misuse the rating system. If you look at the rating scale when you write one, it lists a "5" as average. So that would mean that:

1-2: complete garbage, better off with a slingshot and a hand full of paint
3-4: flawed, needs minor/major improvement before being useable
5: Average, works as advertised
6-7: Above average, works better than expected
8-9: Outstanding performance, works better than could have dreamed
10: Perfect! Flights of angels guide the paint to your opponets' mask, while strippers dance around your bunker.

The 8 is a good rating, don't change it because of the "9 and 10 only crowd"


^^^ qft ^^^
   

paintballbobber Saturday, October 28th, 2006 | 4:18 pm PST
good review...i personally think it has all of the stuff from normal egos minus the stuff you don't really need such as QEV LCD etc
   

g murder Monday, November 6th, 2006 | 5:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Quency
actually it is lighter than every other EGO except for the SL66.

This is true!!!!!!!!!!!
   

CTBlue Wednesday, November 8th, 2006 | 6:49 pm PST
You have do understand that they had to make the EGO better because if they were the same then no one would spend another $300 for something exactly the same... It's called marketing strategy.
   

Abitkhan Sunday, February 25th, 2007 | 9:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jrbacon
He gave it a high score, and I think he wrote a good review. He stated his problems and justified his score. As I have said before, people misuse the rating system. If you look at the rating scale when you write one, it lists a "5" as average. So that would mean that:

1-2: complete garbage, better off with a slingshot and a hand full of paint
3-4: flawed, needs minor/major improvement before being useable
5: Average, works as advertised
6-7: Above average, works better than expected
8-9: Outstanding performance, works better than could have dreamed
10: Perfect! Flights of angels guide the paint to your opponets' mask, while strippers dance around your bunker.

The 8 is a good rating, don't change it because of the "9 and 10 only crowd"


Another good quip for a 10 is a flight of angels carries your ball to your opponent's mask to a chorus of "rock you like a hurricane" :D

Anyways, right on with the rating system analysis.
Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 9:36 pm PST
   

sp62 Monday, April 30th, 2007 | 9:35 am PST
pm7 or etek better buy?
   

madasian87 Monday, May 7th, 2007 | 1:44 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by neheatwave
i went to the nppl super 7 at the eclipse stand grabbed the etek and asked its weight the lady said 5 ounces more than the 06 because less milling ok u pay 500$ dollors less u get 5 ounces heavier so it is heavier (unless your a effin wimp 5 ounces is un-notice-able) the gun is great and when i shoot the etek i dont c strippers dance around my bunker so it aint a ten

wow. learn to type.
   

mattmaster34 Saturday, May 19th, 2007 | 10:15 pm PST
I agree with jrbacon's assesment of the marking system. I found 10 to be hilarious by the way. I'm not arguiing your score, I just disagree with what you said about the Etek not being a full blown ego. Well, in actuality, it isn't a full blow ego. But the point is that it's not meant to be a full blown ego. In a way, that's like deducting points from an ion saying that it isn't a full blown shocker.
   

W.K.S. Monday, May 28th, 2007 | 5:21 pm PST
I wish Eclipse would center the feedneck. I love my Etek, but I hate that offset feedneck, it pisses me off really bad for some reason.

quote:
Originally posted by Abitkhan


Another good quip for a 10 is a flight of angels carries your ball to your opponent's mask to a chorus of "rock you like a hurricane" :D

Anyways, right on with the rating system analysis.


Oh, and BTW ^^^^^No.
Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 5:22 pm PST
   

Bestpa8baller Tuesday, August 7th, 2007 | 10:42 am PST
Dispute:
You’re supposed to be reviewing the etek for what it is. not comparing it to another gun(even if it is another kind of ego) True it does have different features such as no lcd screen, but the interface is actually much more simple and battery efficient.
Basically all I'm saying is base your review off the results of the gun itself and how it performed, and don't let your rating drop because of a comparison on another gun.
Thanks
   

JFroese2007 Friday, November 23rd, 2007 | 2:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by devilnevel


Actually the '06 and the E-tek both weigh in at 2 lbs. I weighed them both today.


Actually, its a heavy mother f****r
   

srmd22 Friday, May 15th, 2009 | 8:05 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by jrbacon
He gave it a high score, and I think he wrote a good review. He stated his problems and justified his score. As I have said before, people misuse the rating system. If you look at the rating scale when you write one, it lists a "5" as average. So that would mean that:

1-2: complete garbage, better off with a slingshot and a hand full of paint
3-4: flawed, needs minor/major improvement before being useable
5: Average, works as advertised
6-7: Above average, works better than expected
8-9: Outstanding performance, works better than could have dreamed
10: Perfect! Flights of angels guide the paint to your opponets' mask, while strippers dance around your bunker.

The 8 is a good rating, don't change it because of the "9 and 10 only crowd"


Yes, exactly, thank you.
   

srmd22 Friday, May 15th, 2009 | 8:09 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Matt_Lind
Honestly if your calling it heavy and comparing it to an 06 XSV ego that makes no sence, especially if you where shooting an IR3, or Angel, and saying its not as high end or fancy because it has an LED display that DOESNT make any sense what so ever look at DM's, there top of the line guns and they use a LCD display also lots of people put Virtue and other after market boards in there guns that have LCD screens like Egos, Timmy's etc and that makes them LED, so LED, personally I think an 8 is not fair at all if those where the ONLY 2 problems you had with the gun, i think it deserves a higher score.

r u nutz? 8 is a great score. If u think it deserves higher write your own damn rating. Jeez. He is saying what HE thinks, not what you want him to think. Get a perspective, peggy sue.
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media