paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on BoB DA RippeR's Review / Comments on BoB DA RippeR's Review / Comments on BoB DA RippeR's Review / Comments on BoB DA RippeR's Review / Comments on BoB DA RippeR's Review

Comments on BoB DA RippeR's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

BoB DA RippeR Sunday, July 23rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year191 of 191 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom- worse
ICD 04' BKO- better
Spyder Pilot ACS 05- same for the most part
Marker Setup: Mongoose II BBS LCD Blue to Black Fade
20 Ounce CO2 Tank
Empire Reloader II Smoke
Proto 1 Piece Barrel Polished Black
V-Force Pro Vantage Mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger(optional), the stock one wobbles a lot.
New grips(for sure, or just get gloves), the stock ones suck.
New barrel(good to have) like every gun, stock's not bad though.
Fast Hopper, at least a Reloader II or 12V Revvy.
Strengths: **Review**
Weaknesses: **Review**
Review: General- 9.5/10

This gun is original in all ways. Not a lot of people will have it and if you don't want to be, "just another Ion owner", then this is the gun for you. The name is nowhere on the gun so people will be left wondering what its called, plus the name usually looks ugly anyway. It comes with a 1 year warranty if you send in something it comes with in the manual or else its only 90 days, but its all good.

Performance- 7.5/10

The gun performs well almost all the time, with a couple exceptions. I had a leaky cup seal a while after I bought the gun but it was easy and cheap to fix. My spring also started to get weak and it wouldn't let me shoot faster then 180FPS, but I just replaced it easily later and it works fine (you might have to buy a spring kit). I have yet to have a chop, even using old, bad paint. You can shoot extremely fast if you have a hopper that can keep up, and it keeps it's accuracy even at high speeds. It's accurate from far away even with the stock barrel. It has a lot of kick, but unless you're a scrawny 8 year old it shouldn't be a problem. It just gets kind of annoying with tiny little problems that cost like $2 to fix, but driving over to the shop and fixing it is kind of a nuisance. 7.5 is still a good rating, but little problems occur, havent had any big ones yet.

Looks- 10/10

This gun looks great, sweet anno and milling. Comes in 3 fades and 1 solid colour and everyone looks great, easily a 10 in looks.

Trigger- 7.5/10

The stock trigger's easy to walk which is a plus, but it wobbles side to side a lot. It's also made of plastic which isn't that big of a deal as the wobble. It also comes stock with a 25 gram switch which is my opinion is a little too light, 50 gram would be good enough for me but 25's not bad.

Barrel- 9/10

The gun takes spyder threaded barrels so you can get practically any aftermarket barrel you want for this gun. The stock barrel is about 11.5 inches. It's one of the best stock barrels I've ever tested, the curve is minimal, it usually goes where you want it too. Great stock barrel, 9.

Bolt- 10/10

The stock bolt is a delrin bolt which means it doesn't require lubing or oiling which is good. It has a quick release so you can clean it easily if you happen to get a break or if anything happens.

Consistency- 9/10

At the chrono, this gun will give you pretty good consistency for the price. I'm guessing it's somewhere around +4/-4fps. I haven't really paid attention to it but I'm sure it would be around there.

Feedneck- 10/10

The stock feedneck is clamping so it will fit any size hopper feedneck, which means you won't need to sand any of your feednecks, unless they are gigantic. It could cut into the plastic of your hopper's feedneck if you're tightening it fully, but a little clear tape around your hopper's feedneck and it'll prevent that. Keeps the hopper on the gun. I did have an incident when my hopper flew off when I was shooting quickly but that's cause I didn't tighten it enough, no big deal.

Eyes- 10/10

The eyes work great, I haven't had one chop yet even using old paint. You can turn them on/off in the LCD if you need to for some reason, but otherwise they're always on and working. 10,10,10,10,10.

Grips/LCD Panel- 6/10, 8.5/10

The grips are bad, just normal plastic grips with little bumps. Provides little grip, but if you have gloves you shouldn't worry about that at all. The LCD panel is sweet since it comes with a shot counter, game timer, and auto shut off. You can turn the eyes on/off, and adjust your ROF from 4-20. The LCD's kind of hard to see in the light but you can manage. It also might eat up your batteries quicker but it's worth it for the most part.

Drop Forward- 10/10

Regular drop forward, not too big, not too small.

Cleaning/Dissassembly- 10/10

The gun comes with a quick strip pin so its easy to disassemble the gun so you can clean and oil it. It comes with instructions on how to do it, so if you have no clue whats going on you can follow the manual.
Conclusion: If you're not extremely rich and need a really good starter gun, buy this gun. Remember, the person makes the player, not the gun. Everyone needs to start with a good beginner gun first, and this is one to have. I'm gonna give it a 9 for now since it hasn't given me any major problems yet, but I can and will update later as I play more. I'm currently having the problem with my spring, but I'm going to purchase the 32* spring kit sooner or later, hopefully that'll fix it once and for all.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 at 7:43 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Domino Power Wednesday, July 26th, 2006 | 12:07 pm PST
nice review, excellent to have this gun have a thread of its own. ive heard that its hard to adjust the velocity on the mongooses so i bought the spring kit. has anyone had this velocity adjusting problem?
   

sportsfreak7 Monday, August 21st, 2006 | 8:00 pm PST
of course the bko will be better it is twice the price dont compare a $400 to a $200 gun
   

BoB DA RippeR Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006 | 2:02 pm PST
My friend got his 04 BKO for $140 so calm down, I'll compare them if I want.
   

iljajohnson Friday, November 10th, 2006 | 9:48 am PST
just a helpful reminder effieciency is how many shots i could shoot out of a tank. consistency is +7/-7
   

BoB DA RippeR Saturday, November 11th, 2006 | 11:55 am PST
Yeah thanks for that, I messed up I guess.
   

thepipsqueak Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 9:32 pm PST
Really good review. As you can see by the length it is very thorough. Your review helped me decide to get this gun. Or at least I'm 90% sure I'm getting this gun...
   

speedballer_72 Thursday, February 1st, 2007 | 5:44 pm PST
Dispute:
All of your review is Good but at the Chrono station +7/-7 fps is very inconsistent. My ols Xtra was 90 bucks and even with a cold fill it was only +4/-4 at peak. other than that i have no complaint
   

BoB DA RippeR Friday, February 16th, 2007 | 1:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by speedballer_72
All of your review is Good but at the Chrono station +7/-7 fps is very inconsistent. My ols Xtra was 90 bucks and even with a cold fill it was only +4/-4 at peak. other than that i have no complaint
Haha, did you have to make my review look all bad now with that beastly red sentence at the top? Yeah I changed it thanks for that.
   

BoB DA RippeR Friday, February 16th, 2007 | 1:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Domino Power
nice review, excellent to have this gun have a thread of its own. ive heard that its hard to adjust the velocity on the mongooses so i bought the spring kit. has anyone had this velocity adjusting problem?
I'm currently having this problem.
   

corymcarthur Saturday, April 28th, 2007 | 9:32 pm PST
hummmmmmmmmmm well i think im just abour ro win this gun off ebay for 50 bucks and im wondering if you can get a differnt trigger and if its still as good as you say i also have a spyder electra 05 so im going to compare the 2 but i just want a guin with eyes
   

xDESTROYERx Thursday, May 24th, 2007 | 6:18 pm PST
I just got this gun for 90 bucks basically new(refurbished from manufacturer) and it looks pretty sweet but i haven't tried it yet. Just wondering whats the cheapest hopper i can get that will work well for this gun.
   

BoB DA RippeR Friday, May 25th, 2007 | 2:58 pm PST
Probably an Empire Reloader II, that's what I got and it works fine.
   

xDESTROYERx Friday, May 25th, 2007 | 6:33 pm PST
thanks and also good review
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media