paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on D Nasty's Review / Comments on D Nasty's Review / Comments on D Nasty's Review / Comments on D Nasty's Review / Comments on D Nasty's Review

Comments on D Nasty's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

D Nasty Monday, July 24th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I don't know if i could compare it to this, but an Alias Timmy
Marker Setup: Fusion Marker with CCM Carbon Fiber Barrel, Halo, 45/45 Nitro Duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a new barrel
Strengths: Easy to operate
Four practical modes
On/Off
Trigger
Air usage
Weight
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This is actually my first review on this forum and I feel the need to write about this marker because I was blown away with it. I have nothing but good things to say about this marker except for the fact that I didn't like the feel of the trigger out of the box. I am use to using markers with light trigger pulls, so I did a quick mod (cutting off a 1/4 of the spring) and I was happy. I did not write that as a weakness because this aspect is subjective to the user, plus I love how easy it is to adjust the trigger with the two set screws.

As mentioned above, I love the fact that it is so easy to use. It is "idiot-proof" as mentioned by Jerry the Autococker Doctor at Carson I&I Sports. Simply place a halo, an autococker-threaded barrel of choice, and a HP air system and you're good to go. Toggling through the four practical firing modes is as simple as removing the left grip and flipping dip switches - 15 semi/ramping capped and 20 semi/ramping capped.

On the field it seemed very accurate (using WPN brand paint). I can't say it was ball on ball accurate because I have never seen a gun shoot ball on ball, but pleasing nonetheless. It seemed to be very good on air, about up to par with most timmies. With my 45/45 HP Nitro Tank I was able to shoot about 5 pods and a hopper with about 1.5 left on a 3 thoursand fill. The gun itself felt solid in my hands. Having owned a shockteck shocker and an ion, it was simple to tell which one felt high end and which one felt midrange. This on the other hand IS HIGHEND with a midrange price. Overall I am very happy

Last Edit August 25th, 2006
Well, I have used this gun about eight times now and it's still working great. I haven't had any problems with marker other than some slight flunctuation in velocity (about plus or minus 10) then again that could be my fault because I haven't lubed the reg or lpr. Anyway, it continues to shoot straight and rips pretty darn fast. The eyes seem to be holding up, since I haven't had a breach break at all (only a barrel break with stingers). As far as the on/off goes, it is working flawlessly. I love the fact I know when the marker is de-gassed and when it is gassed.
If there is one thing that I am knit-picky about, it would have to be the optical trigger. I never was a fan of that because I have been so used to micro-switches, but that shouldn't matter because it all comes down to preference anyway. Other than that, efficiency is great and continues to live up to what I said above...big ups to you, snoboarder =).
I say, get this marker as soon as you can get one. I honestly believe it was a great investment and I would recommend the marker to anyone, especially if you play tourneys.
Conclusion: I must say Dangerous Power did a lot of homework for this gun. This company seems to be making positive changes to pre-existing designs and then placing it on their marker. A lot of people have mentioned that this marker shares many characteristics with the Legend. If that is the case I would definitely pick this over that marker, simply because it is cheaper in price, feels great in my hands, and extremely easy to use (despite the fact that it may not be as adjustable or as fast).

Another aspect about this marker that appeals to me is the manufacturers warranty that comes with the marker. It is covered for one whole year from the date of purchase. From what I know I&I Sports at Carson, is one of very few stores that carry this marker. I have been told by their local gun tech (Jerry the Cocker Doctor) that their location will soon be carrying parts for the fusion, so issues, if any exist, can be dealt with right away. Having this peace of mind is great.

I would recommend this marker to anyone looking for a reliable gun, ready for tournaments, for a decent price.

Finally big ups to PB Matty
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 2:57 am PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
dkaf Friday, February 23rd, 2007 | 6:37 am PST
hahaha this whole comments page was funny, but anyway thanks for the review ill have to try one
   

pbking911 Monday, April 30th, 2007 | 5:09 pm PST
dido.Ive seen videos of this thing and it looks pretty cool.Whats the lowest price that you can get for this? :l
   

ego4lifepbkid Thursday, May 17th, 2007 | 5:38 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by snoboarder8232
The efficiency you stated is absolutely impossible. That's at least 1000 shots off a 45/30 depending on what you meant by "1.5 left".

delete the dispute
   

trilogypro Thursday, May 31st, 2007 | 1:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sd bad company


cool i use to have a cocker talk about realibility problems dear god avoid a cocker get the fusion lol liked ur comment i am not sure about the trigger the owners manuel dosen't say anything


its a break beam i think. I'm taking this from the Jan 07 issue of action pursuit games. It has an in depth review of the fusion, and has helped persuade me to buy a fusion. The only thing is, I have an ion right now. I know, not the best gun on the market. The only reason why i am putting off buying a fusion is because I don't want to happen with this what did with the ion... every noob with 200-300$ has one...
   

Walnuts312 Wednesday, June 6th, 2007 | 5:02 pm PST
I just heard about this marker from my friend who owns a Field in Auburn NY. I got a chance to test out a limited edition one and I truly believe the efficiency story to be true. It is not "waste-full" with air like other markers I've worked on and owned. I am even considering getting one and putting my '05 Dynasty Shocker on the shelf for a while. Its just as fast and I actually like the trigger pull more on the DP more than my shockers. I was truly impressed with what $450 bucks can now get you (450 for the L.E. version).
   

sflusch Wednesday, June 20th, 2007 | 3:44 am PST
Bear in mind this marker is a FASOR design, let me spell that out for you.

Forward Air, Spring Operated Return. That means the solenoid only engages to push the botl forward, and then there is air used to fire the ball. From there, the spring handles returning the bolt and rammer, which would otherwise be done by air in a standard poppet valve.

Ergo, you're saving 1/2 the air consumption over a standard poppet valve solenoid. Couple this with a well calibrated gun (meaning your dwell is optimized and you're running with smooth regs), and you've got the makings for a very efficient marker. In many ways, the FASOR design is much like a cocker in reverse, in that the cocker used a spring to drive the rammer forward then used air to reset it.

And for you kiddies who don't know what I mean by optimized dwell (dwell, of course, referring to the amount of time the bolt stays forward in each firing cycle):

1) Air comes from the tank.

2) It enters the regulator, reaching whatever PSI your reg is set to, then closing off the input at pressure.

3) Your LPR (if you have one) siphons a bit of air off from the main reservoir in the HPR and repeats the process, lowering it to the "operating pressure" of your marker. This is the air that works the rammer forward and back in a traditional poppet, or in this case provides the forward pressure for the FASOR design.

4a) Your dwell setting (measured in ms) will determine how long the air coming from the LPR is allowed to press forward the rammer assembly, allowing air that's being held in the HPR to vent up through the various internal components of the marker through the bolt, propelling the paintball.

4b) There comes a point in the barrel that no matter how much air you throw at your paintball after that point, you're not going to get any more velocity or distance out of that shot. The optimal dwell point for your gun is the point at which the marker stops venting air through the bolt right as the paintball hits the point I discussed earlier, resulting in zero wasted air per shot.
   

adoptedrage Sunday, July 15th, 2007 | 10:50 am PST
So are there very many available now? this marker looks awesome and ive been looking at the mini and PMR, but fusion looks cooler
   

Fusion_Noob Wednesday, July 18th, 2007 | 4:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by adoptedrage
So are there very many available now? this marker looks awesome and ive been looking at the mini and PMR, but fusion looks cooler

Hey yes there are a lot available now. Just to warn you though this marker is not very customizable but Dangerous Power has already begun talks with virtue and scenario dreams about a board. If you want something customizable then go with the PMR but my opinion is that the Fusion is the best marker for the best price.
   

c6969w Monday, September 3rd, 2007 | 1:14 pm PST
ya thens funny maybe on like 3 92/45 fills but YOU WIL NEVER GET 1500 ON A 45/45 FILL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
   

drummrkid90 Monday, September 24th, 2007 | 9:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by D Nasty


By the way, the price of a gun has nothing to do with the quality/performance of the marker. Although I am not a big fan of an ion, it gets crazy efficiency and guess what it's only $200.



where did you get or hear that from?

i have an ion with all the efficiency upgrades possile (firebolt, 360 qev) and i still only get 700-750 shots off a 30/30.
well i guess its not terrible, but definately not worth using as an example
although i do not doubt your review at all
the fusion actually sounds pretty sick and i wish i could try it out
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media