paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Keither's Review / Comments on Keither's Review / Comments on Keither's Review / Comments on Keither's Review

Comments on Keither's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Keither Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested43 of 335 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None... all i own are barrels that give other players a chance....
Marker Setup: A5 with Adapter and with an OPSGEAR 18" Fluted Sniper Barrel and a Flatline with a coiled remote, and a folding aluminium combat stock / M16 solid stock

(also bought the 18" air cooled machine gun shroud with it... also looks bad to the bone.)
Recommended
Paintballs:
none... this thing shouldnt banned from the sport
Strengths: Helps players that would otherwise suck actually get kills
Weaknesses: Knocks out the poor shlepps that are playing fair
Review: I used a friends APEX for some $hits and giggles when we were playing woodsball..... Ive never been more turned off to something in my life... with a little practice it was able to nail people that you normally wouldnt be able to get with a flatline or regular straight barrel.... this thing is retarded...

Not only have i been playing paintball since 1994, but Im also a gun owner... and the last time I checked my M1911A1 didnt shoot .45 rounds like curve balls... neither did my 8MM M48 Mauser.

A normal barrel has a downward arc... but thats because of gravity.. this barrel is made to go around corners and such on purpose... its cheating for godsake!!!

What ever happened to "hey theres a guy behind that bunker... you get his left flank ill get his right and you, harry... go up behind em." You know.. a certain thing that paintball was originally based around... something called TACTICS!!!!!

In history there have been a few attempts to make a bullet go around a corner straight from the gun by putting an angled attachment on the barrel.. but nothing like this.. this takes the cake as far as being unrealistic goes..

Now, dont get me wrong, Im not trying to offend anyone... but if I am its because you know what im saying is true...

this product is about as much of a cheap shot to paintball as the electronic marker was... theres no need for a gun that fires 20 rounds a second... not even an M60 can fire that fast... hell even those stupid little UZIs can pull that one off...

I hate to say it guys but anyone that has any talent in the game of paintball shouldnt need barrels that shoot around corners and guns that sound like bumble bees when they fire... if you actually have any skill whatsoever... you should be able to take a pump gun onto a field of NORMAL mechanical semis and still kick some A$$,,, not try to compensate for the fact that you suck by going out and spending thousands on some high tech gun that fires a million rounds a second or a barrel that shoots around corners... its called practice... vasily zaitsev didnt have a gun that sounded like a bee's wings when fired... he had a bolt action mosin nagant rifle and a scope... and if you know anything about snipers you know that you cant just look thru a scope and hit something ur aiming at... theres a lot more to it... and if he didnt land that one shot he was probably dead in his tracks...

the phrase one shot one kill is just that... not one pound of paint one kill... if you have any talent or skill whatsoever you shouldnt need all these fancy gadgets to make u look good....

what looks better?

a 5 guys walking off a field shaking their heads with no splatter on any of them and one shot in the center of each of their chests?
or
one guy walking off the field covered from head to toe in enough paint to coat a house?

do the math

AND NO!!
to all of you morons thinking im a sore loser thats probably been tagged 1000 times by one of these things, you're wrong... ive never actually been hit by a ball coming from one.. however... my entire team was nearly wiped out by 4 players using them... we had 2 guys on our team that were using them til they saw that and then switched back to their stock barrels just to prove a point. we still kicked their A$$es
.
Originally constant air systems were banned from field play because the "founding fathers" of the national paintball association or whatever the hell its called now a'days didnt want the sport to revolve around the gun... they wanted it to remain based on tactics.. not high tech gizmos... they would have cows if they saw this

You know, if you're gonna nail someone do it with dignity by flanking them or something tactical... not by camping in one spot with some cheap shot barrel
Conclusion: products like the APEX are ruining the sport... theyre every bit as bad as the player that wipes a direct hit off of his clothing and continues playing... what do the two have in common? cheating and poor sportsmanship!!!

Im giving this product a 1 because there are no options for negative numbers
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 2:40 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
ICU117 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 | 5:26 am PST
I agree about the curving around corners part of the apex, but I use it as a flatline, that isn't paint picky. Btw, the apex is illegal in speedball type tournaments. I don't need the curving capabilities, I've never even tried them. Yes, I can go out there with a pump and still kick, I've done it, also with an Ariakon Overlord. I just like the ability to either use it as an apex, or leave it as a stock barrel, for when my paint sucks. So, telling people that buy this barrel that they are cheaters isn't quite so, not all use the curve option, infact I'd be willing to bet that most use it as a flatline.
   

snipaz Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 | 5:43 am PST
Sorry to inform you Keither, but I think you may have increased the sales & demand of this product with your review...

It sure made me want to go out and atleast give it a try.

I'm not a hardcore baller. I'm the type of player that goes out to random forests with a dozen buddies and likes to pelt friends and just fool around. This would be GREAT!!!

I understand your point of view... however, THAT (curving balls) sounds fun!

One question for you though... IF they do make real guns that allow bullets to curve around corners, will you then like the APEX barrel system? lol... don't get mad, just answer the question :)

Cheers!
Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 5:44 am PST
   

matt_conti Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 | 7:47 am PST
haha! right on bro! my friend has one of these, he got it with his 98c as a deal and the 1st game we played he used the curve function, as soon as he saw how cheap it was he started to only use it to make it go further. and i agree with the second guy there, i think you just made more people want to buy this barrel. and yeah, i think people started to lose the idea of what paintball is soposed to be. a game where you use teamwork and strategie to win, not "everyone shoot as fast as they can and shoot around corners". well anyways i dont think it deserves a 1...give it at least a 4 lol cause it shoots really far!
Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 7:48 am PST
   

Donster 125 Thursday, July 27th, 2006 | 8:25 am PST
As much as i agree with you fully, unfortunately, this wasn't supposed to be a sight where you post your personal opinions, but rather a review on the product. In that case, since the product does everything it says it does, then it should really get a higher rating, not a low one just because its a disgrace to the game. Dont get me wrong, i not only think the barrel looks like $ |-| ! T, i agree that it ruins the sport and takes the tactics and skill out of the game, but this is supposed to review the product and if it did everything it said it did, then by default, you should give it a higher rating. Other then that, you are right, the APex is just a wannabe flatline with some cheat tricks!
   

Ronin A-5 Monday, July 31st, 2006 | 4:47 pm PST
All I have to say is lighten up. I mean you make it sound like paintball is real war. In real war, a small wooden crate or tree isn't going to stand up as cover to a machine gun, the M60. Snipers like VASILI Zaitsev could pick you off over half a mile away. You mentioned how bullets drop...they do, due to gravity. But bullets only start to drop inches where a paintball has already hit the ground. The Apex helps to make it more realistic. My point is REAL war is not fair. Its just not. I am all for sticking true to the game and I highly respect the pump players who mop up all the DM5's and such. But paintball has evolved since its conception. Markers fire faster, are more efficient, and are more accurate than those first guns used to mark up trees. And this new little piece of equipment allows curved shots. As an owner of the barrel i can say its pretty tough to pick people off with the curve because you have to be dead on. Its like getting the angle right for a long shot. It does require skill. Also just wanted to point out that nobody on this website cares how many firearms you own or shoot, this is a paintball gear review site. And you have not reviewed this product at all.
   

Wazzy Tuesday, August 1st, 2006 | 7:38 pm PST
Dispute:
Um, I think your review must be messed up. When a product is good, normally that isn't a weakness. you actually gave it a bad score because it was so good! Also, it doesn't take away tactics from paintball, it adds the fact the enemy has to make a plan that the barrel doesn't have an advantage, such as sending a camouflaged sniper to take you down or having to flank you. your review defeats the purpose of reviewing, and if you arn't gonna give a good product the good rating that it has earned by being the best or at least good, then don't lower its average score just because you are highly opinionated. also, 5 guys walking off a field shaking their heads with no splatter on any of them and one shot in the center of each of their chests looks alot better than one guy walking off the field covered from head to toe in enough paint to coat a house because it shows you only needed one skillful taken shot to take out each person, instead of just overkilling the poor guy and humiliating him for no reason, which only proves how much of an @$$hole you are.
   

rogue_trooper99 Friday, August 11th, 2006 | 9:19 am PST
the apex barrel is just plain cool!!! it enhances ur shot, curves and shoots farther!
I think that is pretty cool technologie and it gives u great options. i just think the barrel makes the game funner with this new enhance technologies. So if i where you i would change your (((1))) it to a 10 well diserved by this brilliant product.
   

Purple Monkey 0 Friday, August 11th, 2006 | 10:34 am PST
I wish they made an apex that only made shots go farther to lower the cost and that is the only thing I would use it for longer shots It would be an equal advantage to people with spyders (or other guns) that can't accept the flat line but I agree with the curve thing it is like cheating but before this I think the flat line was cheating this product levels the playing field for those without a tippmann.
   

m98sniper15 Friday, August 11th, 2006 | 7:41 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Wazzy
Um,. When a product is good, normally that isn't a weakness. you actually gave it a bad score because it was so good!


I agree
Last edited on Friday, August 11th, 2006 at 7:41 pm PST
   

Thyself Monday, August 14th, 2006 | 4:58 pm PST
you ARE a azzh@le...your review is just retarded. Go play golf or somthing...
   

daGeest Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006 | 3:52 pm PST
First, this is a horrendous review. To mark a product "1" that, as the author states, performs better than advertised is fairly ignorant. (not a flame, actually trying to use the term specifically).

Even when just reading the essay for itself, it is ALL over the place and makes little to no sense. On one hand, the position is taken that paintball should be as accurate a representation of warfare as possible (now, I will flame, that is stupid) but then there are arguments made that sprayin'-n-prayin' is cheap play. This, I agree with. However, anyone with military experience knows that "suppressing fire" is a legitimate and accepted tactic. "Suppressing fire" is fancy military speak for 'spray-n-pray'.

Lastly, there is the blurry eyed aspect of the purity of the game. I will be the first to admit that if I saw dweeb out on the field with this, I would make it my personal mission to hand his teeth to him. And, I feel confident that I could, all things equal and the only difference being him having this equipment. I am not one to wait behind a bunker while you range me. So curve all you want, by the time you get it to where I was, I have moved to your flank and lit up your back with a nice even coating of paint.

Which brings me to my true point. Who really cares? Tech is tech. And, we should have tech (especially for those like the author that...I think...feel the game should be military like) and it is a good thing. There is so little that can be done with the basic physics of a paintball setup, that things like this are the only natural evolution. And, it is up to the top-notch player to overcome the enemies tech. Yes, I could "boo-hoo, you shot around my bunker..." but I am of the personality type that I would instead swear...probably a lot...and then march back out on the field, keeping a close eye on fancy-barrel-boy so that I could show him how men play. There are few things better than having some boob with a $1500+ setup and just shaming him with my Icon-E. Tech doesn't make the game or the player. Of course, tech can give you an edge here or there, but if you simply rely on your tech, you are gonna get owned every time. Period.
   

Elite virus Thursday, August 31st, 2006 | 11:42 am PST
Have you actually tried to hit someone with the curve feature? Do you realize how much percicion and calculation you have to have use the curve feature properly? So what if it gives you an advantage in the game? It costs around a 100 bucks and it would suck if it didnt. And you comparing the curve feature of a paintball barrel to a real guns barrel is idiotic. The reason they havent made this for real guns is because it is impossible and unpractical. How are you suppose to curve a bullet around a corner? Bashing a product because its effective isnt cool.
   

Elite virus Thursday, August 31st, 2006 | 11:46 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ronin A-5
All I have to say is lighten up. I mean you make it sound like paintball is real war. In real war, a small wooden crate or tree isn't going to stand up as cover to a machine gun, the M60. Snipers like VASILI Zaitsev could pick you off over half a mile away. You mentioned how bullets drop...they do, due to gravity. But bullets only start to drop inches where a paintball has already hit the ground. The Apex helps to make it more realistic. My point is REAL war is not fair. Its just not. I am all for sticking true to the game and I highly respect the pump players who mop up all the DM5's and such. But paintball has evolved since its conception. Markers fire faster, are more efficient, and are more accurate than those first guns used to mark up trees. And this new little piece of equipment allows curved shots. As an owner of the barrel i can say its pretty tough to pick people off with the curve because you have to be dead on. Its like getting the angle right for a long shot. It does require skill. Also just wanted to point out that nobody on this website cares how many firearms you own or shoot, this is a paintball gear review site. And you have not reviewed this product at all.

I also agree with this too. I wouldnt really call a nuclear bomb that wipes out half a country "fair." Or ten tanks vs a squad of light infantry fair, I dont think the men in the tanks care that its cruel and not even at the moment, they care about the fact that its not them dying.
   

Hamster dude Saturday, September 2nd, 2006 | 2:33 am PST
In history there have been a few attempts to make a bullet go around a corner straight from the gun by putting an angled attachment on the barrel.. but nothing like this.. this takes the cake as far as being unrealistic goes..


Im sorry, unrealistic?? What part of paintball has ever been realistic? Is it the part where you have a round explode in the gun and not have it klll you? Or is it the times when you get shot in the face and live? When has paintball ever been about realism? The closest thing to realistic paintball is woodsball, and thats still paintball. You need to get over your self and realise that this sorta thing isn't gonna ruin paintball. If it dose anything at all its gonna make a new way a playing, and you'll have to make new tactics....boo frickin hoo. This review doesn't say anything about the product and how well it works or doesn't work, so just shut up.
   

pork wiz Friday, September 15th, 2006 | 1:05 pm PST
Right on. Cheapest thing I've ever come across. You did a good job of sticking it to "the man".

-Pork Wiz
   

NorthStarRaider Monday, September 25th, 2006 | 5:59 pm PST
I hate to break it to you, but as a gun owner, I hope you know that there have been MULTIPLE prototypes of rifles with curved barrels used in combat.

Secondly, if you are looking at this on a tactical level, I pray that you never join the military. Understand something...in combat...you kill however you need to in order to stay alive...PERIOD. There is no "cheating" in combat, end of story.

Go over to Iraq, have some hadjis shoot K98's at you and tell me that calling in a helo to blow them to bits is "cheating".
   

cold_heat_102 Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 | 4:16 pm PST
soo i have a syper pilot acs i just got should i get the apex and if so what else should i get
   

nOob_101 Thursday, September 28th, 2006 | 6:20 pm PST
this guys totally right the apex is cheating
   

Paintballprvate Saturday, September 30th, 2006 | 12:11 pm PST
I think that Keither is totally correct. Paintball is a sport that should be centered around skill, not bad a$$ barrels that make paintballs do flips, loops, curves, and juggle bowling pins. It is just cheating. Every single kill that I have ever gotten in a game was by pure teamwork and strategy. I would feel ashamed to go home and tell my friends that I owned the field with an APEX because to me, that means nothing. That simply means that I was too afraid to go around the backside of a building and kill the ba$tard from behind. Paintball is a game of teamwork, strategy, and skill. Not from ultra mega high tech sissy barrels.
   

Carnifex4u Monday, October 16th, 2006 | 3:27 pm PST
I say just keep the playing field even guys if one guy can shoot 20+ bps let em' only if everyone else can. if you wanna play pump with the semi's and other people then go ahead just keep the sport in a good rep and don't get in any fights (not saying anyone does)
   
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media