paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on adds' Review / Comments on adds' Review / Comments on adds' Review / Comments on adds' Review / Comments on adds' Review

Comments on adds' Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

adds Sunday, August 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion below.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 35 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder mr2, spyder electra, 98 custom, a5, bt-4 assault, and many others just testing
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 06 (eyes)
-14" teardrop barrel
-trinity clamping feed neck
-empire reloader b
-dye sticky grips
-15 degree assault block
-48ci/3000psi pure energy tank
-polished internals
Strengths: Easy to hit targets, durable, low maintenance
Weaknesses: Grips, handle, size and weight, trigger
Review: I tested this gun today briefly, because my friend was shopping of for his first gun and he wants a spyder. First he really liked mr2 and he had his heart set on one...than he wanted a pilot acs, eventually he got the mr2 but he tested this one out before he said no.

I think kingman over did this one...its big and heavy, and i could not imagine using it for speedball. its got great sight down the gun and easy to use...without a mask on. its durable and its a spyder so u know its low maintenance. The trigger is definetly not meant for walking, even though they say it is 25bps.
Conclusion: Its an ok gun if u like that sort of thing...few problems but its decent...im gonna give it a 7 for being average.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
splatter1 Thursday, August 10th, 2006 | 5:34 am PST
Speedball??? Why make a comment like that on a milsim marker, its obvious you totally missed the intended market of this product. I would pick this for speedball just like I would a RAP4 or A5... (sarcasm)

For what this marker is intended for, it hits the mark...

Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 5:37 am PST
   

adds Saturday, August 12th, 2006 | 5:55 pm PST
ok well actually these markers were designed for the speedball/woodsball player. thats why u can easily take off the stock for rec or speedball. i wasnt saying this marker is bad its a gun, it works, just something i wouldnt buy
   

splatter1 Sunday, August 13th, 2006 | 5:51 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by adds
ok well actually these markers were designed for the speedball/woodsball player. thats why u can easily take off the stock for rec or speedball. i wasnt saying this marker is bad its a gun, it works, just something i wouldnt buy

I understand where you are coming from, but their own website (Kingman) lists them as military style markers... I still doubt that speedballers were in mind when this was designed.

Kingman saw the tide shift (again) from speed to woods and released this to capture that revenue stream...

   

gouvier007 Sunday, August 13th, 2006 | 11:29 am PST
ummmm ya sooo like that review like .......SUCKED! Dude, "Adds" come on you didnt even say how the MARKER shot come figgin on.....newbs
   

Wolfguard6 Tuesday, September 19th, 2006 | 7:15 am PST
Yes, this is a milsim marker its a bit heavier then a normal marker used for speedball. I used it in both formats due to a theif who got my speedball marker.
Handles well in both bit odd looking on a speedball field, but it will make do. You can walk it if you play with the trigger set screws, and adjust them to your liking. It is capable of speedball, but I say its more at home in the woods as all milsim markers are.
FYI : I'm more of a woods player then speedball reason of being out of my element a buddy of mine asked me to go to a new field to try it out. I could be saying it works ok for speedball because I know the limits, and how to handle it. I just adpated for speedball use and was able to work with what I had. I did notice my buddy who is nothing but speedball have problems with it when he wanted to try it out in a match. Said it felt heavy for speedball, but he did say it was a nice marker.
   

Lock_And_Load Friday, September 29th, 2006 | 8:16 pm PST
Ok dude seriously you just ruined this review for those woodsball players that are looking for a good mil-sim marker. Speedball you have got to be kidding me are you a newb? three years of so called experience and this is your review my five year old cousin can come up with a better review. Do us a favor dont write anyore reviews.
   

adds Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 3:56 pm PST
ok clearly people has mis understood wat i meant by that, and in canada they have amateur speedball arenas and i see alot of tippmans there and such. so just lay off.
   

champion9876 Thursday, November 9th, 2006 | 4:40 pm PST
my A-5 works just fine for speedball, with the stock on it. If you can take the stock off, then the gun should work just fine in speedball. The only thing against spiders i have is (atleast the ones ive shot) the insane kick that they have as even though they are only paintball guns. More kick than any other paintball gun ive ever shot. But you guys are flaming him for saying the gun is average. What do you want him to say, its frickin angelic?
Last edited on Thursday, November 9th, 2006 at 4:41 pm PST
   

adds Friday, November 17th, 2006 | 6:46 pm PST
thank u champion for understanding
   

csmith1199 Monday, November 27th, 2006 | 6:44 pm PST
Did anybody catch that he said MR2 in his review? Is that just a spelling mistake, or is he really reviewing the wrong gun? Also, some (not all) of you people need to learn some proper grammar, and please use spell check, it'll make you a little more credible.
   

sheevemasta Thursday, November 30th, 2006 | 6:54 pm PST
Dispute:
The weaknesses described in this review are not true to the gun at all.
   

purelycanadian Monday, December 11th, 2006 | 9:01 am PST
I know everyone else said this as well: This is a Mil-sim/Scenario marker, NOT a speedball marker. So don't even mention speedball. If you play speedball, you shouldn't even be looking at the MR Series.

I've read the comments, and I know adds, that there are amateur speedball places. Well, not necessarily amateur, just public. I've used my 98 Custom in speedball before... but it's hardly any fun with it. You can play speedball with the MR3, yes, but it's not meant for that. They did not build it for a speedball field, hence it was not built small and light.

I won't bash your rating - 7 is still above average. But if you've barely tested it. You went with your friend, and shot it a couple times, and put it down. How can you right a review on that?
   

DeltaOne Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 | 8:46 am PST
I have a friend with an MR2 and his is so heavy I couldnt imagine using his for speedball, but that makes it perfect for Woods and Scenario play. If you took the stock off and put a remote on it, it might be useful but i'd still prefer a lighter gun.
   

adds Wednesday, February 28th, 2007 | 7:21 am PST
im just stating on wat i saw from the gun the fact that it is not a speedball gun is not reflected in the rating, yes 7 is above average and i did more than just test it and i wrote this review cause i didnt see many for it because it was new at the time and i wanted to help people as much as i can before they make a big investment
   

HellcatCommando Monday, April 2nd, 2007 | 10:38 pm PST
I hate to jump in, but adds, I can understand your concern. $300 is a lot of money to be spending without some proper research. I believe that your rating is fair, everyone does have a different experience. Me for instance, I love my MR3, wouldn't dream of using anything else on the scenario field. I have occasionally played speedball with it. I am not an avid speedballer so I don't walk the trigger like others. I consistently use the Eyes system and never chop a ball. I average less than 50 rounds per game (even when I feel like I used a whole hopper!). We got reviews here from every side of the spectrum. I don't wish to start another problem, but the gun was not really designed to see use on teh speedball field. Of course, they realised it would get there somehow (hence the e-trigger right?). I praise Spyder for making a spectacular gun and reccomend it for woodsball, scenario, or that noevelty gun you just want to shoot in the backyard! Its been great to me and it is unfortuneate that you did not get a better experience than most others did.
   

lpbpf Saturday, June 9th, 2007 | 5:10 pm PST
hey hellcat you seem to like the mr3 but I've heard it is hard to equip aftermarket barelles
is this true?
   

IONized_baller' Monday, July 23rd, 2007 | 6:07 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lpbpf
hey hellcat you seem to like the mr3 but I've heard it is hard to equip aftermarket barelles
is this true?

I know I'm not hellcat, but I just had to say this yes it is for some. It is hard to find some barrels for the gun, not because of the threading but because of the shroud. So if anyone whants to get a aftermarket barrel for this gun, go check out the barrel and make sure it fits in the marker.
   

eataturd117 Wednesday, March 5th, 2008 | 6:58 am PST
Dispute:
ok, you have to do more than pick the gun up to give it a review, and it's a MILSIM! it's supposed to be heavy, im sorry but your review is totaly misleading...
   

Holland Friday, January 16th, 2009 | 6:05 pm PST
ummmmm r u mentaly defecive? because this is an mr3 not mr2
   

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media