paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review

Comments on Greyzdme's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Greyzdme Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months89 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR2, Tippmans, Cheap basic Spyders, Ariakon Sim 5...
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR3, Q Loader, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 32 Degrees Remote, Green/Red Dot Scope and Laser on remote with taclight-Just for sexiness. 2 pics above with different attachments- white background.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definately...a great hopper. I'd heavily suggest a Q Loader, or at least a Halo B or Reloader B.
-Barrel upgrade would be good, but not completely necessary.
-Go for HPA if you have the cash.
Strengths: -Described Below-
Weaknesses: -Described Below-
Review: Let's cut to the point. Despite the less-than shiny reputation that seems to follow Spyders, Kingman got it right with the MR3. Here's the breakdown:

PROS
-It's designed as rugged as anything I've held. You don't have to treat it with kid-gloves.
-The Electronic Eye, under the right conditions, will not let you chop or dry fire.
-It has the potential to shoot ropes. (Semi-Auto w/ eye on, HPA, and a great hopper)
-It is suprisingly accurate with the stock barrel. Not perfect...but good.
-Also has a suprising range.
-It is very upgradeable, especially in the accessory department.
-Comes complete with adjustable stock.
-Has some wicked looks.
-Compatable with co2 and HPA.
-Cheap...compared to some other milsims.
-Veeery easy to strip and clean.

CONS
-The electronic eye is not available in Full-Auto. Huh? And there is no Burst mode at all (unlike the MR2).
-You will get many chops in the breach if your hopper can't keep up. I was using a Reloader B and still got a chop in the gun fairly regularly. Mostly shooting bursts of full auto ( no eyes).
-Plan to invest in this marker to bring it to its full potential. (it's worth it)
-A little heavy...but who cares?

All in all...
I gave up on the Reloader B, and mounted a Q loader ( easily, using the screw for attaching the stock), added a J&J 14' barrel ( Excellent inexpensive upgrade), switched to 48/3000 HPA with a remote line.....and now this marker plays as mean as it looks. I exclusively play semi-auto w/ eyes on, and I haven't chopped a ball (AT ALL) out of almost two big boxes of paint. I don't even miss the full-auto. My trigger is veeeery light. I'm shooting faster just walking the trigger anyway.. And now this milsim marker can shoot ropes! Amazing. (You also might want to lower the velocity a little...factory preset is a little high and might lead to barrel breaks).
These upgrades make all the difference. My setup is uber fast, very accurate, highly dependable, and very low-profile. It is definately worth the time and effort...and cash.


Conclusion: This marker is intimidating and it deserves to be. With the right setup, the MR3 is almost impossible to beat. It's worth every penny. Although it's not completely perfect, it's closer than anything else I've come across. So I'm giving it a 9 out of 10. I'm registering a 10/10 to make up the difference of someone else's review. While I respect him having an opinion...you gotta do more than pick the gun up to review it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 16th, 2007 at 4:44 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
The Larr Tuesday, September 26th, 2006 | 10:25 am PST
no Burst mode at all...???
   

Greyzdme Tuesday, September 26th, 2006 | 12:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by The Larr
no Burst mode at all...???

Nope. There ARE three firing modes. But unlike the MR2 (which has semi/3 round burst/ and full auto) the Mr3 has Semi (eyes on), semi (eyes off), and full auto (eyes off).
Kinda disappointing, not having burst And not having eyes in the full auto. But this is still an absolutely great milsim marker with the right setup.
   

The Larr Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 | 2:56 pm PST
aw man!! I was about to buy the Mr3,this is VERY disappointing...thanks for the heads up bro...i wonder why buy this gun since eyes are OFF in full auto and no burst.

guesse i'll check the Mr2 better. :/
   

Greyzdme Thursday, September 28th, 2006 | 9:45 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by The Larr
aw man!! I was about to buy the Mr3,this is VERY disappointing...thanks for the heads up bro...i wonder why buy this gun since eyes are OFF in full auto and no burst.

guesse i'll check the Mr2 better. :/


No problem. Just remember that the MR2 doesn't have eyes at all; and you can always burst in full auto (MR3)with a slightly longer trigger pull and release...no biggie. Those eyes help a good bit in the chopping department(Semi).
   

BigGunnedMan Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 | 5:59 pm PST
how fast can it really shoot
   

Greyzdme Wednesday, October 4th, 2006 | 3:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by BigGunnedMan
how fast can it really shoot

With HPA, a great hopper, eyes on, walkin the trigger...pretty fast. I'd say 17-20bps with good paint before you'll catch a break. I haven't had much luck with the full auto...tend to chop balls, or break in the barrel...but I'm not using top shelf paint. I've heard other folks say they haven't had this problem, though.
   

JamesUrban Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 7:11 pm PST
How exactly did you get the Q loader on? I tried but I couldn't- also do you know of any other stocks you can stick on there? One last question: what kind of paintballs do you use for the Q? email me if possible at visionp51@msn.com

Thankyou!
   

SpecialOps Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 4:58 pm PST
WOW!!!! I looked at your photos and they are tight and sexy (I must admit). And yes, I am a jealous of your MR3, though I just got mine. When it comes to paintball guns you know what to get and add on it seems. Good job!!!!
   

Greyzdme Saturday, October 21st, 2006 | 7:42 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by JamesUrban
How exactly did you get the Q loader on? I tried but I couldn't- also do you know of any other stocks you can stick on there? One last question: what kind of paintballs do you use for the Q? email me if possible at visionp51@msn.com

Thankyou!

I have the custom mount ( doesn't come in the basic package) for the qLoader to mount it along the side of the MR3. I only have it secured with one screw ( the screw for stock). It does the job-stays in place really well. only down side is you have to have the stock attached because the screw goes through the gun and directly screws into the stock. A quick trip to a hardware store to pick up a nut for the screw means you can mount the qLoader without the stock. I can't remember exactly the names, but there are 1 or 2 stocks out there that will fit the MR3. But you have to make sure that the stock doesn't interfere with the T-bar style cocking bolt. And...mostly just been using those basic "premium" paintballs. I don't have easy access to anything else. I did just get some Nitro Ducks- let you know how they work out. Have fun.
   

Greyzdme Saturday, October 21st, 2006 | 7:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SpecialOps
WOW!!!! I looked at your photos and they are tight and sexy (I must admit). And yes, I am a jealous of your MR3, though I just got mine. When it comes to paintball guns you know what to get and add on it seems. Good job!!!!

Thanks. Appreciate it.
Last edited on Saturday, October 21st, 2006 at 8:11 pm PST
   

sh4d0ww4rri0r Monday, October 23rd, 2006 | 8:53 am PST
Where are the photos?
   

Greyzdme Monday, October 23rd, 2006 | 2:23 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sh4d0ww4rri0r
Where are the photos?

Paintball Products/ Markers/ Low-End Electronic Markers/ Kingman Spyder MR3.
Click "View Photos". Pics 1/8 & 2/8.
Last edited on Saturday, November 4th, 2006 at 5:06 pm PST
   

The Larr Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 | 6:33 am PST
Greyzdme GREAT review...thx again!

I was looking at the Mr3 and got discouraged by the fact that this gun didnt have burst mode and eyes off on full auto,so I checked out the Mr2 and the Sim-4 elite but the Mr3 was my first choice so I read youre review like 100 times lol!

I will buy the Mr3 this spring since i dont want to look at it in a box all winter, I live in Canada.Youre setup looks perfect for me but I have a little question concerning the Qloader.

I want to buy the Qloader Tournament Kit (more pods) so if I understand you correctly, I still need the custom mount ?

Thx for youre time and patience! (sry for my spelling I'm a 42 yr old frenchy)
   

Greyzdme Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 | 9:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by The Larr
Greyzdme GREAT review...thx again!

I was looking at the Mr3 and got discouraged by the fact that this gun didnt have burst mode and eyes off on full auto,so I checked out the Mr2 and the Sim-4 elite but the Mr3 was my first choice so I read youre review like 100 times lol!

I will buy the Mr3 this spring since i dont want to look at it in a box all winter, I live in Canada.Youre setup looks perfect for me but I have a little question concerning the Qloader.

I want to buy the Qloader Tournament Kit (more pods) so if I understand you correctly, I still need the custom mount ?

Thx for youre time and patience! (sry for my spelling I'm a 42 yr old frenchy)


No worries. So, yeah, the best (and almost only) way to get the Q Loader mounted on the MR3 is to mount it going down the side. All you need is the L-shaped mounting bracket. Truthfully, I'm not sure now, whether it comes in the basic package or not. I bought my QLoader slightly used off of Ebay and the guy sent me all kinds of extra stuff. So maybe it comes with the basic package...I'm not sure. I checked the QLoader site for info, but couldn't find out for you.
Don't be too discouraged about the fact the MR3 doesn't have burst mode. It'd be nice, but you can burst in longer full-auto trigger pulls ( no eyes, though). Just work on walking that trigger in semi-auto, and you'll clean up. And, who knows...by spring they might have a eyes-on burst and full auto MR4. Never know. If not, check with me, trying to start a family, if it works out...I'll be selling my set up for fatherhood. Thanks for the question.
   

The Larr Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 | 6:23 am PST
Allright man...thx again and good luck with the family!
   

mr2man24 Wednesday, November 29th, 2006 | 6:38 am PST
i have a question about the full auto do you think the auto on the mr2 is better cause im getting saturday and my friend just got the three butt im reall lookin for the auot feature what should i do
   

Greyzdme Sunday, December 3rd, 2006 | 11:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by mr2man24
i have a question about the full auto do you think the auto on the mr2 is better cause im getting saturday and my friend just got the three butt im reall lookin for the auot feature what should i do

-Sorry, I might be too late responding, but when it comes down to it, the full-auto on the MR2 and MR3 should be exactly the same. On both models, the full-auto rate of fire is virtually the same...and neither one has eyes on in full auto. Main difference is that the MR3 has the break beam eyes in semi-auto and DOES NOT have 3-round burst. Personally, I can live without the burst in favor of the eyes. It helps alot with breach breaks.
   

purelycanadian Monday, December 11th, 2006 | 8:48 am PST
Hey, I've got a question for you Greyzdme. Have you used an SP-8? I've been going back and forth trying to decide which to purchase come next season. If you know, can you give me a heads up on which you thinks performs better? Also, how well does the MR3 perform with CO2?

Good review too, by the way.
   

Greyzdme Tuesday, December 12th, 2006 | 7:44 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by purelycanadian
Hey, I've got a question for you Greyzdme. Have you used an SP-8? I've been going back and forth trying to decide which to purchase come next season. If you know, can you give me a heads up on which you thinks performs better? Also, how well does the MR3 perform with CO2?

Good review too, by the way.


-No, sorry, I haven't tried out the SP8. I hear it performs well, but is difficult to manuever. But again, I've never tried it. I'd highly recommend HPA for the MR3 if you're a fast shooter. If you pick your shots...CO2 should be fine. HPA just keeps everything moving smoothly.
   

purelycanadian Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 | 7:57 am PST
Thanks for the info. You said you mounted a Q Loader, where did you mount it? I'm not sure where I'd mount it on the MR3 where it wouldn't get in the way of handling or aiming.
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media