paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review / Comments on Greyzdme's Review

Comments on Greyzdme's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

Greyzdme Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months89 of 93 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
MR2, Tippmans, Cheap basic Spyders, Ariakon Sim 5...
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder MR3, Q Loader, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel, 32 Degrees Remote, Green/Red Dot Scope and Laser on remote with taclight-Just for sexiness. 2 pics above with different attachments- white background.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Definately...a great hopper. I'd heavily suggest a Q Loader, or at least a Halo B or Reloader B.
-Barrel upgrade would be good, but not completely necessary.
-Go for HPA if you have the cash.
Strengths: -Described Below-
Weaknesses: -Described Below-
Review: Let's cut to the point. Despite the less-than shiny reputation that seems to follow Spyders, Kingman got it right with the MR3. Here's the breakdown:

PROS
-It's designed as rugged as anything I've held. You don't have to treat it with kid-gloves.
-The Electronic Eye, under the right conditions, will not let you chop or dry fire.
-It has the potential to shoot ropes. (Semi-Auto w/ eye on, HPA, and a great hopper)
-It is suprisingly accurate with the stock barrel. Not perfect...but good.
-Also has a suprising range.
-It is very upgradeable, especially in the accessory department.
-Comes complete with adjustable stock.
-Has some wicked looks.
-Compatable with co2 and HPA.
-Cheap...compared to some other milsims.
-Veeery easy to strip and clean.

CONS
-The electronic eye is not available in Full-Auto. Huh? And there is no Burst mode at all (unlike the MR2).
-You will get many chops in the breach if your hopper can't keep up. I was using a Reloader B and still got a chop in the gun fairly regularly. Mostly shooting bursts of full auto ( no eyes).
-Plan to invest in this marker to bring it to its full potential. (it's worth it)
-A little heavy...but who cares?

All in all...
I gave up on the Reloader B, and mounted a Q loader ( easily, using the screw for attaching the stock), added a J&J 14' barrel ( Excellent inexpensive upgrade), switched to 48/3000 HPA with a remote line.....and now this marker plays as mean as it looks. I exclusively play semi-auto w/ eyes on, and I haven't chopped a ball (AT ALL) out of almost two big boxes of paint. I don't even miss the full-auto. My trigger is veeeery light. I'm shooting faster just walking the trigger anyway.. And now this milsim marker can shoot ropes! Amazing. (You also might want to lower the velocity a little...factory preset is a little high and might lead to barrel breaks).
These upgrades make all the difference. My setup is uber fast, very accurate, highly dependable, and very low-profile. It is definately worth the time and effort...and cash.


Conclusion: This marker is intimidating and it deserves to be. With the right setup, the MR3 is almost impossible to beat. It's worth every penny. Although it's not completely perfect, it's closer than anything else I've come across. So I'm giving it a 9 out of 10. I'm registering a 10/10 to make up the difference of someone else's review. While I respect him having an opinion...you gotta do more than pick the gun up to review it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 16th, 2007 at 4:44 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Greyzdme Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 | 11:02 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by purelycanadian
Thanks for the info. You said you mounted a Q Loader, where did you mount it? I'm not sure where I'd mount it on the MR3 where it wouldn't get in the way of handling or aiming.

There's an L-shaped bracket that connects the reciever of the pods to the side of the MR3...making the qloader run down the side of the marker. The screw that is used to attach the stock can be used to attach the qloader. But because the screw doesn't actually screw into the gun (it passes through the wall of the gun and screws directly into the stock) you have to have the stock attached to mount the qloader....unless...
you make a run to your local hardware store and pick up a nut for the screw so it can be attached without the stock. Since there's only one screw, you have to really tighten it...but it works perfectly. I never had a problem with it loosening at all. But this only works on the right sideof the gun...so if you're a left handed shooter, it may be problematic. Hope this helps in your decision. Also just noticed you're Canadian, that's relevant to that co2 or hpa question you asked. If you're playing in the cold, definately go for the hpa...you'll have a much easier time all around...it's worth it.
   

Adoboy Friday, January 5th, 2007 | 4:11 pm PST
I recently bought a mr3 and a Qloader but I cannot seem to mount it the way you did. could you plz post a picture of how you did it? btw nice stup

EDIT: I tried to go by your description of how you did it but the T-bar cocking handle got it the way of the bracket

EDIT2: Nvm, i got it on there, thanks for the idea
Last edited on Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 at 11:56 pm PST
   

Scipio Friday, February 2nd, 2007 | 6:43 pm PST
The QLoader site recommends using the SP8 mod kit for the MR Series. This link shows how to mount it to an SP8 but it should be similar for the MR3: http://tinyurl.com/yywayb
   

CaNaDiAn_HiCk Wednesday, April 18th, 2007 | 2:28 pm PST
Hey, great review, i was just wondering if this is a good gun to play back/ or sniper with?
   

Greyzdme Thursday, April 19th, 2007 | 8:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CaNaDiAn_HiCk
Hey, great review, i was just wondering if this is a good gun to play back/ or sniper with?

Thanks. Well, this setup is a little heavy for speedball...so i don't know if it will work well for playing back. You can strip it down to the basics and take a couple of pounds off of it, though. And as far as sniping, it is pretty loud...might make it difficult to stay hidden. But other than the noise, this thing has pretty good range and accuracy. If you're a on-the-move sniper and change locations steadily, it should be great for you.
   

kyle_moua Tuesday, April 24th, 2007 | 9:11 am PST
i play sniper with this gun and it's really nice. I got a BSA red dot scope and all you have to do is make sure the balls are at least hitting inside the scope area or definetly hitting the red dot. You can scale everything down and really make the BSA RDS and the MR3 a dealy combo. and if you want get a j&j ceramic barrel with good proting to quiet the mr3 down. and thats all you really need to play sniper. i made a ghetto ghilley suit for my gun by taking a old camo sweater and sewing pieces for the barrel, stock, and red dot scope. all in all this gun us sweet...i'll try to post a picture later on...
   

angry farmer Thursday, May 10th, 2007 | 9:27 am PST
hey, you seen to be relly experienced if you can help me that would be great i was just wondering if a dye ultra light barrel can fit on the mr3. i bought the barrel for my spyder fenix and it fits on there just fine. i was just wondering this because i wanna buy a mr3 and am just seeing if i need to buy a new barrel or if i can keep the same 1.

thanks
-angry farmer
Last edited on Thursday, May 10th, 2007 at 9:29 am PST
   

Greyzdme Saturday, May 12th, 2007 | 11:51 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by angry farmer
hey, you seen to be relly experienced if you can help me that would be great i was just wondering if a dye ultra light barrel can fit on the mr3. i bought the barrel for my spyder fenix and it fits on there just fine. i was just wondering this because i wanna buy a mr3 and am just seeing if i need to buy a new barrel or if i can keep the same 1.

thanks
-angry farmer

The ultralite is a great barrel, I understand why you'd want to keep it. Since yours has a spyder thread and fits your fenix, it will fit the mr3. Only problem is the barrel shroud. I'm not sure if the ultralite will fit through it. Good news is: The mr3's barrel shroud can be easily removed with a couple of screws...then you can use any spyder-threaded barrel you want. Doing that also takes some useless weight off of your marker...though it looks a little funny. Not to say the ultralite won't fit the shroud...just that I don't know personally. I can say that the J&J ceramic barrel fits in the shroud..and that barrel works better than fine. Hope this helps, farmer, and good luck.
   

angry farmer Tuesday, May 15th, 2007 | 12:32 pm PST
hey, again
well i sold my spyder fenix and i got a fair amount of money. i was wondering if i should buy the mr3 or the mr2. so because you have used both, it would be mighty appreshiated if you would suggest to me which one is better in your opinion.

thanks
-angry farmer
   

Greyzdme Sunday, May 20th, 2007 | 3:22 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by angry farmer
hey, again
well i sold my spyder fenix and i got a fair amount of money. i was wondering if i should buy the mr3 or the mr2. so because you have used both, it would be mighty appreshiated if you would suggest to me which one is better in your opinion.

thanks
-angry farmer


I would go with the MR3, personally. I love the break-beam eye...I had problems with breach breaks with the MR2. Yeah, the MR3 doesn't have a burst firing option like the MR2, but having the eyes is a better trade, in my opinion.
   

angry farmer Friday, June 8th, 2007 | 7:40 am PST
hey i bought a mr2 and i put it on auto. i shot about 10 shots off on full auto and than i had to kock it agen. this problem keept on happing. do u know what is rong????

thanks
   

lpbpf Sunday, June 10th, 2007 | 5:47 pm PST
hey your gun looks great and the reveiw is awesome but about how much did you spend to get the stock MR3 to what you have today
   

lpbpf Monday, June 11th, 2007 | 6:24 pm PST
Greyzdme you had a great review bu I've heard that it is difficult to find aftermarket barrels that will fit
is this true and if so what barrels do fit
   

Greyzdme Saturday, July 21st, 2007 | 5:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by angry farmer
hey i bought a mr2 and i put it on auto. i shot about 10 shots off on full auto and than i had to kock it agen. this problem keept on happing. do u know what is rong????

thanks


Every time you get a misfire (i.e a ball doesn't load) this will happen. You were firing on full auto and your hopper couldn't keep up. You'll need a real fast hopper for this marker...at least a halo or reloader b, but preferably a q-loader. Hope this helps.
   

Greyzdme Saturday, July 21st, 2007 | 5:58 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lpbpf
hey your gun looks great and the reveiw is awesome but about how much did you spend to get the stock MR3 to what you have today


Well, got everything on ebay. Paid 200 for the MR3...75 for the Qloader.(used)...55 for three rails and mounts, ... 15 for the kickin led taclight....bout 20 for the pressure switch laser sight.... bout 40 for the red/green dot scope...35 for the j&j barrel....40 for a good remote line...and bout a 100 for the HPA.
   

Greyzdme Saturday, July 21st, 2007 | 6:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by lpbpf
Greyzdme you had a great review bu I've heard that it is difficult to find aftermarket barrels that will fit
is this true and if so what barrels do fit


Don't know if it's too hard to find barrels to fit. I know the J&J ceramic barrels fit fine as would any barrel that comes out of the threads straight for about 4 inches.. The reason all barrels may not fit is because of a shroud around the base of the barrel. Good news, though...the shroud is removable with a couple of screws. Then, any spyder-thread barrel will fit....though it may look a little strange. But I know some guys that prefer that look. different strokes....
Last edited on Wednesday, July 25th, 2007 at 12:57 pm PST
   

SpyderCat007 Monday, November 19th, 2007 | 2:31 pm PST
Hey, i was just wondering, i was looking at a MR2 and a MR3, which one do you think is a better gun, I found a site where there only about 30 dollars difference between the two. I don't want to spend a fourtune upgrading them. I also want to know if i'd have to use a remote because i'd rather just use a 12 oz. Thanks greyzdme
   

SpyderCat007 Monday, November 19th, 2007 | 2:46 pm PST
i was looking around abit more and i just wanted to add to my last post. As a stock gun with a stock 200 round loader, which would be a better gun the MR2 or the MR3, i'm not a heavy paintball but i like to go up at the cottage and with friends, i'm not lloking to spend to much but want a gun that will last me forever. I'm very undisive on which gun many be better for me. I have a ton of questions that i would love if you could answer for me if you don't mind:
Would i have to use a remote or could i use a 12 Oz CO2?
would i also have to get a better hopper, i time i might but would it be ok without?
How heavy are the guns comparitively?

I've found the MR3 for 199 and the MR2 for 169 so there is not a great deal different, but i'm 16 and if the MR3 needs to many upgrades to work i might not beable to get right away and my endup being a waste, I can't decide so if you could please ead me in the right direction that would be abmazing reply back as soon as possible Thanks greyzdme
   

Greyzdme Saturday, December 1st, 2007 | 10:50 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SpyderCat007
i was looking around abit more and i just wanted to add to my last post. As a stock gun with a stock 200 round loader, which would be a better gun the MR2 or the MR3, i'm not a heavy paintball but i like to go up at the cottage and with friends, i'm not lloking to spend to much but want a gun that will last me forever. I'm very undisive on which gun many be better for me. I have a ton of questions that i would love if you could answer for me if you don't mind:
Would i have to use a remote or could i use a 12 Oz CO2?
would i also have to get a better hopper, i time i might but would it be ok without?
How heavy are the guns comparitively?

I've found the MR3 for 199 and the MR2 for 169 so there is not a great deal different, but i'm 16 and if the MR3 needs to many upgrades to work i might not beable to get right away and my endup being a waste, I can't decide so if you could please ead me in the right direction that would be abmazing reply back as soon as possible Thanks greyzdme


They're both good markers,SC,
First question: CO2 is fine-Only reason I suggest HPA is that when CO2 is used for rapid fire it becomes much colder...causing your distance and accuracy to vary, so it kinda blows any consistency. But that goes for any marker. You might want to think about investing $50 on a remote with a slide check-you can use them for CO2 as well. It gives a bit of distance for the gas to travel before it gets to your marker, giving you a better shot at not freezing over. Plus it'll take alot of unnecessary weight off your marker.
Question 2: A better hopper would be a big plus if you plan on shooting more than about 8 bps. Gravity hoppers just can't keep up with a full auto setting or anyone that can walk the trigger even at a mediocre level. But if it's a game of point and shoot, just for fun...you'll be ok for a minute. Just don't expect to shoot that thing on full auto without alot of misfires and breaks.
And lastly: Compared to most other markers, The MR series are kinda heavy. You won't notice at first...but wait till you're about an hour into a game. But you get used to that too.
And overall: The MR2 and MR3 are both great markers, but they do need some upgrades to make them burn. Since you're not a heavy baller, and cash is kinda an issue, I really would think about going a different direction. For the time being, check out the spyder rodeo, or a tippman. My friends and I played those in my early days, and they work great and don't need many, if any, upgrades to have a good time. Trust me, a shot from these hurts just as bad as a shot from an MR3.
Good luck, SpyderCat.
   

camo14 Monday, June 9th, 2008 | 12:58 pm PST
How does the MR3 add up to the A-5 as a scenerio gun?
   
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media