paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on madcatmk3's Review / Comments on madcatmk3's Review / Comments on madcatmk3's Review / Comments on madcatmk3's Review / Comments on madcatmk3's Review

Comments on madcatmk3's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

madcatmk3 Monday, September 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested13 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing thats similar.
Marker Setup: Freestyle 04 gen2 (NOX) STD LPR w/ barrel kit (3 bores), freak kit SS, Nitroduck 68cu 4500psi, empire realoder B, DYe hyper 2.
Ion w/ SP feedneck, CP composite trigger, Dye hyper 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel?
Strengths: Cheap, entry level.
Weaknesses: Extemly large, very big grip, Bulky and large profile.
Review: Okay, let me start off this way since I now everyones going to flame me. Yes I did use it someone at my field had one. Don't know how, he did know the guy who owns action village however.
Okay so when I saw this thing it looked pretty cool, brightly colored plastic, but the trigger looked far forward, but infact it's an illusion and you can actuly walk a few balls per second. But the gun it'self is big, especially since I was trying out someones DM6 beside it. The grip is also very large and hard to get my hand around, the kid using it had a much bigger hand then me however.
Conclusion: This seems to me to be a bigginers gun but tippman really screwed up in making it so big, its going to be hard for little kids to use. WHich is why I'm giving it a average rating. I wasn't overly impressed and I think they don't have a target audiance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
matts Wednesday, September 27th, 2006 | 4:47 pm PST
umm, if i saw this gun at a field, i would think it was some retard who stole his dads drill or something, it looks like a toy/power tool , probably a piece o crap
   

PBguru4sho Thursday, September 28th, 2006 | 12:33 am PST
I agree! It looks like a drill/water gun! Tippmann sucks so much! I just want ot find their designer and beat the crap out of him! What are they thinking! Are they completley blind to what cool guns look like? I wrote them several years ago begging them to make a tournament worthy gun, telling them to make it low profile, fast, no-kick, etc. But its like they are purposly trying to suck. Tippmann, I have only one thing to say to you: I'm dissapoited in you.

quote:
Originally posted by matts
umm, if i saw this gun at a field, i would think it was some retard who stole his dads drill or something, it looks like a toy/power tool , probably a piece o crap
   

SilverStrike Friday, September 29th, 2006 | 7:53 pm PST
yeah i saw it today at walmart, and i was surprised at how big it really was, i guess its not the gun for woodsball, it might be good for speedball, but madcat, howd it shoot?

btw: i was really looking forward to the gun for it being quite functional, but once i saw how big it was, im prolly going to buy a Spyder Pilot ACS >.>
   

coshaben Saturday, September 30th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SilverStrike
yeah i saw it today at walmart, and i was surprised at how big it really was, i guess its not the gun for woodsball, it might be good for speedball, but madcat, howd it shoot?

btw: i was really looking forward to the gun for it being quite functional, but once i saw how big it was, im prolly going to buy a Spyder Pilot ACS >.>


I saw a kid shoot it and it has a lot of kick, plus isn't that fast and could be more accurate, and im realllllly suprised in how big it is
   

ndfreak2006 Sunday, October 1st, 2006 | 6:01 pm PST
Is it really that bad?
   

marmot Monday, October 2nd, 2006 | 7:44 pm PST
I'm suspicious....

Look at the back and you'll recognize the old Custom 98 bolt retractor. Looking at the length, hmm, yes, it looks the same length as the Tippy 98. Hey! That's odd...the velocity adjuster is the same place as the Custom 98.....and that barrel is ported in the same, suspiciously sucky way Tippy's are ported.....

Can anyone say "recycled, unsellable 98 internals meet cheap Chinese molded plastic"? I hope someone who owns a 98 and this marker will open one up and tell us the truth.....but then again....who would fess-up to owning this marker?

I'm a fan of the 98C at $139, because it doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. I guess Mr Tippmann is getting a mid-life crisis: unfortunately, the result is a marker that has the same cred as a arthritic 85-year-old in Spandex exercise clothes.....he he...... :0)
Last edited on Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 at 4:17 am PST
   

madcatmk3 Tuesday, October 3rd, 2006 | 1:07 pm PST
"but madcat, howd it shoot"
Not bad to be honest but it was way to big for me. Save up a lot of money and just buy yourself an invert mini.
   

ndfreak2006 Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 4:16 pm PST
The one problem I see is It comes with a gravity hopper.
   

~CJW~ Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 3:17 pm PST
well alot of guns do, but you can buy it separately with out a hopper, and i dont see how thats a problem regarding this big power drill or "paintball gun" as tippmann calls it.
   

westwrestlngguy Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 6:02 pm PST
The only reason this gun has 98 internals is because the 98 series is/was Tippmanns greatest achievement (besides the flatline and ACT). I think this is going to be a great gun for noobs. And yes, this is not a Shocker or Angel or Cocker, so don't expect ropes from this thing. I don't understand how so many of you have issues with the gun that are completly baseless or irrelevant.
   

marmot Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 4:25 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by westwrestlngguy
I don't understand how so many of you have issues with the gun that are completly baseless or irrelevant.
Hmm, baseless? So you want to pay $50 more for something that is really a 98 in an even cheaper plastic body and that looks like my neighbor's Craftsman electric drill on steroids?

Granted it has a "drop forward" (whoo hoo!), and an "expansion chamber" (yeee haa!), but it can't take all those nice mods like the 98 can (especially not the Flatline).

Tippmann remind me of some of the older American car manufacturers who just can't compete with the Japs anymore without rebadging their cars (Ford with their Mazda SUVs), or being bought out by Germans (the Chrysler 300 uses a Merc body pan).

Or that just can't compete period (Pontiac). :( My god, they don't even compete with themselves!

Nothing would give me greater pleasure than to see Tippmann truly do something innovative again, but I guess they don't have the chops.
   

westwrestlngguy Friday, October 13th, 2006 | 2:26 pm PST
And why can't it take the flatline? I see no reason why it can't. And since the intenals are very similat to the 98's, several mods CAN be transfered between the two. And this gun come with a e-grip (I'm not an electro fan myself, but some people dig it), the standard 98 doesn't. And as far as the car manufacturers go... wtf? When did we start talking about cars in a paintball product review?
   

CDN_BAiT Wednesday, October 18th, 2006 | 8:06 am PST
I'm with westwrestlngguy on this one. Remember Tippmann's reputation. They might just be smarter than we think. Certainly, considering the features of this marker, it is dollar-for-dollar a better buy than *most* newbie guns. I'm all woodsball myself for the last 5 years. I've used BE, Icon, Spyders, Piranhas, and Tippy's. My preference by far is Tippmann and by default BT Products. I just bought this gun 'cause I'm just so curious. It doesn't seem that much bigger than my A5 or BT-4. The molding gives it a slightly more bulky look, but it doesn't really change its overall profile. I was impressed with how many screws they used to hold it all together. Why impressed? Plastics, even high density plastics, have more flex than metal. Having more screws in it should prevent premature wear and reduce stress points throughout. More screws in what appear tp be all the right places can also help to improve the action of seals - this has been the culprit in Tippys' CO2 inefficiency. It's gonna take me awhile to really run this thing through its paces, but it's already made a good first impression on me. I'll post a full review once the verdict is in for me.
   

MetalHead pb Saturday, October 21st, 2006 | 8:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by marmot
I'm suspicious....

Look at the back and you'll recognize the old Custom 98 bolt retractor. Looking at the length, hmm, yes, it looks the same length as the Tippy 98. Hey! That's odd...the velocity adjuster is the same place as the Custom 98.....and that barrel is ported in the same, suspiciously sucky way Tippy's are ported.....

Can anyone say "recycled, unsellable 98 internals meet cheap Chinese molded plastic"? I hope someone who owns a 98 and this marker will open one up and tell us the truth.....but then again....who would fess-up to owning this marker?

I'm a fan of the 98C at $139, because it doesn't pretend to be something it isn't. I guess Mr Tippmann is getting a mid-life crisis: unfortunately, the result is a marker that has the same cred as a arthritic 85-year-old in Spandex exercise clothes.....he he...... :0)


Ben Tippmann(the original owner of Tippmann) left or was fired or some thing so its under a new ownership.Ben Tippmann started a new Company, BT(Ben Tippmann)the new owner of Tippmann needed to renew the pat. on the 98 and a-5 but didn't do it in time or something so Ben made the BT line of markers a mix of the 98 and a-5, look at them. that's prob why they made this weird new marker because its new people.

This is what I have heard please correct me if i am wrong
   

tippyman7 Sunday, October 22nd, 2006 | 6:10 pm PST
ya i agree with MetalHead pb the only good thing out of tippmann recently is teh act system. they are cranking out new innovative products. the only reason tippmann WAS good was because it had a good team of designers, and a good owner. just look at the 20th marker, it shows how they cant come up with anything new and are losing thier customers. If the they dont get thier act together forget them and BT will be the new tippman the decade.
   

westwrestlngguy Wednesday, November 8th, 2006 | 4:20 pm PST
Wow, I feel bad because I completly forgot about this too... Tippmann was this first company to make a propane power paintball gun that can get over 50,000 shots per tank (Its the C-3 if you don't belive me. Look it up.). They also are putting out another new very customizable mil-sim marker called the X-7, so I wouldn't say that Tippmann needs to get there act togetehr, they seem to be doing just fine to me.
   

marmot Thursday, November 9th, 2006 | 3:37 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by westwrestlngguy
Wow, I feel bad because I completely forgot about this too... Tippmann was this first company to make a propane power paintball gun that can get over 50,000 shots per tank (Its the C-3 if you don't believe me. Look it up.). They also are putting out another new very customizable mil-sim marker called the X-7, so I wouldn't say that Tippmann needs to get there act togetehr, they seem to be doing just fine to me.
Hmm....

So, while I would agree Propane is an innovative approach, the result is a clunky pump action machine that can only manage 3 bps. Again, the idea is good, but the execution shows little R&D investment. If you're going to develop a Propane marker, why not start with engineering more akin to a two-stroke engine, which solves the problem of rapid fire/cycling? But hey, I'm not an engineer, just asking the question.... I believe the pump limitation is necessary to bring in air to complete the combustion mixture and that a higher rate of fire would cause problems with condensation or overheating.

I'm also dubious of the value of the 50,000 shots: sure, it works out cheaper, but most well organized scenario games (Oklahoma D-Day) have refill stations.

And please, don't talk about the X7: it is basically a magnesium alloy A-5 that you can customize with SpecialOpsPaintball parts. Sure, it come stock with a magazine (woo-hoo!) and an actually useful foregrip with Picatinny rails, but 329 fricking bucks for a mech marker!!!!!! I can get an Ion for $200!

In fact, I can probably get an A-5 with a comparable foregrip and mag for less....let me see....log-on to Opsgear.com.....hmm.....yes, I can! Yeah, big innovation...... You can still get a bigger range of parts for the A-5 than you can for the X-7, so this seems like a cynical deal with SpecialOpsPaintball to lock out other competing parts makers.

Compare this to what Angel, PlanetEclipse, Smart Parts and even Spyder are doing, and sorry, I don't think you can say they are competing on technology. Look at Smart Parts and I defy you to say they give similar bang for the buck.

BTW, we talk about cars to show parallels in other industries: I learned yesterday that Toyota is poised to take over from General Motors as the world's biggest car maker. Also, unlike GM, they are vastly profitable. They have done this because they invested more in R&D and provide better value for money and far greater innovation than GM. Sound familiar? You may think it irrelevant, but I think it is a shame that one American company cannot learn from the mistakes of others.
Last edited on Thursday, November 9th, 2006 at 4:07 am PST
   

madcatmk3 Sunday, November 12th, 2006 | 10:34 am PST
tippmans are fine guns for begginers as they dont need mantinace. THe one thing that really got me about the gun was only the sheer size of the grip not the preformance. Im one of those people who and ultralite fits perfect so I have small hands.
   

DeltaOne Thursday, December 21st, 2006 | 8:55 am PST
What is wrong with having a gun that looks like a drill, all tourney style markers look like crap too. My advice get something that is half realistic, you don't see special forces walking around with guns that look like that.
   

Little Jon Saturday, December 23rd, 2006 | 2:03 pm PST
Hey marmot.....The Tippmann C-3 does 4 Balls Per Second. Even if it's 'only' 5,000 shots you get, that's still a nice increase over current technologies. The X-7 has more than just the foregrip. And there's nothing wrong with mechanical markers. They just aren't as fast. You only one ball to burst on someone to get them out. Not 30.........
   
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media