paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CareBear-Killer Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month92 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, tippman A5, smart parts Ion, Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
Blue Evo2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far. Stock, this marker shoots excellent.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, very quick, easy to use. Eyes can be turned off if needed.
Weaknesses: limited firing modes. Grip not sitting flush at first. Not all spyder barrels fit.
Review: I fired this marker fresh out of the box, so everything was stock. This gun is very awsome and easy to use. The grip did not sit flush when the battery was first installed. After moving the wires around a little and tightly holding the grip the grip fits much better and much more flush. The firing modes are also limited to 3round burst and Semi-auto. There is however, a tournament lock to make the marker tourny legal. The only other downside is that other spyder-threaded barrels do not fit past the VS3's body. I tried a 14" CP barrel and the stock electra barrel, mainly just to see if they fit. The stock barrel has the same thread size, however the barrel is just a few milimeters slimmer than other spyder threaded barrels.

The marker is pretty accurate right out of the box. It is rather consistant as well. I did not notice any kick when firing the gun, even at full speed. This marker was a blast to shoot. I did not run in to any re-cocking issues or ball chops. The eyes worked flawlessly and kept the paint 'alive'. The strenths of this marker far out-weigh the weaknesses. Even then, i'm sure upgrades will be available shortly for this marker.
Conclusion: I would reccemend this marker to anyone looking to buy. I highly enjoyed shooting this thing. It met and exceeded my expectations of its operation for being fully stock. There are few markers out there that do not need many, if any upgrades to be an awsome marker. I believe this is one of those markers.

The barrel size is not a big deal, and neither is the grip not sitting flush. moving the wires a little bit more will clear that problem. Everything else on this marker is just awsome. The bolt is easily removed as well. Just pull up on the locking pin and the bolt slides right out the back. This marker is simple to use, and is a blast to shoot. This marker definitly allows you to fly through some paint. After you shoot this marker, you'll probably find yourself asking "Is this really a kingman?"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 9th, 2006 at 8:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
poopman9201 Friday, October 6th, 2006 | 9:10 pm PST
YAY keep the reviews coming, i gotta know if this is the first ion killer!
   

th3_0n3 Friday, October 6th, 2006 | 9:38 pm PST
yeah ill bet it will be a really good competitor
   

challes2000 Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 5:45 am PST
Nice review
Just wondering can the delrin bolt be removed by simply lifting up the cocking rod on top or do you also have to take out the hammer as well like on older models? I just purchased a Rex R2 and it has all the modes but I find the burst modes totally unnecesary. I simply put it on full auto and can fire between 1 shot on up depending on how I pull the trigger so really I don't think of that as a weakness. To me this looks like Kingmans best marker yet and I can't wait to try one out.
   

CareBear-Killer Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 10:17 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by challes2000
Nice review
Just wondering can the delrin bolt be removed by simply lifting up the cocking rod on top or do you also have to take out the hammer as well like on older models? I just purchased a Rex R2 and it has all the modes but I find the burst modes totally unnecesary. I simply put it on full auto and can fire between 1 shot on up depending on how I pull the trigger so really I don't think of that as a weakness. To me this looks like Kingmans best marker yet and I can't wait to try one out.


After you shoot one, you'll probably say "wow, this is a kingman??" It is by far the best kingman marker, ever.

The firing modes are limited to just 3round burst and semi-auto. Although the trigger is easy to pull, so firing quickly is not a problem.
As far as the bolt, you are correct. You pull up on the locking pin and it slides right out the back. its a 5second removal process. Then if you want to remove the hammer/striker. You just need to remove a screw underneath the velocity adjuster/hammer lock and it pulls right out.

Actually, thanks to your comment, I added this info in to my review. I forogt to mention it there. Thanks for the reminder though. :)
Last edited on Saturday, October 7th, 2006 at 10:38 am PST
   

playajst Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 12:29 pm PST
sad to say i am an electra owner and spyder madethis gun look like an ion with the body. spyder didnt want people to keep saying the ion is better so spyder made their version of the ion. it's just as customizable and all. its a great gun but seems to me to be a rip off of the ion.
   

OTEdge Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 3:27 pm PST
Nice Review, Finally Someone Made A Review On This. Glad To Hear it works good. Keep Em Comin
   

mmp360 Saturday, October 7th, 2006 | 9:01 pm PST
Take some pictures, yeah?

Is the valve very different from the regular valve?
Last edited on Saturday, October 7th, 2006 at 9:07 pm PST
   

FLIPPER07 Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 1:00 pm PST
Yes, the valve is VERY different from a stock Spyder valve.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v322/FLIPPER07/valvea sachematicVS.jpg
^ Valve and Reg/on-off Schematic


The ASA is also a inline regulator/on-off combo, and the frame has an integrated dovetail.
Last edited on Sunday, October 8th, 2006 at 1:01 pm PST
   

CareBear-Killer Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 1:35 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by FLIPPER07
Yes, the valve is VERY different from a stock Spyder valve.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v322/FLIPPER07/valvea sachematicVS.jpg
^ Valve and Reg/on-off Schematic


The ASA is also a inline regulator/on-off combo, and the frame has an integrated dovetail.


Also, when you pull off the stock asa/on-off, it appears that there are 2 standard sized & spaced screw holes on the marker to allow for easy upgrading.
   

FLIPPER07 Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 1:38 pm PST
Awesome, I wasnt sure about ther being any ASA screws on it. Also, you have any Smart Parts threaded feednecks laying around? If so, see if it will thread onto the stock feedneck.
   

~CJW~ Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 3:43 pm PST
i have a question, can you use C02 or do you have to have air like the ion?
   

AmbushOrigin Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 6:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by playajst
sad to say i am an electra owner and spyder madethis gun look like an ion with the body. spyder didnt want people to keep saying the ion is better so spyder made their version of the ion. it's just as customizable and all. its a great gun but seems to me to be a rip off of the ion.

to bad the ion and spyder work in 2 completely different ways, the ions composite while spyders aluminum. Spyder can cycle faster then the ion,. Only thing the ion has over it is the hype, more upgradeability (mostly unnecessary money to be wasted), and larger fan base.

To CJW's question... u can use co2, and ion can run on co2 also. just if running co2 its best to have a anti-siphoned co2 tank. but compressed air is always the best choice
   

fenixman Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 6:40 pm PST
You guys are missing the big difference between the Ion and the VS3. The Ion is ep while the VS3 is still just a blowback. A really nice blowback, but a blowback nonetheless. Thats what the ion will always have over the VS3's and VS2's.
   

CareBear-Killer Sunday, October 8th, 2006 | 11:13 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by fenixman
You guys are missing the big difference between the Ion and the VS3. The Ion is ep while the VS3 is still just a blowback. A really nice blowback, but a blowback nonetheless. Thats what the ion will always have over the VS3's and VS2's.

This is true, it is still a blowback, and it really is a very nice one at that.
In the end though, it doesn't matter how it functions, so long as its a good quality reliable marker that lets you get "kills" on the field.
   

Elder HS pbclub Monday, October 9th, 2006 | 4:58 pm PST
(just judging by the facts that i know)

ya.. dont get me wrong ions are great but..it really doesnt matter how a gun functions whether it be blowback or ep..science is science and this gun seems just as efficient as the ion.. i think that ion has a good compeditor now since VS 2 and 3 are low pressure AND have eyes
   

pballaz Monday, October 9th, 2006 | 8:10 pm PST
hey im reserching which gun to get and im probably going to get the vs3. i wanted to know if the vs3 can go fully auto? thanks
   

CareBear-Killer Monday, October 9th, 2006 | 8:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz
hey im reserching which gun to get and im probably going to get the vs3. i wanted to know if the vs3 can go fully auto? thanks

On the stock board, there is no full auto setting. It only has 3round burst and semi-auto. However, it sounds like a lot of companies already have aftermarket products in the works, so I'm hoping an upgraded board isn't far behind. If/when anyone does put out a new board, i'm sure there will be full auto capability.

Honestly though, with the rocking trigger being so quick & easy to pull, i'm not really sure you need a full auto setting.
   

pballaz Monday, October 9th, 2006 | 9:32 pm PST
thanks it says it shoots at 200psi what do other spyders shoot at? thanks again
   

CareBear-Killer Monday, October 9th, 2006 | 10:52 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz
thanks it says it shoots at 200psi what do other spyders shoot at? thanks again


Other stock spyders are high-pressue. Most tend to operate at or above 800 psi.
   

pballaz Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 8:45 am PST
well then is that a good thing for the vs3 or bad is it better to be high pressure or low? thnx
   
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media