paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CareBear-Killer Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month92 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, tippman A5, smart parts Ion, Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
Blue Evo2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far. Stock, this marker shoots excellent.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, very quick, easy to use. Eyes can be turned off if needed.
Weaknesses: limited firing modes. Grip not sitting flush at first. Not all spyder barrels fit.
Review: I fired this marker fresh out of the box, so everything was stock. This gun is very awsome and easy to use. The grip did not sit flush when the battery was first installed. After moving the wires around a little and tightly holding the grip the grip fits much better and much more flush. The firing modes are also limited to 3round burst and Semi-auto. There is however, a tournament lock to make the marker tourny legal. The only other downside is that other spyder-threaded barrels do not fit past the VS3's body. I tried a 14" CP barrel and the stock electra barrel, mainly just to see if they fit. The stock barrel has the same thread size, however the barrel is just a few milimeters slimmer than other spyder threaded barrels.

The marker is pretty accurate right out of the box. It is rather consistant as well. I did not notice any kick when firing the gun, even at full speed. This marker was a blast to shoot. I did not run in to any re-cocking issues or ball chops. The eyes worked flawlessly and kept the paint 'alive'. The strenths of this marker far out-weigh the weaknesses. Even then, i'm sure upgrades will be available shortly for this marker.
Conclusion: I would reccemend this marker to anyone looking to buy. I highly enjoyed shooting this thing. It met and exceeded my expectations of its operation for being fully stock. There are few markers out there that do not need many, if any upgrades to be an awsome marker. I believe this is one of those markers.

The barrel size is not a big deal, and neither is the grip not sitting flush. moving the wires a little bit more will clear that problem. Everything else on this marker is just awsome. The bolt is easily removed as well. Just pull up on the locking pin and the bolt slides right out the back. This marker is simple to use, and is a blast to shoot. This marker definitly allows you to fly through some paint. After you shoot this marker, you'll probably find yourself asking "Is this really a kingman?"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 9th, 2006 at 8:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
CareBear-Killer Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 12:34 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz
well then is that a good thing for the vs3 or bad is it better to be high pressure or low? thnx

High pressue isn't bad, however when looking at the number of shots you can get out of an air tank, low pressure is better. Looking at marker wear and tear, I would think low pressure would be better as well.
   

triggapull Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 1:56 pm PST
How big is the spread and what barrels are there?
   

SpeedEnvy Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 2:26 pm PST
its a good thing because opperating at a lower pressure allows the striker to use less recoil in cocking meaning there will be far less recoil then a standard opperated spyder. So it will be easier to keep accurate at higher rates of fire.
   

CareBear-Killer Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 4:11 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by triggapull
How big is the spread and what barrels are there?

The spread isn't too bad.

As far as barrels are concerned... Any slimmer barrel will work on the VS3.. is has the same 'problem' as some of the the MR series...low barrel clearance. So any barrel that will work on those MR markers with 'low clearance' will work on the VS3.

I have also heard that J&J and trinity make 'slimmer' barrels with spyder threads, so those should work as well.
   

Elder HS pbclub Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 4:12 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by SpeedEnvy
its a good thing because opperating at a lower pressure allows the striker to use less recoil in cocking meaning there will be far less recoil then a standard opperated spyder. So it will be easier to keep accurate at higher rates of fire.
took the words right out of my mouth
low pressure is the way 2 go no doubt.. now im not sure what the valve looks like(if some1 could get a pic for me that would b great), but also the best way 2 go is nitro hand down when using low pressure and a reg
   

pballaz Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 5:28 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Elder HS pbclub

took the words right out of my mouth
low pressure is the way 2 go no doubt.. now im not sure what the valve looks like(if some1 could get a pic for me that would b great), but also the best way 2 go is nitro hand down when using low pressure and a reg


well would the gun be less powerfull? or will it shoot with the same power? does that mean that you will get more shots from your tank? i also wanted to know what the 3G technology including the high performance Balance Valve is thanks again sorry for all the questions
Last edited on Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 at 5:29 pm PST
   

runningw235 Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 7:49 pm PST
I think that even though the ion is terrible, that this will be even worse.
   

CareBear-Killer Tuesday, October 10th, 2006 | 9:43 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz


well would the gun be less powerfull? or will it shoot with the same power? does that mean that you will get more shots from your tank? i also wanted to know what the 3G technology including the high performance Balance Valve is thanks again sorry for all the questions


LP markers can still shoot at 300FPS. Some HP markers modded for LP operation may not be able to reach 300, but they still get close. So the power is still there. A lower operating pressure also means you will get more shots out of your air tank.

...Think of a 250 horse power 2.7 V6 engine compared to a 250 horsepower 2.0 4-banger. Same power, one just gets better gas milage.

You may look on the kingman forums for more info on the 3g technology and the balanced valve. I'm not sure what all the 3g tech. entails.... copy the following address and paste it in your web browsers address bar. http://www.spyder.tv/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=58
   

matts Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 4:20 pm PST
i have seen an 06 electra and the rocking trigger seemed very cheap,just like the grips,and the barrel seemed like a piece o crap. is this the same for the vs3?
   

CareBear-Killer Wednesday, October 11th, 2006 | 8:08 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by matts
i have seen an 06 electra and the rocking trigger seemed very cheap,just like the grips,and the barrel seemed like a piece o crap. is this the same for the vs3?

Hey man, don't knock it 'til you try it. If you don't like the rocking trigger, check out the VS2. it has a standard trigger on it. The stock grips are better than those on the electra. The barrel is also pretty good for a stock barrel. Atleast check out a VS2/VS3 at your local shop, and fire an electra at your local field. You may be surprised.
   

TheLeafTalker Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 6:47 pm PST
Thanks for the review bear!!! More pics will help though ;)
   

matts Thursday, October 12th, 2006 | 9:38 pm PST
i have used an elctra and the trigger was very cheaply made,but thats what i used.im not against this or any spyder,i have a few myself im just sayin what i think. i think that spyders are excellent guns, im just saying thie rocking trigger was cheap on the 05 electra. and the barrel seemed to be substandrd on the quality part. it felt like anodized plastic. i know its metal. im not like those autococker or tipmann guys that hate all other guns than their own. im for any gun that performs well, so if this gun is good,then ill support it,just like i would support an a-5 or an ion
   

pballaz Saturday, October 14th, 2006 | 1:11 pm PST
do you really think that the VS3 is the ion killer? i cant find a comparisone chart between the VS3 and the ion i wanna know which one is better thanks
   

pballaz Saturday, October 14th, 2006 | 1:26 pm PST
me and my friends play with our velocities cranked all the way up ( i know ur not supposed to) i have a vitor (you can tell why im upgrading) and i wanted to know if the LP in the vs3 will shoot as far as an HP spyder
   

CareBear-Killer Saturday, October 14th, 2006 | 5:26 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz
do you really think that the VS3 is the ion killer? i cant find a comparisone chart between the VS3 and the ion i wanna know which one is better thanks

Not sure if the VS series is an Ion killer or not, but i think its atleast competition.

Stock... the vs3 has a higher rate of fire than the ion...atleast its rated for a higher ROF. VS3 is blowback while the Ion is EP, however the VS3 doesn't weigh but a few ounces more than a stock Ion. VS3 is all aluminum, while the Ion has some aluminum and composite plastic. More upgrades currently available for the Ion, but companies already have upgrades and products in the works for the VS series. Maintenance is easier on spyder markers. Bolt on the VS markers is easily removable for quick cleaning.

I'm sure others could add to this... basically, you can go back and forth on so many things with the ion and the VS markers. Alot just comes down to personal choice.

Personally, i like this marker more than the stock ion.
   

Elder HS pbclub Monday, October 16th, 2006 | 2:54 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz
me and my friends play with our velocities cranked all the way up ( i know ur not supposed to) i have a vitor (you can tell why im upgrading) and i wanted to know if the LP in the vs3 will shoot as far as an HP spyder
yes.. definately..*300fps on HP is same as 300fps on LP..one pound of meat is the same as one pound of vegetables*(or w/e u want) low pressure just means that ur gun is able 2 opperate on a lower amount of pressure from the tank but still gives u the same results.. u can still fire the gun at 300fps easily with LP AND get more shots out of a tank :).. i am currently getting a new LP valve for my Icon E
P.S.u will probably have less ball breaks with a lower pressure gun 2
Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 2:58 pm PST
   

Ethan McDonald Monday, October 16th, 2006 | 2:54 pm PST
In my books any marker with eyes that dosen't chop paint is great, making the in-perfect player the only downfall. and yes i own an ion, but this marker looks great and i believe could easily compete against any high end marker, if the player has enought skils.

   

BigGunnedMan Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 | 11:06 am PST
what kind of upgrade board do you have to have to make that automatic
   

pballaz Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 | 1:48 pm PST
what is the feed neck like is it clamping or an o ring and is it quiet to shoot?
Last edited on Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 at 1:55 pm PST
   

CareBear-Killer Tuesday, October 17th, 2006 | 2:00 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by BigGunnedMan
what kind of upgrade board do you have to have to make that automatic

what are you talking about? Make what automatic?
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media