paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CareBear-Killer Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month92 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, tippman A5, smart parts Ion, Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
Blue Evo2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far. Stock, this marker shoots excellent.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, very quick, easy to use. Eyes can be turned off if needed.
Weaknesses: limited firing modes. Grip not sitting flush at first. Not all spyder barrels fit.
Review: I fired this marker fresh out of the box, so everything was stock. This gun is very awsome and easy to use. The grip did not sit flush when the battery was first installed. After moving the wires around a little and tightly holding the grip the grip fits much better and much more flush. The firing modes are also limited to 3round burst and Semi-auto. There is however, a tournament lock to make the marker tourny legal. The only other downside is that other spyder-threaded barrels do not fit past the VS3's body. I tried a 14" CP barrel and the stock electra barrel, mainly just to see if they fit. The stock barrel has the same thread size, however the barrel is just a few milimeters slimmer than other spyder threaded barrels.

The marker is pretty accurate right out of the box. It is rather consistant as well. I did not notice any kick when firing the gun, even at full speed. This marker was a blast to shoot. I did not run in to any re-cocking issues or ball chops. The eyes worked flawlessly and kept the paint 'alive'. The strenths of this marker far out-weigh the weaknesses. Even then, i'm sure upgrades will be available shortly for this marker.
Conclusion: I would reccemend this marker to anyone looking to buy. I highly enjoyed shooting this thing. It met and exceeded my expectations of its operation for being fully stock. There are few markers out there that do not need many, if any upgrades to be an awsome marker. I believe this is one of those markers.

The barrel size is not a big deal, and neither is the grip not sitting flush. moving the wires a little bit more will clear that problem. Everything else on this marker is just awsome. The bolt is easily removed as well. Just pull up on the locking pin and the bolt slides right out the back. This marker is simple to use, and is a blast to shoot. This marker definitly allows you to fly through some paint. After you shoot this marker, you'll probably find yourself asking "Is this really a kingman?"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 9th, 2006 at 8:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Spy-der4life Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 7:53 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by CareBear-Killer


I thought the VS series was somewhere around 10,000. either way, i know for sure they get more than 2000. maybe 2000 on a half charge?

They might get 10,000 off a non-rechargeable battery which tend to last longer but off the recheargable it says the get 2,000 to 6,000 depending on the firing mode and if your eyes are on oor off
   

Ryancoll7 Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 4:38 pm PST
Which gun would you pick? The ''ion'' or the ''vs3''?
   

pballaz Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 4:40 pm PST
the vs2
   

CareBear-Killer Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 4:49 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ryancoll7
Which gun would you pick? The ''ion'' or the ''vs3''?

I'd say go with the VS3. You can also ask your local shop to hold one before you buy, and most of them will... If you don't like the feel of the rocking trigger, then go with the VS2. I think you;ll be happy with the VS series.
   

zale Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 6:23 pm PST
Just stop arguing over which the Ion or the Vs3 is better. Get a gun that suits your style of play and enjoy the freaking game for once.
   

pballaz Thursday, October 19th, 2006 | 10:27 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by zale
Just stop arguing over which the Ion or the Vs3 is better. Get a gun that suits your style of play and enjoy the freaking game for once.

well if your gunna get a gun or upgrade it might as well be the best
   

I c DeAd Pe0pLe Sunday, October 22nd, 2006 | 1:42 pm PST
How awkward does the rocking trigger feel and is it really better than the infiniti or any regular trigger for that matter?
   

matts Sunday, October 22nd, 2006 | 7:00 pm PST
im comparing the actual price
   

Trulyshrimpy Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 | 8:54 am PST
too many reveiws, i didn't read them all so if someone already said it, my bad.

even with the tourny lock you still cannot use this in a tourny, the NPPL rule book states you may only use one marker, that marker may only have one trigger and that trigger may only hit one switch. the vs3 along with the electra acs cannot be used for reason.

(i have an Electra ACS and i was banned from the tourny because of this reason)
   

CProc88 Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 | 4:34 pm PST
I don't know if tihs has already been posted, but that gun is not tournament legal... well at least the trigger, (from what I know) is not legal in the NPPL. Message me if I am wrong, I am kinda curious about it.
   

CProc88 Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 | 4:36 pm PST
lmao, woops, i didnt check to see if anybody else said that, and it turns out that the person right above me already did. LOL
   

zale Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 | 7:00 pm PST
How many shots would you expect from a 48ci 3000psi tank from the gun?
   

Boater Friday, October 27th, 2006 | 5:26 pm PST
BTW, when you have an EP...the operating pressure is the pressure at which the air moves your bolt back and forward. Most of you know this already. But I think when it comes to the actual stream of air hitting the ball, that is still somewhere around 600psi+. Ever notice that there's a gigantic hole on the underside of the bolt? That's an opening so that as the bolt moves into position, a stream of air can propel it forward. Notice that EPs have an HPR and an LPR? LPR delivers the air to the bolt to move it back and forth and the HPR sends some air to the LPR and some of it to propel the ball.

Earlier it was mentioned that low pressure guns can get the same velocity as high pressure guns. Definitely true. But you have to stop and think of how the ball is being delivered...If you connected 2 hoses to 2 sources (1 high pressure and 1 low) and put paintballs at the end, which would fly faster? Definitely the high pressure. That's basic physics.

PLEASE correct me if i'm wrong about this - this is from observations of my gun and a little bit of thinking.
   

sdrpaintball Saturday, October 28th, 2006 | 8:16 am PST
great review, I'm thinkin about getting this Spyder myself, where did you buy it and how much was was it?
   

IthurtsSOGOOD Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 5:33 pm PST
Ok i have a question i have a spyder rodeo right now and im looking for a new spyder in a good price range and ive ben lookin at both the spyder electra and the spyder VS3. What would you say is the better gun. I like the VS3 just because it has the gas gauge but the VS3 doesnt fit all barrels. So what gun do u think i should get?
   

sharpshot07 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 6:59 pm PST
does the spyder vs3 shoot good with Co2?
   

sharpshot07 Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 7:04 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by IthurtsSOGOOD
Ok i have a question i have a spyder rodeo right now and im looking for a new spyder in a good price range and ive ben lookin at both the spyder electra and the spyder VS3. What would you say is the better gun. I like the VS3 just because it has the gas gauge but the VS3 doesnt fit all barrels. So what gun do u think i should get?

my cousin has the electra o6 with eye and its a nasty gun. he shoots 24bps with it.
but im going to get the vs3 just see what its like. i herd its a nice gun. o yea go 2 xtremez.com they have the best prices on ever thing the vs3 is $239.00
   

IthurtsSOGOOD Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 | 12:33 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by sharpshot07


my cousin has the electra o6 with eye and its a nasty gun. he shoots 24bps with it.
but im going to get the vs3 just see what its like. i herd its a nice gun. o yea go 2 xtremez.com they have the best prices on ever thing the vs3 is $239.00


yeah i went to discount paintball and looked at them. My friend who goes to tournaments said because of the rocking trigger u cant have the gun in tourniments, is that true.
   

pballpert Saturday, November 4th, 2006 | 5:13 pm PST
To answer all the board questions you can get the VerC T-board for the vs3's and that has a whooooooooollllllllllleeeeee bunch of settings and should be pretty awsome
   

FBIS.W.A.T. Monday, November 6th, 2006 | 1:10 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Ryancoll7
Which gun would you pick? The ''ion'' or the ''vs3''?

So to put this question to rest.. I have played with a stock ION and a stock VS3 before, when both entered the market and no upgrades were yet available .. If you want reliability, easy to clean and other things like sturdiness I would say go with the VS3 .. But in speedball, nothing rips like an ION for the price .. Smart Parts really did their homework with this marker and with the upgrades now available for it, with just a reg, bolt, barrel and trigger, this marker performs just a LITTLE less than my 07' Naughty Dogs Shocker NXT(which in my opinion the shocker is the greatest gun ever created with the likes of Timmys, Matrix, Dm6s and others) .. But again if your a woodsballer and your gun will take abuse and you dont want to deal with the hour or more you need to properly clean an ION go with the VS3 .. but for $200 nothing and I mean absolutely nothing compares with the ION in speedball ..
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media