paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review / Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Comments on CareBear-Killer's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

CareBear-Killer Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month92 of 97 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, tippman A5, smart parts Ion, Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Spyder VS3
Blue Evo2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far. Stock, this marker shoots excellent.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, very quick, easy to use. Eyes can be turned off if needed.
Weaknesses: limited firing modes. Grip not sitting flush at first. Not all spyder barrels fit.
Review: I fired this marker fresh out of the box, so everything was stock. This gun is very awsome and easy to use. The grip did not sit flush when the battery was first installed. After moving the wires around a little and tightly holding the grip the grip fits much better and much more flush. The firing modes are also limited to 3round burst and Semi-auto. There is however, a tournament lock to make the marker tourny legal. The only other downside is that other spyder-threaded barrels do not fit past the VS3's body. I tried a 14" CP barrel and the stock electra barrel, mainly just to see if they fit. The stock barrel has the same thread size, however the barrel is just a few milimeters slimmer than other spyder threaded barrels.

The marker is pretty accurate right out of the box. It is rather consistant as well. I did not notice any kick when firing the gun, even at full speed. This marker was a blast to shoot. I did not run in to any re-cocking issues or ball chops. The eyes worked flawlessly and kept the paint 'alive'. The strenths of this marker far out-weigh the weaknesses. Even then, i'm sure upgrades will be available shortly for this marker.
Conclusion: I would reccemend this marker to anyone looking to buy. I highly enjoyed shooting this thing. It met and exceeded my expectations of its operation for being fully stock. There are few markers out there that do not need many, if any upgrades to be an awsome marker. I believe this is one of those markers.

The barrel size is not a big deal, and neither is the grip not sitting flush. moving the wires a little bit more will clear that problem. Everything else on this marker is just awsome. The bolt is easily removed as well. Just pull up on the locking pin and the bolt slides right out the back. This marker is simple to use, and is a blast to shoot. This marker definitly allows you to fly through some paint. After you shoot this marker, you'll probably find yourself asking "Is this really a kingman?"
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 9th, 2006 at 8:53 pm PST
 

Review Comments
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
FBIS.W.A.T. Monday, November 6th, 2006 | 1:14 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by IthurtsSOGOOD


yeah i went to discount paintball and looked at them. My friend who goes to tournaments said because of the rocking trigger u cant have the gun in tourniments, is that true.


If your gun is capable of shooting over 15bps in its semi-automatic mode .. the gun is illegal for any tournament .. I have some of the fastest trigger fingers in the 100+ speedball tournaments I've played and I average 19bps on uncapped boards with 22 being my highest .. for you people to say you have hit 30bps, it is completely false .. I have never met someone who can shoot 25+bps on semi-automatic(1trigger pull, 1 shot), and that includes the likes of Oliver Lang and other worldrenown pros.
   

CareBear-Killer Tuesday, November 7th, 2006 | 6:46 pm PST
I asked the people at the NPPL about the rocking trigger, just to clear there air once and for all.

it basically sounds like they have to test your marker before they allow it... They said stock, most rocking triggers are not legal due to bounce... basically one of the switches gets pushed in, when the other is released.

I know not all rocking triggers suffer from this, and i know if your marker does have bounce issues, you can pull out one of the screws a little to make sure this doesn't happen. Thus meaning your rocking trigger would be legal and allowed in nppl events.

   

gojufist Tuesday, November 14th, 2006 | 4:35 am PST
quote:
Originally posted by pballaz
well then is that a good thing for the vs3 or bad is it better to be high pressure or low? thnx
good,more shots to a tank around 1400 or so! (hpa)
   

Masspaintball84 Saturday, November 18th, 2006 | 6:47 pm PST
what is better this or an Electra?
   

IthurtsSOGOOD Monday, November 20th, 2006 | 12:15 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by CareBear-Killer
I asked the people at the NPPL about the rocking trigger, just to clear there air once and for all.

it basically sounds like they have to test your marker before they allow it... They said stock, most rocking triggers are not legal due to bounce... basically one of the switches gets pushed in, when the other is released.

I know not all rocking triggers suffer from this, and i know if your marker does have bounce issues, you can pull out one of the screws a little to make sure this doesn't happen. Thus meaning your rocking trigger would be legal and allowed in nppl events.



I bought the spyder electra with eyes and i probably need to fix it so it is tournement legal with the rocking trigger, how do u make the rocking trigger not bounce?
   

sykoballer Saturday, November 25th, 2006 | 7:52 am PST
low, cuz its more efficient than high
   

mayford5 Monday, December 4th, 2006 | 9:06 am PST
Good review. I would like to shoot one of these just to see what all the fuss is about. However, the reviewer mentions no kick at all. Without shooting this gun(so don't get the wrong Idea I am not doubting his/her review) I find it hard to believe that a blow back non-electro pneumatic can have zero noticeable kick. I have lp guns that are pnuematic and they still have some kick. I will have to shoot this thing to see though. I am excited to finally see Kingman put out a great product.
   

kamuna2003 Monday, January 22nd, 2007 | 5:31 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by pba atl
the vs3 in my opinion blows worse than an ion. and if you have the balls to say it doesnt, well then you are retarded. ( in my opinion)

Dude, what is wrong with you? I had an Ion and I got rid of it, because the VS3 outdid it in almost everyway. Also, you don't have to spend more money to get the VS3 to shot good like you do for the Ion. Stock Ion's are junk, unless you get a new board, QEV, bolt, barrel and a clamping feedneck. VS3's shot fantastic right out of the box with no upgrades needed.
Last edited on Monday, January 22nd, 2007 at 5:32 pm PST
   

tippy_fan Monday, January 29th, 2007 | 6:23 am PST
Hey guys, is the extra hundred dollars worth it for the rocking trigger or should i just get the vs2? Also whats the smallest size for a compressed air bottle 45/30 ? (i'm cheap)
   

tippy_fan Monday, January 29th, 2007 | 6:24 am PST
also also do you have to buy a low pressure tank for the gun?
   

Vexa Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 | 8:55 pm PST
quote:
Originally posted by Boater
BTW, when you have an EP...the operating pressure is the pressure at which the air moves your bolt back and forward. Most of you know this already. But I think when it comes to the actual stream of air hitting the ball, that is still somewhere around 600psi+. Ever notice that there's a gigantic hole on the underside of the bolt? That's an opening so that as the bolt moves into position, a stream of air can propel it forward. Notice that EPs have an HPR and an LPR? LPR delivers the air to the bolt to move it back and forth and the HPR sends some air to the LPR and some of it to propel the ball.

Earlier it was mentioned that low pressure guns can get the same velocity as high pressure guns. Definitely true. But you have to stop and think of how the ball is being delivered...If you connected 2 hoses to 2 sources (1 high pressure and 1 low) and put paintballs at the end, which would fly faster? Definitely the high pressure. That's basic physics.

PLEASE correct me if i'm wrong about this - this is from observations of my gun and a little bit of thinking.

I have an Ion (should I duck for cover?), and it doesn't use the HPR-LPR design. The correct definition (I think) is a Blow-Forward Electropneumatic, where the operating pressure determines both the pressure holding the bolt back and the pressure propelling the ball. Its hard to explain, but I found a diagram on WARPIG detailing exactly what I am trying to tell you: http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/paintguns/smartpar
ts/ion/howitworks.shtml
Last edited on Wednesday, January 31st, 2007 at 8:58 pm PST
   

lUCcH14 Friday, February 9th, 2007 | 1:44 pm PST
can any one tell me it the VS3 takes CO2
   

CareBear-Killer Sunday, February 11th, 2007 | 12:04 pm PST
The VS series markers are not made for CO2.
   

yomomma789 Wednesday, February 20th, 2008 | 7:30 am PST
i think that spyders are horrible and you should get a brass eagle at walmart instead.
   

Da'dtou-di Thursday, March 6th, 2008 | 8:01 pm PST
Will the body clear an Evil Pipe barrel kit?
   

jgufford Saturday, March 15th, 2008 | 4:16 pm PST
Here is my letter to Kingman anout the VS3. Read this before buying this marker.

Dear Sir/Madame:

To say that I am disappointed in your company would be an understatement at this point. I recently purchased a new Spyder VS3 from an online retailer. Attached is a copy of my receipt. I took the gun out of the box, properly charged the battery and then took it out to play. The gun simply would not fire properly and worked intermittently at best. I had a trained technician at the paintball field that I play at take a look at it and he could find nothing wrong with it. So, we put in a fresh Duracell battery thinking that might be the problem. Again, the gun would only work intermittently. The tech looked the gun up and down and could not locate the source of the problem. It was properly lubed as well. To be frank, my Spyder Pilot works like a charm.

On or around February 24, 2008, I shipped the gun to your tech who claimed that the gun was fixed and operating properly. He further stated that the gun had a Duracell battery in it as opposed to the Spyder battery and that was the problem. The only reason that the gun had a Duracell battery in it when it came to you was to test if the Spyder battery was the problem before sending it to you. So, once again, I charged the gun and took it out to the paintball field. At first, it worked just fine. Then, as soon as I got into the game, the same old intermittent operation returned. I then took the gun to Bulleseye Paintball in Vero Beach and had a tech with over 5 years experience take a look at the gun. He tried for well over two hours to get it to work. It would not work no matter what he tried. There is definitely something wrong with the electronics according to him. Not only that, he took a brand new one off of the shelf and it was suffering from the exact same problem. Guys, I have had it with this gun. It does not work and I do not want another one. I don’t even want this one fixed at this point as I do not have any confidence in this product. Just take a new Pilot ACS off the shelf and send it out to me and I will give it to my kids. At least it works. On the other hand simply send me a check for what I paid for it and I will buy something that works. If you would like to discuss this with me I can be reached at the above number. If you would like to talk to Sean who attempted to fix the problem, he will most certainly confirm my story. He can be reached at (772) XXX-0898. Thanks for your consideration.
   

b1n11993 Sunday, September 28th, 2008 | 1:40 pm PST
hello everyone, i have a problem with my spyder vs3 and i have only used it a few times. The noid clicks when the bold is forward but when its back it doesnt do anything, and its not my eyes, when i pull the bolt further back and hold it it works KINDA. Can someone please help me!!!!
Last edited on Sunday, September 28th, 2008 at 1:42 pm PST
   

danewbie Thursday, October 1st, 2009 | 4:38 pm PST
PLEASE RESPOND. i have a 08 spyder pilot is this a good upgrade from my gun?
   
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media