paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review / Comments on OTEdge's Review

Comments on OTEdge's Review

Jump to the Comments  |  Post a Comment  |  Dispute this Review  |  Return to the Reviews

OTEdge Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months84 of 86 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM6 (Same Preformance, Feel Diffrent)
Egos (Includes little Extra's)
DM's (Fast, Small, Spool Feel)
Timmys (A Unperfected Ego Pretty Much)
Dynasty Shocker (Fast, Heavier, More Complicated)
Marker Setup: Black ETek with Gold CCU
Black PMR with DM6 Trigger
"14 Stiffi Barrel .689
Camo VLocity
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel Maybe? Stock Works Good.
Trigger If You Dont Like Stock? Very Adjustable, Mine is OK.
Feedneck If You Really dont want to take out the Allens.
Strengths: Accurate
Efficiancy
Speed
Light
Feel
Maintainence
Looks
Price
Weaknesses: Has Little Kick
Kind of Loud But Sounds Good.
Loose Screws
Review: Accuracy
Well The First Day I Used It...Kinda Didn't Think Accuracy Was To Good. First Problem Was I was Using BE Monster Balls...No More To Be Said. Next Was It was very Inconsistent, but I wasn't gonna cry over that yet. I Chopped abunch of the balls and then the accuracy dropped to 0%. Poor Me...Pulled out the stingers (Little Better Right?) and well hey my ETek was shooting pretty smooth. Second Time I used Field Paint and my Reg Was Broken in and stuff and WOW. The Accuracy was Ball On Top Of Ball. Overall Great Accuracy.

Speed
Many People Were freaked out that kicking out the QEV's and Putting in a Micro switch would decrease the speed....well.....I SAY NOT! I would much rather take a Micro switch than a Optical. When you are walking your trigger You Feel it. Love that. There are working and happy happy ramp modes on here too so that's cool (Im not a ramper) Anyways this marker is almost as fast as any other ego out their. Amazing Freaking Speed

Feel
This Marker Is Jaw Dropping Light. From what I know this is the lightest Ego their is besides the SL66 So Yea. When Holding This Marker In Your Hand It Feels So Amazing, The Frame is pretty small but not too small. The Regulator Feels Nice To Hold. And the Grips are pretty comfy too. The Markers Weight Balances out really well and you don't feel more weight in place A than place B. Overall In This The Marker Feels Great To Hold, I guess that's why I carry it with me everywhere.

Maintenance
Sadly, being an unsuccessful Autococker owner, I thought the maintenance might still be hard even after many of people have told me its easy. LPR, Rammer, Flush, Noid? Not your everyday Spyder Parts and I though this might be a hard thing to learn about but it took like one day. Cleaning The ETek is a breeze. If you do have trouble cleaning it check the forums on here or PBNation, the stickies are more then helpful =D

Sound and Kick
This is one of the things people complain about and I have no clue why? Some people say the kick is horrible but this all depends what your used to, compared to my dads PM6 This thing is pretty horse-like, but when coming from my ECocker...well I don't even feel the kick. Next would be sound which is kind of loud but not ear ringing loud. If this small thing really truly bugs you just get a new barrel. I Personally like the sound of it, has a very poppy sound to it.

Quality
This is a very stable feeling marker, and long as you do regular maintenance it shouldn't let you down. One complaint I do have though is that the screws tend to come loose sometimes. So far I Have Lost 3 Grip Frame Screws, and the Eye Cover Screw came loose and I lost a Detent. This could be my fault for not tightening enough, but yea still could be much better. Also the Power Button Cover Is Starting To Come Off Frequently so I Have To Do Something about That (Any Ideas? Glue Maybe?) Besides those small little draw backs this is a very durable marker and can trust it will be working when I want to play (Unlike my cocker) Quality Is a A+

Others
Ok, so what came in the package was a Barrel Condom, Extra Parts, Allens, Manual, Lube, Barrel, and 2 ETek Stickers. All this was packaged very nicely into a shiny metal looking box and had some nice padding on the inside. Next would be the Efficiency that I didn't not mention yet, because as with all Egos, It is amazing, their good done.

Update #3
Well its been a few months and time for another update. So my ETek hasn't had any problems yet again. Sometimes when I screw my on/off in the ETek leaks somewhere random but then if you take 1 or 2 shots its basically gone. I got a new CCU Kit for my marker and looks nice and comes with a clamping feedneck too so that's good. A new back jewel for my marker is being sent as we speak so A+ Customer Service in my book. I recently got a stiffi barrel and hopes were to high...it chopped...alot... Not a gun problem, but I think it had to do with my loader on low battery's so I will talk more about that next time. So I have had this marker for quite a while and I am surprised how well it is holding up.
Conclusion: Awsomely Super Ultra Cool Gun, I Recommend it Comepletely. PE Makes another Great Product. If anyone feels I should add something then just Comment it Or PM It and ill try and write it up.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 25th, 2007 at 10:48 am PST
 

Review Comments
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
marmot Monday, October 16th, 2006 | 4:42 pm PST
Cool review dude. Have you tried any good Autocockers and, if so, how does it compare? You've used Ego's so can we get more detail as to how it compares with those?

Thanks!
   

OTEdge Monday, October 16th, 2006 | 8:05 pm PST
Well Considering I Had an E2'ed Prostock They Seem Quite The Same, While Being Diffrent Too. Autocockers Are Alot More Quiet, but As for Kick and Maintainence the Ego Wins in this Catagory. The way they shoot is kind of the same, and the ETek Works just as well as any fine tuned autococker will, But Maybe Better. I Would take my ETek over a average joe autococker anyday. As for accuracy and speed go....welll their the same pretty much. The Speed Of a E-Blade Of anysort (PE,WGP,Race) is amazing and compares to the egos. Pretty Much If You Liek THe Feel Of your cocker you will like the feel of a Ego, thats why I chose an ETek over a PM6, I didnt like the feel of a spool valve.

Thanks again for comment(s) marmot
Last edited on Tuesday, October 24th, 2006 at 6:53 pm PST
   

paintballbobber Tuesday, October 31st, 2006 | 4:39 pm PST
i'm sorry but i have no idea how a marker(any marker) has kick...i dunno if it's i've been around rifles and pistols all my life or what i can never tell if it's "kicking"
   

OTEdge Wednesday, November 1st, 2006 | 10:19 pm PST
Maybe you have had great experiences then. Some spyders if you notice have a bit of a push back or after cock recoil. Some markers you can feel this...some you cant. Most lower end markers have some kick. High ends you feel a tiny tiny bit towards none. If you shoot a matrix you will notice the smoothness and the lack of pushing back. When you shoot an untuned autococker or a Ego in some cases you will notice the gun go up if you have no steady hold on the regulator (Inline) and Frame. Thats a good thing you cant tell. I never really do unless im "Trying" to feel it
Last edited on Thursday, November 2nd, 2006 at 4:14 pm PST
   

paintballbobber Thursday, November 9th, 2006 | 7:36 pm PST
yeah like i said i've been around rifles and firearms all my life so i just don't feel the kick at all
   

OTEdge Friday, November 10th, 2006 | 2:57 pm PST
Hey more power too ya, i hardly feel kick in games anyways, its like i have to look for kick to feel it, but soon as you use a DM/FS or any highend spools then go to an Ego or such you will feel a bit less smoothness on the ego but since im used to Autocockers the smoothness always bugged me so thats why i got a ETek over a PM, Anyways its a good thing u dont feel kick, makes u that bit better.
   

cheffy Monday, November 20th, 2006 | 4:14 am PST
Very Nice review and i was considering going with a PM6 but my friend recommeded me looking at the E-Tek, and this review just sold that gun to me like professional used car salesman! Great Review Man!
   

OTEdge Monday, November 20th, 2006 | 4:09 pm PST
Lol thanks, hope you like it as much as I do.
   

Acornz Sunday, January 7th, 2007 | 3:36 pm PST
how quiet is it? like ego7 quiet or like a ego6 (slight difference)
   

OTEdge Monday, January 8th, 2007 | 10:06 pm PST
I would go with Ego 06, I have yet to shoot an 07 so Im not sure but the 06 and ETek are about the same.
   

sp62 Thursday, January 18th, 2007 | 10:14 am PST
i was wondering wehter to get this or a shocker nxt if somebody could respond to this comment helping me out that would be nice thanks
   

OTEdge Friday, January 19th, 2007 | 7:47 pm PST
Personally, I would take the ETek out of experience...I would count a Shocker NXT like a PM6....Its basically Spool Vrs Ram.... What are you more Into? Reliablity, Maintainence, and Overall Ease of you....Choose the ETek...but also you would have to suffer with Kick and Noise (Not very much of either)
If you like Very quiet markers and dont have much kick but happen to be harder to maintain and cant count on it 100% all the time then the shocker might be for you.
Best thing to do is go shoot something like each gun or even better..the actual gun itself. If you want something liek the shocker try and shoot a DM, PM, Shocker SFT, Freestyle, and other Spool Markers
If you want to go for an ETek try shooting a Normal Ego, Timmy, Possibly a Cocker, and other ram driven markers.
Either way both guns have their Ups and Downs...the thing is you will have to decide for yourself...both are great and both will work..just keep in mind you should shoot a marker like them before buying if you can.
   

sp62 Tuesday, January 23rd, 2007 | 4:08 pm PST
thanks for responding to my question it was a lot of help idk what im getting yet for sure until i test shoot something similar like you said but thanks agian
   

OTEdge Thursday, January 25th, 2007 | 10:31 am PST
No problem, good thing you are going to try them though...thats the best judge on what marker to get.
   

minimartin Saturday, February 10th, 2007 | 8:31 pm PST
ok well if you would reccomend me one gun what would it be??
   

SpyderPaintz Sunday, February 11th, 2007 | 10:50 pm PST
If your price range is around the ETek I would suggest a PM6, ETek, or NXT Shocker. They all are great guns its just what you think is best. Shockers and PM6's are more likely to break down then an ETek, but on the upside they hardly have any kick and are extreamly quiet. If your field has all day air and your good with guns PM6 or Shocker is the way to go. If you can stand a tiny tiny amount of kick, a little loudness but a unbreakable and efficiant gun, etek is for you. I would try all out before buying but make your choice how you feel it would suit you.

- Dont expect a answer from OTEdge, he was banned a little while back.
   

dstone454 Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 | 3:44 pm PST
hey would you recommend i get a pm7 and keep it stock except for a barrel kit which i already have for my defiant 2 or an etek with a cure bolt and maybe a new ram and it would also have the same barrel kit, in the end the price would be almost identical, i'm alright with the technical aspect of guns but nothing incredible thats y i'm staying away from a shocker, at my shop i get free repairs so the gun breaking down isn't as big of a deal but still lol

i like having efficiency but i get free air fills so that doesn't matter, and i've heard good things about the etek and pm7, although i have no doubt the etek would perform better in cold weather with the cure bolt

by the way the barrel kit is a redz pepperstick
   

SpyderPaintz Wednesday, February 28th, 2007 | 7:57 pm PST
Sorry for a while to respond, Id recommend out of my own personal experience the ETek but they both are good guns. I Also wouldnt pay the extra cash for the PM7 when I can get a PM6 for about $200 cheaper. Ok Anyways if you up the ETek it shouldnt have much kick and if you didnt mind the kick of your defiant 2 then the ETek wouldnt bother you. The PM7 on the other hand is still MUCH MUCH smoother but if it starts breaking down blame it on the spool valve. Personally Id Try them both out and see for yourself.
   

dstone454 Thursday, March 1st, 2007 | 7:39 pm PST
yeah i shot an NXT and it was cool, smooth, the whole thing but the smoothness makes it seem like the gun is really weak just because i'm used to ram guns. i'm gonna take the etek since i really want reliability and it is much easier to disassemble and maintain, i havn't shot an etek yet though
   

SpyderPaintz Sunday, March 4th, 2007 | 11:12 am PST
Ok thats cool. Same reason I didnt get a PM6, plus that smoothness makes me feel like every tiny milimeter I move my arm that I will lose my posting spot. Basically since you have shot your Defiant 2 (I hope) it should feel more along the lines of that. Have fun playing ;)
   
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page

Post a Comment
Please log in to your account to post a comment.

Not a member yet? Sign up now for free!

Return to the Reviews

Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media